الصفحة الرئيسية / برنامج حوار حول نماذج إدارة المياه والنفايات يقدم رؤى وطرق للأمام لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

برنامج حوار حول نماذج إدارة المياه والنفايات يقدم رؤى وطرق للأمام لمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

الصورة 1: المشاركون خلال زيارتهم لEESC في بروكسل، بلجيكا (المصدر: KAS).

المساهمون

الكاتب: ولاء الشيخ عبد الله، فريق التحرير Fanack المياه.

المراجع: يوهانس هوغل، باحث مشارك ، حوار سياسة التنمية المتعددة الجنسيات ، Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

تتميز منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا بارتفاع معدل النمو السكاني وتدهور النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية الهشة. وهي أيضاً واحدة من أكثر مناطق العالم ندرة في المياه، ويشكل نقص المياه بالفعل مشكلة في العديد من البلدان بسبب تأثير تغير المناخ. [1] وقد أحدثت التغيرات الأخيرة في أنماط المناخ، مثل فترات الجفاف الطويلة ودرجات الحرارة المسجلة وزيادة عدم انتظام الهطول و شدة وتوزيع الأمطار ، تأثيراً سلبياً على النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية والنظم الزراعية، مما أدى إلى تدهور الأراضي والتصحر وزيادة الضغط على تحديات الموارد الحالية.أضف إلى ذلك كله، أثر الوضع السياسي السلبي في العديد من بلدان الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا على الموارد الطبيعية مثل الأراضي والمياه. [2] علاوة على ذلك، فإن التعاون الوطني والإقليمي محدود جدا في المنطقة وكما يوجد العديد من الصعوبات في صنع القرار،كل هذا يؤدي إلى تفاقم المشاكل المذكورة سابقاً. ومع ذلك، فإن التحديات البيئية توفر فرصاً لتحسين صنع السياسات وتوثيق التعاون على الصعيدين الإقليمي والوطني.

هذا المقال يقدم ملخص حول برنامج حوار مدته خمسة أيام  من الاجتماعات والعروضات والنقاشات والزيارات الميدانية بعنوان: “ابتكارات في إدارة المياه والنفايات الصلبة : نماذج للنقل إلى منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا” ، والتي جرت في الفترة من 25 إلى 29 مارس 2018 في كولونيا في ألمانيا، وبروكسل في بلجيكا. وقد تم تنظيم هذا الحدث وتمويله من خلال حوار سياسة التنمية المتعددة الجنسيات [3] في Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) في بروكسل ، إلى جانب برنامج KAS الإقليمي لأمن الطاقة وتغير المناخ (REMENA) بالمغرب. [4]  كما وجمع الحوار وفداً من الأكاديميين الشباب والباحثين وخبراء القطاع العام و أصحاب المشاريع الناشئة في مجالات الحفاظ على المياه وإدارة النفايات الصلبة من دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا والمسؤولين الرئيسيين من المؤسسات الأوروبية للتركيز على الوضع الحالي لإدارة المياه والنفايات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، وإدخال النهج الأوروبي في هذا المجال.

وبما أن مهمة Fanack Water تتمثل في توفير معلومات دقيقة وسهلة الوصول عن حالة الموارد المائية والقضايا الأخرى المتعلقة بالمياه في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا ، فقد كانت Fanack Water  حاضرة خلال البرنامج لمعالجة القضايا الرئيسية المتعلقة بالمياه في المنطقة.

KAS هي أكبر مؤسسة سياسية ألمانية[5]، مرتبطة مع الاتحاد الديمقراطي المسيحي الألماني (CDU)، وتعزز الحرية والعدالة والتضامن. من خلال برامجها الإقليمية بشأن تغير المناخ وأمن الطاقة في آسيا، و أمريكا اللاتينية، وشمال أفريقيا، و جنوب الصحراء الإفريقية الكبرى، تعمل KAS كمنصة لتبادل القضايا المتعلقة بالسياسات البيئية والمناخية. تعمل المؤسسة بشكل وثيق مع أصحاب المصلحة الإقليميين والهيئات الحكومية والمجتمع المدني لتقديم المشورة المتعلقة بالسياسات المستدامة بشأن التخفيف من حدة تغير المناخ والتكيف معه وتعزيز هذه السياسات والدعوة لها، فضلاً عن تعزيز تبادل ونقل المعرفة.

بدأ  برنامج الحوار حول الابتكارات في إدارة المياه والنفايات الصلبة بجلسة مع الدكتورة داغمار بوفينغ، المحامية المتخصصة في المنح المالية، والتي قدمت فيها لمحة عامة عن خطط التعاون والاستثمار الأوروبي ، مثل Horizon 2020 ، وخطط الاستثمار الخارجي، وبرنامج التعاون حول المياه بين إفريقيا والاتحاد الأوروبي، وسياسة الجوار الأوروبية. كما وركزت خلال الاجنماع على الإعانات العامة والخاصة. “تعمل المنظمات الحكومية معاً ، لكن لا يتم إشراك القطاع الخاص. من المهم الجمع بين شركات القطاع الخاص والأطراف الحكومية” حسب قول د.بوفينغ.

كما أتيحت للمشاركين فرصة التعرف على عمل الرابطة الأوروبية للمياه ، وهي منظمة مستقلة غير حكومية وغير ربحية تهدف إلى تعزيز إدارة دورة المياه الكلية في الدول الأعضاء ، والمساهمة بشكل مباشر فيي السياسات الأوروبية ذات الصلة بالمياه.

خلال الزيارة إلى المركز الألماني لدراسات الطيران (DLR) في مدينة بون في ألمانيا، تعرّف المشاركون على نظام التعليم العالي الألماني، والإطار الاستراتيجي للتعاون مع أفريقيا والشرق الأوسط ، وبرامج التمويل في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، بما في ذلك مشاريع إدارة المياه والنفايات. كما وتم تسليط الضوء على التعاون الحالي والبرامج المشتركة، مثل الشراكة من أجل البحث والابتكار في منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط (PRIMA). من جهتها ، قالت الدكتورة بيرجيت دتجنس، منسقة المشاريع في شمال أفريقيا والشرق الأوسط وتركيا في المركز: “يهدف برنامج (PRIMA) إلى تحقيق ودعم وتشجيع التكامل، من أجل مواجهة التحديات المتنوعة في ندرة المياه والزراعة والأمن الغذائي. يبلغ عدد الدول المتوسطية المشاركة في البرنامج 19 دولة. منها 11 دولة في الاتحاد الأوروبي و 8 دول من خارج الاتحاد الأوروبي “.

لاحقاً تم عمل زيارة إلى Der Grüne Punkt – Duales System Deutschland ، وهي منشأة لإعادة تدوير النفايات الصلبة، تتواجد أيضًا في بون. خلال الزيارة تم إجراء مناقشة شيقة حول عملية الفرز وإعادة التدوير في ألمانيا ومشكلة التلوث البلاستيكي.” المشكلة ليست في الورق أو الزجاج أو المعادن أو النفايات العضوية. جميع هذه المخلفات قابلة للتدوير وإعادة الاستخدام ، كما أن ضررها على البيئة قابل للتخفيف”حسب قول هيلموت شميتز ، مدير الاتصالات والشؤون العامة في المركز. كما أضاف قائلاً “المشكلة الحقيقية هي البلاستيك، بسبب كميات الإنتاج والاستهلاك الضخمة ، وصعوبات التجميع والتعقيدات في عملية إعادة التدوير. يُستخدم 40 في المائة من إنتاج البلاستيك لأغراض التعبئة. وقد تم نقل معظم مصانع إنتاج البلاستيك الجديدة إلى الشرق الأوسط بسبب توافر الغاز الطبيعي وانخفاض أسعار الكهرباء.”

هذا وقد عُقِد الجزء الثاني من برنامج الحوار في بروكسل، حيث أجريت عدة اجتماعات مع خبراء من الإدارة العامة للمفوضية الأوروبية للمفاوضات في الجوار والتوسع والمديرية العامة للتعاون الدولي والتنمية. تضمنت هذه اللقاءات مناقشة تفاعلية حول حالة المياه والبيئة في الاتحاد الأوروبي ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، بالإضافة إلى موضوعات تتضمن التعاون في مجال المياه العابرة للحدود. عقد اجتماع آخر مع خبراء من اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الأوروبية (EESC) حيثُ تمّ عرض عمل اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الأوروبية بشكل عام وعمل اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الأوروبية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط بشكل خاص.

KAS European Office

الصورة 2: المشاركون خلال جلسة المائدة المستديرة في مكتب KAS الأوروبي في بروكسل (المصدر: KAS).

كما تضمن البرنامج جلسة مائدة مستديرة تفاعلية بعنوان “النهج الجديد لإدارة النفايات في منطقة الاتحاد الأوروبي ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا” ، حيث اجتمع الخبراء والشركات الناشئة لتبادل الأفكار والخبرات. وركزت المائدة المستديرة على إعادة استخدام ومعالجة النفايات الصلبة على نحو مستدام. وكما قدم المشاركون من أصحاب الشركات الناشئة نتائج العمل والبحث.

و كما أضافت الزيارات الميدانية في البرنامج إلى محطة حرق النفايات في كولونيا في ألمانيا وإلى محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في لييج الواقعة في بلجيكا، الكثير من المعرفة والخبرة العملية إلى البرنامج .

اختتمت هذه الفعالية برؤى حول عمل Bundesverband der Energie- und Wasserwirtschaft (BDEW) ، وجمعية المقاطعات الألمانية ، والجمعية الألمانية للمرافق المحلية.

في نهاية البرنامج ، أشاد المشاركون بالمعرفة القيمة المكتسبة وتبادل الخبرات، وغادروا برنامج الحوار آملين في المشاركة في حل جزء من التحديات في بلدانهم الأصلية. كما و ستبقى KAS على اتصال مع المشاركين لقياس أثر برنامج الحوار.

[1] Hassan M. el-Shaer, 2015. ‘Land desertification and restoration in Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region’. Sciences in Cold and Arid Regions 7(1): 7-15.
[2] Ibid.
[3] www.kas.de/mned-bruessel/en/
[4] www.kas.de/remena/en/
[5] www.kas.de/wf/en/

Home / Dialogue on Water and Waste Management in the MENA Region

Dialogue on Water and Waste Management in the MENA Region

Photo1: the participants during the visit to EESC, Brussels, Belgium (source: KAS).

Contributors

Author: Fanack Water editorial team.

Reviewer: Johannes Hügel, Research Associate, Multinational Development Policy Dialogue, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

The Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region is characterized by high population growth and degraded and fragile natural ecosystems. It is one of the most water-scarce regions in the world, and water shortages are already a problem in many countries due to the impact of climate change.[1] Recent changes in climate patterns, such as prolonged droughts, record temperatures and increased rainfall irregularity, intensity and distribution, have all further negatively impacted the natural and agro-ecosystems, leading to land degradation and desertification and adding stress to existing resource challenges. In addition, the political situation in many MENA countries has affected natural resources such as land and water.[2] Moreover, national and regional cooperation is limited and decision making is difficult, exacerbating the problems. However, the environmental challenges present opportunities for improved policymaking and closer cooperation at regional and national levels.

This article provides a summary of a five-day dialogue programme of meetings, presentations, discussions and field trips entitled ‘Innovations in water and waste management: Models of transferability to the MENA region’, which took place from 25-29 March 2018 in Cologne, Germany and Brussels, Belgium. The event was organized and funded by the Multinational Development Policy Dialogue[3] of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Brussels, together with the KAS Regional Program for Energy Security and Climate Change (REMENA) Morocco.[4] It brought together a delegation of young academics, researchers and public sector experts, promising start-ups in the area of water preservation and pollution management from MENA countries and key officials from European institutions to focus on the current water and waste management situation in the MENA region and to introduce the European approach in this field.

Since the mission of Fanack Water is to provide accessible, well-researched information on the state of water resources and other water-related issues in the MENA region, Fanack Water was on hand throughout the programme to tackle the main water-related issues in the MENA region.

KAS[5] is the biggest German political foundation, associated with the Christian Democratic Union of Germany (CDU), and promotes freedom, justice and solidarity. With its regional programmes on climate change and energy security in Asia, Latina America, North Africa and sub-Saharan Africa, KAS functions as an exchange platform for environmental and climate policy-related issues. The foundation works closely with regional stakeholders, government bodies and civil society to advise on, promote and advocate sustainable policies on climate change mitigation and adaptation as well as enhance knowledge sharing and transfer.

The dialogue on innovations in water and waste management started with a session with Dr Dagmar Boving, a lawyer specialized in subsidies, in which she gave an overview of European cooperation and investment plans, such as Horizon 2020, external investment plans, Africa-EU water partnerships and European neighbourhood policy. She focused on public and private subsidies. “Governmental organizations are working together, but the private sector is not involved. It is important to bring private sector companies and governmental parties together,” she said.

The participants also had the opportunity to learn about the work of the European Water Association, an independent non-governmental and non-profit organization that aims to promote the improved management of the total water cycle in member states, and to contribute more directly to water-related European policies.

During a visit to the Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR, the German Aerospace Centre) in Bonn, participants were introduced to the German higher education system, the strategic framework for cooperation with Africa and the Middle East and funding programmes in the MENA region, including water and waste management projects. Current cooperation and joint programmes were highlighted, such as the Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area (PRIMA). Dr Birgit Ditgens, the coordinator for North Africa, the Middle East and Turkey at DLR, said: “The PRIMA programme aims to achieve, support and promote integration, and to address the diverse challenges in water scarcity, agriculture and food security. The participating Mediterranean states are 19 in total, 11 EU countries and 8 non-EU countries.”

 A subsequent visit was made to Der Grüne Punkt – Duales System Deutschland, a solid waste recycling facility, also in Bonn. An interesting discussion was held about the sorting and recycling process in Germany and the problem of plastic pollution. “The problem is not with paper, glass, metal or organic waste; they are all recyclable and their pollution can be mitigated,” said Helmut Schmitz, the director of communications and public affairs at the facility. “The real problem is plastic, because of the enormous production and use, collection difficulties and complications in the recycling process. Forty per cent of plastic production is used for packaging. Most of the new plastic producing plants have been moved to the Middle East because of the natural gas availability and low electricity prices,” he added.

The second part of the dialogue programme was held in Brussels, where several meetings were conducted with experts from the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations and the Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development. These meetings included an interactive discussion on the state of water and the environment in the EU and the MENA region as well as topics including cooperation on transboundary waters. Another meeting with experts from the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) introduced the work of the EESC in general and the work of the EESC in the MENA region in particular.

The programme also featured an interactive roundtable session titled ‘New approaches to waste management in the EU & MENA region’, in which experts and start-ups came together to share ideas and experiences. The roundtable focused on the sustainable re-use and treatment of solid waste. Start-ups presented their work and research results.

KAS European Office

Photo 2: During the roundtable session, KAS European Office, Brussels (source: KAS).

Field visits to the waste incineration plant in Cologne, Germany and to the wastewater treatment plant in Liege, Belgium enriched the programme.

The event concluded with insights on the work of the Bundesverband der Energie- und Wasserwirtschaft (BDEW), the German County Association and the German Association of Local Utilities.

By the end of the program the participant indicated the valuable knowledge they gained and shared, and left hoping to participate in resolving part of the challenges in their home countries. KAS will be staying in contact with the participant to measure the impact of the dialogue program.

[1] Hassan M. el-Shaer, 2015. ‘Land desertification and restoration in Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region’. Sciences in Cold and Arid Regions 7(1): 7-15.
[2] Ibid.
[3] www.kas.de/mned-bruessel/en/
[4] www.kas.de/remena/en/
[5] www.kas.de/wf/en/