الصفحة الرئيسية / أثر تغير المناخ على موارد المياه: دراسة لنمذجة جديدة لبلاد العرب

أثر تغير المناخ على موارد المياه: دراسة لنمذجة جديدة لبلاد العرب

climate change تغير المناخ

الصورة (1): كوكب الأرض (المصدر: Geralt, Pixabay)

الكاتب: Rossella Messina

لأول مرة، تم تطوير تقييم متكامل يشمل التنبؤات بتغير المناخ، والنمذجة الهيدرولوجية، والضعف الاجتماعي والاقتصادي في المنطقة العربية. وكل ذلك نتيجة لست سنوات من العمل ضمن مشروع المبادرة الإقليمية لتقييم آثار تغير المناخ على الموارد المائية وقابلية التأثرالاجتماعي والاقتصادي في المنطقة العربية ( RICCAR)، والذي تم عرضه في أسبوع المياه العالمي في ستوكهولم ( 27 آب / أغسطس – 1 سبتمبر، 2017). [1],[2]

ويركز المشروع على وضع نماذج لتأثير تغير المناخ على موارد المياه العذبة. والدراسة هي تقييم متكامل للتأثير والضعف يسعى إلى سد الفجوة بين العلم وصنع السياسات. ويجمع تقييم التأثير بين النماذج الهيدرولوجية والتوقعات الإقليمية لتغير المناخ لتحديد التغيرات البيئية الرئيسية، مثل درجات الحرارة أو الهطول، بحلول منتصف القرن(2046-2065 )، وبنهاية القرن(2081-2100). ويشمل تقييم مواطن الضعف البعد الإنساني. وهو يستند إلى عدة مؤشرات تتعلق بالعوامل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسات الوطنية المحددة. وتتراوح المؤشرات بين الكثافة السكانية ووصول الأسرالمعيشية إلى المياه والطلب على المياه للمحاصيل، مما يعطي فكرة عن مدى تعرض المنطقة لتغير المناخ.[3]

وأكد إيهاب جناد، رئيس قسم الموارد المائية بالمركز العربي لدراسات المناطق الجافة والأراضي الجافة (ACSAD)، وهو أحد شركاء المشروع، على تفرده المشروع ” وقد تحققت أعمال مماثلة سابقة باستخدام بيانات من مناطق أخرى، وتكييفها للمجال العربي. وهذه هي المرة الأولى التي نقوم فيها بجمع وتحليل البيانات الخاصة بالمنطقة العربية على وجه التحديد “. ويتراوح متوسط درجة الحرارة المتوقعة بحلول نهاية القرن الواحد والعشرين بين 2 و 5 درجة مئوية لأسوأ سيناريو، مع زيادة أعلى في منطقة الصحارى، وفي اليمن والمملكة العربية السعودية لشبه الجزيرة العربية. ومن ناحية أخرى، يمكن أن يكون الانخفاض في متوسط هطول الأمطار الشهري في حدود 8-10 مليمتر بحلول نهاية القرن، ولا سيما في جبال الأطلس وفي أحواض دجلة والفرات العليا.

indicators of climate change impact

الشكل 1: مؤشرات تأثير تغير المناخ على الموارد المائية والضعف الاجتماعي والاقتصادي على النحو المقترح من نموذج المناخ RICCAR.

وعندما ننظر إلى تأثير تغير المناخ على الموارد المائية، واستنادا على مخرجات النماذج الحاسوبية، فإنه من المتوقع أن تشهد معظم المنطقة العربية تأثيراً معتدلاً بنهاية القرن الحادي والعشرين( أسوأ السيناريوهات ). ولكن عندما ننظر إلى تقييم الضعف لكل بلد، ومع الأخذ بعين الاعتبارقدراتهم على التكيف، التي تمثل مرونة نظام إدارة المياه، فإن التأثير ينتقل من معتدل إلى مرتفع في بلدان مثل السودان واليمن. ويتصل تقييم مواطن الضعف بقدرة كل بلد على إدارة موارده المائية بطريقة فعالة، ويسلط الضوء على مجالات التدخل الحاسمة بالنسبة لواضعي السياسات.

ووضح جناد الخطوات التالية لمشروع RICCAR “تماما مثل ACSAD ، اكتسبنا الكثير من الخبرة، ونحن الآن نركز على النشر. إن لبنان هو أول بلد طلب منا تطوير النموذج على المستوى الوطني، حيث أن النموذج كان حتى الآن إقليميا. كما نتلقى طلبات من بلدان أخرى لتطوير التدريب على النمذجة وتقييم الضعف أو للدراسات في إنتاج المحاصيل. كما أن هناك مفاوضات لبدء المرحلة الثانية من المشروع، والتي ستشمل التركيز على المناطق الأصغر وعلى قضايا محددة، على سبيل المثال موارد المياه الجوفية “.

ومن المؤكد أن مشروع RICCAR هو مصدر جديد للمعلومات عن تغير المناخ والموارد المائية في المنطقة العربية. وقد أعِدّت المنهجية والنتائج النهائية بواسطة خبراء اجتمعوا في مجموعات للعمل إقليمية وأتيحت لهم فرصة استعراض المشروع. ومع ذلك، سيتعين على المركز وشركائه مواجهة بعض التحديات في المستقبل. إن جمع البيانات اللازمة لتحديث النماذج والتقييمات يشكل دائما تحديا في العديد من دول منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. يحتاج قادة المشروع إلى إيجاد وسيلة للحفاظ على أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين والمشاركة بنشاط في الحفاظ على النموذج. ومن الصعب أيضا القول ما إذا كانت سينجح  المشروع في تحقيق هدفه، ألا وهو رفع مستوى الوعي وتعزيز المتانة المؤسسية، والذي سيكون محور المراحل القادمة من مشروع [4] هذا هو دائما الجزء الأكثر حساسية من هذه المشاريع، حيث لا يوجد ضمان بأن سيعتمدها السياسيون كأساس للمناقشات المستقبلية.

Home / Impact of Climate Change on Water Resources: A New Modelling Study for the Arab Region

Impact of Climate Change on Water Resources: A New Modelling Study for the Arab Region

climate change تغير المناخ

Photo 1: Plant earth (Source: Geralt, Pixabay)

By: Rossella Messina

For the first time, an integrated assessment that includes climate change predictions, hydrological modelling and socio-economic vulnerability has been developed for the Arab region. It is the result of six years of work within the RICCAR project (Regional Initiative for the Assessment of Climate Change Impacts on Water Resources and Socio-Economic Vulnerability in the Arab Region), which was presented at the World Water Week in Stockholm (27 August- 1 September, 2017).[1],[2]

The focus of the project is modelling the impact of climate change on freshwater resources. The study is an integrated impact and vulnerability assessment that attempts to fill the gap between science and policymaking. The impact assessment combines hydrological models with regional climate change projections to identify key environmental changes, for instance in temperature or precipitation, by the middle of the century (2046-2065) and by the end of the century (2081-2100). The vulnerability assessment incorporates the human dimension. It is based on several indicators about social and economic factors and specific national policies. The indicators range from population density to household access to water and crop water demand, giving an idea of how susceptible a region is to climate change.[3]

Ihab Jnad, head of the water resources department at the Arab Center for the Studies of Arid Zones and Dry Land (ACSAD), one of the partners of the project, underlined its uniqueness, “Previous similar works were realized using data from other regions, adapting them for the Arab domain. This is the first time we have gathered and analysed data specifically for the Arab region.” The predicted average temperature increase by the end of the 21st century ranges from 2°-5°C for the severe scenario, with the higher increase in the Sahara region and in Yemen and Saudi Arabia for the Arabian Peninsula. On the other hand, the decrease in average monthly precipitation could be in the range of 8-10mm by the end of the century, mainly in the Atlas Mountains and in the Upper Euphrates and Tigris basins.

Figure 1: indicators of climate change impact on water resources and of socio-economic vulnerability as proposed by the RICCAR climate model.

Figure 1: indicators of climate change impact on water resources and of socio-economic vulnerability as proposed by the RICCAR climate model.

Jnad explained the next steps for the RICCAR project. “As ACSAD, we gained a lot of experience and now we are focusing on dissemination. Lebanon is the first country that asked us to develop the model at a national level, since ours so far has been regional. We are also receiving requests from other countries to develop training on modelling and vulnerability assessment or for studies in crop production. Also, there are negotiations to initiate phase two of the project, which will include a focus on smaller areas and on specific issues, for instance groundwater resources.”

The RICCAR project is certainly a new source of information on climate change and water resources in the Arab region. The methodology and the final outcomes were drafted by experts who met in regional working groups and had the opportunity to review the project. However, ACSAD and its partners will have to face some challenges in the future. Collecting the data that are necessary for updating models and assessments is always a challenge in many of the MENA countries. Project leaders need to find a way to keep the stakeholders involved and actively participating in the maintenance of the model. It is also hard to say whether they will succeed in achieving their goal of raising awareness and promoting institutional robustness, which will be at the core of the next phases of the RICCAR initiative.[4] This is always the most delicate part of these projects, as there is no guarantee that they will be adopted by politicians as the basis for future discussions.