الصفحة الرئيسية / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / إدارة المياه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة

إدارة المياه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة

إدارة المياه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة UAE- Abu Dhabi Water and Electricity Water Management in UAE

الصورة (1): شركة ماء وكهرباء أبو ظبي، أبو ظبي ، الإمارات (المصدر: Gordontour, Flickr).

المنظمات الحكومية وغير الحكومية الرئيسية والجهات الفاعلة في القطاع الخاص

ترتبط سلطات المياه الحكومية ارتباطاً وثيقاً بالهيكل الاتحادي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، فإن هناك العديد من السلطات على المستوى المحلي (الإمارة)، مما أسفر عن نظامٍ مرن يخفف العبء على الحكومة المركزية. وعلى الصعيد الاتحادي، يجري تنسيق السياسات والاستراتيجيات والخطط المتعلقة بموارد المياه من خلال وزارة التغير المناخي والبيئة.

تتولى هيئة مياه وكهرباء أبوظبي (ADWEA) مسؤولية توليد ونقل وتوزيع المياه والكهرباء في إمارة أبوظبي. وفي دبي والشارقة ورأس الخيمة تقع هذه المهام على عاتق هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي (DEWA) وهيئة كهرباء ومياه الشارقة (SEWA) وهيئة رأس الخيمة للكهرباء والماء، على التوالي. تأسست الهيئة الاتحادية للكهرباء والماء (FEWA) عام 1999 لتوليد وتوزيع الكهرباء والماء في الإمارات الشمالية، مثل عجمان وأم القيوين والفجيرة.

وبسبب الطلب المتزايد على المياه والطاقة، فقد سمحت الحكومة للشركات الخاصة بالمشاركة في قطاع الطاقة والمياه منذ عدة سنوات.

تمويل قطاع المياه- الخصخصة

بدأت خصخصة تحلية المياه في أبوظبي بمشاريع المياه المستقلة الضخمة و مشاريع إنتاج الطاقة والمياه المستقلة في أوائل العقد الأول من القرن الواحد والعشرين. وقد سمح ذلك للشركات الأجنبية بإنشاء مشاريع مشتركة مع الشركات الوطنية، مما أسهم في تنوع التكنولوجيا والحد من تكاليف الإنتاج.

في كل مشروع لإنتاج الطاقة والمياه المستقلة، تحتفظ سلطة حكومية مثل هيئة مياه وكهرباء أبوظبي بحصة مُلكية قدرها 60% بينما يحتفظ المستثمرون الخاصون بنسبة الـ40% المتبقية. ويتعين على جميع مشاريع إنتاج الطاقة والمياه المستقلة بيع إنتاجها وقدراتها من المياه والكهرباء لشركة أبو ظبي للمياه والكهرباء (ADWEC)، وهي شركة مملوكة للحكومة تابعة لهيئة مياه وكهرباء أبوظبي. ويبدو أن هذا النظام الجديد، الذي يتضمن حوافز مدمجة للحد من تكاليف الإنتاج وتحسين الجودة، قد أسفر عن نتائج إيجابية لاسيما تخفيض التكلفة.

كما اعتمدت بعض مخططات التمويل مثل عقود البناء والامتلاك والتشغيل (BOO) وعقود البناء والامتلاك والتشغيل ونقل الملكية (BOOT)، في بعض مشاريع التحلية الجديدة. وتعتبر محطات تحلية المياه الهجينة، مثل محطة تحلية المياه في الفجيرة، من بين الممارسات الحديثة المعتمدة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فمن المتوقع أن ينمو سوق تحلية المياه بشكلٍ كبير مع زيادة النمو السكاني، فضلاً عن التوسع في الأنشطة الصناعية والسياحة، ويُضاف إلى ذلك التحسن العام في مستوى المعيشة.

التشريعات

ترتبط تشريعات المياه أيضاً ارتباطاً وثيقاً بالهيكل الاتحادي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وتوجد القوانين على المستوى الاتحادي، ولكن تُصدر كل إمارة قوانينها ومراسيمها الخاصة لتنظيم مواردها المائية ومراقبتها وحمايتها.
فعلى الصعيد الاتحادي، على سبيل المثال، أعلنت وزارة البيئة والمياه عام 2012 حظراً على تصدير المياه المعبأة من المياه الجوفية المحلية. ويهدف هذا القرار إلى تعزيز الأمن المائي، وحماية موارد المياه الجوفية من النضوب، وضمان استدامتها للأجيال الحالية والمستقبلية.

ويرد في الجدول (1) موجز للقوانين والأنظمة الرئيسية المتعلقة بالمياه.

الجدول (1): ملخص قوانين المياه وأهدافها.

رقم القانونتاريخ التنفيذالهدف
181 يوليو 2007تمكين كيانات خدمات الصرف الصحي والمياه العادمة الأخرى من الحصول على ترخيص من قِبل مكتب التنظيم والرقابة في أبو ظبي وربط هذه الكيانات بشبكة شركة أبوظبي لخدمات الصرف الصحي (ADSSC).
12 11 نوفمبر 2008تمكين شركة أبوظبي لخدمات الصرف الصحي من بيع مياه الصرف المعالجة إلى جهات مختلفة.
12 1 يوليو 2009تغيير النظام الإداري والهيكل الداخلي لشركة أبوظبي لخدمات الصرف الصحي (ADSSC)، وتقديم التقارير مباشرةً إلى حكومة أبوظبي.

Home / UAE / Water Management in UAE

Water Management in UAE

إدارة المياه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة UAE- Abu Dhabi Water and Electricity Water Management in UAE

Photo 1: Abu Dhabi Water and Electricity Company, Abu Dhabi, UAE (Source: Gordontour, Flickr).

Key governmental and non-governmental organizations and private sector actors

The governmental water authorities are closely linked to the federal structure of the UAE. Despite this, there are many authorities at local (emirate) level, which has resulted in a flexible system that reduces the burden on central government. At the federal level, policies, strategies and plans regarding water resources are coordinated through the Ministry of Climate Change and Environment.

The Abu Dhabi Water and Electricity Authority (ADWEA) is responsible for the generation, transportation and distribution of water and electricity in Abu Dhabi. In Dubai, Sharjah and Ras Al-Khaimah these tasks are the responsibility of the Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (DEWA), Sharjah Electricity and Water Authority (SEWA) and Ras Al-Khaimah Electricity and Water Authority, respectively. The Federal Electricity and Water Authority (FEWA) was established in 1999 to generate and distribute electricity and water in the Northern Emirates, i.e. Ajman, Umm Al-Quwain and Fujairah.

Due to the increased demand for water and energy, the government has allowed private companies to participate in its energy and water sector for a number of years.

Financing of the water sector – privatization

Privatization of water desalination started in Abu Dhabi with large independent water projects (IWPs) or independent water and power projects (IWPPs) in the early 2000s. This allowed foreign companies to create joint ventures with national companies, which has contributed to the diversification of technology and the reduction of production costs.

In each IWPP, a government authority such as ADWEA retains a 60% equity share while the remaining 40% is held by private investors. All IWPPs are required to sell their water and electricity production and capacity to the Abu Dhabi Water and Electricity Company (ADWEC), which is a government-owned subsidiary of ADWEA. This new system, which has built-in incentives to reduce production costs and improve quality, seems to have produced positive results, notably a reduction in cost.

Financing schemes such as build-own-operate (BOO) and build-own-operate-transfer (BOOT) have been adopted in some of the new desalination projects. Technically, among the newly adopted practices are hybrid desalination plants, such as the desalination plant in Fujairah. In addition, the desalination market is expected to increase significantly with population growth as well as the expansion in industrial activities and tourism, all compounded by overall improvement in the standard of living.

Legislation

Water legislation is also closely linked to the UAE’s federal structure. Laws exist at the federal level, but each emirate issues its own laws and decrees to regulate, control and protect its water resources.

At federal level, for instance, the Ministry of Environment and Water announced in 2012 an export ban on bottled water produced from local groundwater. This decision aims to enhance water security, protect groundwater resources from depletion and ensure their sustainability for present and future generations.

The major laws and regulations related to water are summarized in Table 1

Table 1. Summary of water laws and their goal.

Law no.Implementation dateGoal
181 July 2007To enable other wastewater and sewerage services entities to be licensed by the regulation and Supervision Bureau in Abu Dhabi and to connect these entities to the Abu Dhabi Sewerage Services Company’s (ADSSC) network.
12 11 November 2008To enable ADSSC to sell treated wastewater to different entities.
12 1 July 2009To change the internal governance and structure of ADSSC and provide reports directly to the Abu Dhabi government.