الصفحة الرئيسية / اليمن / البُنية التحتية للمياه في اليمن

البُنية التحتية للمياه في اليمن

traditional cistern yemen
الصورة 1: نساء يمنيات يحصلن على المياه من خزان المياه (المصدر: tbroughel, Flickr)

نظم جمع وتوزيع المياه التقليدية

يعتبر سد مأرب أول نظامٍ لجمع المياه في التاريخ، وقد تم بناؤه في المنطقة العربية. اكتشفت الحفريات الأثرية الحديثة أنقاض هياكل الري حول مدينة مأرب والتي يعود تاريخها إلى حوالي 4000 عام. في المناطق الجبلية، يستخدم القرويون المياه المحصودة للشرب، وسقي حيواناتهم والري التكميلي، خاصة في مواسم الجفاف. ويقومون بشكل أساسي ببناء أحواض لجمع مياه الجريان السطحي من مناطق مستجمعات المياه الصافية والمختارة بعناية بعيداً عن القرى لمنع التلوث. كما تعدّ المصاطب نظام توزيع قديم يتم من خلاله تحويل مياه الأمطار إلى أحواض حيث يتم استخدامها لري المحاصيل وتغذية برك مياه الشرب، وخدمة الغابات والمراعي وإعادة تغذية طبقات المياه الجوفية المحلية (الصورة 1 و 2). [1]

أظهر مشروع محلي حول المعارف المتعلقة بالمياه والذي أجري في مركز المياه والبيئة أن جمع مياه العواصف التقليدي في المناطق الحضرية في مدينة صنعاء القديمة يعتبر المصدر الرئيسي للمياه لري المحاصيل المزروعة في الحدائق، والتي تعد مصدر الدخل الرئيسي لمزارعي المدينة القديمة. [2]

وفقاً لتقرير النظام العالمي للمعلومات حول المياه والزراعة لمنظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة حول اليمن [1]، يوجد أكثر من ألف هيكل هيدروليكي بما في ذلك السدود وهياكل تحويل المياه الفيضية وهياكل تجميع المياه الصغيرة. تشمل هذه الفئة الخزانات الأرضية والحُفر والخزانات بسعة تخزين تتراوح بين 500 متر مكعب إلى 500,000 متر مكعب.

السدود

بشكلٍ عام، تعمل السدود على إعادة تغذية المياه الجوفية، وتستخدم في الري، وكذلك الاستخدامات المنزلية؛ في الواقع، تمت استعادة منسوب مياه الآبار الضحلة داخل حوض صنعاء. ومع ذلك، تشير الخطة الوطنية للاستثمار الاستراتيجي في قطاع المياه إلى أنه على الرغم من الجهود الهائلة المبذولة لبناء السدود، إلا أن ذلك لم يوقف الانخفاض المستمر في مستويات المياه الجوفية أو ساعدت في تجديد طبقات المياه الجوفية المستنفدة في العديد من الأحواض.
بناءً على تقرير النظام العالمي للمعلومات حول المياه والزراعة لمنظمة الأغذية والزراعة للأمم المتحدة [2]، يوجد في اليمن 347 سد. ووفقاً للسعة التخزينية، يتم تقسيم السدود إلى ثلاث فئات:
– السدود الكبيرة بسعة تخزين تتجاوز الـ500,000 متر مكعب.
السدود المتوسطة بسعة تخزين متفاوتة تتراوح بين 200,000 متر مكعب إلى 500,000 متر مكعب.
السدود الصغيرة بسعة تخزينية تقل عن 200,000 متر مكعب.

يُبين الجدول (1) السدود الكبيرة إلى جانب سعتها التخزينية.

الجدول (1): نظرة عامة على السدود الرئيسية في اليمن [3]

اسم السدالموقعالحوضسنة التشغيل/ الانتهاءالإرتفاع (متر)السعة (مليون متر مكعب)
سمنانصنعاءحوض صنعاء1985160,6
مأربمأربحوض بحر العرب198740400
ريعانصنعاءحوض صنعاء1993221,02
العامرةتعزحوض سهام1996250,785
العريشةصنعاءحوض صنعاء1997130,5
بيت الخردلصنعاءحوض صنعاء199920,52
غيمانصنعاءحوض صنعاء2001150,73
الجرجورصنعاءحوض صنعاء2001161
موجفالمحويتحوض وادي سردود2002180,5
الهيثمصنعاءحوض صنعاء200217,20,54

• سد مأرب
يعدّ سد مأرب أول نظام لجمع المياه في التاريخ تم بناؤه في المنطقة العربية. اكتشفت الحفريات الأثرية الحديثة أنقاض هياكل الري حول مدينة مأرب التي يعود تاريخها إلى حوالي 4000 عام. في المناطق الجبلية، يستخدم القرويون حصاد مياه الأمطار للشرب، وسقي المواشي والري التكميلي، خاصة في مواسم الجفاف. ويقومون بشكلٍ أساسي بحفر الخزانات الأرضية لجمع المياه الجارية من مناطق مستجمعات المياه الصافية والمختارة بعناية بعيداً عن القرى لمنع التلوث. كما تعتبر المصاطب نظام توزيع قديم يتم من خلاله تحويل مياه الأمطار إلى أحواض حيث يتم استخدامها لري المحاصيل وتغذية أحواض مياه الشرب، وخدمة الغابات وأراضي الرعي وإعادة تغذية طبقات المياه الجوفية المحلية. [4]

أظهر مشروع محلي حول المعارف المتعلقة بالمياه والذي أجري في مركز المياه والبيئة أن جمع مياه الأمطار التقليدي في المناطق الحضرية في مدينة صنعاء القديمة يعتبر المصدر الرئيسي للمياه لري المحاصيل المزروعة في الحدائق، والتي تعد مصدر الدخل الرئيسي لمزارعي المدينة القديمة. [5]

هياكل تحويل المياه الفيضانية (حصاد مياه الفيضانات)

يعتبر الري الفيضي نظاماً قديماً لجمع المياه يتم من خلاله تحويل مياه الفيضان من قاع النهر وتوجيهها إلى الأحواض حيث يتم استخدامها لري المحاصيل وتغذية أحواض مياه الشرب، وخدمة أراضي الغابات والرعي وإعادة تغذية طبقات المياه الجوفية المحلية. في اليمن، تم تطوير أنظمة تقليدية كبيرة للفيضانات تتكون من مآخذ فردية عديدة وقنوات تروي مناطق تصل إلى 30,000 هكتار في الوديان الخاصة. تمت صياغة اتفاقيات معقدة لتقاسم المياه، مع وجود قوانين متعلقة بحقوق المياه موجودة في سجلات مكتوبة يرجع تاريخها إلى ما لا يقل عن 600 عام. [6] تتنوع مناطق الري الفيضي في اليمن ويصعب حصرها، إذ يتوقف هذا على توافر مياه الأمطار والفيضانات.
تختلف أسماء هياكل التحويل لنظام الري الفيضي التقليدي من منطقةٍ إلى أخرى. تعتمد المصطلحات المستخدمة على الحجم وطول الطلب ونوع مواد البناء، والأشكال وطريقة البناء والموقع في الوادي. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك أسماء: Oqmas ، Obars ، Atm (في المنطقة الساحلية)، والساقية (في حضرموت وشبوة) Rozzum (في بعض أجزاء المرتفعات). الـ”Ogma” عبارة عن سد ترابي يتم بناؤه عبر التيار الرئيسي للوادي لتحويل كامل تدفق الفيضان في المرحلة المنخفضة ليتم استخدامه في الجزء العلوي من الوديان. في حين أن “Obar” عبارة عن سدود أو حواجز مؤقتة (سد صغير من التربة)، يتم استخدامه في الجزء الأوسط من الوديان، و”Atum” هو حاجز ترابي مؤقت يحيط بالحقل. [7]

نظام الخزانات الأرضية

نظام الخزانات الأرضية، الذي يطلق عليه محلياً اسم Karif أو Majel، في المنطقة الجبلية باليمن، هو عبارة عن خزان أرضي عموماً، مبني من الحجارة أو الخرسانة، وعادة ما يتم تغطيته واستخدامه لجمع وتخزين مياه الجريان السطحي. [8]

شبكات الصرف الصحي ومعالجة المياه العادمة

كما ذكرنا آنفاً، يوجد في اليمن أكثر من 17 محطة معالجة لمياه الصرف الصحي في المناطق الحضرية وأكثر من 15 محطة معالجة لمياه الصرف الصحي في المناطق الريفية. كما أن العديد منها قيد الإنشاء. وقد ورد أن استخدام برك التثبيت كوسيلة لمعالجة المياه العادمة محدود، حيث يوجد أكثر من 80% منها في تسع مناطق حضرية وريفية (عدن، والحديدة، وباجل، وثمر، ويريم، والبيضاء، ورداع، وعمران وبيت الفقيه). أما محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الأخرى، فتستخدم إما الحمأة المنشطة في صنعاء وإب، أو أحواض إمهوف أو مرشحات التقطير في حجة، أو مزيج من أكثر من تقنية واحدة، مثل أحواض إمهوف التي تتبعها برك التثبيت كما في زبيد، أو خزانات الصرف الصحي تليها برك التثبيت كما في المحويت [9]. تعتبر برك التثبيت الأفضل لعملية المعالجة، مع إمكانية الحد من مسببات الأمراض في المخرجات لجعلها مناسبة للري. [10]علاوة على ذلك، تصل إلى محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي مياه الصرف الصناعي ومياه المستشفيات من منشآت مختلفة.

[1] FAO AQUASTAT, 2008, Country file -Yemen.
[2] IBID
[3] Available at: http://www.fao.org/aquastat/en/countries-and-basins/country-profiles/country/YEM.  Accessed on: 27 November 2019
[4] Guidelines on Spate irrigation ,2010, FAO Irrigation and drainage paper. Available at: http://www.fao.org/3/i1680e/i1680e.pdf. Accessed on : 27 November 2019.
[5]Noman A.A., El-Din Saleh S.A (2009). Flood water uses in Yemen.
[6]Noman A.A., Indigenous knowledge for using and managing water harvesting techniques in Yemen
[7] Ministry of Water and Environment, 2010. Baseline Survey for Future Impact Evaluation. Sanaa Basin Water Management Project. MWE: 107.
[8]Al-Nozaily F.A., Al-Sabri A., Bola F., Al-Hakimi A., Al-Haddad A. (2014). Promotion of Indigenous knowledge in water Demand management for the historical Old Sana’a gardens (Maqashem). Journal of Engineering Sciences, 3 (1): 35-57, June 2014. ISSN 2312-9999.
[9] Al-Nozaily F et al., 2019. Sanitary Engineering 2, Sana’a university, College of Engineering. Lectures book, Aljeel Al-Jadeed publishers, third edition, Sana’a, Yemen
[10] Veenstra, S., Al-Nozaily, F. A. and Alaerts, G. J. (1995). Purple non-sulfur bacteria and their influence on waste stabilization ponds performance in the Republic of Yemen. Wat. Sci. Tech. Vol. 31 (12) pp. 141-149.

Home / Yemen / Water Infrastructure in Yemen

Water Infrastructure in Yemen

Traditional cistern in yemen
Photo 1: Yemeni Women getting water from a cistern (Source: tbroughel, Flickr)

According to the report of FAO AQUASTAT report on Yemen[1], there are over a thousand hydraulic structures including dams, spate water diversion structures and small water harvesting structures. : this category includes cisterns, pits and reservoirs with a storage capacity ranging from 500 m3 to 50 000 m3

Dams

In general, dams function to recharge groundwater, irrigation, as well as domestic uses; indeed, a recovery of the water level of shallow wells was observed inside the Sanaa basin. However, the National Water Sector Strategy and Investment Plan (NWSSIP) points out that in spite of the tremendous efforts to construct dams, they have not stopped the continuously declining levels of groundwater or helped replenish the depleted aquifers in many basins.
Based on the AQUASTAT report [2], there are 347 in Yemen. According to the capacity, the dams are divided into three categories:
-large dams with a capacity larger than 500 000 m3
– medium dams with a variable capacity from 200 000 to 500 000 m3
– small dams with a capacity of less than 200 000 m3.
Table 1 shows the major dams along with their capacities.

Table 1: Overview of major dams in Yemen [3]

Name of the DamLocationBasinOperation/ completion yearHeight (m)Capacity (MCM)
SemnahSana’aSana’a Basin1985160.6
Ma’arebMaribArabian Sea Basin198740400
Raya’anSana’aSana’a Basin1993221.02
Al-AmerahTaizzTaiz Siham Basin1996250.785
ArishahSana’aSana’a Basin1997130.5
Bait Al-KhardalSana’aMa’areb BasinSana’a basin199920.52
GhaymanSana’aSana’a Basin2001150.73
Al-GargoorSana’aSana’a Basin2001161
MuogifAl MahwitTehama Surdud Basin2002180.5
Al-Wakr- AlHaythemSana’aSana’a Basin200217.20.54
Al-HajarS,adahSa’ada Basin2004230.777

• Marib dam
Marib dam is the first water harvesting system in history was built in the Arab region. Recent archaeological excavations discovered ruins of irrigation structures around Marib city dating from some 4,000 years ago. In the mountainous areas, villagers use harvested water for drinking, watering their animals and supplementary irrigation, particularly in the drier seasons. They mainly build cisterns to collect runoff from clear and carefully selected catchment areas well away from the villages to prevent pollution. Terraces are an ancient distribution system by which rainwater is diverted to basins where it is used to irrigate crops and feed drinking-water ponds, serve forest and grazing land and recharge local aquifers.[4]

An indigenous water knowledge project conducted at the Water and Environment Centre showed that traditional urban storm water collection in Sanaa’s Old City is considered the primary source of water for irrigating gardens growing crops, which are the main income source for the Old City’s farmers.[5]

Spate water diversion structures (Flood water harvesting)

Spate irrigation is an ancient water harvesting system by which floodwater is diverted from its river bed and channelled to basins where it is used to irrigate crops and feed drinking-water ponds, serve forest and grazing land and recharge local aquifers. In Yemen, large traditional spate systems consisting of numerous individual intakes and canals irrigating areas of up to 30 000 ha were developed in individual wadis. Sophisticated water sharing arrangements were formalized, with rules relating to water rights that exist in written records dating back at least 600 years. [6]
The spate irrigation areas in Yemen varies and difficult to measure, depending on the availability of the rainfall and floods water.
The name of the diversion structures of the traditional spate irrigation system differ from area to area. The terms used depend on the size, order length, type of building material, shapes, way of built and position in the wadi. Examples of names are: Oqmas, Obars, Atm (in the coastal area), Saqiya (in Hadhramout and Shabwa) and Rozzum (in some parts of the highlands). The ‘Ogma’ is as earthen dyke (bund) constructed across the main stream of the wadi to divert the entire low stage flow of flood to be used in upper part of the wadis. While, the ‘Obar’ is a temporary bunds or spurs (a small earth fill embankment), it is used at wadis middle part, and the ‘Atum’ is a temporary earth spurs surrounding the field. [7]

Cistern system

Cistern system, locally called as Karif or Majel, in the mountainous area of Yemen, it is generally underground tank, constructed from masonry or concretes and usually covered and used for the collection and storage of surface run-off. [8]

Sanitation and wastewater treatment network

As mentioned above, Yemen has more than 17 urban and more than 15 rural wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs) in operation. Several others are under construction. It has been reported that waste stabilization ponds as a means of treating wastewater are underutilized, with more than 80% placed in nine urban and rural areas (Aden, al-Hodeidah, Bajil, Thamr, Yarim, al-Baidha, Radaa, Amran and Baitalfaqih). The other WWTPs are either activated sludge in Sanaa and Ibb, Imhoff tanks or trickling filters in Hajjah or a combination of more than one technology, such as Imhoff tanks followed by stabilization ponds as in Zabid, or septic tanks followed by stabilization ponds as in al-Mahwet [9]
. Stabilization ponds are considered the best treatment process, with the potential to reduce pathogens in effluent to make it suitable for irrigation.[10] Furthermore, the WWTPs receive industrial and hospital wastewater from different facilities.

[1] FAO AQUASTAT, 2008, Country file -Yemen.
[2] IBID
[3] Available at: http://www.fao.org/aquastat/en/countries-and-basins/country-profiles/country/YEM.  Accessed on: 27 November 2019
[4] Guidelines on Spate irrigation ,2010, FAO Irrigation and drainage paper. Available at: http://www.fao.org/3/i1680e/i1680e.pdf. Accessed on : 27 November 2019.
[5]Noman A.A., El-Din Saleh S.A (2009). Flood water uses in Yemen.
[6]Noman A.A., Indigenous knowledge for using and managing water harvesting techniques in Yemen
[7] Ministry of Water and Environment, 2010. Baseline Survey for Future Impact Evaluation. Sanaa Basin Water Management Project. MWE: 107.
[8]Al-Nozaily F.A., Al-Sabri A., Bola F., Al-Hakimi A., Al-Haddad A. (2014). Promotion of Indigenous knowledge in water Demand management for the historical Old Sana’a gardens (Maqashem). Journal of Engineering Sciences, 3 (1): 35-57, June 2014. ISSN 2312-9999.
[9] Al-Nozaily F et al., 2019. Sanitary Engineering 2, Sana’a university, College of Engineering. Lectures book, Aljeel Al-Jadeed publishers, third edition, Sana’a, Yemen
[10] Veenstra, S., Al-Nozaily, F. A. and Alaerts, G. J. (1995). Purple non-sulfur bacteria and their influence on waste stabilization ponds performance in the Republic of Yemen. Wat. Sci. Tech. Vol. 31 (12) pp. 141-149.