الصفحة الرئيسية / اليمن / استهلاك المياه في اليمن

استهلاك المياه في اليمن

Haraza mountain
الصورة 1: زراعة الشرفة في جبل حرازة في اليمن. تُظهر الصورة أيضًا خزان مياه ، وهو نظام قديم لجمع مياه الأمطار للاستخدامات الزراعية والمنزلية. (المصدر: Rod Waddington, Flickr)

الاستهلاك الحالي للمياه لكل قطاع وتحليل للعجز المحتمل

يوضح الجدول (1) استهلاك كل قطاع للمياه من عام 1990 إلى 2010. كما يوضح أن استخدام المياه في الزراعة والري قد ارتفع خلال تلك الفترة من الزمن ومن المتوقع أن يرتفع أكثر بعد عام 2010. كما يرتفع أيضاً الاستهلاك للأغراض المنزلية والحضرية والريفية بالإضافة إلى زيادة استهلاك القطاع الصناعي والتعدين.

في عام 1990، بلغ إجمالي استهلاك المياه 2,799 مليون متر مكعب في السنة. في عام 2010، بلغ الاستهلاك 3,970 مليون متر مكعب في السنة. ونظراً لانخفاض التوافر وزيادة عدد السكان، فقد تجف موارد اليمن قريباً.[1]

الجدول 1: استهلاك المياه على مدى 20 عاماً (1990-2010) في مختلف القطاعات المستهلكة للمياه.[2]

استهلاك المياه1990200020052010*
الزراعة/الري2,6003,1453,235 3,328
منزلي/ حضري/ ريفي 168210265552
الصناعة/ التعدين31456590
إجمالي (مليون متر مكعب/السنة)2,7993,4003,565 3,970

من الواضح أن هناك فجوة كبيرة بين الكمية المستهلكة والموارد المتجددة المتاحة. تتم تغطية العجز من المياه من طبقات المياه الجوفية العميقة. لا تتجاوز حصة المياه السنوية 80 متر مكعب للفرد، وهو ما يقل عن خط الفقر المائي.

استهلاك الزراعة للمياه والري

يعدّ القطاع الزراعي المستهلك المهيمن للمياه (90%) في حين أن القطاعين المنزلي والصناعي يستهلكان ما بين 7 و8% من موارد المياه. قدرت المساحة المزروعة في اليمن في عام 2003 بحوالي 1,2 مليون هكتار، منها 45% يعتمد على هطول الأمطار ويتم ري 55% من المياه الجوفية أو المياه السطحية من الفيضانات الموسمية (الري السيلي). كما تبلغ المساحة المروية عن طريق أنظمة الري المحسنة (الأنابيب، والري الموضعي، والرشاشات) حوالي 25,000 هكتار. ويمثل هذا 4% فقط من إجمالي المساحة المروية بالمياه الجوفية باستخدام أنظمة الري التقليدية/ السطحية، والتي تقل كفاءتها بنسبة 30-40% فقط. ازدادت مساحة الأراضي الزراعية المروية بالمياه الجوفية من 37,000 هكتار في عام 1970 إلى 400,000 هكتار في عام 2010، وهذا يعادل ثلث المساحة المزروعة لكامل البلاد. معظم هذه المحاصيل هي محاصيل ذات قيمة اقتصادية مرتفعة، مثل الفواكه والخضروات والقات – وهو منبه موجود في أوراق نبات كاثا إيدوليس (Catha edulis) والذي يمضغ عادة – والتي غالباً ما تزرع إلى جانب الأشجار الخشبية والحطب.[3]

[1] FAO, 2018. Yemen Plan of Action 2018-2020.
[2] Ibid.
[3] FAO, 2012. World agriculture towards 2030/2050. The 2012 revision. ESA Working Paper No. 12-03.

Home / Yemen / Water Use in Yemen

Water Use in Yemen

Haraza mountain in Yemen
Photo1 : Terrace cultivation in Haraza mountain in Yemen. The photo also shows a water cistern, an ancient rainfall collection system for agricultural and household uses. (Source: Rod Waddington, Flickr)

Current water use per sector and analysis of the possible deficit

Table 1 shows the sectoral use of water from 1990 to 2010. It also shows that water used for agriculture and irrigation has increased in that time and is expected to increase further after 2010. Usage is also increasing for domestic, urban and rural purposes as well as industrial and mining purposes.

In 1990, total water use in Yemen was 2,799 MCM/yr. In 2010, it was 3,970 MCM/yr. Since availability is declining and the population is increasing, Yemen may soon run dry.[1]

Table 1: Water use over a period of 20 years (1990-2010) in different water use sectors.[2]

Water use1990200020052010*
Agriculture/irrigation2,6003,1453,235 3,328
Domestic/urban/rural 168210265552
Industrial/mining31456590
Total (MCM/yr)2,7993,4003,565 3,970

It is clear then that there is large gap between the amount used and the renewable resources available. The deficit is covered by water from deep underground aquifers. The annual water share does not exceed 80 m3 per capita, which is below the water poverty line.

Agricultural water use and irrigation

The agricultural sector is the dominant water user (90%) whereas the domestic and industry sectors use 7-8% of the water resources Yemen’s cultivated area was estimated in 2003 to be about 1.2 million ha, of which 45% is dependent on rainfall and 55% is irrigated by groundwater or surface water from seasonal floods (spate irrigation). The area irrigated by improved systems (pipes, localized systems, sprinklers) is around 25,000 ha. This represents only 4% of the total area irrigated with groundwater using traditional/surface irrigation systems, whose efficiency is low at only 30-40%. Groundwater-irrigated agriculture increased from 37,000 ha in 1970 to 400,000 ha in 2010. This is the equivalent of a third of the national cropped area. Most of this is under high-value crops: fruit, vegetables and qat – a stimulant found in the leaves of the Catha edulis plant that are usually chewed – often mixed with timber and firewood trees.[3]

[1] FAO, 2018. Yemen Plan of Action 2018-2020.
[2] Ibid.
[3] FAO, 2012. World agriculture towards 2030/2050. The 2012 revision. ESA Working Paper No. 12-03.