الصفحة الرئيسية / العراق / ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في العراق؟

ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في العراق؟

مستقبل المياه في العراق
أظهرت وزارة الموارد المائية فهمها للتحديات التي تواجه البلاد، واعتمدت إستراتيجية من شأنها أن تساعد في التخفيف من شح المياه في المستقبل.وعلى الرغم من هذا، تهدد عدة أزمات بدفع البلاد نحو المزيد من التدهور. البُنية التحتية المعيبة، وأنظمة الري والزراعة التي عفا عليها الزمن، والتنمية عند المنبع، التمرد المسلح تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية "داعش"، والنواقص في الميزانية، وعدم الاستقرار السياسي، وتغير المناخ، جميعها تتطلب حلولاً حكيمة، حيث تشكل كلاً منها منفردة صعوبةً بحد ذاتها، فكيف إن اجتمعت.

عوامل الخطر والعقبات

تتمثل إحدى العقبات الرئيسية أمام الإدارة الإستراتيجية للموارد المائية بالتنسيق بين الحكومة المركزية في بغداد وحكومة إقليم كردستان في أربيل. إن قدرة الإدارة المركزية على الاستمرار في إدارة الموارد المائية بالاشتراك مع حكومة كردستان أمر أساسي، ذلك أنّ الإدارة الفعّالة والمتقنة لأكبر الخزانات التي تقع في الشمال هي السبيل الوحيد لتوفير المستوى المطلوب من التنمية للبلاد بأكملها. وسيكون، بكل تأكيد، الفشل في الحفاظ على التنسيق في المستقبل، هو السبب في توتراتٍ اجتماعية واقتصادية جمّة، فضلاً عن الخسارة الفادحة في الفرص لكلا الجانبين.

إن هناك عقبة أخرى تتمثل في تأثر العراق بالتنمية عند المنبع في كلٍ من تركيا وإيران وسوريا (على الرغم من أن الأخيرة دمرت بسبب  التمرد المسلح لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش”). وإن لم تحقق دول المنبع الكفاءة المتوقعة في القطاع الزراعي على مدى الأعوام العشرين المقبلة، فمن المرجح أن يؤدي هذا إلى المزيد من الانخفاض في كمية ونوعية المياه المتوقع نقلها إلى العراق- إلى جانب الضرر الاقتصادي والاجتماعي الذي يُصاحب ذلك. وبالتالي، ينبغي أن يكون اكتساب فهم أفضل للخطط والتطورات الفعلية في تركيا وغيرها من الدول المتشاطئة،والتوصل إلى إستراتيجية شاملة للتفاوض على المياه، على رأس قائمة أولويات الحكومة. وفي الوقت نفسه، ينبغي على العراق زيادة كفاءته الزراعية، وإعادة تأهيل شبكة الري وتصريف المياه وجمعها، وإصلاح مختلف عناصر البنية التحتية للمياه، بما في ذلك سد الموصل.

ومع ذلك، يتمثل أكبر العوائق أمام الإدارة المستدامة للمياه في الوضع الأمني المتقلب الحاصل بسبب  التمرد المسلح لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش.” فقد استهدف التنظيم على وجه التحديد البُنية التحتية للمياه على نهري دجلة والفرات كعنصرٍ أساسي من إستراتيجيته للتوسع، وتمكّن من السيطرة على ما يصل إلى 6 سدود عام 2015. كما أنّ السيطرة على المباني الرئيسية إلى جانب البيئة الخطيرة التي خلقتها النزاعات المسلحة، جعل من إدارة وإصلاح وتحديث البُنية التحتية اللازمة أمراً مستحيلاً.[1]

سد الرمادي المياه في العراق
الصورة رقم (2): البوابة الجنوبية لسد الرمادي في العراق ( المصدر : NortyNort)

كما أن السيطرة على البُنى التحتية الرئيسية للمياه سمح لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” باستخدام الموارد المائية لأغراض عسكرية، مثل إغراق المناطق بالمياه أو تلويث مياه الشرب.[2]ومنذ عام 2013، شنّ تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” ما يقارب الـ20 هجوماً كبيراً على البُنية التحتية للمياه في العراق وسوريا، بما في ذلك إغلاق بوابات السدود في كلٍ من الفلوجة والرمادي وقطع المياه عن مدينة الموصل.[3]وعلى الرغم من خسارة تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” لمساحاتٍ شاسعة من الأراضي التي كان يُسيطر عليها (والبُنى التحتية التي تتضمنها)، خلال عام 2016، [4] إلا أنّ وزارة الموارد المائية ستواجهه مهمةً صعبة فيما يتعلق بإعادة بناء وتأهيل أياً كان ما خلفوه ورائهم.

الخطوط العريضة لإستراتيجية طويلة الأمد

كحال العديد من البلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم، وبخاصة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، يبدو مستقبل توافر المياه العذبة في العراق قاتماً. في الواقع، من المتوقع أن أعداد الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في أحواض الأنهار،في ظل ضغوطٍ حادة على المياه،سيتجاوز الضعف بين عاميّ 2000 و2050 إلى 3,9 مليار نسمة.[5] وقد ذكرت الحكومة أنها ملتزمة بإيجاد موارد إضافية للمياه الجوفية من أجل زيادة إجمالي إمدادات المياه المتاحة، فضلاً عن إصلاح قطاع الزراعة للحد من الاستهلاك.

ولتحقيق الأمن المائي في العراق، ينبغي أن يكون السعي لإبرام اتفاق أو أكثر مع تركيا وسوريا،يتناول نوعية وكمية المياه التي تدخل العراق من نهري دجلة والفرات، على رأس قائمة الأولويات. وبالإضافة لذلك، وبما أنّ الاحتياجات المائية في العراق ستتجاوز قريباً المياه المتوفرة، تبرز الحاجة إلى وضع خطة مستقبلية للاستفادة بالشكل الأمثل من إمدادات المياه المتوقعة في البلاد، بما في ذلك تحسين تشغيل الخزانات وزيادة كفاءة استهلاك المياه.

كما أن التوسع في عدد من مرافق معالجة المياه وتحسين وتوسيع شبكة أنابيب المياه التي تنقل المياه وتخدم مستخدمي المياه في قطاعي البلديات والصناعة في العراق ذات أولوية كبيرة. وكحدٍ أدنى، يجب أن تلبي معالجة مياه الشرب معايير مياه الشرب المنصوص عليها في اللائحة رقم 417 لعام 1974، لمواصفات مياه الشرب القياسية في العراق، المعدلة عام 2000، والتي تعتبر في بعض الأحيان أكثر صرامة من المبادئ التوجيهية والدلائل الإرشادية لنوعية مياه الشرب لمنظمة الصحة العالمية.

ومن الأمور ذات الأهمية الأساسية في ضبط الملوحة على طول الأنهار في العراق، هو تغيير الطريقة التي تتم بها إدارة التصريف الزراعي. فمن الآن وحتى عام 2035، ينبغي ربط مشاريع الري تدريجياً بقنوات التصريف التي تنقل التدفقات المرتجعة من الزراعة، وعزل الصرف الزراعي الملوث، بشكلٍ فعّال، عن إمدادات المياه العذبة. ومن المتوقع أن تحسّن هذه الإجراءات نوعية المياه في العراق إلى حدٍ كبير.

الخلاصة

أظهرت وزارة الموارد المائية فهمها للتحديات التي تواجه البلاد، واعتمدت إستراتيجية من شأنها أن تساعد في التخفيف من شح المياه في المستقبل.وعلى الرغم من هذا، تهدد عدة أزمات بدفع البلاد نحو المزيد من التدهور. البُنية التحتية المعيبة، وأنظمة الري والزراعة التي عفا عليها الزمن، والتنمية عند المنبع، التمرد المسلح تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش”، والنواقص في الميزانية، وعدم الاستقرار السياسي، وتغير المناخ، جميعها تتطلب حلولاً حكيمة، حيث تشكل كلاً منها منفردة صعوبةً بحد ذاتها، فكيف إن اجتمعت.

وفي النهاية، لا يمكن للعراق انتظار عالمٍ مثالي لإدارة موارده المائية بشكلٍ أفضل. فالتغييرات السياسية المختلفة يمكن أن تحسّن إدارة الموارد المائية خلال هذا الوقت، بما في ذلك تحفيز الكفاءة، وإعادة هيكلة سياسات التخزين وآليات التخصيص. ويتعيّن على الحكومة أن تبذل ما في وسعها، في أقرب وقتٍ ممكن، لحماية الموارد الطبيعية الأثمن في البلاد.

[1] BBC News, 2015. ‘Islamic State’s “water war” on Iraq’. Available at www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-34905237, accessed 6 June 2016.
[2] Tobias von Lossow, 2016. Water as Weapon: IS on the Euphrates and Tigris. Available at: www.swp-berlin.org/fileadmin/contents/products/comments/2016C03_lsw.pdf, accessed 18 August 2016.
[3] Ambika Vishwanath, 2015. The Water Wars Waged by the Islamic State. Available at: https://www.stratfor.com/weekly/water-wars-waged-islamic-state, accessed 18 August 2016.
[4] Henry Johnson, 2016. The Islamic State is Losing its Territory – and Fast. Available at: http://foreignpolicy.com/2016/03/16/mapped-the-islamic-state-is-losing-its-territory-and-fast/, accessed 18 August 2016.
[5] Helen Mountford, 2011. Water: The Environmental Outlook to 2050. OECD Global Forum on Environment: Making Water Reform Happen, 25-26 October 2011, Paris.

Home / Iraq / What Does the Future Hold for Water in Iraq?

What Does the Future Hold for Water in Iraq?

What does the future hold for water in Iraq
Photo 1 : Tigris River, outside Amarah, Iraq. (Source : Virginia tice)

Risk factors and obstacles

One major obstacle to strategic water resource management is the coordination between the central government in Baghdad and the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) in Erbil. The ability of the central government to continue to jointly manage water resources with the KRG is vital because an active and precise management of the largest reservoirs located in the north is the only way to provide the desired level of development for the entire country. Failing to maintain coordination in the future will most certainly be the cause of great social and economic tension as well as a catastrophic loss of opportunity for both sides.

An additional obstacle is Iraq’s vulnerability to upstream development in Turkey, Iran and Syria (although the latter has been effectively wiped out by the IS insurgency). If the upstream countries do not meet their expected efficiency gains in agriculture over the next 20 years, then a further reduction of the projected water quantity and quality delivered to Iraq will likely result – with the concomitant economic and social harm that this brings. Gaining a greater understanding of Turkey’s and other riparian country’s actual plans and progress, and reaching a comprehensive negotiation strategy on water must, therefore, be a top priority for the government. At the same time, Iraq must make gains in its own agricultural efficiency, rehabilitate and extend its irrigation drainage and collection network, and repair various elements of its water infrastructure, including Mosul Dam.

The greatest impediment to sustainable water management, however, is the highly volatile security situation created by the IS insurgency. The militia has specifically targeted water infrastructure on the Euphrates and Tigris rivers as an essential component of its expansion strategy and were able to gain control of as many as six dams by 2015. The capture of major structures as well as the dangerous environment created by armed conflict have made the management, repair and modernization of necessary infrastructure impossible.[1]

Controlling major water infrastructure has allowed IS to use water resources for military purposes, such as flooding areas or contaminating drinking water.[2] Since 2013, IS has launched almost 20 major attacks against Syrian and Iraqi water infrastructure, including closing the dam gates in Fallujah and Ramadi and cutting off water to Mosul.[3] Although IS has lost a significant amount of its territory (and the water infrastructure that accompanied it) throughout 2016[4], the Ministry of Water Resources will have the difficult task of rebuilding and rehabilitating whatever remnants get left behind.

Outline of long-term strategy

ramadi dam water in Iraq
Photo 2: The southern gates of the Ramadi Dam (Source: NortyNort)

Like many countries around the world and particularly in the MENA region, Iraq’s projected future freshwater availability looks bleak. Indeed, the number of people living in river basins under severe water stress is projected to more than double between 2000 and 2050 to 3.9 billion people.[5] The government has stated that it is committed to finding additional groundwater resources in order to increase the total available water supply as well as reforming the agriculture sector to reduce consumption.

To achieve water security in Iraq, a top priority is to seek one or more agreement(s) with Turkey and Syria that address the quantity and quality of the water in the Euphrates and Tigris rivers entering Iraq. Additionally, since the water requirements within Iraq are soon to exceed the available water, a plan for the future requires making better use of the country’s projected water supply, including improving reservoir operations and increasing the efficiency of water consumption.

Expansion in the number of water treatment facilities and improvement and expansion of the water pipeline network that delivers water and serves Iraq’s municipal and industrial water users is a high priority. At a minimum, treatment of drinking water should achieve the drinking water standards set forth in Regulation No. 417 of 1974, Iraqi Standard Specifications on Drinking Water, updated in 2000, which in some cases is stricter than the World Health Organization’s health-based guidelines for drinking water.

Of paramount importance to controlling salinity along Iraq’s rivers is changing the manner by which agricultural drainage is managed. Between now and 2035, irrigation projects should be progressively tied into drainage channels that convey return flows from agriculture, effectively segregating polluted agricultural runoff from the freshwater supply. These actions are projected to vastly improve the water quality in Iraq.

Conclusion

The Ministry of Water Resources has shown that it understands the challenges that face the country and has adopted a strategy that will help alleviate water scarcity in the future. Despite this, several crises threaten to push the country towards further deterioration. Failing infrastructure, outdated agricultural and irrigation systems, upstream development, the IS insurgency, budget shortfalls, political instability and climate change all require discreet solutions, any one of which is difficult on its own let alone in tandem.

That being said, Iraq cannot wait for a perfect world in order to better manage its water resources. Various policy changes can improve water resource management in the interim, including incentivizing efficiency, and restructuring storage policies and allocation mechanisms. It is incumbent upon the government to do what it can, as soon as it can, to protect the country’s most precious natural resource.

[1] BBC News, 2015. ‘Islamic State’s “water war” on Iraq’. Available at www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-34905237, accessed 6 June 2016.
[2] Tobias von Lossow, 2016. Water as Weapon: IS on the Euphrates and Tigris. Available at: www.swp-berlin.org/fileadmin/contents/products/comments/2016C03_lsw.pdf, accessed 18 August 2016.
[3] Ambika Vishwanath, 2015. The Water Wars Waged by the Islamic State. Available at: https://www.stratfor.com/weekly/water-wars-waged-islamic-state, accessed 18 August 2016.
[4] Henry Johnson, 2016. The Islamic State is Losing its Territory – and Fast. Available at: http://foreignpolicy.com/2016/03/16/mapped-the-islamic-state-is-losing-its-territory-and-fast/, accessed 18 August 2016.
[5] Helen Mountford, 2011. Water: The Environmental Outlook to 2050. OECD Global Forum on Environment: Making Water Reform Happen, 25-26 October 2011, Paris.