الصفحة الرئيسية / اليمن / إدارة المياه في اليمن

إدارة المياه في اليمن

Bayt Baws dam
الصورة 1: صنعاء ، من أعلى سد بيت بوس ، اليمن. (المصدر: Kate Dixon, Flickr)

المنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية الرئيسية

قد تم إنشاء وزارة المياه والبيئة في مايو 2003 لإعادة تنظيم قطاع المياه، بهدف إنشاء هيكل مؤسسي للإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية وتهيئة الظروف المؤسسية والاستثمارية اللازمة لمواجهة تدهور الوضع المائي. تم تكليف الوزارة بإحدى أكثر مشكلات التنمية تعقيداَ في اليمن، وهي مشكلة ندرة المياه وتحديات توفير مياه الشرب لسكان الحضر والريف، ومعالجة مياه الصرف، والإشراف على إدارة موارد المياه والتخطيط لاستخدامها في ضوء قانون المياه. يوفر قانون المياه أساساً قانونياً للتحكم في استنزاف المياه الجوفية، ويشمل تدابير مثل متطلبات الترخيص وتسجيل الآبار وأجهزة الحفر وأنظمة التحكم الأكثر صرامة في مستجمعات المياه المجهدة.

المجالس المحلية هي أيضاً منظمات جديدة نسبياً، حيث تم تسهيل إنشائها بإصدار قانون السلطة المحلية في عام 2000. وتوجد مجالس محلية على مستوى المحافظات والمناطق. يتم تكليف المجالس المحلية على مستوى الحوض بالإشراف على القواعد واللوائح حول إدارة الموارد المائية وتطبيقها.[1]

يعد وضع خطة متكاملة لإدارة الموارد المائية أحد أهداف السياسة الرئيسية للقطاع الزراعي للمضي قدماً، ويهدف إلى تحقيق اللامركزية في اتخاذ القرارات ونقل تكاليف التشغيل والصيانة لمستخدمي المياه والقطاع الخاص. منذ أواخر التسعينيات، نقلت الحكومة بعض مسؤولية إدارة الموارد المائية والزراعية إلى المنظمات غير الحكومية مثل جمعيات مستخدمي المياه التي تدير المياه الجوفية والسطحية في بعض المناطق.[2]

القوانين واللوائح المعمول بها أو قيد الإعداد

من أجل التخفيف من أزمة المياه الوطنية، قد اعتمدت الحكومة قانون المياه رقم 33 في عام 2002، والذي تم تعديله بموجب قانون المياه رقم 41 في عام 2006. وكما ذكر في القسم السابق، فقد تم إنشاء وزارة المياه والبيئة أيضاً في عام 2003 لإعادة تنظيم قطاع المياه. تقوم الهيئة الوطنية للموارد المائية (NWRA)، والتي تقع تحت إشراف وزارة المياه والبيئة، بتطوير القدرات المؤسسية للاستخدام المستدام لموارد المياه. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وضعت الحكومة الخطة الوطنية للاستثمار الاستراتيجي في قطاع المياه (NWSSIP)، والتي تم دعمها من قبل المانحين. وقد أعرب هؤلاء المانحون، بما في ذلك اليابان، عن عزمهم القوي على دعم تنفيذها.[3]

بناءً على قانون المياه، تم تفويض الهيئة الوطنية للموارد المائية بصياغة خطة لإدارة موارد المياه، وتنفيذ الإدارة المتكاملة للموارد المائية وإنشاء لجنة الأحواض في أحواض المياه الحيوية في اليمن. في عام 2003، قد تم تفويض فرع الهيئة الوطنية للموارد المائية في صنعاء قانونياً بتنفيذ الأنشطة المتعلقة بإدارة الموارد المائية لحوض صنعاء. وقد تم إنشاء لجنة حوض صنعاء (SBC)، المدرجة اليوم تحت رئاسة وزير المياه والبيئة، في عام 2003، كما قد تم إنشاء الأمانة الفنية للهيئة الوطنية للموارد المائية في صنعاء لتنفيذ إدارة الموارد المائية في حوض صنعاء.[4]

دور القطاع الخاص في إدارة المياه

واجه تطوير القطاع الخاص العديد من التحديات الرئيسية والمتداخلة. وتشمل هذه العوائق البيروقراطية، وضعف البنية التحتية، والقوى العاملة غير الماهرة إلى حد كبير، وسوء مناخ الاستثمار ونقص التمويل، والاقتصاد الذي يعتمد بشكل مفرط على النفط، والفساد، وضعف الدولة، وطبقة النخبة التي تمارس الريع الاحتكاري والراغبة في الحصول على مصالح راسخة، والتي ساهمت في خنق الإصلاحات. واليوم، بعد ما يقرب من أربع سنوات من الحرب الأهلية والتدخل العسكري الإقليمي، تم تدمير الاقتصاد اليمني والقطاع الخاص معه. ونتيجةً للتحديات القائمة مسبقاً والتي تفاقمت بسبب النزاع، بات هناك فجوة كبيرة في قطاع إمدادات المياه في المناطق الحضرية. يتم سد هذه الفجوة إلى حد كبير بواسطة صهاريج المياه الخاصة، والتي يعتمد عليها المواطنون اليمنيون بشكلٍ متزايد. وفي حين يلعب نظام الصهاريج دوراً مهماً في سد هذه الفجوة في النظام الرسمي لإمدادات المياه، إلا أن ذلك يثير أسئلةً جدية فيما يتعلق بالقدرة على تحمل التكاليف، والصحة، والبيئة، وإدارة الموارد المائية. [5] يتزايد استخدام الأنظمة الشمسية بسبب الانهيار العام لإمدادات الكهرباء، إذ تعتبر أنظمة الطاقة الشمسية مصدراً بديلاً للطاقة، على سبيل المثال لضخ المياه الجوفية، ويعتبر استيراد وتوريد هذه الأنظمة دوراً للقطاع الخاص.[6]

[1] Huntjens P et al., 2012. The Political Economy of Water Management in Yemen: Conflict Analysis and Recommendations. The Hague Institute for Global Justice.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ministry of Water and Environment, 2010. Baseline Survey for Future Impact Evaluation. Sanaa Basin Water Management Project. MWE: 107.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Alfonso Rivera, Lucila Candela, 2018. Progress towards sustainable groundwater management. Journal of Hydrology: Regional Studies, December 201, Pages 1-158
[6] Ahmed A et al., 2018. Feasibility study of solar photovoltaic power plant for Sanaa wastewater treatment plant. Journal of Environment and Sustainable Development Studies 2(5): 1-19.

Home / Yemen / Water Management in Yemen

Water Management in Yemen

Bayt Baws dam
Photo 1: Sanaa, seen from above the Bayt Baws dam, Yemen. (Source: Kate Dixon, Flickr)

Key governmental and non-governmental organizations

The Ministry of Water and Environment was established in May 2003 to reorganize the water sector, with the aim of creating an institutional structure for integrated water resources management and to prepare the necessary institutional and investment conditions to face the worsening water situation. The ministry was charged with one of the most complex development problems in Yemen, namely the water scarcity problem and the challenges of providing drinking water to the urban and rural population, treating wastewater, overseeing water resources management and planning its use in light of the Water Law. The Water Law provides a legal basis for controlling groundwater abstractions. It includes measures like licensing and registration requirements for wells and rigs and stricter control regimes in water-stressed catchments.

Local councils are also relatively new organizations, their establishment having been facilitated by the issuance of the Local Authority Law in 2000. Local councils exist at governorate and district levels. They are tasked at the basin level with supervising and enforcing rules and regulations around water resources management.[1]

Developing an integrated water resources management plan is one of the main policy goals for the agricultural sector going forward and aims to decentralize decision-making and transfer operating and maintenance costs to water users and the private sector. Since the late 1990s, the government has transferred some responsibility for agricultural water resources management to non-governmental organizations such as water user associations that manage ground and surface water in some regions.[2]

Laws and regulations that are in use or under preparation

In order to mitigate the national water crisis, the government adopted Water Law No. 33 in 2002, which was amended by Water Law No. 41 in 2006. As noted in the previous section, the Ministry of Water and Environment was also established in 2003 to reorganize the water sector. The National Water Resources Authority (NWRA), which falls under the Ministry of Water and Environment, is developing the institutional capacity for sustainable use of water resources. In addition, the government formulated the National Water Sector Strategy and Investment Plan (NWSSIP), which was supported by donors. These donors, including Japan, have expressed their strong intention to support its implementation.[3]

Based on the Water Law, the NWRA was delegated to formulate a water resources management plan, to execute integrated water resources management and to establish a Basins Commission in the critical water basins in Yemen. In 2003, the NWRA Sanaa Branch (NWRA-SB) was legally empowered to implement activities related to water resources management for the Sanaa basin. The Sanaa Basin Commission (SBC), which is now under the chairmanship of the minister of water and environment, was established in 2003 with the NWRA-SB technical secretariat to execute management of water resources in the Sanaa basin.[4]

Role of the private sector in water management

Private sector development has faced several major and interrelated challenges. These include bureaucratic obstructions, weak infrastructure, a largely unskilled workforce, a poor investment climate and lack of financing, an economy overly dependent on oil, corruption, a weak state and a rent-seeking elite class with vested interests in stifling reforms. Now, after almost four years of civil war and regional military intervention, Yemen’s economy has been devastated and the private sector with it. As a result of pre-existing challenges exacerbated by the conflict, there is a considerable gap in the urban water supply sector. This gap is being filled largely by private tanker trucks, on which urban Yemenis are increasingly dependent. While the tanker truck system plays a critical role in filling this gap in the formal water supply system, it raises serious questions with respect to affordability, health, environment and water resources management.[5] The use of solar systems is expanding due to the general collapse of the electricity supply. Solar systems are considered an alternative power source, e.g. for pumping groundwater, and the import and supply of these systems is considered the role of the private sector.[6]

[1] Huntjens P et al., 2012. The Political Economy of Water Management in Yemen: Conflict Analysis and Recommendations. The Hague Institute for Global Justice.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ministry of Water and Environment, 2010. Baseline Survey for Future Impact Evaluation. Sanaa Basin Water Management Project. MWE: 107.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Alfonso Rivera, Lucila Candela, 2018. Progress towards sustainable groundwater management. Journal of Hydrology: Regional Studies, December 201, Pages 1-158
[6] Ahmed A et al., 2018. Feasibility study of solar photovoltaic power plant for Sanaa wastewater treatment plant. Journal of Environment and Sustainable Development Studies 2(5): 1-19.