الصفحة الرئيسية / الكويت / تحديات المياه في الكويت

تحديات المياه في الكويت

الغروب الكويت تحديات المياه في الكويت
الصورة 1: منظر لغروب الشمس في الكويت. (المصدر: hamad M, Flickr)

تتمثل تحديات المياه الرئيسية التي تواجهها الكويت في ندرة المياه المتزايدة والآثار المالية والاقتصادية والبيئية المتزايدة المرتبطة بتلبية الطلب على المياه في مختلف القطاعات. ومن المتوقع أن تتزايد هذه التحديات بسبب النمو السكاني السريع والتحضر، وزيادة الطلب على الغذاء، وتأثيرات تغير المناخ، والاستهلاك غير المستدام، وفقدان المياه، وعدم ملائمة إعادة استخدام المياه، والتدهور المستمر واستنزاف موارد المياه الجوفية.[1]

زيادة الطلب على المياه والنقص الحاد في موارد المياه الطبيعية

أصبحت تلبية الطلب المتزايد باستمرار على المياه نتيجة النمو السكاني السريع والتحضر وأنماط الاستهلاك المرتفع للفرد تشكل تحدياً متزايداً، إذ سيتطلب هذا بناء المزيد من محطات تحلية المياه واستخراج المزيد من المياه الجوفية.[2] من المتوقع أن يتراوح الطلب على المياه العذبة بين 722 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة (2 مليون متر مكعب / اليوم) و 3,036 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة (8.3 مليون متر مكعب / اليوم) بحلول عام 2025.[3]

الاعتماد على تحلية المياه

قد وضعت الكويت سياسةً لتوفير المياه البلدية من تحلية المياه بسبب ندرة موارد المياه العذبة وتقليل الضغط على موارد المياه الجوفية، حيث قد أدى ذلك إلى توفير حصة كبيرة من مياه الشرب بواسطة محطات تحلية المياه. وفي عام 2010، قد تم توفير 84,8% من الطلب على المياه البلدية عن طريق تحلية المياه (الشكل 1).[4] وفقًا لوزارة الكهرباء والمياه ، من المتوقع أن تصل الطاقة الإنتاجية لمحطات تحلية المياه إلى 3.85 مليون متر مكعب في السنة بحلول عام 2024.[5]

وقد أدى ذلك إلى زيادة التكاليف المرتبطة بالتوسع في تحلية المياه، وتشمل هذه التكاليف: الطاقة المطلوبة (النفط والغاز) (55% من إجمالي استهلاك الطاقة في الدولة)؛ وتكلفة تشغيل نظام دورة المياه (أي الإنتاج والنقل والتوزيع)؛ والتكاليف البيئية فيما يتعلق بالمياه المالحة الحرارية وتأثيراتها على البيئة الساحلية والبحرية المحيطة؛ وتلوث الهواء الناجم عن حرق الوقود الأحفوري وآثاره على صحة الإنسان والبيئة.[7]

الشكل (1): اتجاهات حصة المياه المحلاة في إمدادات مياه البلدية في الكويت (للأعوام 1990 و2000 و2010).[6]

 عدم كفاءة استخدام المياه وتسريب شبكات المياه

من ناحية الطلب، يعتبر استهلاك المياه للفرد مرتفعاً (447 لتر/ للفرد/ اليوم). ومن الجدير بالذكر أن وجود نظام دعم عام يجعل من الصعب استخدام الحوافز الاقتصادية، كما أن التعرفة الحالية ليست فعالة في التأثير على استهلاك المياه وتوفير المياه. من ناحية أخرى، تعاني الكويت من ارتفاع نسبة المياه غير المدرة للإيرادات (فاقد المياه بسبب التسرب) في شبكة التوزيع.[8]

استغلال طبقات المياه الجوفية

يتم استغلال المياه الجوفية قليلة الملوحة لأغراض الزراعة والتخضير ولخلطها مع المياه المحلاة للاستخدامات المنزلية. للحصول على معلوماتٍ مفصلة، انظر قسمي موارد المياه واستهلاك المياه.

محدودية معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وإعادة استخدامها

لم يتم تطوير إمكانية إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي الناتجة بشكلٍ كامل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يؤدي عدم وجود تعرفة صريحة لمياه الصرف الصحي (الجمع والمعالجة) إلى انخفاض استرداد التكلفة من مياه الصرف الصحي. تزيد نسبة استرداد التكلفة من العبء المالي لقطاع الصرف الصحي على الميزانية، وتجعل القطاع أسير المخصصات الحكومية وتحرم قطاع المياه من آلية إنفاذ للحفاظ على المياه.[9]

المؤسسات والتشريعات

إن الترتيبات المؤسسية الحالية لقطاع المياه مجزأة، مما يؤدي إلى هيمنة نهج إدارة المياه على مستوى القطاعات الفرعية ويعيق الإدارة المتكاملة لقطاع المياه. التخطيط المنسق بين قطاع المياه والقطاعات الأخرى ذات الصلة، وخاصة الزراعة والطاقة، غير رسمي ومحدود. علاوةً على ذلك، هناك الكثير من التشريعات التي عفا عليها الزمن أو المفقودة.[10]

[1] Al-Zubari, W et al., 2017. An overview of the GCC Unified Water Strategy (2016-2035). Desalination and Water Treatment 81: 1-18.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Burney, N et al., 2001. Forecasting of freshwater demand in Kuwait. The Arabian Journal for Science and Engineering, 26(2B): 99-113.
[4] Al-Zubari, W et al., 2017. An overview of the GCC Unified Water Strategy (2016-2035). Desalination and Water Treatment 81: 1-18.
[5] Statistical Yearbook Water Edition 2019, 2020. Ministry of Electricity and Water.
[6] Al-Zubari, W et al., 2017. An overview of the GCC Unified Water Strategy (2016-2035). Desalination and Water Treatment 81: 1-18.
[7] Ibid.
[8] Ibid.
[9] Ibid.
[10] Ibid.

Home / Kuwait / Water Challenges in Kuwait

Water Challenges in Kuwait

Kuwait sunset - water challenges in Kuwait
Photo 1: A view of Kuwait during sunset. (Source: hamad M, Flickr)

The main water challenges that Kuwait faces is rising water scarcity and the increasing financial, economic and environmental impacts associated with meeting sectoral water demands. These challenges are expected to grow because of rapid population growth and urbanization, increasing food demands, climate change impacts, unsustainable consumption, water losses, inadequate water reuse and the continuous deterioration and depletion of the groundwater resources.[1]

Increasing water demand and acute lack of natural water resources

Meeting the ever-increasing water demands resulting from rapid population growth and urbanization and high per capita consumption patterns is becoming increasingly challenging. Meeting these demands will require the construction of more desalination plants and more exploitation of groundwater.[2] It is predicted that the freshwater demand could range between 722 MCM/yr (2 MCM/d) and 3,036 MCM/yr (8.3 MCM/d) by 2025. [3]

Dependency on desalination

Kuwait has established a policy of providing municipal water from desalination because of the scarcity of freshwater resources and to reduce pressure on groundwater resources. This has led to a large share of drinking water being supplied by desalination plants. 84.8% of municipal water demands were supplied by desalination (Figure 1).[4]According to the Ministry of Electricity and Water, the installed capacity of desalination plants is expected to reach 3.85 MCM/yr by 2024.[5]

As a result, the costs associated with desalination expansion have also increased. These costs include the required energy (oil and gas) (55% of the total energy consumption in the country); the cost of operating the water system (i.e. production, transmission and distribution); and environmental costs in terms of thermal brine and their impacts on the marine environment; and air pollution from burning fossil fuels and their impacts on human health and the environment.[7]

Figure 1: Trends in desalinated water share in the municipal water supply in Kuwait (1990, 2000 and 2010).[6]

Inefficient water use and water networks leakage

On the demand side, per capita water consumption is high (447 L/capita/d). The existence of a general subsidy system makes the use of economic incentives difficult. The current tariff is not effective in influencing water consumption and water savings. On the other hand, Kuwait experiences high non-revenue water (water losses due to leakage) in the distribution network.[8]

Exploitation of groundwater aquifers

Brackish groundwater is exploited for agricultural and greening purposes and for mixing with desalinated water for domestic uses. For detailed information, see the Water Resources and Water Use sections.

Limited wastewater treatment and reuse

The reuse potential of the generated wastewater is not fully developed. In addition, the absence of an explicit wastewater tariff (collection and treatment) causes the very low-cost recovery of the wastewater. Such cost-recovery ratios increase the wastewater sector’s financial burden on the budget, makes the sector captive to government allocations and deprives the water sector of an enforcing mechanism in water conservation.[9]

Institutions and legislation

The current institutional arrangements of the water sector are fragmented, which leads to the dominance of sub-sectoral water management approaches and impedes integrated management of the water sector. The coordinated planning between the water sector and other related sectors, particularly agriculture and energy, are informal and limited. Moreover, much legislation is outdated or missing.[10]

[1] Al-Zubari, W et al., 2017. An overview of the GCC Unified Water Strategy (2016-2035). Desalination and Water Treatment 81: 1-18.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Burney, N et al., 2001. Forecasting of freshwater demand in Kuwait. The Arabian Journal for Science and Engineering, 26(2B): 99-113.
[4] Al-Zubari, W et al., 2017. An overview of the GCC Unified Water Strategy (2016-2035). Desalination and Water Treatment 81: 1-18.
[5] Statistical Yearbook Water Edition 2019, 2020. Ministry of Electricity and Water.
[6] Al-Zubari, W et al., 2017. An overview of the GCC Unified Water Strategy (2016-2035). Desalination and Water Treatment 81: 1-18.
[7] Ibid.
[8] Ibid.
[9] Ibid.
[10] Ibid.