الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / نهر العاصي وسد الصداقة بين تركيا وسوريا

نهر العاصي وسد الصداقة بين تركيا وسوريا

نهر العاصي، أنطاكية، تركيا
لسنواتٍ عديدة، ارتبطت المفاوضات بين تركيا وسوريا حول نهر العاصي بالقضايا المتعلقة بنهريّ دجلة والفرات المشتركين بين تركيا وسوريا والعراق

المُساهمون

المقدمة

لسنواتٍ عديدة، ارتبطت المفاوضات بين تركيا وسوريا حول نهر العاصي[1] بالقضايا المتعلقة بنهريّ دجلة والفرات المشتركين بين تركيا وسوريا والعراق، حيث كان تقدم الأولى يعتمد على تقدم الأخيرة. ومنذ بدء المفاوضات بين الدول الثلاث في بدايات ثمانينيات القرن الماضي، تبنت تركيا وسوريا استراتيجياتٍ متضاربة. ففي حين أصرت تركيا على أن المفاوضات ستشمل جميع المياه الإقليمية العابرة للحدود، بما في ذلك العاصي ودجلة والفرات، رفضت سوريا مناقشة أمر نهر العاصي مع تركيا. فقد اعتبرت سوريا محافظة هاتاي التركية، التي يتدفق خلال نهر العاصي قبل أن يصب في البحر الأبيض المتوسط، أراضٍ سورية، وبالتالي، اعتبرت نهر العاصي نهراً وطنياً وليس نهراً عابراً للحدود. وهكذا، فإن أي مفاوضاتٍ سترتقي للاعتراف بسيادة تركيا على منطقة هاتاي.

ساد هذا الجمود إلى أن وقعت أنقرة مع دمشق اتفاق أضنة في أكتوبر 1998. في أعقاب هذا التقارب، تحسنت العلاقات بين البلدين إلى حدٍ كبير، على الصعيدين السياسي والاقتصادي. وخلال زيارته لسوريا عام 2004، اقترح رجب طيب أردوغان، الذي كان يشغل آنذاك منصب رئيس الوزراء التركي، بناء سدٍ متعدد الأغراض على نهر العاصي.

وفي عام 2009، وقع وزير الري السوري ووزير البيئة التركي مذكرة تفاهم لبناء “سد الصداقة” على الحدود التركية- السورية. التقت الجهات المسؤولة- المديرية العامة التركية للدولة للأشغال المائية (DSİ) والشركة السورية العامة للدراسات المائية- في يناير 2010، وتم الاتفاق على أنّ دراسة الجدوى والتصميم النهائي المقترح سيجهزان بحلول أكتوبر 2010. وفي 6 فبراير 2011، احتفل رؤساء وزراء البلدين بوضع حجر الأساس لمشروع سد الصداقة. ومع ذلك، توقف المشروع في مارس من نفس العام بسبب الانتفاضة السورية. وبعد خمس سنوات، ومع عدم وجود نهايةٍ للنزاع السوري، يبدو اليوم أنّ مستقبل هذا المشروع غير مؤكد.

نهر العاصي
الصورة (1): موقع نهر العاصي.

[1] Orontes is the English name of the river, whereas Asi is used both in Arabic and Turkish. As such, it will be used throughout this report.

Home / Specials / The Asi River and the Turkey-Syria Friendship Dam

The Asi River and the Turkey-Syria Friendship Dam

Asi River, Antakya, Turkey
Asi River, Antakya, Turkey, (Source: halisyalcinkaya, http://www.panoramio.com/photo/63444978 )

Contributors

Introduction

For many years, negotiations between Turkey and Syria over the Orontes or Asi River[1] were linked to issues concerning the Euphrates and Tigris rivers shared between Turkey, Syria and Iraq, and progress of the former was dependent on progress of the latter. From the start of negotiations between the three countries in the early 1980s, Turkey and Syria adopted conflicting strategies. Whereas, Turkey insisted that negotiations would encompass all regional trans-boundary waters including the Asi, the Euphrates and the Tigris, Syria refused to discuss the Asi River with Turkey. Syria considered the Turkish province of Hatay, through which the Asi River flows before discharging into the Mediterranean, as Syrian territory, and hence regarded the Asi as a national rather than a trans-boundary river. Any negotiation would have been tantamount to acknowledging Turkey’s sovereignty over Hatay.

This stalemate prevailed until Ankara and Damascus signed the Adana Agreement in October 1998. Following this rapprochement, relations between the two countries improved considerably, both politically and economically. During a visit to Syria in 2004, Recep Tayyip Erdogan, then Turkish prime minister, proposed a joint multi-purpose dam to be built on the Asi River.

In 2009, the Syrian Minister of Irrigation and the Turkish Minister of Environment signed a memorandum of understanding for the construction of the ‘Friendship Dam’ on the Turkey-Syria border. The agencies responsible – the Turkish General Directorate of State Hydraulic Works (DSİ) and the Syrian General Company for Hydraulic Studies – met in January 2010 and agreed that the feasibility studies and final design proposal should be ready by October 2010. On 6 February 2011, the prime ministers of both countries celebrated the laying of the foundation stone of the Friendship Dam. However, the project came to a halt with the Syrian uprising in March of that year. Five years on, with no end to the Syrian conflict in sight, the future of the project is now uncertain.

Asi (Orontes) River Location.
Photo 1: Asi (Orontes) River Location.

[1] Orontes is the English name of the river, whereas Asi is used both in Arabic and Turkish. As such, it will be used throughout this report.