الصفحة الرئيسية / فلسطين / الموارد المائية المشتركة

الموارد المائية المشتركة في فلسطين

الشريك الوروبي اوكسقام اثناء تقديم مساعادات انسانية لقطاع غزة لتحسين تزويد المياه وخدمات الصرف الصحي Photo credit: Iyad Al Baba/Oxfam
الشريك الوروبي اوكسقام اثناء تقديم مساعادات انسانية لقطاع غزة لتحسين تزويد المياه وخدمات الصرف الصحي Photo credit: Iyad Al Baba/Oxfam

كما نوقش سابقا ً، فإن جميع الموارد المائية في فلسطين مشتركة، على الأغلب مع إسرائيل. والمياه المشتركة عادة ما تحتاج إلى أن تدار من خلال إتفاقيات تتضمن تخصيصها وإستخدامها بين مختلف الأطراف.

فبعد إعلان التقسيم للأمم المتحدة في عام 1947، كان جونستون اول من وضع خطة لحل قضايا تقسيم المياه الإقليميه وذلك في العام 1955. وتم دعم هذه الخطة من قبل الولايات المتحدة، والتي تتضمن تخصيص جميع الموارد المائية في حوض نهر الأردن بين الدول التي تتشارك الحوض في ذلك الوقت: إسرائيل ولبنان والأردن وسوريا. ونصت الإتفاقية على أن 55٪ من المياه المتوفرة في الحوض يجب ان تذهب إلى الأردن (والتي تضمنت في ذلك الوقت الضفة الغربية)، و 26٪ لإسرائيل، و 9٪ لسوريا و 9٪ للبنان. تم قبول خطة جونستون من قبل اللجان الفنية للدول الواقعة على ضفاف النهر لكن لم يتم التصديق عليها. ومنذ ذلك الحين تم استغلال مياه نهر الأردن للقيام بمشاريع من جانب واحد دون الامتثال لتقسيم حصص المياه التي تم اقتراحها.

إتفاقيات أوسلو الأولى والثانية خلقت مناخ من الأمل في أن النزاع الإسرائيلي–  الفلسطيني يمكن حله.  وتم تقسيم اتفاقية أوسلو إلى مسارين: المفاوضات الثنائية والمتعددة الأطراف. كان المقصود من المسار الثنائي أن يؤدي إلى معاهدات السلام بين إسرائيل وكل من الأطراف الإقليمية، وهي الأردن ولبنان وفلسطين وسوريا. أما المسار الثاني(المتعدد الأطراف) فكان لإستكمال ودعم المسار الثنائي من خلال تشجيع التعاون الإقليمي. كما أن جزءا ً من هذا القرار تناول تخصيص موارد المياه. المرفق الثالث من مبادئ الإعلان (13  سبتمبر 1993) دعا إلى ما يلي:

  1. تطوير خطة إسرائيلية فلسطينية أردنية مشتركة لإستغلال الموارد المائية المشتركة ومشاريع تنمية المياه الإقليمية؛
  2. إعداد مقترحات ودراسات وخطط تتعامل مع حقوق المياه لكل طرف؛
  3. والإستخدام المنصف للموارد المائية المشتركة خلال وبعد الفترة الإنتقالية.

كانت إتفاقية أوسلو الثانية (1995)  واسعة النطاق لحماية البيئة والإستفادة من الموارد الطبيعية على أسس مستدامة. حيث تمت الإشارة إلى المياه في المادة 40 من الملحق الثالث، “البروتوكول المتعلق بالشؤون المدنية”.

القضايا الرئيسية المتفق عليها يمكن تلخيصها على النحو التالي:

  1. تعترف إسرائيل بالحقوق المائية الفلسطينية في الضفة الغربية. وسيتم مناقشة هذه الحقوق في المفاوضات النهائية وستثبت في الإتفاقية الدائمة المتعلقة بمختلف الموارد المائية؛
  2. تقوم إسرائيل بتحويل الصلاحيات والمسؤوليات المتعلقة في مجال المياه والصرف الصحي في الضفة الغربية التي ترتبط فقط بالفلسطينيين، والتي تقام حاليا من قبل الحكومة العسكرية وإدارتها المحلية. وهذا التحويل لن يتم مناقشته بالقضايا التي سيتم منافشتها في المفاوضات النهائية؛
  3. وسيتم تناول قضايا ملكية المياه والبنية التحتية المرتبطة بالصرف الصحي في الضفة الغربية في المفاوضات النهائية؛
  4. وتقدر الإحتياجات المستقبلية للفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية إلى حوالي 70- 80 مليون متر مكعب / سنة؛
  5. وتقدر حاجة الفلسطينيين الحالية للمياه العذبة للإستخدام المنزلي خلال الفترة الإنتقالية حوالي6 مليون متر مكعب / سنة، تقسم إلى (23.5  مليون متر مكعب / سنة في الضفة الغربية و 5.1  مليون متر مكعب / سنة لقطاع غزة). أما كمية المياه المقدرة في الضفة الغربية (23.6  مليون متر مكعب / سنة يجب أن تتوافر عن طريق20.5  مليون متر مكعب / سنة من آبار إضافية و 3.1مليون متر مكعب / سنة من ميكوروت (Mekorot.

وقد انتقد متخصصين في  المياه الفلسطينية إتفاقية أوسلو الثانية لأنها لم تتعامل مع حصة المياه الفلسطينية لنهر الأردن، وحصة غرب وشمال شرق الأحواض المشتركة للمياه الجوفية، ولم تتعامل مع تخفيض الإستهلاك الإسرائيلي للموارد المائية الفلسطينية أو الكميات المقدمة للمستوطنين اليهود غير الشرعيين في فلسطين. إضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الإتفاق تجاهل مسألة التوزيع المنصف والمعقول للموارد المائية المتاحة. وفقا لذلك، تم الإبقاء على التقسيم الغير عادل لنظام المياه الجوفية المشتركة، وإبقاء الحصص ذاتها : 80٪ مخصصة لإسرائيل و 20٪ مخصصة للفلسطينيين.

وكان المخطط لإتفاقية أوسلو أن تتم مراجعتها خلال فترة خمس سنوات كجزء من مفاوضات الوضع النهائي، ولكن منذ 20 عاماً للآن، لازالت هذه الإتفاقية تتحكم بقطاع المياه. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن إتفاقيات أوسلو تم تطبيقها (ولا تزال تنطبق) فقط على الموارد المائية داخل حدود الضفة الغربية التي تم تعريفها بـ “الخط الأخضر”.  أما الموارد المائية خارج هذا الخط، بما في ذلك جزء كبير من المياه الجوفيه، تدار من قبل جانب واحد وهو إسرائيل، فإن إستخدام هذه الموارد لا يقتصر على إطار إتفاقيات أوسلو من حيث كمية المياه التي يمكن إستخراجها سنويا.

بيل كلينتون وياسر عرفات واسحاق رابين اثناء توقيع اتفاقية اوسلو عام ١٩٩٣ By Vince Musi / The White House
بيل كلينتون وياسر عرفات واسحاق رابين اثناء توقيع اتفاقية اوسلو عام ١٩٩٣ By Vince Musi / The White House

Home / Palestine / Shared Water Resources

Shared Water Resources in Palestine

River Jordan draining into the Dead Sea.
River Jordan draining into the Dead Sea.

As discussed earlier, all water resources in Palestine are shared, mainly with Israel. Shared water usually needs to be governed through agreements on allocation and use between the different parties.

The first attempt after the UN partition declaration in 1947 to resolve shared regional water issues was the Johnston Plan of 1955. Mediated and supported by the United States, it attempted to allocate all water resources in the Jordan River Basin among the countries that shared the basin at the time: Israel, Lebanon, Jordan and Syria. The agreement stated that 55% of available water in the basin should go to Jordan (which at that time included the Palestinian West Bank), 26% to Israel, 9% to Syria and 9% to Lebanon. The Johnston Plan was accepted by the technical committees of the riparian countries but has never been ratified. The waters of the Jordan River have since been exploited by unilateral projects without any compliance with the water allocations that were proposed.

The Oslo I and II Accords created a climate of hope that the Israeli-Palestinian conflict could be resolved. The Oslo process was divided into two tracks: bilateral and multilateral negotiations. The bilateral track was intended to lead to peace treaties between Israel and each of the regional parties, namely Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine and Syria. The multilateral track was intended to complement and support the bilateral track by promoting regional cooperation. Part of this resolution addressed the allocation of water resources. Annex III of the Declaration of Principles (13 September 1993) called for the following:

  1. The development of a joint Israeli-Palestinian-Jordanian plan for the exploitation of shared water resources and regional water development projects;
  2. The preparation of proposals, studies and plans dealing with the water rights of each party; and
  3. Equitable utilization of joint water resources in and beyond the interim period.

Oslo II (1995) was a broad agreement to protect the environment and utilize the natural resources on a sustainable basis. Water is referred to under Article 40 of Annex III, the ‘Protocol Concerning Civil Affairs’. The main issues agreed upon can be summarized as follows:

  1. Israel recognizes Palestinian water rights in the West Bank. These rights will be negotiated in the final status negotiations and settled in the Permanent Status Agreement relating to the various water resources.
  2. Israel will transfer to the Palestinians the powers and responsibilities in the sphere of water and sewage in the West Bank that are related solely to Palestinians, and that are currently held by the military government and its Civil Administration. This transfer will not pertain to issues that will be negotiated in the final status negotiations.
  3. The issue of ownership of water and sewage-related infrastructure in the West Bank will be addressed in the final status negotiations.
  4. The future needs of the Palestinians in the West Bank are estimated to be 70-80 MCM/yr.
  5. The immediate need of the Palestinians for fresh water for domestic use during the interim period is about 28.6 MCM/yr (23.5 MCM/yr for the West Bank and 5.1 MCM/yr for Gaza. Of the West Bank increment of 23.6 MCM/yr, 20.5 MCM/yr has to come from additional wells and 3.1 MCM/yr from Mekorot).

Palestinian water specialists criticized the Oslo II Accord because it did not deal with the Palestinian water share of the Jordan River, the shared Western and North-Eastern basins of the Mountain Aquifer, nor with a reduction in Israeli water consumption from Palestinian water resources or the quantities provided to the illegal Jewish settlers in Palestine. Moreover, the agreement ignored the issue of equitable and reasonable distribution of the available water resources. Accordingly, the inequitable division of the shared aquifer systems was maintained, with the same 80% allocated to Israel and 20% allocated to the Palestinians.

The Oslo agreement was intended to be revised within a five-year period as part of the final status negotiations, but 20 years on, it still governs the water sector. It is worth mentioning that the Oslo Accords applied (and still apply) only to water resources within the boundaries of the West Bank as defined by the “Green Line”.  Water resources lying outside of this line, including a significant part of the Mountain Aquifer, are unilaterally managed by Israel and are not limited by the Oslo Accords framework in terms of the amount of water that can be extracted annually.

Clinton, Yitzhak Rabin and Yasser Arafat during the Oslo Accords on September 13, 1993. By Vince Musi / The White House.
Clinton, Yitzhak Rabin and Yasser Arafat during the Oslo Accords on September 13, 1993. By Vince Musi / The White House.