الصفحة الرئيسية / الكويت / ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في الكويت؟

ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في الكويت؟

الكويت - المياه في الكويت
الصورة 1: غروب الشمس في الكويت. (المصدر: Jasem Ali, Flickr)

إجراءات لتحسين إدارة المياه

نجحت الكويت في تطوير تحلية المياه ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وإمكانية الوصول إلى المياه والحد من استخراج المياه الجوفية. تميل سياسات المياه حالياً نحو إدارة الجانب المتعلق بالعرض وتغفل عن إمكانية ترشيد استهلاك المياه. يمكن أن يُشجع التغيير السلوكي من خلال حملات التوعية على دعم أسعار المياه في المستقبل.[1] وينبغي اعتماد العديد من الإجراءات لتحسين إدارة الموارد المائية، على النحو التالي:

– تخفيض دعم المياه. المياه لها سعر ثابت منخفض وتحظى بدعم الحكومة الكويتية. وقد أدى ذلك إلى ارتفاع كبير في متوسط استهلاك الفرد من المياه (من حوالي 113 لتراً / اليوم / للفرد في عام 1970 إلى حوالي 447 لتراً / اليوم / للفرد في عام 2019). يمكن أن يؤدي التخفيض الكبير في الدعم إلى تعزيز ترشيد استهلاك المياه وتوفيرها. [2]

– إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة على نطاق أوسع. ستؤدي إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة إلى تقليل الضغط على المياه العذبة والجوفية قليلة الملوحة.

– البحث عن موارد مائية غير تقليدية جديدة مثل حصاد الجريان السطحي، واستعادة المياه من المنطقة غير المشبعة، ومعالجة المياه المالحة (الناتجة من حقول النفط وتحلية المياه) لإنتاج المياه الصالحة للاستهلاك، وإعادة التغذية الاصطناعية لطبقات المياه الجوفية واستكشاف الينابيع المغمورة. [3]

– تفعيل إجراءات المحافظة على الموارد المائية المتوفرة وحمايتها. يعد تركيب معدات توفير المياه عند المستهلك وإدخال الري بالتنقيط والرشاشات لري الحدائق الخاصة والعامة أمثلة على تدابير الحفظ والكفاءة.

– الحد من الفاقد من المياه في الشبكة. يتم فقدان كمية كبيرة من المياه من خلال التسرب في شبكة توزيع المياه. يمكن للصيانة الوقائية والمنتظمة للشبكة أن تقلل من هذه الخسائر.

توقعات حالة الموارد المائية عام 2050

تشير توقعات الطلب على المياه العذبة في الكويت إلى أن الطلب سيتراوح بين 722 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة (2 مليون متر مكعب/ اليوم) و3,036 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة (8,3 مليون متر مكعب/ اليوم) بحلول عام 2050.[4] ومع النقص الحاد في موارد المياه الطبيعية، وزيادة الطلب على المياه والنمو السكاني المستمر، فإن الكويت معرضة بشدة لخطر أزمة مياه قبل حلول عام 2025، ما لم يتم اتخاذ التدابير المناسبة لتحسين إدارة المياه.[5]

وتعتمد الكويت بشكلٍ كبير على تحلية مياه البحر لتلبية احتياجاتها من المياه العذبة. ويؤدي السحب المستمر للمياه الجوفية قليلة الملوحة إلى زيادة الضغط على طبقات المياه الجوفية. ويرتفع الطلب على المياه بمعدل سريع مع زيادة الضغط السكاني وارتفاع مستوى المعيشة. ولتلبية الاحتياجات المستقبلية، سيكون من الضروري الاستثمار بشكلٍ كبير في توسيع قدرة تحلية المياه. ويمكن أن تؤدي إجراءات مثل استكشاف وتطوير موارد المياه غير التقليدية، واعتماد تقنيات مبتكرة لمعالجة المياه ومياه الصرف الصحي، والتخفيف من تلوث الموارد المائية المتاحة والسيطرة عليها، وتقليل خسائر شبكة المياه، واعتماد تقنيات جديدة لإنتاج المياه ومعالجتها، إلى تعزيز الأمن المائي والحفاظ على موارد المياه القيمة في البلاد.

[1] Ismail, H, 2015. Kuwait: Food and water security. Future Directions International.
[2] Mukhopadhyay, A and Akber, A, 2018. Sustainable water management in Kuwait: Current situation and possible correctional measures. Int. J. Sus. Dev. Plann., 13(3): 425-435.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Ismail, H, 2015. Kuwait: Food and water security. Future Directions International.

Home / Kuwait / What Does the Future Hold for Water in Kuwait?

What Does the Future Hold for Water in Kuwait?

sunset kuwait
Photo 1: Sunset in Kuwait. (Source: Jasem Ali, Flickr)

Actions to improve water management

Kuwait has been successful in developing desalination, treated wastewater and water accessibility and reducing groundwater abstraction. Water policies are currently tilted towards supply-side management and overlook the potential for water conservation. Behavioural change through awareness campaigns can encourage support for water prices in the future.[1] Several actions should be adopted to improve water resources management, as follows:

Reduction of water subsidies. Water has a low fixed price and is subsidized by the Kuwaiti government. This has led to a significant rise in average per capita water consumption (from around 113 L/d/capita in 1970 to around 447 L/d/capita in 2019). A substantial reduction in the subsidy could enhance water conservation and saving.[2]

Treated wastewater reuse on a larger scale. Reusing reclaimed wastewater will reduce the stress on costly freshwater and brackish groundwater.

Investigations of new non-conventional water resources such as runoff harvesting, recovery of water from the unsaturated zone, treatment of brine (produced from oilfields and desalination) to produce usable water, artificial recharge of aquifers and exploration of submarine springs.[3]

Enforcement of measures to conserve and protect the available water resources. Installing water-saving equipment at the consumer end and introducing drip irrigation and sprinklers for irrigating private and public gardens are examples of conservation and efficiency measures.

– Reduction of network loss. A large volume of water is lost through leakage in the water distribution network. Preventive and regular maintenance of the network can reduce such losses.

Projection of the status of water resources in 2050

Projections of freshwater demand in Kuwait indicate that the demand will range between 722 MCM/yr (2 MCM/d) and 3,036 MCM/yr (8.3 MCM/d) by 2050.[4] With its acute shortage of natural water resources, increasing water demand and continuous population growth, Kuwait is at high risk of experiencing a water crisis before 2025, unless appropriate measures are taken to improve water management.[5]

Kuwait depends heavily on seawater desalination to meet its freshwater needs. The continuous withdrawal of brackish groundwater is putting excessive stress on the aquifers. Water demand is rising at a rapid rate along with increasing population pressure and a rise in the standard of living. To meet future needs, substantial investment in expanding the desalination capacity will be necessary. Actions such as exploring and developing non-conventional water resources, adopting innovative technologies for water and wastewater treatment, mitigating and controlling the pollution of available water resources, reducing water network losses and adopting new technologies for the production and treatment of water can enhance water security and conserve the country’s valuable water resources.

[1] Ismail, H, 2015. Kuwait: Food and water security. Future Directions International.
[2] Mukhopadhyay, A and Akber, A, 2018. Sustainable water management in Kuwait: Current situation and possible correctional measures. Int. J. Sus. Dev. Plann., 13(3): 425-435.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Ismail, H, 2015. Kuwait: Food and water security. Future Directions International.