الصفحة الرئيسية / الكويت / إدارة المياه في الكويت

إدارة المياه في الكويت

وزارة الكهرباء الكويتية إدارة المياه في الكويت
الصورة 1: وزارة الكهرباء والماء في الكويت. (المصدر: syedfraz, Flickr)

القوانين والأنظمة

يوضح الجدول (1) أهم القوانين والمراسيم والقرارات المتعلقة بالمياه.

القانون/ سنة اعتمادهالنطاق
القانون رقم 12 لعام 1964 بشأن منع تلويث المياه بالزيت- يتألف هذا القانون من 11 مادة: منع تلويث المياه البحرية والمياه الداخلية (المادة 1).
القانون رقم 21 لعام 1995. تم تعديله: القانون رقم 16 لعام 1996. - يعدّ هذا قانون البيئة الرئيسي في البلاد، الذي تم بموجبه إنشاء الهيئة العامة للبيئة في الكويت (KEPA)، بما في ذلك تفويضها وصلاحياتها وسلطاتها. - تشمل سلطات وواجبات الهيئة العامة للبيئة المتعلقة بحماية البيئة تطوير ومراقبة السياسات العامة والاستراتيجيات وخطط العمل لحماية البيئة. - أوضح القانون 16 المعدل عام 1996 دور الهيئة العامة للبيئة في الصيانة والحماية والمسؤولية.
المرسوم رقم 5 لعام 2012. - أصدر المرسوم رقم 5 اللائحة الخاصة بنقل مياه الصرف الصناعي، والتي تهدف إلى إنشاء نظام للتحكم في نقل النفايات السائلة الصناعية والتخلص منها بطرق بيئية آمنة تمنع الآثار الضارة بالصحة العامة والسلامة والرفاهية؛ وإنشاء قاعدة بيانات حول الجودة والكمية ومصادر النفايات السائلة الصناعية.
القانون رقم 42 لعام 2014 بشأن حماية البيئة، المعدل بالقانون رقم 99 لعام 2015. - - يهدف هذا القانون إلى حماية التوازن الطبيعي للبيئة والحفاظ عليه؛ ومكافحة التلوث وأضراره؛ وضمان التنمية المستدامة والحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي. - يتناول العديد من القضايا البيئية، مثل حماية الأرض والمياه والهواء من التلوث، وإدارة التنوع البيولوجي والبيئة. - المواد 88-96 المتعلقة بجودة مياه الشرب والمياه الجوفية. - المواد 97-99 المتعلقة بحماية البيئة الساحلية والبحرية.
القرار الوزاري رقم 203 لعام 2019. - أصدر القرار لائحة تنفيذية لحماية البيئة البحرية من التلوث. وتقرر أن تقوم الهيئة العامة للبيئة بإعداد ومتابعة تنفيذ الخطة الوطنية لإدارة البيئة البحرية. - وزارة النقل هي المسؤولة عن رئاسة خطة مكافحة التلوث البحري من خلال إنشاء لجنة خاصة.

المنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية الرئيسية

وزارة الكهرباء والماء (MEW)

تأسست وزارة الكهرباء والماء في عام 1952، وتتمثل مهمتها في توفير الكهرباء والمياه عالية الجودة في الكويت. وفي قطاع المياه، فإن الوزارة مسؤولة عن تأمين الطلب على المياه، وترشيد استهلاك المياه، وتحقيق الأمن المائي وتحسين استخدام الموارد المائية ونقلها وتوزيعها، فضلاً عن خدمات توزيع المياه وتحلية المياه.[1] بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن وزارة الكهرباء والماء مسؤولة عن تشغيل وصيانة جميع أنظمة المياه في الكويت. تشمل المؤسسات الأخرى المشاركة في تحلية المياه معهد الكويت للأبحاث العلمية، ومؤسسة الكويت للتقدم العلمي، وجامعة الكويت، ومؤسسة البترول الكويتية، والهيئة العامة للصناعة، والمكتب الفني للشراكات.[2]

وزارة الأشغال العامة (MPW)

تأسست مديرية الأشغال عام 1945 وأصبحت وزارة الأشغال العامة عام 1962. وتشمل المسؤوليات الرئيسية لوزارة الأشغال العامة الإشراف على تطوير البنية التحتية، بما في ذلك مشاريع الطرق والصرف الصحي، والإشراف على عمليات وأعمال صيانة محطات الضخ والمياه، وإدارة المشاريع وصيانة المباني العامة.[3]

الهيئة العامة للبيئة في الكويت (KEPA)

تأسست الهيئة العامة للبيئة في عام 1995.[4] وهي هيئة عامة ذات شخصية اعتبارية وملحقة بمجلس الوزراء ويشرف عليها المجلس الأعلى للبيئة. وإن الهيئة العامة للبيئة مسؤولة عن تنفيذ جميع الأعمال والمهام لحماية البيئة في الدولة، وعلى وجه الخصوص ما يلي: وضع وتطبيق السياسة العامة للدولة في شأن حماية البيئة ووضع الاستراتيجيات وخطط العمل من أجل حماية البيئة وصون الموارد الطبيعية، بما في ذلك موارد المياه والمياه الجوفية.

الهيئة العامة لشئون الزراعة والثروة السمكية (PAAFR)

تأسست الهيئة العامة لشئون الزراعة والثروة السمكية في عام 1983 وألحقت بمجلس الوزراء.[5] وهي مسؤولة عن إدارة التنمية الزراعية وتعزيز الأمن الغذائي.[6] وفيما يتعلق بإدارة المياه، فهي مسؤولة عن تصميم وتقييم أنظمة الري الزراعية، واختبار معدات الري، وإجراء البحوث المتعلقة بالاحتياجات المائية للمحاصيل، ومراقبة جودة وكمية المياه الجوفية، وتخطيط الموارد المائية. أما قطاع الزراعات التجميلية في الهيئة فمسؤول عن تصميمات الري للطرق السريعة ومناطق الغابات، والتنسيق والتعاون مع وزارة الأشغال العامة فيما يتعلق باستخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة في تنسيق الحدائق والتشجير.[7]

الهيئة العامة للصناعة

تلعب الهيئة العامة للصناعة[8] دوراً في الجهود الجديدة لإقامة شراكاتٍ بين القطاعين العام والخاص ومشاريع الطاقة والمياه المستقلة (IWPP). وقد تأجل أول مشروع للطاقة والمياه المستقلة، لكن إطار عمل مشاريع الطاقة والمياه المستقلة أثبت فعاليته في تشجيع التقنيات الجديدة في بعض دول الخليج، مثل البحرين.

مؤسسة الكويت للتقدم العلمي (KFAS)

تأسست مؤسسة الكويت للتقدم العلمي[9] في عام 1976 كمنظمة خاصة غير ربحية. تشجع المؤسسة وتدعو إلى التقدم في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والابتكار، بما في ذلك في مجال المياه، من خلال نشر المعرفة. وتستهدف أربعة من أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين: عامة الناس، مع التركيز على الشباب، والمجتمع العلمي والبحثي، والقطاعين العام والخاص.

معهد الكويت للأبحاث العلمية (KISR)

تأسس معهد الكويت للأبحاث العلمية[10] في عام 1967 كمعهد وطني مستقل للتميز العلمي. أعيد تنظيم المعهد في عام 1973، حيث أصبح تابعاً بشكلٍ مباشر لمجلس الوزراء. يطبق مركز أبحاث المياه (WRC) التابع لمعهد الكويت للأبحاث العلمية نهجاً متعدد التخصصات لمواجهة التحديات التي تواجه الكويت في إدارة موارد المياه وتطوير تقنيات مبتكرة لتحلية المياه. وتتضمن استراتيجية المركز برامج تركز على تحقيق إنجازاتٍ في تقنيات تحلية المياه لتلبية الحاجة إلى مياه الشرب مع تخفيف الأثر البيئي. كما يعالج المركز حاجة الكويت لتجديد احتياطياتها من المياه ويطور حلولاً لاستصلاح تدفقات مياه الصرف الصحي.

تمويل قطاع المياه

تدعم الكويت حوالي 92% من تكاليف الإنتاج، مما يجعل أسعار المياه من بين الأدنى في العالم. وقد شجّع هذا الإفراط في الاستهلاك، وعلى الرغم من امتلاكها أحد أدنى موارد المياه المتجددة للفرد في العالم، إلا أن الكويت لديها أحد أعلى معدلات استهلاك الفرد.[11]

[1] Ministry of Electricity and Water website.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ministry of Public Works website.
[4] Kuwait Environment Public Authority website.
[5] Public Authority for Agricultural Affairs and Fish Resources website.
[6] Irrigation in the Middle East region in figures. AQUASTAT Survey 2008.
[7] Public Authority for Agricultural Affairs and Fish Resources website.
[8] Finan, A and Kazimi, M, 2013. Potential benefits of innovative desalination technology development in Kuwait. Kuwait Center for Natural Resources and the Environment Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
[9] Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences website.
[10] Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research website.
[11] Aljamal, A et al., 2020. Sustainable policy for water pricing in Kuwait. Sustainability, 12(8), 3257.

Home / Kuwait / Water Management in Kuwait

Water Management in Kuwait

water management in Kuwait Ministry of Electricity and water in Kuwait
Photo 1: Ministry of Electricity and water in Kuwait. (Source: syedfra, Flickr)

Laws and regulations

Table 1 shows the main laws, decrees and resolutions related to water.

Law/year of adoptionScope
Law No. 12/1964 on the pollution of water by oil- This law is composed of 11 articles: prohibition to pollute marine areas and inland waters (art. 1)
Law No 21/1995. Further amended: Law No 16/1996- This is the main environmental law. It established the Kuwait Environment Public Authority (KEPA), with its mandates, jurisdictions and powers. - KEPA’s powers and duties related to environmental protection include developing and controlling public policies, strategies and action plans for the protection of the environment. - The Law 16 amendment of 1996 clarified KEPA’s role in conservation, protection and liability concepts.
Decree No. 5/2012- Decree No. 5 issued the regulation on industrial wastewater transportation, which aims to establish a system to control the transport and disposal of industrial effluents in safe environmental ways that prevent impacts that are harmful to public health, safety and well-being; and establish a database about quality, quantity and sources of industrial effluent.
Law No. 42/2014 on Environmental Protection, amended by Law No. 99/ 2015- This law aims to protect and maintain the natural balance of the environment; combat pollution and its damages; guarantee sustainable development and preserve biodiversity. - It addresses many environmental issues, such as the protection of land, water and air from pollution, biodiversity and environmental management. - Articles 88-96 on drinking water and groundwater quality. - Articles 97-99 on protection of the coastal and marine environment.
Ministerial Resolution No. 203/2019- The resolution issued executive regulations to protect the marine environment from pollution. It established that KEPA shall prepare and follow up the execution of a National Plan for Marine Environment Management. - The Ministry of Transportation is responsible for presiding over the Plan to Combat Marine Pollution through the establishment of a special committee.

Key governmental and non-governmental organizations

Ministry of Electricity and Water (MEW)

MEW was established in 1952. Its mission is to provide high-quality electricity and water in Kuwait. In the water sector, it is responsible for securing water demand, rationalizing water consumption, achieving water security and optimizing water resources use, transmission and distribution, as well as water distribution and desalination services.[1] In addition, MEW is responsible for operating and maintaining all of Kuwait’s water systems. Other institutions involved in desalination include the Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research, the Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences, Kuwait University, the Kuwait Petroleum Corporation, the Public Authority for Industry, and the Partnerships Technical Bureau.[2]

Ministry of Public Works (MPW)

The Directorate of Works was established in 1945 and became the Ministry of Public Works in 1962. MPW’s main responsibilities include supervising infrastructure developments, including roads and sewerage projects, overseeing operations and maintenance works of pumping and water stations, project management and maintenance of public buildings.[3]

The Kuwait Environment Public Authority (KEPA)

KEPA was established in 1995.[4] It is a public authority with a legal personality and is attached to the Council of Ministers and supervised by the Supreme Council for the Environment. KEPA is responsible for carrying out all works and tasks to protect the environment in the country, and in particular the following: establishing and implementing the general policy of the state in the matter of environmental protection, developing strategies and action plans for the protection of the environment, and the preservation of natural resources, including water and groundwater resources.

The Public Authority for Agricultural Affairs and Fish Resources (PAAFR)

PAAFR was established in 1983 and attached to the Council of Ministers.[5] It is responsible for managing agricultural development and enhancing food security.[6] Regarding water management, it is responsible for the design and evaluation of farm irrigation systems, testing irrigation equipment, crop water requirement research, monitoring of groundwater quality and quantity, and water resources planning. The Landscape and Greenery Department is responsible for irrigation designs for highways and forestry areas, and for coordination and cooperation with the MPW regarding the utilization of treated sewage water in landscaping and afforestation.[7]

The Public Authority for Industry

The Public Authority for Industry[8] plays a role in new efforts to establish public-private partnerships and independent water and power projects (IWPP). The first IWPP has been delayed, but the IWPP framework has proved effective in encouraging new technologies in some gulf states, such as Bahrain.

Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences (KFAS)

KFAS [9] was established in 1976 as a private non-profit organization. The foundation promotes and advocates science, technology and innovation, including in the water field, through the dissemination of knowledge. It targets four key stakeholders: the general public, with an emphasis youth, the scientific and research community and the private and public sectors.

The Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research (KISR)

KISR[10] was established in 1967 as an independent, national institute of scientific excellence. It was restructured in 1973, where it became directly responsible to the Council of Ministers. KISR’s Water Research Centre (WRC) applies a multidisciplinary approach to address Kuwait’s challenges in water resources management and develop innovative desalination technologies. The centre’s strategy includes programmes focused on making breakthroughs in desalination technologies to meet the need for potable water while mitigating the environmental footprint. The centre also addresses Kuwait’s need to replenish its water reserves and is developing solutions for the reclamation of wastewater effluent.

Financing of the water sector

Kuwait subsidizes about 92% of production costs, making water prices among the lowest in the world. This has encouraged rampant consumption. Despite having among the lowest per capita renewable water resources in the world, Kuwait has one of the highest per capita consumption rates.[11]

[1] Ministry of Electricity and Water website.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ministry of Public Works website.
[4] Kuwait Environment Public Authority website.
[5] Public Authority for Agricultural Affairs and Fish Resources website.
[6] Irrigation in the Middle East region in figures. AQUASTAT Survey 2008.
[7] Public Authority for Agricultural Affairs and Fish Resources website.
[8] Finan, A and Kazimi, M, 2013. Potential benefits of innovative desalination technology development in Kuwait. Kuwait Center for Natural Resources and the Environment Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
[9] Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences website.
[10] Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research website.
[11] Aljamal, A et al., 2020. Sustainable policy for water pricing in Kuwait. Sustainability, 12(8), 3257.