الصفحة الرئيسية / العراق / البُنية التحتيٌة للمياه في العراق

البُنية التحتيٌة للمياه في العراق

سد الموصل البُنية التحتيٌة للمياه في العراق
تعتبر شبكة الخزانات الشاملة في العراق جزءاً أساسياً من قدرة البلاد على إدارة مواردها المائية المتاحة. يتم تشغيل السدود من خلال ثلاثة أنظمة مستقلة: النظام رقم (1) يشمل نهر الفرات، ودجلة، والزاب الكبير، والزاب الصغير؛ والنظام رقم (2)، والذي يشمل مستجمعات نهر العُظيم؛ والنظام رقم (3)، والذي يشمل مستجمعات ديالى.

السٌدود

تعتبر شبكة الخزانات الشاملة في العراق جزءاً أساسياً من قدرة البلاد على إدارة مواردها المائية المتاحة. يتم تشغيل السدود من خلال ثلاثة أنظمة مستقلة: النظام رقم (1) يشمل نهر الفرات، ودجلة، والزاب الكبير، والزاب الصغير؛ والنظام رقم (2)، والذي يشمل مستجمعات نهر العُظيم؛ والنظام رقم (3)، والذي يشمل مستجمعات ديالى. يتم تشغيل كل نظام لإدارة توزيع المياه لمستخدمي القطاعات البلدية والصناعية والزراعية والبيئية، ولتوفير الحماية من مخاطر الفيضانات عند المصب.

 Water Infrastructure in Iraq Reservoir management systems
الخريطة رقم (1): أنظمة إدارة الخزانات.[1]

ضبط الفيضانات

على الرغم من بناء السدود في كلٍ من تركيا وسوريا، فلا يزال من الممكن حصول حوادث الفيضانات في العراق، وخصوصاً على طول روافد نهر دجلة مثل الزاب الكبير الذي يعتبر آخر نهر كبير لم يُنشأ عليه سد في العراق. كما تفتقر أيضاً بعض الروافد الشرقية الأخرى الأصغر حجماً لبُنية تحتية لضبط الفيضانات، وتُعرف بحدوث الطوفانات المفاجئة.

وفي الوقت الحاضر، تتم إدارة ذروة الفيضان باستخدام السعة التخزينية للسدود والحواجز الاصطناعية على المجرى وكذلك بعض المناطق المنخفضة الطبوغرافية خارج مجرى النهر. يُضبط نهر دجلة من قِبل سد الموصل وسد دوكان على الزاب الصغير (من روافد نهر دجلة) وسد سامراء.وفي حالة الفيضانات الشديدة،عندما لا تكون سدود دوكان والموصل قادرةً على الحد من ذروات الفيضان للقيم المقبولة،ومنعها من الوصول إلى بغداد، يعتبر سد سامراء عند المصب النقطة التالية التي يمكنها ضبط التدفقات القادمة من خزانات المنبع (بالإضافة إلى التدفقات القادمة من الزاب الكبير)، ويمكنه تحويل المياه إلى خزان الثرثار.[2] وينظم سد حديثة وسد الرمادي التدفقات على نهر الفرات. ويمكن لسد الرمادي تحويل التدفقات من الفرات إلى بحيرة الحبانية، وينقل جدول تخلية المجرة التدفقات من بحيرة الحبانية إلى بحيرة الرزازة في حال الفيضانات الكبيرة.[3]

ويضبط على نحوٍ مماثل سد دربندخان، على نهر ديالي، ويخفف من مخاطر الفيضانات لحماية مدينة بغداد. يصب نهر ديالي في نهر دجلة بالقرب من بغداد؛ بسبب تأثير المياه المرتدة، وبالتالي قد تشكل الفيضانات المتزامنة على نهري دجلة وديالي خطراً بوصولها إلى بغداد. وعند منبع نهر ديالي، يضبط سد دربندخان التدفق على النهر. ويمكن التحكم بأنظمة سير العمل العادية للسد لتخزين المزيد من المياه خلف السد ومنع الفيضانات من الوصول إلى بغداد.[4]

3.5 المشاريع المخطط لها- سد الموصل

سد الموصل، وهو سد كبير متعدد الأغراض، يوفر الطاقة الكهرومائية والحماية إلا أنه يشكل في الوقت الحالي تهديداً كبيراً تخوفاً من طوفانه. يتم حالياً تشغيل السد بمستوى تخزين منخفض بسبب المخاوف بشأن عدم استقرار بُنيته الأساسية التي شيّدت على الجبس. يقلل تشغيل السد بمستوى تخزين منخفض خطر الفيضانات، إلا أنه لا يُلغيها. ومن المعلوم أن هناك إجماعاً داخل الحكومة على أن إعادة تأهيل سد الموصل على رأس قائمة الأولويات.[5] وستؤدي إعادة تأهيل السد إلى زيادة سعة التخزين بشكلٍ كبير، حيث يتم تشغيل السد حالياً بأقصى إرتفاع والذي يبلغ 319 متر فوق مستوى سطح البحر، بدلاً من الحد الأقصى التشغيلي للسد عند تصميمه والبالغ 330 متر فوق مستوى سطح البحر. وحالما يتم تنفيذ حل لهذه المشكلة، سيكون من الممكن زيادة المياه المخزنة في خزان السد بأكثر من 50% مقارنةً بالوضع الحالي، وبالتالي زيادة السعة التخزينية للمياه العذبة في العراق بنحو 3,8 مليار متر مكعب.[6]

[1] Ministry of Water Resources of Iraq, 2014. Strategy for Water and Land Resources of Iraq 2015-2035.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] The contract to fix Mosul Dam has already been signed but the actual start date is yet to be announced. See, e.g., The Guardian, 2016. ‘Iraq awards Italian firm Trevi contract to repair Mosul dam’. Available at www.theguardian.com/world/2016/feb/02/iraq-awards-italian-firm-trevi-contract-repair-mosul-dam, accessed 6 June 2016.
[6] Ministry of Water Resources of Iraq, 2014. Strategy for Water and Land Resources of Iraq 2015-2035.

Home / Iraq / Water Infrastructure in Iraq

Water Infrastructure in Iraq

Al Mosul Dam Water Infrastructure in Iraq
Photo 1: Al Mosul Dam on the Tigris River, Iraq. (Source: Rehman AbuBakr)

Dams

Iraq’s extensive reservoir network is at the heart of the country’s ability to manage its available water resources. The dams are operated in three independent systems: System No. 1 encompassing the Euphrates, Tigris, Greater Zab and Lesser Zab; System No. 2 encompassing the al-Adhaim watershed; and System No. 3 encompassing the Diyala watershed. Each system is operated to manage the water distribution to municipal, industrial, agricultural and environmental users and to provide downstream flood hazard protection.

 Water Infrastructure in Iraq Reservoir management systems
Map 6. Reservoir management systems.[1]

Flood control

Despite the construction of dams in Turkey and Syria, it is still possible for flood events to occur in Iraq, particularly along the tributaries to the Tigris River such as the Greater Zab, which is the last undammed large river in Iraq. Some of the other smaller eastern tributaries also lack flood control infrastructure and are known to experience flash flood events.

Presently, flood peaks are managed using the storage capacity of on-stream dams and barrages as well as some off-stream topographic depressions. The Tigris is regulated by Mosul Dam and Dokan Dam on the Lesser Zab (a tributary to the Tigris) and Samarra Barrage. In case of extreme events where the Mosul and Dokan dams are not able to reduce flood peaks to acceptable values for the Baghdad reach, Samarra Barrage is the next point downstream that can manage flows coming from the upstream reservoirs (in addition to flows entering from the Greater Zab), and can divert water to Tharthar Lake.[2] Haditha Dam and Ramadi Barrage regulate flows on the Euphrates. Ramadi Barrage can divert flows from the Euphrates to Habbaniyah Lake, and al-Majarra canal conveys flows from Habbaniyah Lake to Razzazza Lake in the event of large flood events.[3]

Derbendikhan Dam, on the Diyala, is similarly regulated, attenuating floods in order to protect Baghdad. The Diyala flows into the Tigris just downstream of Baghdad; due to a backwater effect, simultaneous floods on the Tigris and Diyala could pose a flooding risk to Baghdad. In the upstream part of the Diyala, Derbendikhan Dam regulates the flow on the river. The normal operation rules of the dam can be over-ruled to store more water behind the dam and prevent floods from reaching Baghdad.[4]

Planned projects – Mosul Dam

Mosul Dam, which is a significant multipurpose dam that provides hydropower and conservation benefits, presently poses a significant flood threat. The dam is currently operated at a reduced storage level due to concerns about instability of its gypsum foundation. Operating the dam at a reduced storage level reduces, but does not eliminate, the flood hazard. It is understood that there is consensus within the government that rehabilitation of Mosul Dam is a top priority.[5] The rehabilitation of the dam will result in greater storage capacity, as it currently operates at a maximum elevation of 319 metres above mean sea level, instead of at the maximum operating level within its design, 330 metres above mean sea level. Once a solution to this problem is implemented, it will be possible to increase the water stored in the dam’s reservoir by over 50% compared to the present situation, thereby augmenting Iraq’s freshwater storage capacity by almost 3.8 billion cubic metres (BCM).[6]

[1] Ministry of Water Resources of Iraq, 2014. Strategy for Water and Land Resources of Iraq 2015-2035.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] The contract to fix Mosul Dam has already been signed but the actual start date is yet to be announced. See, e.g., The Guardian, 2016. ‘Iraq awards Italian firm Trevi contract to repair Mosul dam’. Available at www.theguardian.com/world/2016/feb/02/iraq-awards-italian-firm-trevi-contract-repair-mosul-dam, accessed 6 June 2016.
[6] Ministry of Water Resources of Iraq, 2014. Strategy for Water and Land Resources of Iraq 2015-2035.