الصفحة الرئيسية / اسرائيل / الموارد المائية

الموارد المائية في اسرايئل

تستمد اسرائيل مياهها من ثلاثة مصادر: المياه السطحية، والمياه الجوفية، والمصادر البديلة (تحلية المياه وإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي). وفي الوقت الحالي، لا تزال المياه السطحية والجوفية تشكّل المصدر الرئيسي لإمدادات المياه (خريطة 2). ومع ذلك، تُبشّر التطورات الأخيرة في مجاليّ تحلية المياه وتقنيات إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي، بالانتقال من المصادر الطبيعية إلى المصادر البديلة عوضاً عن استنزاف مصادر المياه الطبيعية وبالتالي ستكون اسرائيل قادرة على تلبية الطلب في المستقبل وحماية مواردها المائية الطبيعية. وفيما يتعلق بإجمالي توافر المياه ونصيب الفرد، بالمتوسط، يستهلك الاسرائيليون حوالي 93 متر مكعب من المياه العذبة للفرد الواحد في العام[1].

مصادر المياه غير التقليدية

تحلية المياه

تعالج محطات تحلية المياه في اسرائيل مياه البحر لغايات الحصول على مياه للشرب والمياه متوسطة الملوحة (الأخضم) لغايات الزراعة باستخدام تقنية التناضح العكسي. وفي الوقت الراهن، تسّد تحلية المياه حوالي 42% من احتياجات مياه الشرب في البلاد[2].

وقد ازداد إنتاج المياه بشكل كبير جداً منذ أن بدأت أول محطة لتحلية المياه في عسقلان ضخ المياه إلى الشبكة عام 2005، حيث ازداد الإنتاج من 277 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة عام 2010 إلى حوالي 600 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة عام 2015 (الشكل 2). وبالنظر إلى المستقبل، يتمثل الهدف في انتاج 705 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من المياه المحلاة بحلول عام 2020، و1,75 مليار متر مكعب/ السنة بحلول عام 2040. وتعتبر تحلية المياه ضرورية للحفاظ على استدامة إمدادات المياه للسكان. كما تخطط الحكومة الاسرائيلية لاستخدام المياه المحلاة لتعويض النقص في انخفاض الموارد المائية الطبيعية[3]. وتعود ملكية معظم محطات تحلية المياه في اسرائيل إلى القطاع الخاص. وبما أنّ احتياجات الطاقة لتحلية المياه بالتناضح العكسي مرتفعة، تعمل اسرائيل على تخفيض تكاليف الإنتاج من خلال تشغيل محطات التحلية بالغاز الطبيعي[4].

Figure 3. Water resources in Israel. Source: Fanack based on Mediterranean Affairs.

خريطة (2) الموارد المائية في اسرائيل. المصدر فاناك عن مشروع Mediterranean Affairs

 

إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي

تعتبر إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي مصدراً هاماً للمياه للأغراض الزراعية في اسرائيل. مياه الصرف الصحي التي تتم معالجتها واستخدامها لأغراض الري تُعرف أيضاً باسم المخلفات السائلة. ومن أصل 507 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من مياه الصرف الصحي التي يتم إنتاجها، تتم معالجة 468 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة (93%)، في حين يتم إعادة استخدام 410 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة (85%) في الري[1]. يتم جمع ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي المنزلي من قِبل المؤسسة العامة للمياه الوطنية في اسرائيل، شركة ميكوروت، أو من قِبل الشركات الخاصة. وعادةً ما تعمل مرافق معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الخاصة في المجتمعات النائية الصغيرة، في حين تعالج شركة ميكوروت مياه الصرف الصحي في المراكز الحضرية الكبرى. وتهدف اسرائيل إلى زيادة كمية مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة المستخدمة في القطاع الزراعي لأكثر من الضعف بحلول عام 2050[2].

Figure 2. Major sources of water supply in Israel. Source: Fanack based on Mekorot WaTech Division.

الشكل (2) المصادر الرئيسية لإمدادات المياه في اسرائيل. المصدر: فاناك عن Mekorot WaTech Division

 


[1] World Bank Group, 2015.
[2] Tenne, A., 2010. Sea Water Desalination in Israel: Planning, Coping with Difficulties, and Economic Aspects of Long-Term Risks.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Israel Water Authority, 2015. Wastewater & Effluents in Israel: Monitoring and Prevention of Water Pollution.
[6] Rejwan, A., 2011. The State of Israel: National Water Efficiency Report. Prepared by the Planning Department of the Israeli Water Authority.

Home / Israel / Water Resources

Water Resources

Israel draws its water from three sources: surface water, groundwater and alternative sources (desalination and wastewater reuse). Currently, surface and groundwater still form the main sources of water supply (Fig. 4). However, recent developments in desalination and wastewater reuse technology herald a shift away from natural to alternative sources so that Israel will be able to meet future demand and protect its natural water resources. On average, Israelis dispose of about 93 m3 of fresh water per person per year.[1]

Non-conventional Water Resources

Desalination

In Israel, desalination plants using reverse osmosis technology treat seawater for drinking-water purposes and brackish water for agriculture. Today, desalination accounts for approximately 42% of the country’s drinking-water needs.[2]

Desalinated water production has increased significantly since the first desalination plant in Ashkelon started supplying water to the grid in 2005, with production increasing from 277 MCM/yr in 2010 to around 600 MCM/yr in 2014 (Fig. 4). Going forward, the target is to produce 705 MCM/yr of desalinated water by 2020 and 1.75 billion cubic metres per year (BCM/yr) by 2040. Desalination is considered essential to maintain a sustainable water supply for the population. The Israeli government also plans to use desalinated water to replenish declining natural water resources.[3] Most desalination plants in Israel are privately owned. While the energy requirement for reverse osmosis desalination is high, Israel is maximizing on energy recovery and reducing production costs by powering desalination plants with natural gas.[4]

Figure 3. Water resources in Israel. Source: Fanack based on Mediterranean Affairs.
Figure 3. Water resources in Israel. Source: Fanack based on Mediterranean Affairs.

Wastewater Reuse

Wastewater reuse is an important source of water for agriculture in Israel. Wastewater that is treated and used for irrigation is known as effluent. Of the 507 MCM/yr of wastewater produced, 468 MCM/yr (93%) is treated and 410 MCM/yr (85%) is reused in irrigation.[5] Domestic sewage is collected and treated by Israel’s national water utility, Mekorot, or by private companies. Private wastewater treatment facilities normally operate in smaller outlying communities whereas Mekorot treats sewage from the larger urban centres. Israel aims to more than double the amount of wastewater that is produced for the agricultural sector by 2050.[6]

Figure 4. Major sources of water supply in Israel. Source: Fanack based on Mekorot WaTech Division.
Figure 4. Major sources of water supply in Israel. Source: Fanack based on Mekorot WaTech Division.


[1] World Bank Group, 2015.
[2] Tenne, A., 2010. Sea Water Desalination in Israel: Planning, Coping with Difficulties, and Economic Aspects of Long-Term Risks.
[3] Ibid.
[4] Ibid.
[5] Israel Water Authority, 2015. Wastewater & Effluents in Israel: Monitoring and Prevention of Water Pollution.
[6] Rejwan, A., 2011. The State of Israel: National Water Efficiency Report. Prepared by the Planning Department of the Israeli Water Authority.