تبرع
مياه الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

تحديات المياه في تركيا

قونية، تركيا - تحديات المياه في تركيا
الصورة 1: البط النافق على تربة بحيرة أكشهير المتصدعة بعد الجفاف الموسمي في قونية. المصدر: Abdullah Dogan _ Anadolu Agency via AFP

في تركيا، كما هو الحال في أماكن أخرى، فإن تزايد أعداد السكان، والتوسع الحضري، وتغير المناخ، والخسائر في شبكات توزيع المياه، وسوء الإدارة، وأساليب الري التقليدية، تؤثر سلباً على كمية وجودة وكفاءة استخدام الموارد المائية.

قد شهدت تركيا تحضراً سريعاً للغاية على مدى العقود الستة الماضية، فقد ارتفعت نسبة السكان في المناطق الحضرية من 25% في عام 1950 إلى ما يقرب من 93,2% اليوم. وخلال هذه الفترة، قد ازدادت الضغوط بسبب التحضر، لا سيما في المدن الثانوية ذات الاحتياجات الضخمة و للاستثمار وللبنية التحتية . ومع ذلك، فقد تمكنت تركيا حتى الآن من التعامل مع هذه الزيادة في الطلب. ففي عام 2020، قد تمت خدمة 98,7% من سكان البلديات (داخل المدن) و99,3% من سكان الريف، و98,8% من إجمالي السكان، من خلال شبكات مياه الشرب والمرافق العامة.[1]

يتأثر تواتر الجفاف في تركيا بشكلٍ كبير بالظروف الجوية والموقع الجغرافي والمتغيرات المناخية. ومن المتوقع أن ترتفع درجات الحرارة في أوروبا، بما في ذلك تركيا، بسرعة أكبر في سيناريوهات الاحترار المختلفة ما بين 1,5 درجة مئوية و2 درجة مئوية و4 درجات مئوية، وفقاً لتوقعات الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. ونتيجة لذلك، فمن المتوقع أن تتفاقم حالات الجفاف المائي والزراعي والبيئي في حوض البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

قد كان تأثير الجفاف على تركيا واضحاً في تقارير حالة الجفاف التي قدمتها خدمة الأرصاد الجوية الحكومية في يوليو 2021، فقد بات انتشار المناطق “القاحلة بشكل غير اعتيادي” و “القاحلة بشدة” جدير بالملاحظة بشكل خاص في تقييم الجفاف لفترة 12 شهراً بين أكتوبر 2020 وسبتمبر 2021.[2]

قد تم تصميم المؤشر المعياري للهطول (SPI) لتحديد كمية النقص في الهطول المطري على نطاقات زمنية متعددة، وتعكس هذه النطاقات الزمنية تأثير الجفاف على توافر الموارد المائية المختلفة، ذلك أن أحوال رطوبة التربة تستجيب للاختلافات في كمية الهطول على نطاق زمني قصير نسبياً. وتعكس المياه الجوفية وتدفق مجاري المياه ومستودعات التخزين بالمياه المخزونة فيها الاختلافات في الهطول المطري في الأجل الأطول. ولهذه الأسباب، فإن McKee وآخرون (1993) قد حسبوا في البداية المؤشر المعياري للهطول على نطاقاتٍ زمنية تبلغ 3 أشهر، و6 أشهر، و12 شهراً، و24 شهراً، و48 شهراً. [3] وتوضح الخريطة (1) اثنا عشر شهراً من موجات الجفاف بفعل العوامل الجوية في تركيا باستخدام المؤشر المعياري للهطول.

الجفاف تركيا - تحديات المياه في تركيا
الخريطة (1): اثنا عشر شهراً من موجات الجفاف بفعل العوامل الجوية وفقاً للمؤشر المعياري للهطول. المصدر: Fanack Water

الاستهلاك غير الفعّال للمياه وإدارته

في تركيا، تُستخدم 73% من موارد المياه للري، وما تزال أساليب الري التقليدية القاعدة الأساسية في معظم الأراضي الزراعية، مما يؤدي إلى فقدان كميات كبيرة من المياه. [4] كما يلوث استخدام المياه الزراعية موارد المياه السطحية والجوفية حيث قد تأخذ الملوثات المائية شكل الرواسب، ومُغذيات النبات، والأملاح الذائبة، والمواد الكيميائية الزراعية، والعناصر السامة والجراثيم. كما يمكن أن تشكل المواد الكيميائية المُضافة إلى مياه الري، والأسمدة، والمبيدات الحشرية، تهديداً لحصول التلوث.

ونتيجةً لذلك، فمن الأهمية بمكان استخدام المياه بكفاءة وفعالية. ويتم إجراء دراسات لتقييم إمكانات الموارد المائية واستخدام المياه لأغراض متعددة من خلال إنشاء مرافق التخزين. كما تُبذل جهود حثيثة لتنفيذ برامج جديدة للحيلولة دون حصول أي فاقد مائي في أنظمة الري الحالية، والقضاء على تحديات الصرف التي تؤثر على جودة التربة وتعزيز استخدام أنظمة الري المغلقة الحديثة بدلاً من شبكات الري التقليدية المفتوحة.

كما يُمثل الاستهلاك غير المقيد لموارد المياه الجوفية في المناطق ذات المياه السطحية غير الكافية (الأنهار والبحيرات) تحدياً آخر. وعلى الرغم من فرض لوائح قانونية على حفر الآبار، إلا أنه من غير المرجح أن يتوقف استخدام الآبار غير المرخصة لاستخراج المياه الجوفية ما لم تتحسن العقوبات وعمليات التفتيش، إذ تخضع موارد المياه الجوفية للاستهلاك الكثيف للأغراض الزراعية. وبسبب الاستغلال المفرط، فإن معظم موارد المياه الجوفية مهددة بالنضوب. [4]

وعلاوةً على ذلك، يمثل نقص هطول الأمطار والاستهلاك غير المُقيد للمياه الجوفية لأغراض الري تهديداً مماثلاً لموارد المياه السطحية. فقد جفت بحيرة مكة في قونية وبحيرة سيفي بولاية كيرشهير، على سبيل المثال، تماماً. ووفقاً للمديرية العامة للدولة للأشغال المائية، فقد مُسحت 14 بحيرة، حتى الآن، عن الخارطة وهي: بحيرة قيصرية ياي، وبحيرة تشول، وبحيرة انجير، وبحيرة هاتاي أميك، وبحيرة اكشهر‎ قونية، وبحيرة أبير، وبحيرة أجكول، وبحيرة هوتامش ويوناك، وبحيرة سيماوف في كوتاهيا، وبحيرة جولجوك في إزمير، وبحيرة إيجيه في كاناكالي، وبحيرة سيرا في طرابزون، وبحيرة أفلان في أنطاليا. بينما تمت حماية مستنقعات سلطان، والتي تعدّ أحد مواقع رامسار (اتفاقية الأراضي الرطبة ذات الأهمية)، وبحيرة مانياس وذلك بفضل التدابير الوقائية التي اتخذتها وزارة الزراعة والغابات.[4]

الشكل 1: أكبر 10 دول من حيث قدرة الطاقة الكهرومائية المركبة الجديدة في عام 2020 (ميجاوات) – (المصدر: الرابطة الدولية للطاقة الكهرمائية, 2021)[6]

الاعتماد على المياه لإنتاج الطاقة

في عام 2021، قد شكلت الطاقة الكهرومائية 32% من إجمالي قدرة توليد الكهرباء في تركيا، في حين أن نسبتها من إجمالي القدرة المركبة لاستخدام الطاقة المتجددة تبلغ 60%.[5]

وبين عامي 2016 و2020، قد بلغ متوسط النمو السنوي لتركيا في الطاقة الكهرومائية المركبة 1,8%. وفي عام 2020، قد سجلت تركيا ثاني أعلى معدل نمو في السعة المركبة في العالم بـ 2,5 جيجاوات، وذلك بعد الصين بمعدل بلغ 13,8 جيجاوات. [6]

وقد زادت قدرة الطاقة المتجددة في تركيا بنسبة 50% في السنوات الخمس الماضية، حيث قد حصلت البلاد على خامس أكبر قدر من إضافات الطاقة المتجددة الجديدة في أوروبا في عام 2019 والمرتبة الخامسة عشر على مستوى العالم. ومع ذلك، فإن تركيا تستخدم فقط حوالي 3% من إمكاناتها الشمسية و15% من طاقة الرياح البرية.[7]

الجفاف

بحسب نتائج تقييم الجفاف الذي أعدته المديرية العامة للأرصاد الجوية التابعة لوزارة البيئة والتخطيط العمراني والتغير المناخي لفترات 3 و6 و9 و12 شهراً، فقد كان عام 2021 العام الأكثر جفافاً في العشرين سنة الماضية وثاني الأعوام الأكثر جفافاً خلال 41 عاماً. ولسنوات عديدة، قد كان متوسط هطول الأمطار في السنة المائية/ الزراعية في تركيا 574 ملم، بينما بلغ في عام 2021، 465,5 ملم. [8]

[1] TÜİK (Turkish Statistical Institute), 2021. Water and wastewater statistics.
[2] Ministry of Environment, Urbanization and Climate Change, 2022. Meteorological drought according to Standardized Precipitation Index (SPI) method 3-month evaluation.
[3] WMO (World Meteorological Organization), 2012. Standardized Precipitation Index user guide. WMO No. 1090, p.10.
[4] DSİ (Devlet Su İşleri), 2022. www.dsi.gov.tr.
[5] AA, 2021. ‘Turkey is among the top 10 countries in the world in hydroelectric installed power.’ Published 1 September 2021.
[6] IHA, 2021. Hydropower Status Report – Sector trends and insights.
[7] IEA, 2021. ‘Turkey’s success in renewables is helping diversify its energy mix and increase its energy security.’ Press release published 11 March 2021.
[8] Iklim Haber, 2021. ‘Turkey’s drought map has been made: Eastern and South-eastern Anatolia region sounds alarm.’ Published 20 December 2021.

Donate
Water of the Middle East and North Africa

Water Challenges in Turkey

Konya, Turkey - Water Challenges in Turkey
Photo 1: Dead ducks lie on the cracked soil of Lake Aksehir after seasonal drought in Konya. Source: Abdullah Dogan _ Anadolu Agency via AFP

In Turkey, as elsewhere, a growing population, urbanization, climate change, losses in water distribution networks, mismanagement and traditional irrigation methods are negatively impacting the quantity, quality and efficient use of water resources.

Turkey has experienced very rapid urbanization over the last six decades. The urban share of the population has risen from 25% in 1950 to nearly 93.2% today. Over this period, the pressures of urbanization have increased, particularly in secondary cities with massive infrastructure and investment needs. Nevertheless, thus far Turkey is managing to cope with this increase in demand. In 2020, 98.7% of the municipal (urban) population and 99.3% of the rural population, 98.8% of the total population, were served by drinking and utility water networks.[1]

Drought frequency in Turkey is significantly influenced by atmospheric conditions, geographical location and climatic variables. Temperatures in Europe, including Turkey, are predicted to rise more rapidly in different warming scenarios of 1.5°C, 2°C and 4°C, according to projections by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. As a result, hydrological, agricultural and ecological droughts in the Mediterranean basin are expected to intensify.

The impact of drought on Turkey was clearly visible in the drought status reports provided by the State Meteorological Service in July 2021. The prevalence of ‘extraordinarily arid’ and ‘severely arid’ regions is especially noteworthy in the drought assessment for the 12-month period between October 2020 and September 2021.[2]

The Standardized Precipitation Index (SPI) was designed to quantify the precipitation deficit for multiple timescales. These timescales reflect the impact of drought on the availability of different water resources. Soil moisture conditions respond to precipitation anomalies on a relatively short scale. Groundwater, streamflow and reservoir storage reflect the longer-term precipitation anomalies. For these reasons, McKee and others (1993) originally calculated the SPI for timescales of 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 months.[3] Twelve months of meteorological drought in Turkey using the SPI method is shown in Map 1.

drought in Turkey - Water Challenges in Turkey
Map 1: Twelve months of meteorological drought, according to the Standardized Precipitation Index method. Source: Fanack Water

Inefficient water use and management

In Turkey, 73% of the water resources are used for irrigation. Conventional irrigation methods are still the norm on most agricultural lands, leading to a great deal of water loss.[4] Agricultural water use also pollutes surface and groundwater resources. Water pollutants can take the form of sediment, plant nutrition, soluble salts, agricultural chemicals, toxic elements and pathogens. Chemicals delivered with the irrigation water, fertilizers and pesticides also pose a pollution threat.

As a result, it is critical to use water efficiently and effectively. Studies are being conducted to assess the potential of water resources and to use water for multiple purposes by constructing storage facilities. Efforts are also underway to bring renewal projects to the forefront in order to prevent water losses in existing irrigation systems, to eliminate drainage challenges that influence soil quality and to promote the use of modern closed irrigation systems instead of traditional open irrigation networks.

Uncontrolled use of groundwater resources in the regions with insufficient surface water (rivers and lakes) represents another challenge. Despite the legal regulations on wells, the use of illegal wells for groundwater extraction is unlikely to stop unless sanctions and inspections improve. Groundwater resources are subject to intense use for agricultural purposes. Due to overextraction, most of the groundwater resources are threatened with extinction.[4]

Insufficient precipitation and the uncontrolled use of groundwater for irrigation is posing a similar threat to surface water resources. Meke Lake in Konya and Seyfe Lake in Kırşehir, for instance, have nearly dried up. According to the DSİ, 14 lakes have so far been wiped off the map. They are Kayseri Yay, Çöl, Lake Engir, Hatay Amik, Konya Akşehir, Eber, Akgöl, Lake Hotamış and Yunak, Lake Simav in Kütahya, Lake Gölcük in İzmir, Lake Ece in Çanakkale, Lake Sera in Trabzon and Lake Avlan in Antalya. Activities to rehabilitate and conserve the lakes that are at risk of drying out are carried out by the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry.[4]

Dependence on water for energy production

In 2021, hydroelectricity accounted for 32% of Turkey’s total electricity generation capacity, while it has a 60% share of renewable energy installed power.[5]

Between 2016 and 2020, Turkey’s annual average growth in hydropower installed capacity was 1.8%. In 2020, Turkey had the second highest growth in installed capacity in the world with 2.5 gigawatts (GW), behind China with 13.8 GW.[6]

Turkey’s renewable energy capacity has increased by 50% in the last five years. The country had the fifth highest amount of new renewable capacity additions in Europe in 2019 and the 15th highest globally. Even so, Turkey only uses about 3% of its solar potential and 15% of its onshore wind potential.[7]

Figure 1: Top 10 countries by new installed hydropower capacity in 2020 (MW) – (Source: International Hydropower Association, 2021)[6]

Drought

According to the results of the drought assessment prepared by the General Directorate of Meteorology under the Ministry of Environment, Urbanization and Climate Change for periods of 3, 6, 9 and 12 months, 2021 was the driest year in the last 20 years and the second driest year in 41 years. For many years, Turkey’s average water/agricultural year precipitation was 574 mm. In 2021, it was 465.5 mm.[8]

[1] TÜİK (Turkish Statistical Institute), 2021. Water and wastewater statistics.
[2] Ministry of Environment, Urbanization and Climate Change, 2022. Meteorological drought according to Standardized Precipitation Index (SPI) method 3-month evaluation.
[3] WMO (World Meteorological Organization), 2012. Standardized Precipitation Index user guide. WMO No. 1090, p.10.
[4] DSİ (Devlet Su İşleri), 2022. www.dsi.gov.tr.
[5] AA, 2021. ‘Turkey is among the top 10 countries in the world in hydroelectric installed power.’ Published 1 September 2021.
[6] IHA, 2021. Hydropower Status Report – Sector trends and insights.
[7] IEA, 2021. ‘Turkey’s success in renewables is helping diversify its energy mix and increase its energy security.’ Press release published 11 March 2021.
[8] Iklim Haber, 2021. ‘Turkey’s drought map has been made: Eastern and South-eastern Anatolia region sounds alarm.’ Published 20 December 2021.