الصفحة الرئيسية / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / البُنية التحتية للمياه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة

البُنية التحتية للمياه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة

البُنية التحتية للمياه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة United Arab Emirates

الصورة (1): قنوات الأفلاج المستخدمة للري، الإمارات (المصدر: Florian G, Flickr).

في عام 2013، كان لدى الإمارات العربية المتحدة 130 سداً وحاجزاً مائي بسعة تخزينية إجمالية تبلغ حوالي 120 مليون متر مكعب.[1] وتشتمل فوائد السدود على ما يلي:

● تخزين المياه السطحية لاستخدامها في الزراعة في بعض المناطق؛
● تحسين جودة ومستويات المياه؛
● الحد من تسرب مياه البحر في المناطق الساحلية؛
● الوقاية من الفيضانات والسيطرة عليها.

تعتبر جميع السدود في الإمارات العربية المتحدة صغيرة الحجم. ومع ذلك، تبرز أهميتها ليس من أجل حصاد المياه وتحسين جودة المياه الجوفية فحسب، بل أيضاً كمصدر جذبٍ سياحي، كحال سد شوكة في رأس الخيمة. وتبلغ سعة هذا السد، الذي يبلغ ارتفاعه 13 متر وطوله 107 أمتار، 2,75 ألف متر مكعب.[2]

يقع سد حتا في دبي في مكانٍ مرتفعٍ نسبياً في جبال الحجر. تبلغ السعة التخزينية لسديّ حتا الأول والثاني، واللذان تم تشييدهما بكلفة 25 مليون دولار، حوالي 20 مليون متر مكعب من مياه الأمطار. وبشكلٍ تقليدي، تلجأ الأسر من دبي إلى هذه المنطقة في الصيف للهروب من الحرارة والرطوبة على الساحل.[3] وينطبق ذات الأمر على سد الرفيصة في الشارقة، الذي بُنيّ في منتصف ثمانينات القرن الماضي. ويقع هذا السد في وادي شي بالقرب من قرية الرفيصة.

أنظمة المياه التقليدية

أنظمة المياه التقليدية، أو الأفلاج، هي قنوات أو ممرات مائية من صنع الإنسان تجري إما تحت أو فوق الأرض. والأفلاج جمع فلج. ومصدر مياه الفلج هو نبع أو بئر يتم نقلها إلى السطح بواسطة الجاذبية. يوجد حوالي 40 فلج عامل في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، غالبيتها في الجزء الشرقي من البلاد بالقرب من الحدود مع سلطنة عُمان.

تلائم الأفلاج الظروف الاجتماعية والثقافية في المناطق الريفية في البلاد ذات المناخ الجاف مثل الإمارات العربية المتحدة. إن تدفق المياه المستمر من العديد من الأفلاج عبر التاريخ دليلٌ على أهميتها وكفاءتها وملاءمتها واستدامتها لبيئتهم المائية. ومع ذلك، فإن لدى الأفلاج بعض العيوب. يرد في الجدول (1) ملخص للمزايا والعيوب.

يمكن التغلب على العيوب المذكورة أعلاه بسهولة. مع التقدم التكنولوجي السريع، بات من الممكن اليوم- بل بات أساسياً- إدارة الأفلاج بكفاءة أكبر. ويمكن القيام بذلك عن طريق تحسين مصدر إعادة تغذية المياه من خلال استخدام تكنولوجيا إعادة التغذية الاصطناعية، وتطوير طرق جمع المياه ونقلها، والحد من خسارة المياه من خلال إدخال تكنولوجيات مناسبة مثل التكنولوجيات الذكية لمراقبة الضغط والتدفق .

الجدول (1): مزايا وعيوب أنظمة مياه الأفلاج.

المزاياالعيوب
استخدام ناجح تاريخياً ومعرفة محلية بطبقات المياه الجوفية المتجددة.يعتمد التدفق على تقلبات المياه الجوفية، مما قد يكون له أثر سلبي على الزراعة والاستخدامات الأخرى.
لا حاجة للطاقة حيث تتدفق المياه من منطقة تغذية المياه إلى منطقة استخدام المياه بفعل الجاذبية.المياه عرضة لمعدلات فقدان عالية حيث لا يمكن التحكم في التصريف ويمكن أن تتجاوز احتياجات المياه خلال بعض الأشهر.
تسهل صيانتها بمواد متوفرة محلياً.المياه عرضة للتلوث حيث تتدفق بالقرب من سطح الأرض.
بما أن استخدام المياه الجوفية يتم في إطار توازن المياه، فإنه لا يؤدي إلى استغلال الموارد المائية المحدودة.
تحقق توزيع عادل للمياه بين المستخدمين.

[1] Ministry of Environment and Water, 2015. UAE State of Environment Report.
[2] Emirates 24/7, 31 July 2016. ‘UAE to build lakes, rest areas near dams.’ Available at www.emirates247.com/news/emirates/uae-to-build-lakes-rest-areas-near-dams-2016-07-31-1.637412, accessed 9 March 2017.
[3] Government of Dubai, 7 November 2016. ‘Mohammed bin Rashed tours Hatta.’ Available at http://mediaoffice.ae/en/media-center/news/7/11/2016/hatta.aspx, accessed accessed 9 March 2017.

Home / UAE / Water Infrastructure in UAE

Water Infrastructure in UAE

البُنية التحتية للمياه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة United Arab Emirates

Photo 1: Aflaj irrigation ditches, Al Ain, UAE (Source: Florian G, Flickr).

In 2013, the UAE had 130 dams and levees with a total storage capacity of about 120MCM.[1] The benefits of dams include:

  • Storing surface water for use in agriculture in some areas;
  • Improving water quality and levels;
  • Reducing seawater intrusion in coastal areas;
  • Flood protection and control.

All the dams in the UAE are considered small. However, they are important not only for water harvesting and enhancing the quality of groundwater but also increasingly as tourist attractions, such as the Shawka dam at Ras Al-Khaimah. The capacity of the dam, which is 13 metres high and 107 metres long, is 2.75 thousand cubic metres (TCM).[2]

The Hatta Dam in Dubai is located relatively high in the Hajar Mountains. The First and Second Hatta Dams, which were built at a cost of $25 million, have a total storage capacity of around 20MCM of rainwater. This area is traditionally where families from Dubai go in the summer to escape the heat and humidity of the coast.[3] The same applies to the Rufaysah Dam in Sharjah, which was built in the mid-1980s. It dams the Shi Valley near the village of Rufaysah.

Traditional Water Systems

Traditional water systems, or aflaj, are man-made canals or waterways that may run above or below ground. Aflaj is the plural of falaj. The source of falaj water is a spring or well that is conveyed to the surface by gravity. There are about 40 operational aflaj in the UAE, mostly in the east near the border with Oman.

Aflaj suit the social and cultural conditions of rural areas in an arid country like the UAE. The continuous water flow from many aflaj throughout history is proof of their importance, efficiency, suitability and sustainability to their hydrological environment. However, they do have some disadvantages. A summary of the advantages and disadvantages is shown in Table 1.

The disadvantages outlined above can be easily overcome. With rapid technological advancements, it is now possible – and imperative – to manage the aflaj more efficiently. This can be done by improving the source of water recharge through the use of artificial recharge technology, the development of methods of water collection and conveyance, and the reduction of water losses through the introduction of suitable technologies such as smart technologies to monitor pressure and flow.

Table 1. Advantages and disadvantages of aflaj water systems.

AdvantagesDisadvantages
Historically successful use and local knowledge of renewable aquifers.Discharges depend upon groundwater fluctuations, which may have a negative effect on agriculture and other uses.
No energy needed as the water flows from the water-feed area to the water-use area under gravity. The water is liable to high loss rates as discharges cannot be controlled and may exceed water needs during some months.
Easily maintained with locally available materials. Water is vulnerable to pollution as it flows close to the surface of the ground.
Since groundwater utilization is done within the framework of water balance, it does not lead to exploitation of limited water resources.
Achieves a fair water distribution among users.

[1] Ministry of Environment and Water, 2015. UAE State of Environment Report.
[2] Emirates 24/7, 31 July 2016. ‘UAE to build lakes, rest areas near dams.’ Available at www.emirates247.com/news/emirates/uae-to-build-lakes-rest-areas-near-dams-2016-07-31-1.637412, accessed 9 March 2017.
[3] Government of Dubai, 7 November 2016. ‘Mohammed bin Rashed tours Hatta.’ Available at http://mediaoffice.ae/en/media-center/news/7/11/2016/hatta.aspx, accessed accessed 9 March 2017.