الصفحة الرئيسية / ليبيا / إدارة المياه وتحدياتها في ليبيا

إدارة المياه وتحدياتها في ليبيا

واحة قبر عون إدارة المياه في ليبيا
الصورة 1: واحة قبر عون ، جنوب ليبيا. المصدر: Pinterest

إدارة المياه في ليبيا

المنظمات واللوائح الحكومية الرئيسية

في نوفمبر 2012، تم إنشاء وزارة الموارد المائية (MWR) لإدارة منظمات الموارد المائية وبنيتها التحتية. تاريخياً، كانت إدارة المياه من اختصاص الهيئة العامة للمياه (GWA)، والتي كانت مسؤولة عن تكامل إدارة موارد المياه وما زالت تقوم بهذه الوظيفة تحت مظلة وزارة الموارد المائية. يتم عرض قوانين ولوائح المياه الرئيسية الصادرة في ليبيا في الجدول (1). وهي تحكم تخصيصات المياه والري والصرف وتصريفات الصرف الصناعي وإمدادات المياه البلدية والصرف الصحي. [1]

الجدول (1): قوانين وأنظمة المياه الهامة في ليبيا.[2]

النشاطالقوانين / اللوائح المنظمة للنشاطالسلطة الحاكمة
مخصصات المياه• القانون رقم 3 لسنة 1982 بشأن تنظيم استخدام الموارد المائية • مذكرة اللجنة الشعبية العامة رقم. 612 / سنة 1993 م بشأن تخصيصات مياه الأنهار من صنع الإنسان • القانون رقم 15 لسنة 2003 بشأن حماية البيئة وتحسينها.المستوى: 1MWR ، AEMMmRP المستوى 2: تقوم MOAAMW و GCWW و HIB و بتقدير MOEE احتياجاتهم والتقدم بطلب إلى وزارة الموارد المائية لتنسيق تخصيصات المياه الخاصة بهم
جودة المياه والمعايير الوطنية لمياه الشرب • المواصفة القياسية الليبية 82 سنة 1992 مواصفة مياه الشرب • القانون 106 لسنة 1976 بشأن الصحة • القانون رقم 15/2003 بشأن حماية البيئة وتحسينها • القانون رقم 3 لسنة 1982 بشأن تنظيم استخدام الموارد المائيةالمستوى 1: وزارة الصحة المستوى 2: AEMMmRP و GCWW لمراقبة الجودة الذاتية المستوى 3: جامعة عادية ومنظمة غير حكومية لفحص الجودة
إمدادات مياه البلدية والصرف الصحي• القانون 106/1976 بشأن الصحة • القانون رقم 15/2003 بشأن حماية البيئة وتحسينها • المواصفة القياسية الليبية 82 سنة 1992 معايير مياه الشربالمستوى 1 :GCWW لتقديم الخدمة التي تلبي المبادئ التوجيهية المستوى 2: وزارة الصحة ووزارة الموارد المائية لإجراء نقاط فحص الجودة على مستوى النظام 3: جامعة عادية ومنظمة غير حكومية لفحص الجودة
معايير الصرف الصناعيلا شيء
الري والصرفلا شيءMOAAMW

في منتصف عام 2016، تمت إعادة تسمية وزارة الموارد المائية إلى الهيئة العامة للموارد المائية، إلا أنها تحتفظ بمعظم نفس الوظائف والهياكل والإطار.

تعتمد ليبيا في الغالب على المصادر العامة لتمويل مشاريع مواردها المائية. إن نصيب القطاع الخاص حالياً ضئيل ومحدود ويتمثل بدعم محطات التحلية الصغيرة التي تنتج مياه الشرب المعبأة.[3] ومع ذلك، يهدف قطاع المياه إلى تطبيق النموذج الحلزوني الثلاثي حيث يشارك القطاع الخاص بقوة في تخطيط وتنفيذ وإدارة مشاريع الموارد المائية.

تحديات المياه في ليبيا

تتركز أنشطة إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي في ليبيا في المناطق الحضرية حيث يعيش 89% من السكان. وهذا يضع المناطق الريفية في وضع مُجحف، مما يؤثر على تخطيط وتنفيذ وإدارة المياه والصرف الصحي. وبشكلٍ عام، يتم التعرف على التحديات التالية في المجتمعات الحضرية والريفية. [4]

تحديات مؤسسات إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي في المناطق الحضرية:

1. ضعف تطبيق القوانين القائمة.

2. لا توجد معايير واضحة لاستهداف أداء قطاع إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي.

3. محدودية الموارد البشرية لإدارة الموارد المائية.

4. ضعف الآليات لضمان الحوكمة الجيدة والشفافية وإبلاغ التقارير عن مشروعات إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي.

تحديات مؤسسات إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي في المناطق الريفية:

1. عدم وجود إطار تنظيمي لإمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي الريفية.

2. مؤسسات مركزية ليس لها هدف واضح لفصل الحوكمة الحضرية عن الريفية.

3. الكثافات السكانية المنخفضة جداً والمساحات الكبيرة جداً التي يجب إدارتها.

4. عدم إنفاذ القوانين القائمة.

5. لا توجد معايير واضحة لاستهداف أداء قطاع إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي في الريف.

6. ضعف القدرات على تنفيذ الخطط الحالية في المناطق الريفية من حيث الموارد البشرية والتمويل والأدوار المؤسسية المحددة بوضوح.

7. الموارد البشرية المحدودة لإدارة الموارد المائية.

8. ضعف الآليات لضمان الحوكمة الجيدة والشفافية وإبلاغ التقارير عن مشروعات إمدادات المياه والصرف الصحي في الريف.

بالإضافة إلى ما سبق، تواجه المناطق الحضرية والريفية العديد من التحديات الأخرى في مجال إمدادات المياه وتخطيط الصرف الصحي.[5] وهي:

1. ندرة المياه واستخراج المياه الجوفية المفرط.

2. الإطار المؤسسي غير الكافي.

3. تسرب مياه البحر وتدهور جودة المياه.

4. الاستخدام غير المشروع للمياه الجوفية.

5. غلة المحاصيل السيئة.

6. تجزئة حيازات الأراضي الزراعية.

التغير المناخي

أشارت دراسة أجرتها أكاديمية روبرت لاند إلى أن آثار تغير المناخ في ليبيا ككل لم يتم تقييمها، وبوجه عام لا يتم إجراء رصد مفيد لقياس تأثير تغير المناخ على الطلب على المياه والموارد العابرة للحدود.[6] ومع ذلك، قد قامت العديد من الدراسات بتقييم تأثير تغير المناخ على مناطق معينة من ليبيا فيما يتعلق بقطاع المياه. تُقيّم هذه الدراسات تأثير العامل البشري المنشأ على ارتفاع درجة الحرارة في المناطق التي قد تم تنفيذها بها. وقد شرعت لجنة وطنية متعددة القطاعات برئاسة الهيئة العامة للبيئة في مشروعٍ لتقييم أثر تغير المناخ، إلا أن هذا لا يزال في مرحلته التطورية.[7]

[1] CEDARE, 2014.Libya Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. Monitoring and Evaluation for Water in North Africa (MEWINA) project, Water Resources Management Program, CEDARE.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] General Water Authority , 2014 , Water and Energy for Life in Libya (WELL) , Project funded by the European Commission No. 295143, FP7, Libya.
[6] Goodland, R. 2007. More crucial than oil scarcity: climate change policies for a sustainable Libya. Climate Policy, 7, 549-542.
[7] Ibid.

Home / Libya / Water Management and Challenges in Libya

Water Management and Challenges in Libya

Gaberoun oasis
Photo 1: Gaberoun oasis, southern Libya. Source: Pinterest.

Water management in Libya

Key governmental organizations and regulations

In November 2012, the Ministry of Water Resources (MWR) was established to manage water resources organizations and their infrastructures. Historically, water governance fell under the General Water Authority (GWA), which was responsible for integrating water resources management and still carries out this function under the umbrella of the MWR. The key water laws and regulations issued in Libya are presented in Table 1. These govern water allocations, irrigation and drainage, industrial effluent discharges and municipal water supply and sanitation.[1]

Table 1: Important water laws and regulations in Libya.[2]

ActivityActivity Governing Laws/RegulationsGoverning Authority
Water allocations• Law 3 year 1982 on Regulating the Utilization of Water Resources • General People’s Committee Memo no. 612 / year 1993 on Manmade River water allocations • Law 15 year 2003 On Environmental Protection and EnhancementLevel 1: MWR, AEMMmRP Level 2: MOAAMW, GCWW, HIB, MOEE estimate their needs and apply to the MWR to coordinate the respective water allocations
Water quality and National drinking water standards• Libyan Standard 82 year1992 Drinking water standards • Law 106/1976 On Health • Law 15/ 2003 On Environmental Protection and Enhancement • Law 3/ 1982 On Regulating the Utilization of Water ResourcesLevel 1: MOH Level 2: AEMMmRP and GCWW for self quality control Level 3: casual university and NGO for quality checks
Municipal Water supply and Sanitation• Law 106/ 1976 On Health • Law 15/ 2003 On Environmental Protection and Enhancement • Libyan Standard 82 year1992 Drinking water standardsLevel 1: GCWW for providing the service meeting the guidelines Level 2: MOH, MWR to conduct quality check points on the system Level 3: casual university and NGO for quality checks
Industrial effluent standards• None
Irrigation and drainage• NoneMOAAMW

In mid-2016, the MWR was renamed the General Water Resources Authority (MWRA) but retains most of the same functions, structures and framework.

Libya relies mostly on public sources to fund its water resources projects. The private sector’s share is currently insignificant and limited to support for small desalination plants producing bottled drinking water.[3] However, the water sector aims to apply N-tuples helix modelling in which the private sector engages strongly in planning, executing and managing water resources projects.

Water Challenges in Libya

Water supply and sanitation (WSS) activities in Libya are concentrated in urban areas where 89% of the population lives. This puts rural areas at a disadvantage, impacting the planning, implementation and management of WSS. In general, the following challenges are recognized in urban and rural communities.[4]

Challenges of urban WSS institutions:
1. Weak enforcement of existing laws.

2. No clear criteria for targeting WSS sector performance.

3. Limited human resources for the management of water resources.

4.Weak mechanisms for ensuring good governance, transparency and reporting of WSS projects.

Challenges of rural WSS institutions:

1. No regulatory framework for rural WSS.

2. Centralized institutions with no clear aim to segregate urban from rural governance.

3. Very low population densities and very large areas to be governed.

4. Non-enforcement of existing laws.

5. No clear criteria for targeting rural WSS sector performance.

6. Weak capacities to implement existing plans in rural WSS in terms of human resources, financing and clearly defined institutional roles.

7. Limited human resources for water resources management.

8. Weak mechanisms for ensuring good governance, transparency and reporting of rural WSS projects.

In addition to the above, urban and rural areas face several other challenges to water supply and sanitation planning.[5] These are:

1. Water scarcity and excessive groundwater abstraction.

2. Inadequate institutional framework.

3. Seawater intrusion and water quality deterioration.

4. Illegal use of groundwater.

5. Poor crop yields.

6. Fragmentation of agricultural land holdings.

Climate change

A study by Robert Good land indicated that climate change impacts in Libya as a whole have not been assessed, and in general no useful monitoring is being carried to measure the impact of climate change on water demand and transboundary resources.[6] However, several studies have evaluated the impact of climate change on certain regions of Libya in relation to the water sector. These studies assess the impact of the anthropogenic factor on the rise of temperature in the aeras where they are ecexcuted. A multisector national committee headed by the Environmental General Authority initiated a project to evaluate the impact of climate change, but this is still in its evolutionary stage.[7]

[1] CEDARE, 2014.Libya Water Sector M&E Rapid Assessment Report. Monitoring and Evaluation for Water in North Africa (MEWINA) project, Water Resources Management Program, CEDARE.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] General Water Authority , 2014 , Water and Energy for Life in Libya (WELL) , Project funded by the European Commission No. 295143, FP7, Libya.
[6] Goodland, R. 2007. More crucial than oil scarcity: climate change policies for a sustainable Libya. Climate Policy, 7, 549-542.
[7] Ibid.