الصفحة الرئيسية / تونس / جودة المياه في تونس

جودة المياه في تونس

pollution tunisia
الصورة 1: قوارير بلاستيكية في الماء. (المصدر: Youssr Youssef, Flickr)

جودة المياه السطحية

تختلف جودة المياه السطحية في جميع أنحاء تونس، حيث تبلغ ملوحة أفضلها جودة أقل من 1,5 غرام لكل لتر وتمثل 72% من إمكانات المياه السطحية، وإلى ما بين 1,5 و3 غرام لكل لتر، وهو ما يمثل 22% من إمكانات المياه السطحية. أما نسبة الـ6% المتبقية من احتياطي المياه السطحية فهي الأقل جودة، مع نسبة ملوحة أعلى من 3 غرام لكل لتر. [1]

الجدول (1): ملوحة موارد المياه السطحية والجوفية بالنسبة إلى إجمالي موارد المياه المحتملة (مليون متر مكعب).[2]

الملوحة< 1,5 غرم لكل لتر> 1,5 إلى < 3 غرام لكل لتر> 3 غرام لكل لترالإجمالي (مليون متر مكعب)
المياه السطحية1,944 (72%)594 (22%)162 (6%)2,700
المياه الجوفية - طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة58 (8%)230 (32%)431 (60%)719
المياه الجوفية - طبقات المياه الجوفية العميقة283 (20%)808 (57%)326 (23%)1,417

جودة المياه الجوفية

قد تم تحديد أن ملوحة المياه الجوفية هي إحدى المساهمين الرئيسيين في تدهور الموارد المائية في تونس، ومن المتوقع أن يتفاقم هذا بسبب الاستخدام المكثف والاستغلال المفرط للمياه الجوفية الضحلة والعميقة. [3]

وتتجاوز ملوحة العديد من طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة، والتي تشكل 60% من إجمالي موارد المياه الجوفية، الـ3 غرام/ لتر. كما تتراوح ملوحة حوالي ثلث (32%) طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة ما بين 1,5 إلى 3 غرام/ لتر. وبالتالي، فإن 8% فقط من الموارد ذات نوعية جيدة بملوحة أقل من 1,5 غرام/ لتر. وفيما يتعلق بطبقات المياه الجوفية العميقة، فإن ما نسبته حوالي 57% تتراوح ملوحتها بين 1,5 إلى 3 غرام/لتر، في حين أن 23% نسبة ملوحتها أعلى من 3 غرام/ لتر، وحوالي 20% تبلغ ملوحتها أقل من 1,5 غرام / لتر.

وتتم مراقبة جودة المياه الجوفية مرتين في السنة من قبل الإدارة العامة للموارد المائية بأكثر من 1214 نقطة: 736 بئراً في طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة و 478 بئراً في طبقات المياه الجوفية العميقة.[4]

شبكة الصرف الصحي ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي

على مدار العقدين الماضيين، قد بذلت الحكومة التونسية جهوداً كبيرة لبناء مرافق الصرف الصحي. ومع ذلك، فلا تزال الجودة الشاملة للموارد المائية معرضة للخطر ويمكن أن تتأثر سلباً بالتوسع الصناعي والمنزلي والري. وتبلغ نسبة تغطية شبكة الصرف الصحي 85% لجميع السكان مقابل 96% في المناطق الحضرية و65% في المناطق الريفية. ويرتبط أقل من 60% من الصناعات الملوثة بشبكة الصرف الصحي، وهي تلك التي لا تلبي عموماً معايير المياه التونسية قبل تصريف مياهها العادمة في شبكة الصرف الصحي. [5] وتتسبب الصناعات المتبقية بعبء كبيرٍ من التلوث عن طريق تصريف النفايات السائلة غير المعالجة في المسطحات المائية المستقبِلة الطبيعية، مما يشكل مخاطر صحية كبيرة وتهديداتٍ بتلوث موارد المياه في مجاري الأنهار والمياه الجوفية والبيئات المائية.[6] كما أن حوالي 33% من محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي تعمل فوق طاقتها وغير قادرة على تلبية مستويات وقدرات المعالجة المطلوبة.[7]

treatment plants tunisia
الخريطة (1): خريطة توضح محطات المعالجة في تونس. @Fanack

المخاطر البيئية والصحية

تأتي المخاطر البيئية والصحية الرئيسية من رداءة نوعية مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة. وفي عام 2013، كان فقط لدى أربعة محطات لمعالجة مياه الصرف مخلّفات سائلة تمتثل لجميع عتبات معايير جودة المياه التي ينظمها المعيار الوطني لإعادة الاستخدام [NT 106.03 (1989) ]، و كانت 80% من محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي لديها معياران أو أكثر يتجاوزان الحد الأقصى لأدنى قيمة.

ويتم تسجيل الإصابة بالأوبئة في بعض الأحيان، والناجمة بشكلٍ رئيسي عن استهلاك المياه الملوثة بالعوامل المسببة للأمراض.[8] [9]

ونظراً لتزايد ندرة المياه، تتعرض النظم الإيكولوجية الساحلية والبحرية للتهديد بشكلٍ متزايد من خلال مزيج من التلوث المنتشر الناجم عن التصريف الزراعي وتصريف المياه العادمة بشكلٍ غير ملائم. ويرجع ذلك أساساً إلى الطاقة الإنتاجية الفائضة في العديد من المحطات الحالية، وعدم كفاءة نظم المعالجة والتخلص من الفضلات.

الشكل 1: تطور عمليات سحب المياه الجوفية بين عامي 2006 و 2016. [12]

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد كان للاستغلال المفرط لموارد المياه الجوفية تأثيرٌ سلبي على البيئة المحيطة من حيث انخفاض كمية المياه الجوفية وجودتها، وتسرّب مياه البحر في طبقات المياه الجوفية. فقد ارتفع مؤشر الموارد المائية القابلة للاستغلال، والذي يقيس عمليات سحب موارد المياه العذبة التقليدية (المياه السطحية والجوفية) بالنسبة إلى إجمالي الموارد المتجددة، من 14% في عام 2014 إلى 19% في عام 2015 و33% في عام 2016. [10] كما أن حوالي 47% من هذه الموارد تعتبر غير قابلة للتجديد. [11]

  • الشمال
  • الوسط
  • الجنوب
  • الاجمالي

الشكل 2: مؤشر استغلال المياه بين عامي 2006 و 2016. [13]

[1] Ministère de l’Environnement et du Développement Durable, n.d. Gestion Durable des Ressources en Eau.
[2] Mamou A, 1993. Principal Outline of National Planning, Environmental Limits 1996.
[3] Earthwise, n.d. Hydrogeology of Tunisia.
[4] Ibid
[5] Hamdy Nour M et al., 2014. Tunisia Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report.
[6] Mediterranean Environmental Technical Assistance Program, n.d. Water Quality Management.
[7] ITES, 2014. Etude Stratégique: Système Hydraulique de la Tunisie à l’Horizon 2030.
[8] Hamed Y et al., 2018. Climate impact on surface and groundwater in North Africa: a global synthesis of findings and recommendations. Euro-Mediterranean Journal for Environmental Integration 3:25.
[9] Hamdy Nour M et al., 2014. Tunisia Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report.
[10] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[11] Ibid.
[12] Ibid.
[13] Ibid.

Home / Tunisia / Water Quality in Tunisia

Water Quality in Tunisia

water pollution tunisia
Photo 1: Plastic bottles in the water (Source: Youssr Youssef, Flickr)

Surface water quality

Surface water quality varies across Tunisia, with the highest quality having salinity less than 1.5 grams per litre (g/L) and representing 72% of surface water potential, to between 1.5 and 3 g/L, representing 22% of surface water potential. The remaining 6% of surface water reserves have the poorest quality, with salinity higher than 3 g/L.[1]

Table 1: Salinity of surface and groundwater resources in relation to total potential water resources (MCM).[2]

Salinity<1.5 g/L>1.5 to <3 g/L>3 g/L Total (MCM)
Surface water1,944 (72%)594 (22%)162 (6%)2,700
groundwater - Shallow aquifers58 (8%)230 (32%)431 (60%)719
Groundwater - Deep aquifers283 (20%)808 (57%)326 (23%)1,417

Groundwater quality

The salination of groundwater has been identified as one of the major contributors to the degradation of Tunisia’s water resources and is expected to be exacerbated by the intensive use and overexploitation of shallow and deep aquifers.[3]

Many shallow aquifers, which make up 60% of the total groundwater resources, have salinity of more than 3 g/L. About one third (32%) of shallow aquifers have salinity between 1.5 and 3 g/L. Only 8% of the resources are of good quality, with salinity less than 1.5 g/L. Of the deep aquifers, about 57% has salinity between 1.5 and 3 g/L and 23% have salinity higher than 3 g/L. About 20% have salinity of less than 1.5 g/L.

Groundwater quality is monitored twice a year by the General Directorate of Water Resources at more than 1,214 points: 736 wells in shallow aquifers and 478 boreholes in deep aquifers.[4]

Sanitation and wastewater treatment network

Over the past two decades, the Tunisian government has made major efforts to build wastewater facilities. However, the overall quality of water resources remains at risk and could be negatively impacted by industrial, domestic and irrigation expansion. The sanitation coverage is 85% for all the population versus 96% in urban areas and 65% in rural areas. Less than 60% of polluting industries is connected to sewerage network, and those that are generally do not respect the Tunisian water standards prior to discharging their wastewater into the sewerage system.[5] The remaining industries generate a considerable pollution load by discharging untreated effluents into natural-receiving water bodies, posing major health and pollution threats risks to downstream and underground water resources and to aquatic environments.[6] Some 33% of wastewater treatment plants are overloaded and unable to meet the required treatment levels and capacity.[7]

treatment plants tunisia
Map 1: Map showing treatment plants in Tunisia. @Fanack

Environmental and health risks

The main environmental and health risks come from the poor quality of treated wastewater. In 2013, only four wastewater treatment plants had effluents complying with all the thresholds of water-quality parameters regulated by the national standard of reuse [NT 106.03 (1989)], and 80% of wastewater treatment plants had two or more parameters exceeding the maximum threshold value. Epidemics are sometimes recorded, caused mainly by the consumption of water contaminated by disease-causing agents.[8] [9]

Due to the growing water scarcity, coastal and marine ecosystems are also being increasingly threatened by a combination of diffuse pollution from agricultural drainage with inappropriate wastewater discharges, mainly due to overcapacity at several of the existing plants, and inefficient treatment and disposal systems.

Figure 1: Evolution of groundwater withdrawals between 2006 and 2016. [12]

In addition, the overexploitation of groundwater resources has had a negative impact on the surrounding environment in terms of a reduced quantity and quality of groundwater, and seawater intrusion into groundwater aquifers. The water exploitation index, which measures withdrawals of conventional freshwater resources (surface and groundwater) in relation to total renewable resources, increased from 14% in 2014 to 19% in 2015 and 33% in 2016.[10] About 47% of these resources are considered no renewable.[11]

  • North
  • Centre
  • South
  • Total

Figure 2: Water exploitation index between 2006 and 2016. [13]

[1] Ministère de l’Environnement et du Développement Durable, n.d. Gestion Durable des Ressources en Eau.
[2] Mamou A, 1993. Principal Outline of National Planning, Environmental Limits 1996.
[3] Earthwise, n.d. Hydrogeology of Tunisia.
[4] Ibid
[5] Hamdy Nour M et al., 2014. Tunisia Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report.
[6] Mediterranean Environmental Technical Assistance Program, n.d. Water Quality Management.
[7] ITES, 2014. Etude Stratégique: Système Hydraulique de la Tunisie à l’Horizon 2030.
[8] Hamed Y et al., 2018. Climate impact on surface and groundwater in North Africa: a global synthesis of findings and recommendations. Euro-Mediterranean Journal for Environmental Integration 3:25.
[9] Hamdy Nour M et al., 2014. Tunisia Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report.
[10] Ministry of Agriculture, Water Resources and Fisheries, 2017. Rapport National du Secteur de l’Eau.
[11] Ibid.
[12] Ibid.
[13] Ibid.