الصفحة الرئيسية / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / الموارد المائية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة

الموارد المائية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة

الموارد المائية في الإمارات العربية Water Resources in UAE

الصورة (1): محطة تحلية جبل أبو علي، دبي، دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة (المصدر: Georgeekman, Flickr).

يمكن تصنيف الموارد المائية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى فئتين رئيسيتين: الموارد التقليدية، مثل المياه السطحية (بما في ذلك أنظمة مياه الأفلاج، والينابيع والسدود) والمياه الجوفية (طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة والعميقة)، والموارد غير التقليدية، مثل المياه المحلاة، ومياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، والاستمطار الصناعي.

المياه السطحية

المياه السطحية ضئيلة وتشتمل على مياه الفيضانات، والمياه المخزنة في السدود، وبعض الجداول الصغيرة جداً، والبرك ومياه الينابيع. وهذه المياه إما محصورة أو تتدفق عند وجود منحدرات أرضية ويتم تجديدها إما من الهطول المطري أو المياه الجوفية.
ونظراً لموقع الإمارات العربية المتحدة في منطقة الحزام الجاف، فإن هطول الأمطار محدود كما تتسرب مياه الفيضانات إلى داخل الأرض، لاسيما في المناطق الرسوبية. وبالتالي، فمن الضروري بناء السدود لحصاد مياه الأمطار وتخزين المياه السطحية خلفها للمساعدة في إعادة تغذية طبقات المياه الجوفية، بالرغم من فقدان غالبيتها بسبب ارتفاع معدلات التبخر. ويتراوح متوسط التدفق السنوي للمياه السطحية عبر الوديان من 23 مليون متر مكعب إلى 138 مليون متر مكعب.[1]

المياه الجوفية

تعتبر المياه الجوفية مورد المياه الطبيعي الرئيسي. وإن إجمالي حجم المياه الجوفية ضخم جداً إذ يبلغ حوالي 640 مليار متر مكعب، إلا أن 3% منها فقط (حوالي 20 مليار متر مكعب) مياه عذبة.

تعتبر المياه الجوفية، في البيئة الجافة للإمارت العربية المتحدة، مورداً هاماً وثميناً لإمدادات المياه البلدية والقروية، وحماية البيئة، والتنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. ومع ذلك، فإن غالبية المياه الجوفية المستخدمة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة قليلة الملوحة. ويمكن تقسيم موارد المياه الجوفية إلى موارد متجددة (طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة) والموارد غير المتجددة (طبقات المياه الجوفية العميقة).

توجد موارد المياه الجوفية في طبقات المياه الجوفية الواقعة في منطقة الباجادا (بقايا التجوية)، في الجزء الشرقي من البلاد. وتتألف الطبقات الحاملة للمياه من رواسب مروحية غرينية على طول قاعدة جبال عُمان ورأس الخيمة التي تمتد على مساحة واسعة. وتتألف الطبقة العليا الحاملة للمياه من الرمال والحصى والطمي، والطبقة الدنيا من الحجر الجيري وصخور الدولوميت والمارل. وتتراوح كثافة كلتا الطبقتين بين 200 و800 متر. وعلاوة على ذلك، تحتوي طبقات الدمام وأم رضمة الجوفية الممتدة إلى مناطق الصحراء الغربية على مياه شديدة الملوحة.

تعتمد إعادة تغذية طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة، بشكلٍ أساسي، على نشاط الهطول المطري والجريان السطحي، وبالتالي تتفاوت إلى حدٍ كبيرٍ جداً من عامٍ لآخر. ونظراً لارتفاع معدل التبخر وجريان المياه السطحية في المناطق الجبلية، ينفذ 10-14% فقط من إجمالي هطول الأمطار لإعادة تغذية طبقات المياه الجوفية الضحلة.[2]

وفي السنوات الأخيرة، تحسنت أوضاع طبقات المياه الجوفية نتيجة التدابير التي تم اتخاذها للحد من ضخ المياه الجوفية، إلى مستويات مستدامة. ومع ذلك، فإن الاسترداد الكامل سيستغرق أجيالاً. كما استهل أيضاً التحكم باستخراج المياه الجوفية، بالرغم من الحاجة إلى اتخاذ المزيد من الخطوات لتقليل كميات الضخ إلى مستوياتٍ مستدامة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، اعتمدت مجموعة شاملة من التدابير لإدارةٍ مستدامة للمياه الجوفية، سيما وضع برامج صارمة للرصد والتنظيم وحماية أنظمة المياه التقليدية مثل الأفلاج.

يؤدي ارتفاع معدلات التبخر خلال الصيف إلى زيادة تراكم الأملاح في منطقة الجذر. وترشح مياه الري الفائضة بعمقٍ أكبر وتحمل الأملاح المتراكمة إلى طبقة المياه الجوفية، مما يزيد من تفاقم مشكلة تدهور المياه الجوفية.

وتبُين الخريطة (1) نظام المياه الجوفية الرئيسي.

United Arab Emirates

الخريطة (1): نظام المياه الجوفية الرئيسي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة.[3]

موارد المياه غير التقليدية

تحلية المياه

من أجل تلبية المتطلبات النوعية والكمية لمعايير مياه الشرب، تعتمد إمدادات المياه المحلية بشكلٍ أساسي على المياه المحلاة (حوالي 99%)، والتي تستخدم إما بشكلٍ مباشر أو بخلطها مع المياه الجوفية.

تمتلك الإمارات العربية المتحدة، بعد المملكة العربية السعودية، أعلى قدرة إنتاجية على تحلية المياه على مستوى العالم.[4] وتستخدم غالبية محطات التحلية تقنية التوليد المشترك للتقطير الوميضي المتعدد المراحل (MSF)، أو التقطير المتعدد التأثير (MED)، في حين تستخدم محطتين فقط تقنية التناضح العكسي (RO). واعتباراً من عام 2015، هناك 22 محطة تحلية رئيسية للمياه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة الخريطة (2).

قد يكون توافر المياه المحلاة بتكلفة منخفضة نسبياً أيضاً وسيلة جذب لتلبية الطلب على المياه في القطاع الصناعي، ذلك أن الصناعات مستعدة لدفع ثمن المياه بمعدلات أعلى من معدلات الاحتياجات المنزلية والزراعية.

United Arab Emirates

الخريطة (2): محطات تحلية المياه في الإمارات العربية المتحدة.[5]

يمكن أن تلعب الطاقة المتجددة دوراً أساسياً في خفض تكلفة المياه المحلاة. وفي الواقع، فإن الإمارات العربية المتحدة تقدمية جداً فيما يتعلق بالتنمية والابتكار في مجال التكنولوجيا الخضراء. ويعتبر الأمن الغذائي والمائي من القضايا الهامة بالنسبة للبلاد، التي تستورد بالفعل أكثر من 90% من غذائها. وعلاوة على ذلك، تهدف الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى زيادة إجمالي الطاقة المتجددة بنسبة 24% بحلول عام 2021. ومن المتوقع أن ينمو الطلب على المياه بحوالي 30% بحلول عام 2030، كما تتطلب تحلية مياه البحر طاقة أكثر بعشرة أضعاف عن طاقة إنتاج المياه السطحية.[6]

مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة

تمثل مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة واحدة من أهم البدائل لتلبية بعض احتياجات المياه الحالية والتقليل من عدم التوازن في العرض والطلب على المدى الطويل. وبفضل استكمال مرافق معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وتوسيع شبكات الصرف الصحي في المناطق الحضرية، فقد أصبحت كميات كبيرة من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة متاحة. وبسبب الاعتبارات البيئية تتم معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي كلياً أو جزئياً، بغض النظر عن الاستخدام المقصود.

وفي الوقت الحالي، تُشغّل الإمارات العربية المتحدة مرافق معالجة حديثة بقدرات معالجة عصرية ومتقدمة. وتستخدم المياه المعالجة بشكلٍ أساسي لأغراض حضرية، مثل ري الحدائق والمناظر الطبيعية على الطرقات السريعة. وإن البلديات هي المسؤولة عن بناء وإدارة شبكات الصرف الصحي، وإنشاء شبكات لجمع مياه الأمطار وإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف المعالجة. ومع ذلك، يتم تصريف نصف النفايات السائلة المعالجة في الخليج العربي. وإن الأسباب الرئيسية لذلك هي:

● عدم وجود شبكات نقل وتوزيع لتزويد المستعملين النهائيين (بشكلٍ أساسي، الغابات والشركات الخاصة مثل منتجعات الغولف)؛
● انخفاض الطلب بسبب الكساد المالي بين 2008 و2014؛
● العقبات الثقافية، مثل إقناع المزارعين باستخدام المياه المعاد تدويرها.

ويوجد حوالي 79 محطة، متوسطة وكبيرة، لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. وفي عام 2013، بلغت كمية مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة حوالي 615 مليون متر مكعب، أو حوالي 14% من إجمالي الموارد المائية المستخدمة.[7]

الاستمطار الصناعي

تعتبر دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة واحدة من الدول الرائدة في مجال تلقيح السحب والاستمطار الصناعي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. فقد أنفقت مليونيّ درهم إماراتي (حوالي 550 ألف دولار) على عمليات تلقيح السحب في عام 2015.[8]

وعادة ما يتم تلقيح السحب فوق السلاسل الجبلية الشرقية على الحدود مع عُمان والذي يهدف إلى رفع مستويات المياه الجوفية والخزانات في المنطقة. ومع ذلك، فقد تم أيضاً تنفيذ بعض الاستمطار الصناعي على المدن. وعلى الرغم من أن هذه التقنية قد أثبتت نجاحها في زيادة كمية الهطول، يلزم إجراء تحليل مفصل للتكلفة والفوائد لضمان كونها مصدر مياه قابل للتطبيق مقارنة بخيارات أخرى مثل تحلية المياه أو حتى حملات المحافظة على المياه. ويبين الجدول (1) الموارد المائية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من عام 2002 والتوقعات حتى عام 2050.

الجدول (1): الموارد المائية التاريخية والمتوقعة.[9]

الموارد المائية (مليون متر مكعب)2002200520102015202020252050
الجريان السطحي150150150150150150150
متوسط تغذية المياه الجوفية125125125125125125125
تحلية المياه7209451,4882,3423,6885,80611,612
المياه المعالجة2272733876157541,0532,106
المجموع1,2221,4932,1503,2324,7177,13413,993

الموارد المائية المشتركة

لا تشترك دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بأي مياه سطحية مع دولٍ أخرى وبالتالي لا توجد أي اتفاقات أو معاهدات مائية مع أي دولة أخرى. ومع ذلك، وبما أن دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، والذي تعتبر الإمارات العربية المتحدة إحداها، تتشارك في طبقات المياه الجوفية، فينبغي على دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي العمل معاً للاستفادة من طبقات المياه الجوفية هذه بطرق أكثر استدامة. وحالياً، لا توجد اتقافات أو معاهدات تضبط هذه الخزانات الجوفية.

[1] Mullah, M. -al, 2011. UAE State of Water Report. Second Arab Water Forum, Cairo, 20-23 November 2011. Available at www.slideshare.net/RuxandraLazarescu/p2-3mohamedal-mullauaestateofwaterreport, accessed 17 January 2017.
[2] ESCWA, 2003. Water scarcity in the Arab world. Population and development report. Beirut, Lebanon.
[3] Nouh, M., 2008. An Overview for the Water Resources of the United Arab Emirates. Proceedings of the 1st Technical Meeting of Muslim Water Researchers Cooperation, December 2008, Malaysia.
[4] WaterWorld, 13 October 2013. ‘Global desalination capacity growing substantially, finds study.’ Available at www.waterworld.com/articles/2013/10/global-desalination-capacity-tops-80-million-cubic-meters-per-day.html, accessed 30 March 2017.
[5] Ministry of Environment and Water, 2015. UAE State of Environment Report.
[6] The Gulf Intelligence, 10 April 2016. ‘Water-Food-Energy Nexus: Key lessons for the UAE?’ Available at www.thegulfintelligence.com/Docs.Viewer/0a2924e2-ed6a-47f6-aeae-affa938a7575/default.aspx, accessed 15 January 2017.
[7] Ministry of Environment and Water, 2015. UAE State of Environment Report.
[8] What’s On, 2016. ‘Dhs2 million spent on cloud seeding in the UAE last year’ Available at http://whatson.ae/dubai/2016/04/cloud-seeding-uae-in-2016/, accessed 22 January 2017.
[9] Adapted from Rizk, A., 2010. Water desalination in UAE: Problems and Solutions. Ajman Science and Technology University, KSA.

Home / UAE / Water Resources in UAE

Water Resources in UAE

الموارد المائية في الإمارات العربية Water Resources in UAE

Photo 1: Jebel Ali Desalination Plant, Dubai, UAE (Source: Georgeekman, Flickr).

Water resources in the UAE can be classified into two main categories: conventional, such as surface water (including aflaj water systems, springs and dams) and groundwater (shallow and deep aquifers), and non-conventional, such as desalinated water, treated wastewater and cloud seeding.

Surface water

The surface water is negligible and includes floodwater, water retained in dams, some very small streams, ponds and spring water. These are either confined or flowing when there are land slopes and are replenished by rainfall or groundwater.

Due to the UAE’s location in a dry belt region, rainfall is limited and floodwaters leak into the ground, especially in sedimentary areas. Thus, it is crucial to build dams to harvest rainwater and store surface water behind them and to help feed the aquifer, although most of it is lost to high evaporation. The average annual surface water flow through wadis (valleys) ranges from 23 million cubic metres (MCM) to 138MCM.[1]

Groundwater

Groundwater is the main natural water resource. The total volume of groundwater is quite significant at around 640 billion cubic metres (BCM), but only 3% of it (around 20BCM) is fresh.

In the UAE’s arid environment, groundwater is an important and precious resource for municipal and rural supplies, environmental protection, and social and economic development. However, most of the groundwater used in the UAE is brackish. Groundwater resources can be divided into renewable (shallow aquifers) and non-renewable resources (deep aquifers).

Groundwater resources occur in the aquifers located in the Bajada region, in the eastern part of the country. The aquifers consist of alluvial fan deposits along the base of the Oman and Ras Al-Khaimah Khaymah mountains that extend over a large area. The upper aquifer is composed of gravel sand and silt, the lower aquifer of limestone, dolomite and marl. Both aquifers range in thickness from 200 to 800 metres. In addition, the Dammam and Umm er-Radhuma aquifers, which extend into the western desert areas, contain highly saline water.

The recharge of shallow aquifers depends mainly on rainfall events and surface run-off, and thus may vary considerably from year to year. Due to the high evaporation rate and surface water run-off in mountain areas, only 10-14% of the total precipitation percolates to recharge the shallow groundwater aquifers.[2]

In recent years, aquifer conditions have improved as a result of measures taken to reduce groundwater abstraction to sustainable levels. However, full recovery will take generations. Controlling the groundwater mining has also commenced, although more steps still needed to reduce the abstraction volume to sustainable levels. In addition, a comprehensive set of measures for sustainable groundwater management have been adopted, notably establishing strong monitoring and regulatory programmes and conserving traditional water systems such as aflaj.

The high evaporation rates during the summer increase the accumulation of salts in the root zone. Excess irrigation water percolates deeply and carries the accumulated salts to the aquifer, further aggravating the problem of groundwater deterioration.

The main aquifer system is shown in Map 1.

United Arab Emirates

Map 1. The main aquifer system in UAE.[3]

Non-conventional water sources

Desalination

In order to meet both the qualitative and quantitative requirements for drinking water standards, domestic water supplies rely mainly on desalinated water (around 99%), which is used either directly or blended with groundwater.

After Saudi Arabia, the UAE has the highest desalination capacity globally.[4] Most of the desalination plants use co-generation multi-stage flash (MSF) technology or multiple-effect distillation (MED), whereas only two plants use reverse osmosis (RO) technology. As of 2015, there are 33 major water desalination plants in the UAE (Map 2).

The availability of desalinated water at relatively low costs may also be an attractive means of meeting industrial water demand, since industries have been willing to pay for water at rates higher than domestic and agricultural rates.

United Arab Emirates

Map 2. Desalination plants in UAE.[5]

Renewable energy can play a key role in lowering the cost of desalinated water. In fact, the UAE is very progressive when it comes to developments and innovations in green technology. Food and water security are important issues for the country, which already imports more than 90% of its food. Furthermore, the UAE aims to increase its total renewable energy by 24% by 2021. The water demand is expected to grow about 30% by 2030, and seawater desalination requires ten times more energy than surface water production.[6]

Treated wastewater

Treated wastewater represents one of the most important alternatives to meet some of the present water requirements and lessen the long-term supply-demand imbalance. Thanks to the completion of wastewater treatment facilities and the expansion of urban sewage networks, large volumes of treated wastewater have become available. Due to environmental considerations, wastewater is treated completely or partially, regardless of its intended use.

At present, the UAE operates modern treatment facilities with tertiary and advanced treatment capabilities. Treated water is used mainly for urban purposes, such as irrigating gardens and highway landscaping. Municipalities are responsible for building and managing sewage systems, creating networks for storm water collection and reusing treated wastewater. However, half of the treated effluents are discharged into the Arabian Gulf. The main reasons for this are:

  • Lack of transmission and distribution networks to supply end-users (which are mainly forests and private companies such as golf resorts);
  • Lower demand due to the financial downturn from 2008-2014;
  • Cultural obstacles, such as convincing farmers to use recycled water.

There are about 79 medium and large wastewater treatment plants. In 2013, treated wastewater amounted to about 615MCM, or around 14% of the total water resources used.[7]

Cloud seeding

The UAE is one of the countries pioneering cloud seeding and artificial rainmaking in the MENA region. It spent 2 million dirhams (around $550,000) on cloud seeding operations in 2015.[8]

Cloud seeding usually takes place over the eastern mountain ranges on the border with Oman and aims to raise levels in aquifers and reservoirs in the area. However, some cloud seeding over the cities has also been carried out. Although this technique has proved its success in increasing the amount of precipitation, a detailed cost-benefit analysis needs to be carried out to ensure that it is a viable water source compared to options such as desalination or even water conservation campaigns. Table 1 shows the UAE’s water resources from 2002 and projections to 2050.

Table 1: Historical and projected water resources.[9]

Quantity of water resources (MCM)2002200520102015202020252050
Surface run-off150150150150150150150
Average groundwater feed125125125125125125125
Desalination7209451,4882,3423,6885,80611,612
Treated water2272733876157541,0532,106
Total1,2221,4932,1503,2324,7177,13413,993

Shared Water Resources in UAE

The UAE does not share any surface waters and so does not have any water agreements or treaties with any other country. However, since the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries, of which the UAE is one, share underground aquifers, the GCC should work together to utilize these aquifers in a more sustainable way. Currently, no treaties or agreements govern these aquifers.

[1] Mullah, M. -al, 2011. UAE State of Water Report. Second Arab Water Forum, Cairo, 20-23 November 2011. Available at www.slideshare.net/RuxandraLazarescu/p2-3mohamedal-mullauaestateofwaterreport, accessed 17 January 2017.
[2] ESCWA, 2003. Water scarcity in the Arab world. Population and development report. Beirut, Lebanon.
[3] Nouh, M., 2008. An Overview for the Water Resources of the United Arab Emirates. Proceedings of the 1st Technical Meeting of Muslim Water Researchers Cooperation, December 2008, Malaysia.
[4] WaterWorld, 13 October 2013. ‘Global desalination capacity growing substantially, finds study.’ Available at www.waterworld.com/articles/2013/10/global-desalination-capacity-tops-80-million-cubic-meters-per-day.html, accessed 30 March 2017.
[5] Ministry of Environment and Water, 2015. UAE State of Environment Report.
[6] The Gulf Intelligence, 10 April 2016. ‘Water-Food-Energy Nexus: Key lessons for the UAE?’ Available at www.thegulfintelligence.com/Docs.Viewer/0a2924e2-ed6a-47f6-aeae-affa938a7575/default.aspx, accessed 15 January 2017.
[7] Ministry of Environment and Water, 2015. UAE State of Environment Report.
[8] What’s On, 2016. ‘Dhs2 million spent on cloud seeding in the UAE last year’ Available at http://whatson.ae/dubai/2016/04/cloud-seeding-uae-in-2016/, accessed 22 January 2017.
[9] Adapted from Rizk, A., 2010. Water desalination in UAE: Problems and Solutions. Ajman Science and Technology University, KSA.