الصفحة الرئيسية / سياسات المياه في حوض النيل: نُدرة المياه المحتملة تؤجج الصراع بين مصر وإثيوبيا

سياسات المياه في حوض النيل: نُدرة المياه المحتملة تؤجج الصراع بين مصر وإثيوبيا

سد النهضة الإثيوبي الكبير
سد النهضة الإثيوبي الكبير. (المصدر: Olof von Gawinski, Flickr)

المُساهمون :
الكاتب :يارنو فان رد فال، ماجستير في دراسات الشرق الأوسط، جامعة أمستردام، هولندا
الزميل المُراجع: Fanack Water

أدت الخلافات المستمرة حول القضايا التقنية والقانونية المتعلقة ببناء سد النهضة الإثيوبي الكبير على نهر النيل الأزرق إلى بدء محادثاتٍ جديدة بين مصر والسودان وإثيوبيا، بعد أن بدأت إثيوبيا في ملء خزان السد في يوليو 2020.

تصر مصر على أن ملء الخزان يتطلب بلورة اتفاقية ملزمة قانوناً بشأن التخصيص العادل لمياه النيل ليتم تنفيذه. وفي غضون ذلك، تجادل إثيوبيا بأن سد النهضة لن يؤثر بشكلٍ كبير على تدفق المياه إلى نهر النيل وأن مشروع الطاقة الكهرومائية سيحسن سبل العيش في المنطقة ككل. وعليه، من غير المستغرب توقف المحادثات.

ففي عام 2011، أعلنت إثيوبيا، بصفتها دولة المنبع، عزمها إنشاء مشروع سدٍ بمليارات الدولارات وسط الاضطرابات السياسية للربيع العربي في مصر. وبعد ما يقرب من عقد من الزمان، لم تسفر المفاوضات حتى الآن عن اتفاقٍ من شأنه تسوية القضايا العالقة المحيطة بالسد.

يهدف المشروع الذي تم بناؤه بتكلفة 4,8 مليار دولار، وتم تمويله بشكلٍ أساسي من الموارد المحلية بالإضافة إلى تمويل من البنوك الصينية للحصول على توربينات ومعدات كهربائية لمحطات الطاقة الكهرومائية، إلى توليد 6450 ميجاوات من الطاقة. وبمجرد تشغيل سد النهضة، سيولد السد طاقة كهرومائية كافية لتلبية احتياجات سكان إثيوبيا بالكامل وجعل البلاد مركزاً للطاقة في إفريقيا.

أما مصر، بصفتها دولة المصب، فترى أن السد يمثل تهديداً كبيراً لأمنها المائي والغذائي، إذ يعيش حوالي 95% من التعداداد الكي للمصريين على طول نهر النيل، ويعتبر النهر أيضا شريان الحياة لمواطنيه. كما تتزايد المخاوف في مصر بسبب الزيادة السكانية المتوقعة وتغير المناخ والآثارالمحتملة على القطاع الزراعي. ووفقاً للأمم المتحدة، سيزداد عدد السكان بمقدار مليون نسمة كل ستة أشهر، وفي الوقت نفسه، سيتزايد الطلب على المياه وسط التحضر والتصنيع السريعين، مما قد يؤدي في نهاية المطاف إلى نقصٍ في المياه في عام 2025.

Blue nile river سد النهضة
نهر النيل الأزرق. (المصدر: Anup Agrawal, Flickr)

علاوةً على ذلك، يؤثر المناخ المتغير على موارد المياه والزراعة، ويساهم في انخفاض إمدادات المياه. وبسبب انخفاض هطول الأمطار وارتفاع درجة الحرارة وما يتبع ذلك من تبخرٍ أعلى، ستكون المياه المتبقية من النيل أقل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن ارتفاع مستوى منسوب مياه البحر الأبيض المتوسط يشكل خطراً على التربة الخصبة في مصر. إن تدفق مياه البحر المالحة من البحر الأبيض المتوسط إلى الداخل تؤدي إلى تملح الترية وبالتالي موت المحاصيل.

وعليه، تتمثل نقطة الخلاف الرئيسية في النزاع الحالي في السرعة التي سيتم بها ملء خزان السد، إذ تهدف إثيوبيا إلى ملئه بأسرع ما يمكن لتحقيق أقصى قدرممكن من توليد الطاقة الكهرومائية. في حين ترغب مصر في أن يتم ملء الخزان على مدى فتراتٍ زمنية أطول، كما تسعى للحصول على تطميناتٍ بأن إثيوبيا ستسمح بتدفق ما يكفي من المياه من الخزان للتخفيف من الجفاف في اتجاه مجرى النهر.

تعدّ ندرة المياه – سواء كانت حقيقية أو محتملة – أرضاً خصبة للصراع، خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بموارد المياه العابرة للحدود. ولعقود، حالت السياسات المائية دون التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ شامل حول كمية المياه التي يمكن أن تستخرجها كل من مصروإثيوبيا والسودان من النيل.

فقد عززت مصر، التي غالباً ما يتم تصويرها على أنها القوة المائية المهيمنة في المنطقة، موقعها المهيمن في حوض النيل من خلال الاستشهاد إلى حدٍ كبير باتفاقيات الحقبة الاستعمارية للأعوام 1902 و1929 و1959، إذ أن الاتفاقية الثنائية لعام 1959 بين مصر والسودان، على وجه الخصوص، تحابي مصر من خلال تخصيص 88% من مياه النيل لمصر وباقي الـ12% للسودان، في حين لم يتم تخصيص أي مياه لإثيوبيا – التي تعتبرمصدر غالبية المياه التي تصب في النيل.

من جهتها، تمتلك إثيوبيا إمكاناتٍ هائلة لتطوير الطاقة الكهرومائية لديها ولكنها كانت غير قادرة على تحدي مركز مصر المهيمن حتى منتصف التسعينيات بسبب عدم الاستقرار السياسي المحلي ونقص الموارد المالية والمعرفة. وبدلاً من ذلك، سلكت إثيوبيا طريق الدبلوماسية الدولية، ووضعت القضية على جدول أعمال المؤتمرات الدولية والإقليمية، كما حاولت التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ مع دول حوض النيل الأخرى، لكن مصر والسودان عرقلتا تلك المبادرات عدة مرات. أدت استراتيجية المنع هذه والموقف العام غير المتعاون إلى استياءٍ عام في إثيوبيا، ونتيجةً لذلك، قررت إثيوبيا تنفيذ مشاريع المياه من جانبٍ واحد.

السودان، من جانبه، عالقٌ في المنتصف، فعلى الرغم من انحيازه بدايةً إلى جانب مصر، إلا أنه غيّر ولاءه تجاه إثيوبيا بعد أن أدرك الرئيس السوداني السابق عمر البشير وحكومته المنافع المتبادلة للمشروع. وبمجرد البدء بملء خزان السد، سيتم تنظيم تدفق المياه، مما يقلل من الفيضانات الشديدة التي ابتلي بها السودان لعقود. ومع ذلك، على الرغم من الاعتراف بمنافع السد، إلا أن السودان قلقٌ بشأن قضايا السلامة المرتبطة بسد النهضة، إذ ينبع مصدر قلقه الرئيسي من الضرر المحتمل الذي يمكن أن يعاني منه السودان إذا فشل أو انهار سد النهضة، الواقع على بعد 40 ميلاً من الحدود مع السودان. لذلك، يسعى السودان إلى إبرام اتفاقٍ شامل بين الدول المشاطئة الثلاث.

يؤثر انعدام الثقة التاريخي على المفاوضات التي تتسم بخطاب الحرب والاتهامات المتبادلة، فقد طلبت مصر تدخل الأمم المتحدة، بينما تفضل إثيوبيا الوساطة الإقليمية من خلال الاتحاد الأفريقي، في ظل قيام الطرفان بالتهديد علانيةً باتخاذ خطواتٍ عسكرية من شأنها أن تؤدي في النهاية إلى صراعٍ مسلح.

يعدّ استمرار إثيوبيا في ملء خزان السد، بدعم مصر أو من دونه، أمراً محتوماً، بينما تبرز الحاجة إلى حلٍ سلمي لتفادي العمل العسكري، إذ ينبغي أن يتم ذلك دون أن تخسر مصر وإثيوبيا على حد سواء اعتبارهما أمام مؤيديهم. وفي حال لم يتم التوصل إلى أي اتفاق، سيتعرض أمن المنطقة للخطر.

Home / Water Politics in the Nile Basin: Potential Water Scarcity is Fuelling the Conflict Between Egypt and Ethiopia

Water Politics in the Nile Basin: Potential Water Scarcity is Fuelling the Conflict Between Egypt and Ethiopia

Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam GERD
Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam. (Source: Olof von Gawinski, Flickr)

Contributors

Author:  Jarno van der Wal, MA in Middle Eastern Studies, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Peer reviewer:  Fanackwater.

Ongoing disagreements over technical and legal issues concerning the construction of the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam (GERD) on the Blue Nile led to new talks being initiated between Egypt, Sudan and Ethiopia, after Ethiopia started to fill the dam’s reservoir in July 2020.

Egypt insists that filling the reservoir requires a legally binding agreement over the equitable allocation of the Nile’s waters to be in place. Ethiopia, meanwhile, argues that the GERD will not significantly affect the flow of water into the Nile and that the hydroelectric project will improve livelihoods in the region as a whole. Unsurprisingly, the talks stalled.

Ethiopia, an upstream riparian, announced its multi-billion-dollar dam project in 2011 amid the political turmoil of the Arab Spring in Egypt. Almost a decade later, negotiations have still not resulted in an agreement that would settle the outstanding issues surrounding the dam.

Built at a cost of $4.8 billion, funded mainly by domestic resources with financing from Chinese banks to acquire turbines and electrical equipment for the hydroelectric plants, the project is designed to generate 6,450 megawatts of power. Once operational, the GERD will generate sufficient hydropower to service the needs of Ethiopia’s entire population and make the country the energy hub of Africa.

Egypt, as a downstream riparian, sees the dam as a major threat to its water and food security. Some 95 per cent of all Egyptians live along the Nile, and the river is considered a lifeline for its citizens. Due to the expected population increase, climate change and the effects on the agricultural sector, concerns in Egypt are mounting. According to the UN, the population will increase by one million every six months. Meanwhile, the water demand is growing amid rapid urbanisation and industrialisation, which eventually could lead to water shortages in 2025.

Blue nile river GERD
Blue Nile River. Photo: Anup Agrawal / Flickr

Furthermore, the changing climate affects water resources and agriculture, and contributes to a declining water supply. Because of the decreasing precipitation, rising temperature and the subsequent higher evaporation, less water will remain from the Nile. In addition, the rising sea level of the Mediterranean Sea is a danger for the fertile soil in Egypt. The saline seawater from the Mediterranean that flows inwards, leads to salinisation and as a consequence crops are dying.

The main bone of contention in the current dispute is the speed at which the GERD’s reservoir will be filled. Ethiopia aims to fill it as fast as possible to maximize the generation of hydropower. Egypt wants it to be filled over a longer time frame and is seeking reassurances that Ethiopia will release enough water from the reservoir to mitigate a drought downstream.

Water scarcity – both real and potential – is a breeding ground for conflict, especially when it comes to transboundary water resources. Water politics have for decades prevented a comprehensive agreement from being reached over how much water Egypt, Ethiopia and Sudan may each extract from the Nile.

Egypt, which is often portrayed as the hydro-hegemon in the region, has solidified its hegemonic position in the Nile Basin by frequently citing the colonial-era agreements of 1902, 1929 and 1959. The 1959 bilateral agreement between Egypt and Sudan, in particular, favours Egypt by allocating 88 per cent of Nile waters to Egypt and the remaining 12 per cent to Sudan. Ethiopia – the source of the majority of water that flows into the Nile – was allocated nothing.

Ethiopia has enormous potential to develop its hydropower but was incapable of challenging Egypt’s hegemonic position until the mid-1990s because of domestic political instability and a lack of financial resources and knowledge. Instead, it took the route of international diplomacy, putting the issue on the agenda at international and regional conferences. It also tried to reach an agreement with the other Nile Basin states, but Egypt and Sudan blocked those initiatives several times. This blocking strategy and overall uncooperative stance led to resentment in Ethiopia and, as a consequence, Ethiopia decided to implement water projects unilaterally.

Sudan, for its part, is caught in the middle. Although it initially sided with Egypt, it shifted its allegiance towards Ethiopia after former Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir and his government understood the mutual benefits of the project. Once the GERD’s reservoir is filled, the flow of water will be regulated, reducing the extreme floods that have plagued Sudan for decades. Yet despite recognizing the benefits, Sudan is concerned about safety issues associated with the GERD. Its main concern is the potential harm that Sudan could suffer if the GERD, located 40 miles from the border with Sudan, were to fail or collapse. Therefore, Sudan wants a comprehensive agreement between the three riparian states

Historical mistrust is affecting the negotiations, which are characterised by war rhetoric and accusations back and forth. Egypt has asked for the United Nations to intervene, while Ethiopia prefers regional mediation through the African Union. Both parties have openly threatened military action that could ultimately lead to an armed conflict.

It is inevitable that Ethiopia will continue to fill the reservoir, with or without Egypt’s support, and a peaceful resolution is necessary to avert military action. This must be done without Egypt and Ethiopia losing face among their supporters. If no agreement is reached, the security of the region will be put at risk.