الصفحة الرئيسية / اسرائيل / البُنية التحتية

البُنية التحتية

Israel’s National Water Carrier. Photo: Hanay.

تتم إدارة وتطوير البُنية التحتية للمياه من قِبل شركة ميكوروت المملوكة للحكومة. أصبحت الشركة مزود المياه الوطني في إسرائيل منذ الخمسينات، وسرعان ما خطط لإنشاء الناقل الوطني للمياه.

الناقل الوطني للمياه

الناقل الوطني للمياه (NWC) هو نظام من الأنابيب، والقنوات، والخزانات التي توفر المياه لغالبية مناطق اسرائيل. تعود مُلكية وإدارة الناقل الوطني للمياه لشركة ميكوروت تم إنشاء الناقل الوطني للمياه (NWC) عام 1964، ويعتبر أكبر مشروع للبُنية التحتية في اسرائيل على مدى السنوات الخمسين الماضية. تمت الموافقة على خطط البناء من قبل الحكومة في عام 1956، وبدأ البناء في عام 1959 واكتمل النظام في عام 1964.

ينقل النظام المياه من بحيرة طبريا ومصادر المياه الأخرى في الشمال إلى الأجزاء الجنوبية من البلاد ويبلغ طوله حوالي 130 كيلومتر. (خريطة 3). كما يتضمن الناقل الوطني للمياه على محطتيّ ضخ، واحدة في بحيرة طبريا والأخرى في خزان صلمون.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك شبكات المياه وأنابيب الصرف الصحي في المناطق الشمالية والجنوبية من البلاد، والتي لا تعتبر جزءاً من الناقل الوطني للمياه ولكنها تُدار من قبل شركة ميكوروت (خريطة 3)[1].

المشاريع المخطط لها

في عام 2012، أصدرت سلطة المياه خطة رئيسية تلخص استراتيجية لضمان توافر المياه حتى عام 2050. وفي حين يُتوقع أن يرتفع إجمالي استهلاك المياه من 2,131 مليون متر مكعب عام 2010 إلى 3,571 مليون متر مكعب عام 2050، إلا أنه من المتوقع أن ينخفض توافر المياه الطبيعي بنسبة 10-15% نتيجة لتغير المناخ. ولذلك فإن إسرائيل بحاجة إلى إدارة الاستهلاك وزيادة الإنتاج من مصادر مياه بديلة مثل تحلية مياه البحر ومياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة.

Map 3. Israel's national water infrastructure grid. Source: Fanack based on Tal, 2006.

خريطة (3) شبكة البُنية التحتية للمياه الوطنية في اسرائيل. المصدر: فاناك عن Tal, 2006.

 

وباختصار، تحدد الخطة الرئيسية لعام 2012 النقاط الاستراتيجية التالية:
  • زيادة إنتاج تحلية المياه إلى 700 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة بحلول عام 2020 من خلال تطوير محطات تحلية مياه البحر كمصدر رئيسي لإمدادات المياه. كما تشتمل الخطط على محطة لتحلية المياه في الجليل الغربي. وتنطوي الخطة الرئيسية أيضاً على بناء محطة لتحلية المياه في سوريك، والتي سيبدأ العمل بها في عام 2013.
  • تطوير نظام التوصيل الوطني للمياه المحلاة إلى المساكن. وهذا يتضمن: تطوير نظام مياه خامس في القدس، وتطوير مناطق الجليل الغربي والشرقي، بالإضافة إلى منطقة شارون الشرقية والجنوبية، وتطوير الخطة الرئيسية في النقب ووادي عربة، وتطوير ناقل المياه الغربي، وتكييف الأنظمة الإقليمية للتطوير.
  • زيادة متوسط قدرة أداء شركات المياه والصرف الصحي.
  • مشاريع متطورة لإزالة الملوثات من الحوض الجوفي الساحلي في منطقة تل أبيب.
  • تحديث وتوسيع محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، وهذا يتضمن:

    1. تحسين نوعية المياه من المحطات القائمة والإستفادة بشكلٍ أكبر من إمكانيات مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة؛
    2. ربط معسكرات الجيش بشبكات الصرف الصحي؛
    3. تطوير أو توسيع سبع محطات لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي لمستوى المعالجة الثالث.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تذكر الخطة باختصار المضي قدماً بمشروع ناقل البحرين (الأحمر-الميت)، والذي سيتم من خلاله نقل المياه من البحر الأحمر إلى البحر الميت لوقف تراجع مستوى المياه في البحر الميت. وسيقوم المشروع أيضاً بإنتاج الطاقة الكهرومائية والمياه المحلاة لاستخدامها في المراكز الحضرية في إسرائيل والأردن. وقّعت اسرائيل، والأردن، وفلسطين في ديسمبر 2013 اتفاقية لتنفيذ المرحلة الأولى من المشروع[2].  ومع ذلك، يشعر النقاد بالقلق من الآثار البيئية والاقتصادية للمشروع، فضلاً عن جدواه بالنظر إلى المناخ الجيوسياسي في المنطقة.

Israel’s National Water Carrier. Photo: Ariel Palmon.
الناقل الوطني للمياه في إسرائيل. صور: ارييل بالمون.


[1] Mekorot, 2015. The National Water Carrier.
[2] EcoPeace Middle East, 2015. Red-Dead Conduit.

Home / Israel / Water Infrastructure

Water Infrastructure

Israel’s National Water Carrier. Photo: Hanay.

Water infrastructure in Israel is managed and developed by the government-owned company Mekorot. The company became Israel’s national water provider in the 1950s and soon began plans for the National Water Carrier.

The National Water Carrier

The National Water Carrier (NWC) is a system of pipes, canals and reservoirs that delivers water to most of Israel. The system is owned and managed by Mekorot. The NWC was established in 1964 and is Israel’s largest infrastructure project over the last 50 years. The construction plans were approved by the government in 1956, construction began in 1959 and the system was completed in 1964.

The system carries water from Lake Kinneret and other water sources in the north to the southern part of the country and is about 130 km long (Fig. 7). The NWC also includes two pumping stations, one at Lake Kinneret and the other at the Zalmon reservoir.

Additionally, there are water and sewage pipe systems in the northern and southern regions of the country, which are not considered part of the NWC but are still managed by Mekorot (Fig. 7).[1]

Figure 7. Israel's national water infrastructure grid. Source: Fanack based on Tal, 2006.
Figure 7. Israel’s national water infrastructure grid. Source: Fanack based on Tal, 2006.

Planned projects

In 2012, the Water Authority published a master plan outlining a strategy to ensure water availability until 2050. While total water use is expected to rise from 2,131 MCM in 2010 to 3,571 MCM in 2050, natural water availability is expected to drop by 10-15% due to climate change. Israel will therefore need to manage consumption and increase production of alternative water sources such as desalination and treated wastewater.

In summary, the 2012 master plan outlines the following strategy points:

  • Increase desalination production to 700 MCM/yr by 2020 by developing seawater desalination plants as a primary water supply source. Plans include a desalination plant in the Western Galilee. The master plan also outlines construction of a desalination plant at Sorek, which became operational in 2013.
  • Develop the national conveyance system for accommodation of desalinated water. This includes: developing a fifth water system to Jerusalem, developing the western and eastern Galilee regions as well as the southern and northern Sharon region, developing the master plan in the Negev and the Arava, developing the western water carrier and adapting regional systems to the upgrade.
  • Increase average performance capacity of the water and sewage corporations.
  • Advance projects to remove contaminants from the Coastal Aquifer in the area of Tel Aviv.
  • Upgrade and expand sewage treatment plants. This includes:
    1. Improving the water quality from existing plants and further utilizing treated wastewater potential;
    2. Connecting army camps to the sewage systems;
    3. Developing or expanding seven wastewater treatment plants to tertiary level treatment.
Additionally, the plan briefly mentions moving forward with the Red Sea-Dead Sea conduit, which will transfer water from the Red Sea to the Dead Sea in a bid to halt the decline of the Dead Sea. The project will also produce hydropower and desalinated water for use in urban centres in Israel and Jordan. Israel, Jordan and Palestine signed an agreement in December 2013 to implement the first phase of the project.[2] However, critics are concerned about the environmental and economic impact of the project as well as its feasibility considering the geopolitical climate in the region.

Israel’s National Water Carrier. Photo: Ariel Palmon.
Israel’s National Water Carrier. Photo: Ariel Palmon.


[1] Mekorot, 2015. The National Water Carrier.
[2] EcoPeace Middle East, 2015. Red-Dead Conduit.