تبرع
مياه الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

إدارة المياه في تركيا

بحيرة فان، تركيا - إدارة المياه في تركيا
الصورة 1: الصورة 1: طيور النحام تطير على بحيرة فان. المصدر: Ozkan Bilgin / Anadolu Agency via AFP

طبقاً لأحكام المادة رقم (168) من دستور تركيا الصادر عام 1982، فإن “الثروة والموارد الطبيعية” تكون تحت سلطة الدولة وتصرفها، ويؤول الحق في التنقيب عنها واستغلالها إلى الدولة. وكنتيجة لذلك، هناك العديد من المنظمات التي تُعنى بشكلٍ مباشر بالمياه أو ذات صلة، بشكلٍ غير مباشر، في تطوير وحماية الموارد المائية في تركيا.

بشكلٍ رئيسي، يتم تمويل مشاريع الموارد المائية من قبل القطاع العام، ومع ذلك، لا تغطي الميزانيات المخصصة لهذه المشاريع، دوماَ، التكاليف بالكامل. وبسبب الاستثمارات الكبيرة المطلوبة لمثل هذه المشاريع، فقد اكتسبت مشاركة القطاع الخاص أهمية. فمنذ عام 1993، قد تم تحويل 1,75 مليون هكتار، أي ما يعادل 81% من المساحة الإجمالية التي تشغلها المديرية العامة للدولة للأشغال المائية، إلى المستخدمين، مثل المزارعين كأفراد أو تعاونيات المزارعين الذين يستخدمون المياه للري.[1]

في عام 2018، قد تحولت تركيا من نظامٍ برلماني إلى نظام رئاسي. وبعد ذلك، قد دُمجت عدة وزارات وأصبحت إدارة المياه من مسؤولية وزارة الزراعة والغابات. [2] تعدّ الوزارة المؤسسة الرئيسية المسؤولة عن وضع السياسات وتنفيذها في مجالات حماية الموارد المائية وتنميتها واستخدامها، وتشمل المسؤوليات الأساسية للوزارة ضمان تنسيق إدارة المياه، وإعداد خطط إدارة أحواض الأنهار، ووضع التدابير وتحديد الأهداف والمعايير البيئية لإدارة المياه وحمايتها، وكذلك تطوير استراتيجيات وسياسات لمخاطر الفيضانات من خلال خطط إدارة الفيضانات.

إن المديرية العامة للدولة للأشغال المائية (DSİ) هي وكالة الاستثمار الوطنية المسؤولة عن تنمية الموارد المائية على المستوى الوطني، فضلاً عن كونها هيئةً قانونية تابعة لوزارة الزراعة والغابات. يتم تخطيط وبناء المرافق الهيدروليكية واسعة النطاق (مثل السدود وخطوط النقل والري وهياكل التحكم في الفيضانات) من قبل المديرية العامة للدولة للأشغال المائية، ثم نقلها إلى المؤسسات المناسبة، مثل إدارات المياه والصرف الصحي واتحادات الري، للتشغيل والصيانة. كما أن المديرية العامة للدولة للأشغال المائية هي المسؤولة عن تطوير مشاريع الطاقة الكهرومائية وتنفيذ تدابير الوقاية من الفيضانات.

تُشرف وزارة البيئة والتخطيط العمراني والتغير المناخي على حماية البيئة وتعزيزها. وتضع هذه الوزارة مفاهيم وسياسات منع التلوث البيئي والوقاية منه، وتطوّر المعايير والمقاييس، وتُعدّ المبادرات المناسبة، كما تُنظم مفاوضات تغير المناخ وكذلك برامج التكيف والتخفيف من حدته.

يوفر بنك المحافظات (İlbank)، المرتبط بالوزارة المذكورة أعلاه، التمويل لاستثمارات الحكومة المحلية. فعلى سبيل المثال، قد أكمل بنك المحافظات تمويل مشاريع بقيمة 5,8 مليار ليرة تركية في قطاع البنية التحتية البلدية لـ 15 حكومة محلية باستخدام النموذج المختلط، الذي يجمع بين قرضٍ بقيمة 198 مليون يورو من البنك الدولي ووكالة التنمية الفرنسية مع منحة قدرها 355 مليون يورو من الاتحاد الأوروبي. سيعمل المشروع على تحسين وصول 3 ملايين شخص إلى المياه، وسيستفيد 4,5 مليون شخص من خدمات معالجة المياه المُحسَّنة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، سيتم تزويد 2,5 مليون شخص بخدمات محسنة لجمع النفايات الصلبة، وسيتم توفير 22 مليون متر مكعب من مياه الشرب كل عام من خلال تعزيز البنية التحتية بمشاريع صديقة للبيئة، كما سيتم معالجة 95 مليون متر مكعب من مياه الصرف الصحي.[3]

لحماية الصحة العامة وتحسينها، تتولى وزارة الصحة واجباتٍ محددة تتعلق بمياه الشرب وجودة مياه الاستحمام.

إن وزارة الطاقة والموارد الطبيعية هي المسؤولة عن حماية وتطوير مصادر الطاقة الحرارية الجوفية والمياه المعدنية الطبيعية، وكذلك تطوير مشاريع الطاقة المائية بالتعاون مع المديرية العامة للدولة للأشغال المائية.

تتبع وزارة الشؤون الخارجية جدول الأعمال العالمي فيما يتعلق بالمياه وتراقب وتشارك في العمليات المتعلقة بالمياه، وخاصة المياه العابرة للحدود. وتتولى إدارة المياه العابرة للحدود داخل الوزارة معالجة قضايا المياه العابرة للحدود.

تشرف وزارة الداخلية على الحكومات المحلية، والتي تتمتع أيضاً بسلطة التدقيق على الحكومات المحلية في حال التقصير. تقع مسؤولية إيصال المياه إلى المناطق الريفية غير الحضرية على عاتق الإدارات الإقليمية الخاصة المرتبطة بالوزارة. في حين تقود هيئة إدارة الكوارث والطوارئ، والتي تعتبر جزءاً من الوزارة، جهود الاستجابة للفيضانات وإدارتها بالشراكة مع المديرية العامة للدولة للأشغال المائية.

بالنظر إلى أن الطلب على المياه الصناعية يمثل 13% من إجمالي الاستهلاك، تلعب وزارة الصناعة والتكنولوجيا دوراً رئيسياً في إدارة المياه الصناعية ومياه الصرف الصحي. وتشمل مهامها تطوير وتعزيز إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، وتنفيذ الإجراءات ووضع آليات الحوافز، وتقييم “البصمات المائية” للقطاعات، والدراسات والخطط المتعلقة بالاستشعار عن بعد، وأجهزة الاستشعار والتطبيقات المعلوماتية لإجراء البحوث حول استخدام وفوائد وجوانب تطوير الاستشعار عن بعد. كما أن الوزارة مسؤولة أيضاً عن إصلاح عدادات المياه وصيانتها وتعديلها.

تشرف رئاسة الاستراتيجية والميزانية على إعداد برنامج الاستثمار القومي وتخصيص الموارد المالية من الميزانية المركزية. كما تقدم خطط التنمية والميزانيات، وكذلك المشاريع والخطط بما في ذلك الموارد المائية.

الإدارة على مستوى الحوض

فيما يتعلق بإدارة الأحواض، فإن الأسلوب الذي تم وضعه واعتماده في تركيا هو إدارة جميع الموارد الطبيعية على مستوى الحوض بطريقة متكاملة، من خلال التنسيق بين السلطات الأساسية ومشاركة أصحاب المصلحة. و كما ورد في قسم الموارد المائية، يوجد في تركيا 25 حوضاً هيدرولوجياً. وقد تم تنفيذ الإصلاحات الأخيرة لتحقيق إدارة موارد المياه على مستوى الأحواض.

الأحواض الهيدرولوجية الـ 25 في تركيا - إدارة المياه في تركيا
الخريطة (1): الأحواض الهيدرولوجية الـ 25 في تركيا. المصدر: Fanack Water

تتمثل إحدى مهام وزارة الزراعة والغابات، من خلال المديرية العامة لإدارة المياه، باعتبارها المؤسسة الرئيسية في هذا الصدد، في إجراء التنسيق اللازم لتخطيط وتنفيذ خطط إدارة أحواض الأنهار. [4] وقد أعدت المديرية العامة لإدارة المياه خطط عمل لحماية أحواض الأنهار وخطط إدارة أحواض الأنهار لكل حوض.[5]

ونظراً لموقعها الجغرافي في شرق البحر الأبيض المتوسط، قد تم تصنيف تركيا كدولة عالية المخاطر من حيث آثار تغير المناخ. وتتأثر مواسم الجفاف والفيضانات بالتغيرات في درجات الحرارة الموسمية وتوزيع هطول الأمطار. ونتيجة لذلك، فقد أعدت الإدارة العامة لإدارة المياه أيضاً خططاً لمخاطر الفيضانات والجفاف لجميع أحواض المياه.[6]

[1] Mediterranean Hydrological Cycle Observing System, n.d. Water resources development in Turkey.
[2] Turkish Water Institute (SUEN), 2021. Water governance in Turkey, p. 8-9.
[3] İlbank, 2021. ‘İlbank and local governments sub-finance agreement signed.’ Published 7 July 2021.
[4] Ministry of Forestry and Water Affairs, 2014. National Basin Management Strategy (2014-2023). Ankara, Turkey.
[5] General Directorate of Water Management, n.d. www.tarimorman.gov.tr/SYGM.
[6] Ibid.

Donate
Water of the Middle East and North Africa

Water Management in Turkey

Lake Van, Ozkan Bilgin - Water Management in Turkey
Photo 1: Flamingos fly on Lake Van. Source: Ozkan Bilgin/ Anadolu Agency via AFP

In accordance with Article 168 of the 1982 Constitution, ‘natural wealth and resources’ shall be placed under the control of and put at the disposal of the state. The right to explore and exploit natural resources belongs to the state. Consequently, many organizations are directly focused on water or indirectly related to the development and protection of water resources in Turkey.

Water resources projects are mainly financed by the public sector. However, the budgets allocated for these projects do not always fully cover the costs. Due to the substantial investment required for such projects, private sector participation has gained in importance. Since 1993, 1.75 million ha, which is equivalent to 81% of the total surface area operated by the DSİ, has been transferred to the users, such as individual farmers or farmer cooperatives who use the water for irrigation.[1]

In 2018, Turkey transitioned from a parliamentary to a presidential system. Subsequently, several ministries merged and water management became the responsibility of the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry.[2] The ministry is the principal institution for policy creation and implementation in the areas of water resources protection, development and use. The ministry’s primary responsibilities include ensuring water management coordination, preparing river basin management plans, developing measures and setting objectives and environmental standards for water management and protection, as well as developing strategies and policies for flood risks through flood management plans.

The State Hydraulic Works (DSİ) is the national investment agency responsible for the development of water resources at the national level. It is a legal body under the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry. Large-scale hydraulic facilities (such as dams, transmission lines, irrigation and flood control structures) are planned and built by the DSİ, then transferred to the appropriate organizations, such as water and sewerage administrations and irrigation unions, for operation and maintenance. The DSİ is also in charge of the development of hydropower projects and the implementation of flood-prevention measures.

The Ministry of Environment, Urbanization and Climate Change oversees environmental protection and enhancement. This ministry establishes environmental pollution prevention and protection concepts and policies, develops criteria and standards, and prepares appropriate initiatives. It also coordinates climate change negotiations as well as adaptation and mitigation programmes.

The Bank of Provinces (İlbank), which is associated with the above ministry, provides funding for local government investments. For instance, İlbank has completed the financing of 5.8 billion lira projects in the municipal infrastructure sector for 15 local governments using the blending model. This combines a 198 million euro loan from the World Bank and the French Development Agency with a 355 million euro grant from the EU. The project will improve 3 million people’s access to water, and 4.5 million people will benefit from improved water treatment services. In addition, 2.5 million people will be provided with improved solid waste services, and 22 MCM of drinking water will be saved every year by strengthening the infrastructure with environmentally friendly projects. There will be 95 MCM of wastewater processed.[3]

To safeguard and improve public health, the Ministry of Health has specific duties related to drinking water and bathing water quality.

The Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources is in charge of protecting and developing geothermal sources and natural mineral waters, as well as developing hydropower projects in collaboration with the DSİ.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs follows the global agenda regarding water and monitors and participates in processes related to water, especially transboundary waters. Transboundary waters are handled by the Transboundary Waters department within the ministry.

Local governments are overseen by the Ministry of Interior, which also has the authority to audit local governments regarding malpractice. Water delivery to non-metropolitan rural areas is the responsibility of Special Provincial Administrations linked to the ministry. The Disaster and Emergency Management Authority, which is part of the ministry, manages flood response in partnership with the DSİ.

Given that industrial water demand accounts for 13% of overall consumption, the Ministry of Industry and Technology plays a major role in industrial water and wastewater management. Its tasks include developing and promoting the reuse of treated wastewater, implementing actions and establishing incentive mechanisms, evaluating sectoral ‘water footprints’, studies and plans regarding remote sensing, sensors and informatics applications to conduct research on the use, benefits and development aspects of remote sensing. The ministry is also responsible for the repair, maintenance and adjustment of water meters.

The Presidency of Strategy and Budget oversees preparing the national investment programme and allocating financial resources from the central budget. It also provides development plans and budgets, as well as projects and plans including water resources.

Basin-wide management

In terms of basin management, the method established and adopted in Turkey is to manage all natural resources on a basin-wide basis in an integrated manner, through coordination of essential authorities and stakeholder participation. As displayed in the Water Resources section, Turkey has 25 hydrological basins. Recent reforms have been implemented to achieve basin-scale water resources management.

One of the mandates of the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, through the General Directorate (GD) of Water Management, as the principal institution in this regard, is to conduct the necessary coordination for the planning and implementation of river basin management plans.[4] The GD of Water Management has prepared river basin protection action plans and river basin management plans for every basin.[5]

Due to its geographical location in the eastern Mediterranean, Turkey has been classified as a high-risk country in terms of the effects of climate change. Drought and flood seasons are influenced by changes in seasonal temperature and precipitation distributions. Consequently, the GD of Water Management has also prepared flood and drought plans for all water basins.[6]

[1] Mediterranean Hydrological Cycle Observing System, n.d. Water resources development in Turkey.
[2] Turkish Water Institute (SUEN), 2021. Water governance in Turkey, p. 8-9.
[3] İlbank, 2021. ‘İlbank and local governments sub-finance agreement signed.’ Published 7 July 2021.
[4] Ministry of Forestry and Water Affairs, 2014. National Basin Management Strategy (2014-2023). Ankara, Turkey.
[5] General Directorate of Water Management, n.d. www.tarimorman.gov.tr/SYGM.
[6] Ibid.