الصفحة الرئيسية / إيران / استهلاك المياه في إيران

استهلاك المياه في إيران

استهلاك المياه في إيران
الصورة رقم (1): نظام هيدروليكي تاريخي يعرف بنظام شوشتر،( المصدر: Darafsh).

في الوقت الراهن، تستهلك إيران 83% من إجمالي مواردها من المياه العذبة المتجددة، في حين تقترح المعايير الدولية سقفاً نسبة 40% لضمان الاستدامة البيئية و تلبية الطلب المتزايد مع تزايد عدد السكان (الجدول 1). و منذ عام 2007، تم الحفاظ على مستوى الاستهلاك السنوي عند 100 مليون متر مكعب، و لكن من المتوقع أن تنخفض حصة استخدام المياه في الزراعة إلى 87% من المستوى الحالي البالغ 91%.

و منذ بداية العام، كان مجموع سحب المياه في القطاعات الزراعية و البلدية و الصناعية حوالي 100 مليار متر مكعب، منها 41 مليار متر مكعب من المياه السطحية، و 58,8 مليار متر مكعب من المياه الجوفية (القنوات و الآبار)، و 0,2 مليار متر مكعب من المياه المحلاة (الشكل 1، و الشكل 2، و الجدول 1، و الجدول 2). يُمثل إجمالي سحب المياه السطحية و الجوفية حوالي 83% من إجمالي الموارد المائية المتجددة الفعلي. كما أن استخدام مصادر المياه غير التقليدية محدود و يقتصر على استخدام مياه البحر المحلاة في مصانع البتروكيماويات في الخليج الفارسي.و يُقال أنه تُستخدَم مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، بشكلٍ غير مباشر، في الزراعة. و في بعض المدن، ورلو بشكلٍ محدود، يتم استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي الخام مباشرة لأغراض الري، مما أدى إلى ظهور بعض المشاكل المتعلقة بالصحة[1]

  • الزراعة
  • الاستخدام المنزلي
  • الصناعة

الشكل رقم (2): استهلاك المياه حسب القطاع والتقديرات لعام 2014. [2]

  • الزراعة
  • مياه الشرب
  • الصناعة والمياه غير الصالحة للشرب

الشكل رقم (2): سحوبات المياه حسب القطاع، 2016. إجمالي السحوبات السنوي: 100 مليار متر مكعب. .[3]

الكمية( مليون متر مكعب )الصناعة، استهلاك المياه للشرب ولغير الشربالزراعةالحد الأدنى للحاجة البيئيةالإجمالي
الاستهلاك الفعلي9919
الاستهلاك الأمثل ضمن القدرة المتجددة للموارد15.1961.7110.7815.19

الجدول رقم (1): الاستهلاك الفعلي للمياه مقارنةً بالمعدلات التي تقع ضمن القدرة المتجددة للموارد. [4]

الكمية( مليون متر مكعب )المياه السطحيةالمياه الجوفية
الاستهلاك الفعلي41.258.8
الاستهلاك الأمثل ضمن القدرة المتجددة للموارد39.7837.12

الجدول رقم (2): الاستهلاك الفعلي للمياه مقارنةً بالمعدلات التي تقع ضمن القدرة المتجددة للموارد.  [5]

تشكل المياه الجوفية أكثر من 60% من إجمالي المياه المستخدمة في إيران اليوم. ففي السنوات العشرين الماضية، تم ضخ حوالي 120 مليار متر مكعب من قدرة الأحواض الجوفية غير المتجددة، بمعدل يصل إلى 6 مليار متر مكعب من استنزاف المياه الجوفية سنوياً. و لإستعادة هذه القدرة المفقودة، ينبغي خفض معدلات الاستهلاك ما بين 11 إلى 12 مليار متر مكعب سنوياَ. يحدث غالبية فرط الاستهلاك في الأحواض المركزية حيث تتوفر كميات أقل من المياه السطحية. و لا يزال نظام القنوات لاستخراج المياه الجوفية، القديم و المستدام حتى الآن، يُمثل 9% من المياه الإيرانية، مع تصريف سنوي يبلغ 4,2 مليار متر مكعب. تمتد شبكة القنوات الإيرانية القديمة التي يتجاوز عددها 32 ألف قناة ما إجمالي طوله 400 ألف كيلومتر.[6]و هذا يعادل ثمانية أضعاف محيط الأرض. و بالتالي، إن إمكانيات القنوات في المساعدة على حل التحديات المتعلقة بالأمن المائي في إيران لا شك فيها.

[1] AQUASTAT, 2008. Country Fact Sheet: Iran. FAO’s global information system on water and agriculture. Available at www.fao.org/nr/water/aquastat/countries_regions/irn/index.stm.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Ibid.
[6] International Centre on Qanats and Historic Hydraulic Structures (ICQHS), under the auspices of UNESCO.

Home / Iran / Water Uses in Iran

Water Uses in Iran

Shushtar Historical Hydraulic System Water Uses in Iran
Photo 1: Shushtar historical hhydraulic system, (Source: Darafsh).

At present, Iran uses 83% of its total renewable freshwater resources, whereas international norms suggest a ceiling of 40% to ensure environmental sustainability and to meet the rising demand of a growing population (Table 1). Since 2007, annual water use has been maintained at the level of 100 BCM, however the share of agricultural water use is expected to drop to 87% from the current level of 91%.

In the year to date, the total agricultural, municipal and industrial water withdrawal has been about 100BCM, of which 41BCM from surface water, 58.8BCM from groundwater (qanats and wells) and 0.2BCM from desalinated water (Figure 1, Figure 2, Table 1, and Table 2). Total surface water and groundwater withdrawal represents almost 83% of the total actual renewable water resources. Use of non-conventional water sources is minimal and limited to the use of desalinated seawater at the petrochemical plants in the Persian Gulf. Treated wastewater is said to be indirectly used in agriculture. In some towns, albeit in a limited form, raw wastewater is used directly for irrigation, resulting in some health-related problems.[1]

  • Agriculture
  • Domestic
  • Industry

Figure 1. Water consumption per sector and projections for 2041. [2]

  • Agriculture
  • Drinking
  • Industry and non- drinking

Figure 2.Water withdrawal per sector, 2016. Total annual withdrawals: 100BCM.[3]

Quantity (BCM)AgricultureIndustry, drinking and non-drinking consumptionMinimum environmental needTotal
Actual consumption919100
Ideal consumption within the renewable capacity of resources61.7115.1910.7887.68

Table 1. Water consumption distribution per sector.  [4]

Quantity (BCM)Surface waterGroundwater
Actual consumption41.258.8
Ideal consumption within the renewable capacity of resources39.7837.12

Table 2. Water consumption distribution between surface water and groundwater.  [5]

Aquifers yield more than 60% of all water used in Iran today. In the past 20 years, some 120BCM have been extracted from the non-renewable capacity of aquifers, with an average of 6BCM of groundwater depletion per year. To restore this lost capacity, the consumption rates must be lowered by 11-12BCM per year. Most of the over-exploitation occurs in the central basins where less surface water is available. The old, yet sustainable, qanats system of groundwater extraction still accounts for 9% of Iran’s water, with an annual discharge of 4.2BCM. Iran’s ancient network of more than 32,000 qanats runs a total length of 400,000km.[6]This is equivalent to eight times the earth’s circumference. The potential of qanats in helping to solve Iran’s water security challenges is thus unquestionable.

[1] AQUASTAT, 2008. Country Fact Sheet: Iran. FAO’s global information system on water and agriculture. Available at www.fao.org/nr/water/aquastat/countries_regions/irn/index.stm.
[2] Ibid.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Ibid.
[6] International Centre on Qanats and Historic Hydraulic Structures (ICQHS), under the auspices of UNESCO.