الصفحة الرئيسية / اليمن / جودة المياه في اليمن

جودة المياه في اليمن

dinkable water yemen
الصورة 1: امرأة يمنية تجمع المياه من الصنبور. (المصدر: EU Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aids, Flickr)

جودة المياه السطحية

لا توجد شبكات لمراقبة جودة المياه السطحية في اليمن، على حد ما هو معروف. قامت مشاريع مختلفة بقياس ملوحة المياه السطحية ولكن في مواقع قليلة فقط. وفي معظم الحالات، تم الحصول على قياسات الموصلية الكهربائية (EC) خلال عمليات القياس الحالية. يُظهر قياس الموصلية الكهربائية في بعض الوديان الرئيسية، مثل وادي سردد وضانا، وفي دلتا أبين، أن الموصلية الكهربائية للمياه تتراوح بين 500 إلى 600 ديسيمل للمتر الواحد أثناء الجريان الأساسي وتنخفض إلى 300 ديسيمل للمتر الواحد أو أكثر قليلاً خلال الفيضانات. الأرقام المقابلة لوادي بنا هي 1,500- 1,800 ديسيمل للمتر الواحد خلال فترات التدفق المنخفض و400-500 ديسيمل للمتر الواحد خلال الفيضانات.[1]

جودة المياه الجوفية

لم تتم دراسة جودة المياه الجوفية بتفصيل كبير من حيث ملاءمتها لأغراض الري أو مياه الشرب. تقوم المدن والصناعات بتصريف مياه الصرف الصحي المنزلية و الصناعية غير المعالجة في المناطق المحيطة بالمدن. وفي حين أن مخاطر تلوث المياه بالصرف الصحي في المناطق الحضرية هي أكثر وضوحاً، إلا أن هناك أيضاً خطر تلوث محتمل للمياه الجوفية من المياه العادمة غير المعالجة من القرى الريفية. كما يُشكل تسرب المياه المالحة مشكلةً أيضاً على طول الساحل. فقد ذكرت دراسة حديثة أجريت في وادي الجار في الشمال الغربي، على بعد حوالي 8 كيلومترات من البحر الأحمر، أن الموصلية الكهربائية ارتفعت من 225 إلى 3480 ميكرو سيمنز في السنتيمتر (عند حرارة 25 درجة مئوية) بسبب تسرب مياه البحر إلى طبقة المياه الجوفية. وخلال العشرين سنة الماضية، كان هناك استثمار كبير في منطقة الجار، مما أدى إلى زراعة أكثر من 3500 هكتار من أشجار المانجو وحفر حوالي 2000 بئر.[2]

المخاطر البيئية والصحية

يعاني اليمن من مشاكل بيئية خطيرة في كل من موارد المياه والأراضي. فيما يتعلق بالمياه، فإن لدى اليمن موارد مياه عذبة طبيعية محدودة وإمدادات غير كافية من مياه الشرب. فيما يتعلق بالأرض، فإن الرعي الجائر والتصحر هما المشكلتان الرئيسيتان. فقد قيّم الغيثي وآخرون النفايات السائلة والمواد الصلبة الحيوية الناتجة عن أربعة محطات لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، [3] وكشفت الدراسة أن تركيزات القولونيات البرازية كانت أعلى من تلك الموصى بها في إرشادات منظمة الصحة العالمية في جميع عينات المياه العادمة. كانت القولونيات البرازية في 50% من المواد الصلبة الحيوية أكثر من الحدود القياسية الموصى بها من قبل وكالة حماية البيئة بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من الفئة باء. وكشفت الدراسة عن وجود 88,88% من الإشريكية القولونية، و70,37% من العقديات البرازية، و66,76% من بكتيريا الكلبسيلة الرئوية، و 59,23% من البكتيريا الإمعائية المرياحة، و33,33% من جرثومة السالمونيلا التيفية، و25,93% من السالمونيلا التيفية الفأرية، و25,93% من الشيغيلة السونية، و22,2 % من اليرسينيا الطاعونية، في العينات.

كشفت الأبحاث التي أجراها مركز المياه والبيئة حول مدى ملاءمة الحمأة من محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في صنعاء لاستخدامها كسماد أن الحمأة ستحتاج إلى التجفيف لمدة ثلاثة أشهر على الأقل للتخلص من بيض الديدان الطفيلية والقولونية البرازية. أظهرت الأبحاث السابقة التي أجريت على الحمأة من خمس محطات معالجة لمياه الصرف الصحي الرئيسية في مدن عرمان وحجة وإب ويريم وعدن أن الحمأة ما زالت ملوثة بالبكتيريا المسببة للأمراض وبيض الديدان الطفيلية حتى بعد تجفيفها [4]. تعتبر المادة المرتشحة من مطامر النفايات تهديداً آخر للمياه الجوفية. [5] بشكلٍ عام، فإن مجموعة من العوامل المرتبطة بتنمية الموارد المائية تغير البيئة البشرية والبيولوجية وتسبب عواقب أخرى. حتى عندما تتفشى الأمراض المرتبطة بالمياه بشكل قاطع من تطوير قطاع الري، فإن من الصعب للغاية تحديد أهمية هذا التأثير.[6]

[1] Al-Gheethi A et al., 2015. Solar disinfection and lime stabilization processes for reduction of pathogenic bacteria in sewage effluents and biosolids for agricultural purposes in Yemen. Journal of Water Reuse and Desalination 5:419-429.
[2] FAO, 2018. Yemen Plan of Action 2018-2020.
[3] Al-Gheethi A et al., 2014. Effectiveness of selected wastewater treatment plants in Yemen for reduction of faecal indicators and pathogenic bacteria in secondary effluents and sludge. Water Practice and Technology 9(3): 293-306.
[4] Water and Environment Centre, Sana’a university (2003). Analysis of a study reuse of treated effluent and sludge in Aden, Amran, Hajjah, Ibb, and Yarim
[5] Al-Sabahi E and al-Nozaily F, 2012. Ecological study on characterization of leachate at Ibb landfill using physicochemical and biological analysis. Archiwum Gospodarki Odpadami i Ochrony Srodowiska 14(2): 29-42.
[6] Al-Gheethi A et al., 2014. Effectiveness of selected wastewater treatment plants in Yemen for reduction of faecal indicators and pathogenic bacteria in secondary effluents and sludge. Water Practice and Technology 9(3): 293-306.ants_in_Yemen_for_reduction_of_faecal_indicators_and_pathogenic_bacteria_in_secondary_effluents_and_sludge”>Effectiveness of selected wastewater treatment plants in Yemen for reduction of faecal indicators and pathogenic bacteria in secondary effluents and sludge. Water Practice and Technology 9(3): 293-306.

Home / Yemen / Water Quality in Yemen

Water Quality in Yemen

Drinkable water Yemen
Photo1: A Yemeni woman collecting water from a tap. ( Source: EU Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aids, Flickr)

Surface water quality

There are no networks monitoring surface water quality in Yemen, as far as is known. Various projects have measured surface water salinity but only at a few sites. In most cases, measurements of electric conductivity (EC) were obtained during current metering. The EC in some major wadis, such as Wadi Surdud and Adhanah, and in the Abyan Delta show that the EC of water varies between 500-600 deciSiemens per metre (dS/m) during base flow and drops to 300 dS/m or slightly more during floods. The corresponding figures for Wadi Bana are 1,500-1,800 dS/m for periods of low flows and 400-500 dS/m for floods.[1]

Groundwater quality

Groundwater quality has not been studied in great detail in terms of its suitability as irrigation or drinking water. Cities and industries discharge untreated domestic and industrial wastewater in peri-urban areas. While the dangers of urban wastewater pollution are more visible, there is also a potential pollution hazard to aquifers from untreated wastewater from rural settlements. Saline intrusion is also a problem along the coast. A recent study in al-Jar in the north-west, some 8 km from the Red Sea, mentioned that the EC increased from 225 to 3,480 microSiemens per centimetre (µS/cm) (at 25°C) due to seawater intrusion into the aquifer. During the past 20 years, there has been huge investment in the al-Jar area, leading to the cultivation of more than 3,500 ha of mango trees and the drilling of about 2,000 wells.[2]

Environmental and health risks

Yemen is experiencing severe environmental issues in both water and land resources. Regarding water, Yemen has limited natural freshwater resources and inadequate supplies of potable water. Regarding land, overgrazing and desertification are the primary problems. Al-Gheethi et al. evaluated secondary effluents and biosolids generated from four sewage treatment plants.[3] The study revealed that concentrations of faecal coliforms (FCs) were higher than those recommended by the World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines in all wastewater samples. FCs in 50% of the biosolids were more than the standard limits recommended by the United States Environmental Protection Agency Class B. The study detected 88.88% of Escherichia coli, 70.37% of Streptococcus faecalis, 66.67% of Klebsiella pneumonia, 59.23% of Enterobacter aerogenes, 33.33% of Salmonella typhi, 25.93% of S. typhimurium, 25.93% of Shigella sonni and 22.2% of Yersina pestis in the samples.

Research conducted by the Water and Environment Centre on the suitability of sludge from Sanaa’s WWTP for use as a fertilizer revealed that the sludge would need to be dried for at least three months to free it of helminth eggs and FCs. Previous research conducted into sludge from five main WWTPs in the cities of Arman, Hajjah, Ibb, Yarim and Aden showed that the sludge was still polluted with pathogenic bacteria and helminth eggs even after it was dried [4]. The leachate from landfills is considered another threat to the groundwater.[5] Generally, a host of factors associated with water resource development changes the human and biological environment and triggers other consequences. Even when outbreaks of water-related diseases conclusively follow from irrigation development, the importance of this impact is extremely difficult to determine.[6]

[1] Al-Gheethi A et al., 2015. Solar disinfection and lime stabilization processes for reduction of pathogenic bacteria in sewage effluents and biosolids for agricultural purposes in Yemen. Journal of Water Reuse and Desalination 5:419-429.
[2] FAO, 2018. Yemen Plan of Action 2018-2020.
[3] Al-Gheethi A et al., 2014. Effectiveness of selected wastewater treatment plants in Yemen for reduction of faecal indicators and pathogenic bacteria in secondary effluents and sludge. Water Practice and Technology 9(3): 293-306.
[4] Water and Environment Centre, Sana’a university (2003). Analysis of a study reuse of treated effluent and sludge in Aden, Amran, Hajjah, Ibb, and Yarim
[5] Al-Sabahi E and al-Nozaily F, 2012. Ecological study on characterization of leachate at Ibb landfill using physicochemical and biological analysis. Archiwum Gospodarki Odpadami i Ochrony Srodowiska 14(2): 29-42.
[6] Al-Gheethi A et al., 2014. Effectiveness of selected wastewater treatment plants in Yemen for reduction of faecal indicators and pathogenic bacteria in secondary effluents and sludge. Water Practice and Technology 9(3): 293-306.