الصفحة الرئيسية / الكويت / الموارد المائية المشتركة في الكويت

الموارد المائية المشتركة في الكويت

الري الكويت الموارد المائية المشتركة في الكويت
الصورة 1: بئر ماء للري في مزرعة العبدلي. (المصدر: almasudi, Flickr)

نظام الخزان الجوفي لطبقة أم الرضومة- الدمام (شمال): الوديان- سلمان

تُشكل كل من أم الرضومة والدمام طبقات المياه الجوفية الرئيسية التي تشكل نظام الخزان الجوفي المشترك، حيث يتقاسم الجزء الشمالي من النظام كل من العراق والكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية، ويغطي مساحة إجمالية تبلغ 246,000 كيلومتر مربع (حوالي 20% من المساحة الإجمالية للنظام)، منها حوالي 150,000 كيلومتر مربع تقع في العراق، و16,000 كيلومتر مربع في الكويت و80,000 كيلومتر مربع في المملكة العربية السعودية. تتميز المنطقة المناخية لطبقة المياه الجوفية بأنها قاحلة، مع هطول 110 ملم من الأمطار سنوياً. يتكون النظام من طبقتين متصلتين هيدروليكياً، وهو محصور في الغالب على الرغم من أن بعض أجزائه غير محصورة. يتراوح سمك طبقة الخزان الجوفي من 270 متر إلى 680 متر.[1] [2]

ويبدو أن معظم نظام خزان أم الرضومة- الدمام (شمال) قابل للاستغلال، باستثناء هضبة الوديان والمناطق الساحلية، حيث يكون الخزان الجوفي إما محدود النطاق أو يحتوي على مياه مالحة. وقد نتج عن هذا انخفاض في منسوب المياه يصل إلى 60 متراً في كلا التكوينين. تبلغ المساحة الإجمالية القابلة للاستغلال داخل الحوض 179,000 كيلومتر مربع، منها حوالي 123,000 كيلومتر مربع في العراق، و9,000 كيلومتر مربع في الكويت و47,000 كيلومتر مربع في المملكة العربية السعودية.[3]

Aquifer System kuwait
الخريطة (1): نظام الخزان الجوفي لطبقة أم الرضومة- الدمام (شمال): الوديان- سلمان. @Fanack water
aquifiers kuwait
الخريطة (2): مقطع عرضي لجزء من نظام الخزان الجوفي. (جنوب/ غرب- شمال/ شرق). @Fanack water

تعتبر إعادة تغذية النظام الجوفي من مصادر طبيعية أنها منخفضة (0-20 ملم/ السنة)، والتي تصل إلى 210 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من المياه العذبة. ومع ذلك، فقد تم تسجيل قيم أعلى تصل إلى 1,200 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة بسبب الظروف الجوية المتطرفة. وتتسرب مياه التغذية الطبيعية هذه عبر مساحة تبلغ حوالي 83,000 كيلومتر مربع.[4]

يُستخرج ما مجموعه 120 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من المياه الجوفية من الجزء الشمالي، وخاصة في الكويت والعراق. وتُستخدم المياه المستخرجة للأغراض الزراعية والصناعية والمنزلية.[5] وفي عام 1951، بدأت الكويت في ضخ حوالي 1 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة، وذلك بشكلٍ أساسي من خزان الدمام الجوفي. وقد زاد معدل الاستخراج ببطء إلى 10 مليون متر مكعب في السنة بحلول عام 1960. وعلى مدى العقود الثلاثة التالية، فقد ارتفعت معدلات السحب بشكلٍ كبير لتصل إلى 120 مليون متر مكعب في السنة في عام 1988. وقد نتج عن السحب المرتفع، الذي يشكل أكثر من 50% من متوسط إعادة التغذية السنوية، ارتفاع في مستوى ملوحة المياه.[6] وتوضح الخريطة (3) مستويات الملوحة الحالية في الخزان الجوفي.[7]

لا توجد اتفاقيات مائية سارية فيما يتعلق بتقاسم مياه نظام الخزان الجوفي أم الرضومة – الدمام (شمال) بين العراق والكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية.[8]

Groundwater salinity kuwait
الخريطة (3): ملوحة المياه الجوفية في نظام الخزان الجوفي لطبقة أم الرضومة- الدمام (شمال): الوديان- سلمان. @Fanack water

[1] Transboundary Water Assessment Programme, 2015. Transboundary Aquifer Information Sheet.
[2] United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia; Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe, 2013. Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia. Beirut, Lebanon.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Transboundary Water Assessment Programme, 2015. Transboundary Aquifer Information Sheet.
[5] Ibid.
[6] United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia; Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe, 2013. Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia. Beirut, Lebanon.
[7] Transboundary Water Assessment Programme, 2015. Transboundary Aquifer Information Sheet.
[8] Ibid.

Home / Kuwait / Shared Water Resources in Kuwait

Shared Water Resources in Kuwait

irrigation system kuwait - shared water resources in Kuwait
Photo 1: Abdaly Farms, Irrigation cistern. (Source: almasudi, Flickr)

Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer System (North): Widyan-Salman

The Umm er Radhuma and Dammam constitute the main aquifers forming the shared aquifer system. The northern section of the system is shared by Iraq, Kuwait and Saudi Arabia. It covers a total area of 246,000 km2 (about 20% of the system’s total area), of which around 150,000 km2 is located in Iraq, 16,000 km2 in Kuwait and 80,000 km2 in Saudi Arabia. The aquifer’s climatic zone is characterized as arid, with 110 mm of rainfall annually. The system comprises two hydraulically connected layers. It is mostly confined although some parts are unconfined. The thickness of the aquifer system varies from 270 m to 680 m.[1] [2]

Most of the Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer System (North) appears to be exploitable, with the exception of the Widyan Plateau and the coastal areas, where the aquifer is either of limited extent or contains saline water. This is resulting in a water level decline of up to 60 m in both formations. The total exploitable area within the basin is 179,000 km2, of which around 123,000 km2 lies in Iraq, 9,000 km2 in Kuwait and 47,000 km2 in Saudi Arabia.[3]

Aquifer System kuwait
Map 1: Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer System (North): Widyan-Salman. @Fanack water
aquifiers kuwait
Map 2: Cross-section of part of the system (SW-NE). @Fanack water

System replenishment from natural sources is low (0-20 mm/yr), amounting to about 210 MCM/yr of fresh water. However, higher values up to 1,200 MCM/yr due to extreme events have been recorded. This natural recharge water percolates through an area of approximately 83,000 km².[4]

A total of 120 MCM/yr of groundwater is abstracted from the northern part, mainly in Kuwait and Iraq. The abstracted water is used for agricultural, industrial and domestic purposes.[5] In 1951, Kuwait started pumping about 1 MCM/yr, mainly from the Dammam Aquifer. The abstraction rate slowly increased to 10 MCM/yr by 1960. Over the next three decades, abstraction rates rose significantly to reach 120 MCM/yr in 1988. The high abstraction, which makes up more than 50% of the mean annual replenishment, resulted in an increased salinity level.[6] Map 3 shows the current salinity levels in the aquifer.[7]

There are no water agreements in place regarding the sharing of the waters of the Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer System (North) between Iraq, Kuwait and Saudi Arabia.[8]

Groundwater salinity kuwait
Map 3: Groundwater TDS salinity map of the Umm er Radhuma-Dammam Aquifer System (North): Widyan-Salman. @Fanack water

[1] Transboundary Water Assessment Programme, 2015. Transboundary Aquifer Information Sheet.
[2] United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia; Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe, 2013. Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia. Beirut, Lebanon.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Transboundary Water Assessment Programme, 2015. Transboundary Aquifer Information Sheet.
[5] Ibid.
[6] United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia; Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe, 2013. Inventory of Shared Water Resources in Western Asia. Beirut, Lebanon.
[7] Transboundary Water Assessment Programme, 2015. Transboundary Aquifer Information Sheet.
[8] Ibid.