الصفحة الرئيسية / الكويت / البُنية التحتية للمياه في الكويت

البُنية التحتية للمياه في الكويت

أبراج مياه الكويت البُنية التحتية للمياه في الكويت
الصورة 1: أبراج مياه الكويت. (المصدر: Al Manlangit, Flickr)

شبكة المياه العذبة وقليلة الملوحة

يتكون نظام توزيع المياه في الكويت من شبكتين: واحدة للمياه العذبة والأخرى للمياه قليلة الملوحة. ويمتلك كل نظام خزاناته الجوفية ومحطات ضخ وأبراجاً مرتفعة خاصة به. تُستخدم المياه قليلة الملوحة لخلطها مع المياه المحلاة، وري المسطحات الزراعية والحدائق العامة ولبعض الأغراض المنزلية، بينما تُستخدم المياه العذبة للأغراض المنزلية فحسب.[1]

تُضخ المياه العذبة الناتجة من محطات التحلية أو آبار المياه الجوفية إلى الخزانات الجوفية، ثم إلى شبكات التوزيع وأبراج المياه المرتفعة. وتتم مراقبة الضخ لشبكات التوزيع ويشرف عليها مركز تحكم المياه الوطني في الشويخ.[2]

بلغ عدد الوصلات إلى المباني الخاصة والتجارية والصناعية حوالي 185,151 للمياه العذبة و76,488 للمياه قليلة الملوحة في عام 2019. وفي المناطق التي لا تتوفر فيها المياه المنقولة بالأنابيب، يمكن للناس الحصول على المياه من محطات تعبئة المياه المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. ومعدل توزيع هذه المحطات هو في حدود 10-12% من الاستهلاك العام.[3]

محطات تحلية المياه

توجد ثماني محطات لتحلية المياه في الكويت، وتقع على طول الساحل، بطاقة إنتاجية إجمالية تبلغ 3,11 مليون متر مكعب/ اليوم.[4] وتوضح الخريطة (1) والجدول (1) أسماء هذه المحطات ومواقعها وطاقتها الإنتاجية.

تحليه المياه الكويت
الخريطة 1: موقع محطات تحلية المياه ومحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في الكويت. @Fanack water

الجدول (1): الطاقة الإنتاجية لمحطات تحلية المياه في الكويت.

اسم المحطةالتقنية المستخدمةسنة التشغيل الطاقة الإنتاجية مليون متر مكعب/ اليومصافي إنتاج المياه المحلاة مليون متر مكعب/ السنة
الشويخالتقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل (MSF) والتناضح العكسي (RO)19820.2248.13
الشعيبة الشمالية التقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل (MSF)20110.2138.04
الشعيبة الجنوبيةالتقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل (MSF)19710.1436.71
الدوحة الشرقيةالتقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل (MSF)19780.1956.04
الدوحة الغربيةالتقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل (MSF) والتناضح العكسي (RO)19830.78129.91
الزور الجنوبيةالتقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل (MSF) والتناضح العكسي (RO)19880.64101.79
الزور الشماليةالتقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل (MSF) والتناضح العكسي (RO)20160.4930.97
الصبية التبخير متعدد التأثير (MED)20060.46116.93
إجمالي القدرة3.11717.90

تعتمد الكويت بشكلٍ أساسي على تقنية التقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل لمياه البحر لتوفير مياه الشرب. ويتم إنتاج معظمها من خلال محطات تحلية ذات توليد مشترك للطاقة، حيث يتم استخدام النفط أو الغاز لتوليد الكهرباء ويتم استخدام الحرارة الزائدة في عملية التقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل.[5]

وفي عام 1951، قد أصبحت الكويت أول دولة في العالم تقوم بتشغيل محطة تحلية لإنتاج مياه الشرب، إذ كانت المحطة الأولى عبارة عن محطة أنابيب مغمورة تقع في الشويخ. وتم استبدالها في عام 1960 بأول محطة تحلية تعمل بتقنية التقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل بسعة 4,546 متر مكعب/ اليوم.[6] وعليه، فسرعان ما شرعت الكويت بإنشاء المزيد من محطات تقنية التقطير الومضي متعدد المراحل، مع زيادة سعة الوحدة بمرور الوقت والخبرة.[7]

شبكة الصرف الصحي ومحطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي

تحتل الكويت المرتبة الأولى عربياً والخامسة عالمياً في تغطية خدمات الصرف الصحي.[8] [9] يحصل ما يقرب من 90% من السكان على خدمات المياه والصرف الصحي. وتتدفق إلى محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي مياه الصرف الصحي البلدية، والتي يتم تلقيها من المباني السكنية والحكومية والتجارية، وكذلك المياه السطحية.[10] كما يتم تصريف مياه الأمطار المتسربة إلى شبكة منفصلة عن شبكة مياه الصرف الصحي ويتم تصريفها دون معالجة في البحر. لا توجد رسوم على جمع مياه الصرف الصحي في الكويت، إذ تموّل خدمات الصرف الصحي من الميزانية السنوية المخصصة من قبل الحكومة.[11]

كما هو موضح في الجدول (2)، يوجد حالياً خمس محطات لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في الكويت، وهي الرقة وأم الهيمان والصليبية وكبد والخيران (محطة تجريبية).[12]

الجدول (2): سعة محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في الكويت.[13]

الجهراء*الرقة أم الهيمانالخيران/ الوفرةالصليبيةكبد
أنشئت/ عام1982 1982 2001 20032005 2012
السعة الأولية (متر مكعب/ اليوم)65K 85K 27K 4K425K 180K
السعة الموسعة/ القصوى (متر مكعب/اليوم)86K 180K - -600K 270K
التدفق الحالي (متر مكعب/ اليوم)220K 220K 20K 3.84K450K 180K
مرحلة المعالجة الثلاثية للسوائل المعالجة (متر مكعب/ اليوم)- 166K 15.68K -- 180K
المياه المعالجة بتقنية التناضح العكسي (متر مكعب/ اليوم)- - - -320K -

محطة الصليبية لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي

قد بدأ تشغيل محطة معالجة وتحلية المياه في الصليبية واستصلاحها في عام 2005 كأكبر منشأة في العالم تطبق معالجة المياه بالتناضح العكسي (RO) والترشيح الفائق (UF) لمعالجة جميع مياه الصرف الصحي المتدفقة من مدينة الكويت وحولي.[14]

تعالج محطة معالجة مياه الصليبية وحدها ما يقرب من 64% من مياه الصرف الصحي في البلاد. وتنقسم المحطة إلى قسمين: محطة المعالجة البيولوجية ومحطة الاسترداد.[15] تخضع النفايات السائلة التي تم فرزها مسبقاً لعملية غسيل عكسي بتقنية الترشيح الفائق، ثم يوزع التدفق الناتج إلى تسعة خزانات تهوية، بحجم إجمالي قدره 208,900 متر مكعب. بعدها، يتدفق السائل المختلط إلى مصفاة ثانوية ليتم ضخه بجوار محطة الترشيح الفائق. تنتقل النفايات السائلة المنقاة من الترشيح الفائق إلى قسم التناضح العكسي، والذي يحتوي على 21,000 غشاء يقوم بتصفية النفايات السائلة عبر ثلاث مراحل متتالية. ونتيجةً لذلك، تتم تنقية 85% من الوارد إلى محطات التناضح العكسي/ الترشيح الفائق، بينما يتم طرح الباقي كمحلول ملحي وتصريفه في البحر.[16]

[1] Statistical Yearbook Water Edition 2019, 2020. Ministry of Electricity and Water.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Finan, A and Kazimi, M, 2013. Potential benefits of innovative desalination technology development in Kuwait. Kuwait Center for Natural Resources and the Environment Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
[6] Ibid.
[7] Ibid.
[8] Prescott-Allen, R, 2011. Global Environmental Monitoring System/Water Quality Monitoring System, with data for an additional 29 countries. United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Washington, DC.
[9] Aleisa, E and Zubari, W, 2017. Wastewater reuse in the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC): The lost opportunity. Environmental Monitoring and Assessment, 189(11): 553.
[10] Enezi, G et al., 2004. Heavy metals content of municipal wastewater and sludges in Kuwait. Journal of Environmental Science and Health Part A, 39(2): 397-407.
[11] Ibid.
[12] Aleisa, E and Alshayji, K, 2019. Analysis on reclamation and reuse of wastewater in Kuwait. Journal of Engineering Research, 7(1): 1-13.
[13] Ibid.
[14] Hamoda, M, 2013. Advances in wastewater treatment technology for water reuse. Journal of Engineering Research, 1(1): 1-27.
[15] Aleisa, E and Alshayji, K, 2019. Analysis on reclamation and reuse of wastewater in Kuwait. Kuwait Journal of Science and Engineering, 7(1).
[16] Ibid.

Home / Kuwait / Water Infrastructure in Kuwait

Water Infrastructure in Kuwait

water towers kuwait Water infrastructure in Kuwait
Photo 1: Kuwait Water towers. (Source: Al Manlangit, Flickr)

Fresh and brackish water network

The water distribution system in Kuwait comprises two networks: one for fresh water and the other for brackish water. Each system has its own underground reservoirs, pumping stations and elevated towers. The brackish water is used for blending with desalinated water, irrigating agricultural landscapes and public parks and for domestic purposes, while fresh water is used only for domestic purposes.[1]

Fresh water produced from desalination plants or groundwater wells is pumped to underground reservoirs, then to distribution networks and elevated towers. Pumping to the distribution networks is monitored and supervised by the Water Control Centre in Shuwaikh.[2]

The number of connections to private, commercial and industrial buildings was about 185,151 for fresh water and 76,488 for brackish water in 2019. In areas where piped water is not yet available, people can obtain their water from water filling stations located across the country. The distribution rate of these stations is in the range of 10-12% of the general consumption.[3]

Desalination plants

There are eight desalination plants in Kuwait, located along the coast, with a total installed capacity of 3.11 MCM/d.[4] Map 1 and Table 1 show the name, location and installed capacity of these plants.

Water infrastrucutre in Kuwait
Map 1: Location of desalination plants and wastewater treatment plants in Kuwait. @Fanack water

Table 1: Installed capacity of desalination plants in Kuwait.

Name of plantTechnologyCommissioning year Installed capacity MCM/dNet production of desalinated water MCM/yr
Shuwaikh MSF and RO19820.2248.13
Shuaiba North MSF 20110.2138.04
Shuaiba SouthMSF 19710.1436.71
Doha EastMSF 19780.1956.04
Doha West MSF and RO19830.78129.91
Zour South MSF and RO19880.64101.79
Zour NorthMSF and RO20160.4930.97
Sabiya MED20060.46116.93
Total capacity3.11717.90

Kuwait uses mainly multi-stage flash (MSF) distillation of seawater to provide potable water. Most of this is produced with co-generation power desalting plants, in which oil or gas is used to generate electricity and excess heat is used for the MSF process.[5]

In 1951, Kuwait became the first country in the world to commission a desalination plant for drinking water production. The first plant was a submerged tube plant located in Shuwaikh. This was replaced in 1960 with the first MSF desalination plant with a capacity of 4,546 m3/d.[6] Kuwait rapidly installed more MSF plants, with the unit capacity increasing with time and experience.[7]

Sanitation network and wastewater treatment plants

Kuwait is ranked first among Arab countries and fifth globally in the coverage of sanitation services.[8] [9] Approximately 90% of the population has access to water and sanitation services. Inflow to wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs) is municipal wastewater, which is received from residential, governmental and commercial buildings, as well as surface water.[10] Storm water infiltrations drain into a separate network from the wastewater network and are discharged untreated into the sea. No fee is charged for wastewater collection in Kuwait. Sanitation services are funded by an annual budget allocated by the government.[11]

As shown in Table 2 and Map 1, there are currently five WWTPs in Kuwait. These are Riqqa, Umm al-Hayman, Sulaibiya, Kabd and Khiran (pilot plant).[12]

Table 2: Kuwait’s wastewater treatment plant capacity.[13]

Jahra*Riqqa Umm al-HaymanKhiran/WafraSulaibiyaKabd
Commenced 1982 1982 2001 20032005 2012
Initial capacity (m3/d)65K 85K 27K 4K425K 180K
Expanded/max capacity (m3/d)86K 180K - -600K 270K
Current inflow (m3/d)220K 220K 20K 3.84K450K 180K
Tertiary treated effluent (m3/d) - 166K 15.68K -- 180K
RO water treated (m3/d) - - - -320K -

Sulaibiya WWTP

The Sulaibiya WWTP and reclamation plant was commenced in 2005 as the largest facility in the world that applies RO and ultrafiltration (UF) membrane water treatment, to treat all sewage water generated from Kuwait City and Hawalli.[14]

Sulaibiya WWTP alone treats approximately 64% of the country’s sewage. The plant is divided into two sections: the biological treatment plant and the reclamation plant.[15] Pre-screened effluent first undergoes a backwash of UF. Then, the inlet distributes the resulting flow to nine aeration tanks, with a total volume of 208,900 m3. The mixed liquor then flows to a secondary clarifier to be pumped next to the UF plant. UF-purified effluent proceeds to the RO section, which contains 21,000 membranes that filter the effluent through three successive stages. As a result, 85% of the inlet to UF/RO is purified, while the remaining is rejected as brine and dumped into the sea.[16]

[1] Statistical Yearbook Water Edition 2019, 2020. Ministry of Electricity and Water.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Finan, A and Kazimi, M, 2013. Potential benefits of innovative desalination technology development in Kuwait. Kuwait Center for Natural Resources and the Environment Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
[6] Ibid.
[7] Ibid.
[8] Prescott-Allen, R, 2011. Global Environmental Monitoring System/Water Quality Monitoring System, with data for an additional 29 countries. United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Washington, DC.
[9] Aleisa, E and Zubari, W, 2017. Wastewater reuse in the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC): The lost opportunity. Environmental Monitoring and Assessment, 189(11): 553.
[10] Enezi, G et al., 2004. Heavy metals content of municipal wastewater and sludges in Kuwait. Journal of Environmental Science and Health Part A, 39(2): 397-407.
[11] Ibid.
[12] Aleisa, E and Alshayji, K, 2019. Analysis on reclamation and reuse of wastewater in Kuwait. Journal of Engineering Research, 7(1): 1-13.
[13] Ibid.
[14] Hamoda, M, 2013. Advances in wastewater treatment technology for water reuse. Journal of Engineering Research, 1(1): 1-27.
[15] Aleisa, E and Alshayji, K, 2019. Analysis on reclamation and reuse of wastewater in Kuwait. Kuwait Journal of Science and Engineering, 7(1).
[16] Ibid.