الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / نُدرة المياه والصراعات في الشرق الأوسط: قصة خوزستان

نُدرة المياه والصراعات في الشرق الأوسط: قصة خوزستان

Khuzestan

الصورة 1: ندرة المياه في خوزستان تنتج في العواصف الترابية (المصدر: دانيال خوداي).

الكاتب: Ludo Hekman

هذا مقال مترجم، المصدر: trouw.nl

إن ندرة وشح المياه تزيد من تأجيج الصراع في الشرق الأوسط، على سبيل المثال، في خوزستان، في جنوب غرب إيران، قد جفت المياه حرفيّا من المقاطعة. وأحد أهم الأسباب الرئيسية لذلك هو بناء السدود في كل من إيران نفسها وفي تركيا.

إنّ خوزستان مقاطعة غنيّة بالنفط على الحدود مع العراق. ويستخرج منها نحو 85 % من جميع النفط الإيراني، وهو شريان الحياة لاقتصاد البلد. ومع ذلك، فقد تحولّت مناطق واسعة من المقاطعة من الأراضي الرّطبة إلى الأراضي القاحلة في غضون سنوات.

والسّبب الرئيسيّ لهذا التّحول يمكن العثورعليه في إيران نفسها. وعلى الرغم من أن تغيّر المناخ وبناء السّدود في تركيا يلعبان دوراً، فإنّ إيران ذاتها هي المسؤولة إلى حدٍ كبير عن الجفاف. حيث أدى بناء السد على نهر قارون، وهو أحد أهم موارد المياه في خوزستان، إلى خفض إمدادات المياه بمقدار الثلثين.

ويظهر انحدار النهر على الفور في أهواز، عاصمة المقاطعة، والتي تمتد على ضفتيّ النهر. بين القصب على حافة المياه تجد أكوام من الملابس وقطع من الورق المقوى التي تتراكم متضاعفةً كالفرش. و تنتشر الملابس على الصخور لتجف. ويُنظَر إلى الغُرباء بشُبهة وأحياناً يُستقبلون بصيحاتٍ معادية. هذا هو المكان الذي يعيش الخفافيش، في الأكواخ التي تقع في مكان ما بين سقيفة حديقة وعش الطيور.

الصياد سابقا،عبد ديفاني (60 عام) يعرف جميع المدمنين ويحيّيهم بالهُتاف. ولا يزال يأخذ زورقه على النهر بانتظام وغالباً ما يتوقف لتبادل الحديث. وقد رأى تغيرالنهر على مرِّ السنين. كان يقضي أياماً طويلة في المياه. كان لديه خمسة قوارب وكان يصيد حوالي 100 كيلو غراماً من الأسماك يومياً. كان الجميع في الأهواز يعتمدون على النهر، كما يقول عبد “نشأ الجميع على ضفافه، وشربوا مياهه وأكلوا أسماكه”.

لم يذهب عبد للصيد منذ ثلاث سنوات ، فليس هناك أيّة جدوى. الأسماك في السوق يتم الآن جلبها من مقاطعة أخرى. يقود عيد حالياً شاحنة نقل ويقوم بتوصيل شحنات صغيرة. هذه الوظيفة تجعله حزيناً. يقول: “لكن المجيء إلى النهر كل صباح ورؤية ما حدث له يجعلني أشعر بالحزن والغضب”. نهر قارون، الذي كان القلب النابض للأهواز، أصبح ملجأ للناس على هامش المجتمع.

قصة نهر قارون ليست فريدة من نوعها. وقال عباس عراقشى، وهو دبلوماسى كبير ونائب وزير خارجية ايران، إنّ الحرب القادمة سوف تكون الصراع على المياه. وقد أصدر المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي والبنك الدولي تنبؤاتٍ مماثلة، صُنّفت من خلالها أزمة المياه كسبب محتمل لحصول صراعٍ في المستقبل.

نُدرة المياه هي عامل مهم في العديد من النزاعات في الشرق الأوسط، وزيادة النُّدرة تؤدي بالتالي إلى زيادة المنافسة. إن النمو الهائل في عدد السدود هو أحد علامات ذلك. وقد قامت الدول الأقوى في المنطقة – إيران وتركيا – ببناء مئات السدود في العقود الأخيرة لتلبية احتياجاتها من المياه. وقد دفعت بلدان أخرى في المنطقة ثمناً باهظاً لذلك: الجفاف، والاضطرابات الاجتماعية، وفي الحرب الأهلية في حالة سوريا.

Khuzestan

خريطة 1: موقع السدود في إيران.

يظن ناصر كرامي، أستاذ علم المناخ في الجامعة النرويجية للعلوم والتكنولوجيا، الذي نشأ في المقاطعة: “أنه في خوزستان، التغييرات لا رجعة فيها الآن”. لا يمكن للمرء أن يتكلم عن الندرة أو الظمأ، كما يقول، لأن المصطلح يشير إلى أنها ظاهرة مؤقتة. الحقيقة ليست كذلك، ” خوزستان قد جفّت”.

والعواصف الترابية ليست النتيجة الوحيدة لندرة المياه. يوجد إلى الشمال من الأهواز سهل جرداء. فمن الصعب أن نتصور أنه حتى وقت قريب كان هذا كله خصباً وأخضراً، لدرجة أنه يمكنك أن تأخذ قارباً خلال الأراضي الرطبة الشاسعة وسماع الطيور. ويؤدي الطريق في النهاية إلى أرفاند كينار، بالقرب من الحدود مع العراق والكويت. المنطقة تشتهربزراعة أشجار النخيل، ولكن كلما ذهبت باتجاه الشمال أكثر، كلما أصبح المشهد مقفراً أكثر. تبدو بعض المناطق وكأنها أصيبت بأمواج تسونامي. كل ما تبقى هي صفوف لا نهاية لها من جذوعٍ من دون تاج. ومع انخفاض منسوب المياه في قارون تسربت المياه المالحة من الخليج الفارسي إلى المزيد من الأراضي الداخلية. مما أدى إلى زيادة ملوحة التربة و بالتالي موت النخيل.

كما أن تأثير ندرة المياه مرئي وواضحٌ أيضا في الجنوب الغربي من الأهواز، تحديداً في الأراضي الرطبة في هورالعظيم. وحتى منتصف التسعينات، كان من الممكن أن يصل عمق المياه في الأراضي الرطبة إلى عشرة أمتار. في السنوات التي تلت، تم حرق و جرف الهكتار بعد الهكتار لاستخراج النفط. مشهد جاموس المياه وسقائف القصب هي أدلة على أن المياه كانت وفيرة هنا منذ وقت ليس ببعيد. ولكن من بين 40 قرية هنا، هناك قرية واحدة ما زالت مأهولة بالسكان.

Karun river

الصورة 2: شاب يوجه الجاموس إلى نهر كارون للاستحمام، إيران (المصدر: سونا اسكندر نيزهاد، فليكر).

ويمكن لندرة المياه أن تزعزع استقرار بلدان بأكملها. وأوضح مثال على ذلك هو سوريا التي تقع في حوض الفرات. وحيث أن السدود التركية عبر نهر الفرات، التي زاد عددها من 14 في 1980 إلى 120 سدا في اليوم الحالي، قللت من تدفق المياه إلى سوريا بنسبة 20-40%، مما أدى إلى حدوث الجفاف والعواصف الترابية وفقدان الأراضي الزراعية. وأدى ذلك إلى الهجرة إلى المدينة، حيث أثار الفقر والبطالة استياءاً واندلعت في نهاية المطاف مظاهرات أدت إلى اندلاع الحرب الأهلية في عام 2011.

وفي العراق أيضا، كان لندرة المياه تأثير مباشر على الصراع الحالي. وكان هذا الاستنتاج الذي خلص إليه الصحفي بيتر شوارتزستين الذي أجرى أكثر من مائة مقابلة في العراق لصالح ناشيونال جيوغرافيك، ووجد أن معظم القرى المحرومة من المياه برزت كأحد أهم أسباب تجنيد الدولة الإسلامية.

هل يمكن أن يحدث ذلك في خوزستان؟ إن الوضع متفجر، كما قال كرامي. “أتوقع المزيد من المظاهرات، وسيكون من الصعب على الحكومة السيطرة عليها. أنا قلق بشأن ما سيحدث بعد ذلك لأنني أتوقع أنواعا مختلفة من الصراعات. خوزستان ضعيفة بالفعل بسبب التوترات العرقية والاجتماعية والثقافية، على سبيل المثال بين السكان العرب وغير العرب. الجميع يسأل نفسه: كيف يمكننا أن نكون فقراء جدا عندما نعيش على بحر من النفط؟ ”

ما يجعل هذا مؤلما بشكل خاص لسكان خوزستان هو أن السدود على قارون لا تستخدم فقط لتوليد الطاقة وري الأراضي الزراعية، كما أنها تستخدم لتوجيه المياه عبر الأنفاق إلى المحافظات الأخرى، ولا سيما أصفهان في وسط إيران، والتي تمتلك قوة سياسية أكبر. فلذلك يشعرالعديد من سكان خوزستان بأن مياههم تسرق.

والصراعات الصغيرة على المياه شائعة بالفعل، وكانت هناك مؤخرا مظاهرات في الأهواز. ولكن إذا كان سكان خوزستان يمكن أن يختاروا بين الهروب من المشكلة أو القتال، فإن معظمهم – بفضل قبضة الحديد للنظام – سيختار الأول. في العام الماضي، أظهرت دراسة مسربة أجرتها حكومة المقاطعة أن 95% من الذين شملهم الاستقصاء يريدون المغادرة. في المدن الكبرى مثل طهران وأصفهان، نشأت أحياء بأكملها لاستيعاب المهاجرين من خوزستان.

ويعتزم العديد من الأشخاص الذين تمت مقابلتهم من أجل هذه المادة أيضا المغادرة، مثل كريم باروداران (64 عام). وهو يبيع الفواكه والخضراوات في السوق في الحي العربي في الأهواز. “أصدقائي صيادون ولكن ليس لديهم وظائف بعد الآن. أبنائي عاطلون عن العمل “. هو الأجير الوحيد ويقوم بإعالة أبنائه. “عندما ينفد الماء، سيتعين علي الانتقال إلى مدينة أخرى أو إلى بلد آخر. أنا لست في وضع يسمح لي بتغيير أي شيء، لذلك سوف أضطر إلى التكيف “.

ويرى أيضا مرتضى زيباي ( 28 عام)، الذي يعمل حالياً في متجر لبيع الغسالات، آفاقا قليلة في الأهواز. وقد ذهبت بقية عائلته بالفعل إلى أصفهان وطهران. يقول: “عندما ينتهي عقدي في غضون ستة أشهر، سأغادر أيضاً”.

وقد أشارت إيران مراراً بإصبع الاتهام إلى تركيا. خاصة أن تركيا أعلنت أنها تمضي قدماً فى بناء سد اليسو المثير للجدل. ووصف الرئيس الايراني حسن روحاني السد خطراً على المنطقة بأسرها وكارثياً على إيران.

1_Danial Khodaie_Dust_Invasion

الصورة 3: خلال عاصفة غبار في خوزستان نتيجة لانكماش المياه (المصدر: دانيال خوداي).

ومع ذلك، فإن إيران في موقف تفاوضي صعب. تبدو تركيا عاقدة العزم على إكمال سد إليسو، على الرغم من المعارضة الدولية الواسعة النطاق، وسجل إدارة المياه في إيران، الذي هو أبعد من أن يكون مثاليا، كل هذا يترك لإيران نفوذا ضئيلاً. فعلى سبيل المثال، شهد سكان قلادزي في كردستان العراق انقطاع إمدادات المياه بنسبة 80 % في آب عندما تم بدأ تشغيل سد إيراني بالقرب من الحدود. وكان النهر الذي دمره هذا السد مصدراً هاماً للمياه في المنطقة الكردية.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن إيران تبني السد لضخم الخاص بها على نهر سيروان، وهو رافد لنهر دجلة. وسيخفض سد داريان إمدادات المياه إلى كردستان العراق بنسبة 60 %، وفقا لحسابات منظمة إنقاذ دجلة، وهي منظمة غير حكومية عراقية تحاول حماية النهر.

وقال رضا ارداكانيان وزير الطاقة الايراني انه يريد مراجعة جدوى وتأثير جميع السدود قيد الانشاء حاليا. ومن المقررعقد مؤتمر حول الدبلوماسية المائية وإدارة الأزمات في آذار 2018، عندما تهدف إيران إلى مراجعة وضعها الاستراتيجي للمياه في المنطقة.

ديفاني، الصياد السابق من الأهواز، لا يريد أن يغادر. انه كبير في السن جدا على الهجرة، لكنه لا يرى أي مستقبل هنا لأطفاله. “بدون نهر قارون، المدينة ليس لها أي معنى”.

Home / Specials / Water scarcity and conflict in the Middle East: The story of Khuzestan, Iran

Water scarcity and conflict in the Middle East: The story of Khuzestan, Iran


Photo1: The scarcity of water in Khuzestan results in dust storms (Source:Danial Khodaie).

Author: Ludo Hekman.
This is a translated article. Source:Trouw.nl

Water scarcity is increasingly fueling conflict in the Middle East, for example, in Khuzestan, in the southwest of Iran. The province literally dried up. One of the main reasons are the dams build in Iran itself and in Turkey.

Khuzestan is an oil-rich province on the border with Iraq. Some 85 per cent of all Iranian oil – the lifeblood of the country’s economy – is extracted here. However, large areas of the province have gone from wetland to wasteland in a matter of years.

The primary reason for this transformation can be found in Iran itself. Although climate change and dam construction in Turkey play a role, Iran is largely to blame for the drought. Dam construction on the Karun river, one of Khuzestan’s most critical water resources, has reduced the water supply by two-third.

The river’s decline is immediately evident in Ahvaz, the provincial capital, which straddles both banks of the river. Between the reeds along the water’s edge are piles of clothes and pieces of cardboard that double as mattresses. Clothes are spread out on the rocks to dry. Strangers are regarded with suspicion and occasionally greeted with hostile shouts. This is where the junkies live, in huts that are somewhere between a garden shed and a bird’s nest. Made from rubbish and reeds, they face towards the water and away from society.

This animation shows how the conflict dams feeds wars in the Middle East.

Former fisherman Abed Divani (60) knows all the addicts and greets them cheerfully. He still regularly takes his boat out on the river and often stops to chat. He has seen the river change. He used to spend long days on the water. He had five boats and caught up to 100kg of fish a day. Everyone in Ahvaz was dependent on the river, he says. “They grew up along its banks, used its water for drinking and agriculture and ate its fish.”

He has not been fishing for three years; there is no point. The fish on the market is now brought in from another province. He drives a pick-up truck and makes small deliveries. The job makes him sad. “But coming to the river every morning and seeing what has happened to it makes me just as unhappy, and angry,” he says. The Karun, once Ahvaz’s beating heart, has become a refuge for people on the margins of society.

The story of the Karun is not unique. The next war will be fought over water, says Abbas Araqchi, a senior diplomat and deputy foreign minister of Iran. The World Economic Forum and the World Bank have made similar predictions, ranking water crises as the most likely to trigger future conflict.

Water scarcity is an important factor in many disputes in the Middle East, and as scarcity increases, so will competition. The enormous growth in the number of dams is a symptom of this. The most powerful countries in the region – Iran and Turkey – have built hundreds of dams in recent decades to meet their water needs. Other countries in the region have paid a high price for this: drought, social unrest and, in the case of Syria, civil war.


Map 1: Location of the dams in Iran.

“In Khuzestan, the changes are now irreversible,” believes Nasser Karami, professor of climatology at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, who grew up in the province. One can no longer speak of drought, he says, because the term suggests that it is a temporary phenomenon. It isn’t. “Khuzestan has dried up.”

Dust storms are not the only consequence of water scarcity. To the north of Ahvaz lies a barren plain. It is hard to imagine that until recently this was lush and green, that you could take a boat through the vast wetland and hear birdsong. The road eventually leads to Arvand Kenar, near the border with Iraq and Kuwait. The area is famous for its date palms, but the further north you go, the more desolate the landscape becomes. Some areas look like they have been hit by a tsunami. All that remains are endless rows of trunks without a crown. The falling water level in the Karun has allowed salt water from the Persian Gulf to penetrate further inland. The increased salinity of the soil is killing the palms.

The impact of water scarcity is also visible to the south-west of Ahvaz, in the Hor al-Azim wetland. Up until the mid-1990s, the depth of water in the wetland could reach ten metres. In the years since, hectare after hectare has been burned or bulldozed for oil extraction. Water buffalo dot the landscape and the reed sheds are evidence that water was plentiful here not so long ago. But of the 40 villages here, not one is still inhabited.

نهر قارون

Water scarcity can destabilize entire countries. The clearest example of this is Syria, which lies in the Euphrates basin. Turkey’s dams across the Euphrates, which have increased from 14 in 1980 to 120 today, reduced the flow water into Syria by 20-40 per cent, resulting in drought, dust storms and loss of agricultural land. This drove migration to the city, where poverty and unemployment bred resentment and eventually erupted into demonstrations that sparked the civil war in 2011.

In Iraq too, water scarcity has had a direct impact on the current conflict. This was the conclusion drawn by journalist Peter Schwartzstein, who conducted more than a hundred interviews in Iraq for National Geographic and found that the most water-deprived villages emerged as some of Islamic State’s foremost recruiting grounds.

Could that happen in Khuzestan? The situation is explosive, says Karami. “I expect more demonstrations, and they will be difficult for the government to control. I’m worried about what will happen after that because I expect different types of conflicts. Khuzestan is already vulnerable due to the ethnic and sociocultural tensions, for example between Arab and non-Arab residents. Everyone is asking themselves: how can we be so poor when we live on a sea of oil?”
What makes this particularly painful for that residents of Khuzestan is that the dams on the Karun are not only used for generating energy and irrigating agricultural land, they are also used to channel water via tunnels to other provinces, notably Isfahan in central Iran, which is politically more power. Many residents in Khuzestan feel that their water is being stolen.

Small-scale conflicts over water are already common, and there were recently demonstrations in Ahvaz. But if the residents of Khuzestan could choose between fleeing or fighting, most of them – thanks to the iron grip of the regime – would choose the former. Last year, a leaked study conducted by the provincial government showed that 95 per cent of those surveyed want to leave. In major cities such as Tehran and Isfahan, entire neighbourhoods have sprung up to accommodate migrants from Khuzestan.

Many of the people interviewed for this article are also planning to leave, such as Karim Barodaran (64). He sells fruit and vegetables on the market in Ahvaz’s Arab quarter. “My friends are fishermen but they don’t have jobs anymore. My sons are unemployed.” He is the only wage earner and supports his two sons. “When the water runs out, I’ll have to move to another city or another country. I’m not in a position to change anything, so I’ll have to adapt.”

Morteza Zibaie (28) also sees few prospects in Ahvaz. He works in a shop selling washing machines. The rest of his family has already gone to Isfahan and Tehran. “When my contract expires in six months, I’ll leave too,” he says.

Iran has repeatedly pointed the finger of blame at Turkey, especially since Turkey announced it was pushing ahead with the construction of the controversial Ilisu Dam. Iranian President Hassan Rouhani called the dam dangerous for the whole region and disastrous for Iran.

1_Danial Khodaie_Dust_Invasion

Photo 3: During a dust storm in Khuzestan resulted by water shrtage (Source: Danial Khodaie).

However, Iran is in a difficult negotiating position. Turkey seems determined to complete the Ilisu Dam, despite widespread international opposition, and Iran’s own water management record, which is far from exemplary, leaves it with little leverage. The residents of Qaladze in Iraqi Kurdistan, for example, saw their water supply diminish by 80 per cent in August when an Iranian dam near the border went into operation. The river that was dammed was an important source of water for the Kurdish region.

Moreover, Iran is building its own ‘megadam’ on the Sirwan River, a tributary of the Tigris. The Daryan Dam will reduce the supply of water to Iraqi Kurdistan by 60 per cent, according to calculations by Save the Tigris, an Iraqi NGO that is trying to protect the river.

Reza Ardakanian, Iran’s energy minister, says he wants to review the feasibility and economic impact of all the dams currently under construction. A conference on water diplomacy and crisis management is planned for March 2018, when Iran aims to revise its strategic water position in the region.

Divani, the former fisherman from Ahvaz, does not want to leave. He is too old to migrate, but he sees no future here for his children. “Without the Karun, the city has no meaning.”