الصفحة الرئيسية / تركيا / ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في تركيا؟

ما الذي يحمله المستقبل للمياه في تركيا؟ 

المياه في تركيا

مما يُثير القلق أن الجفاف الجوي في تركيا قد يؤدي إلى جفاف مائي وسيواصل تأثيره على الموارد المائية في السنوات المُقبلة. كما أنّ الموارد المائية هي أول من سيعاني من تغير المناخ. ومن المتوقع أن ترتفع درجة الحرارة من 2,5 إلى 3,5 درجة مئوية بينما سينخفض هطول الأمطار بنسبة 25-35% في أرجاء تركيا قبل عام 2100.[1] هذا التغيير ربما سيكون له تأثير سلبي أيضاً على الموازنة المائية في تركيا وزيادة الإجهاد المائي في البلاد.

لا بد من اتخاذ خطوات فورية لمنع النقص المحتمل في المياه. وبالتالي، يجب التركيز على الإدارة الموجهة نحو الطلب بدلاً من الإدارة الموجهة نحو العرض. تضمن الإدارة الموجهة نحو الطلب الاستخدام الفعّال للموارد المائية عن طريق الحد من الطلب وتقديم الحوافز المؤسسية والاقتصادية والإدارية لتوفير المياه. ومن الضروري أن تكون إدارة الموارد المائية مرنة وفعّالة بما فيه الكفاية للتكيف مع تغير الظروف المناخية، وفترات الجفاف وأنماط الهطول الجديدة.

ففي تركيا، تتم خسارة حوالي 50% من المياه في شبكة مياه البلدية عند نقل المياه من المصدر إلى المنازل. ينبغي إصلاح شبكة قنوات المياه التالفة والقديمة أو استبدالها للحد من هذه الخسارة. وبما أنّ الجفاف بات يُشكل ضغوطاتٍ إضافية على ارتفاع احتياجات المياه في المناطق الحضرية، قد تُصبح مشكلة تلبية الطلب على الماء مشكلة حرجة. وعندما تثبت السدود التي شُيّدت لتوفير مياه الشرب أنها غير كافية، يتم نقل المياه من مختلف الأحواض إلى مدن مثل اسطنبول وأنقرة. وخلال عمليات النقل بين الأحواض، يُعتبر حساب الحاجة المائية للحوض المانح أحد أهم المعايير. وبالمثل، فمن الضروري من أجل استدامة مشاريع نقل المياه بين الأحواض، أن يتم دمجها مع السياسات البيئية والزراعية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية.[2]

تُستخدم المياه الجوفية بشكل رئيسي في الري الزراعي. وينبغي تشجيع التقنيات الموفرة للمياه مثل الرش والري بالتنقيط لزيادة الكفاءة، إذا أن معدل خسارة المياه في الري السطحي التقليدي أعلى بكثير من التقنيات الأخرى. وفي السنوات الأخيرة، تم منح المزارعين حوافز ووسائل مختلفة لتبني تقنيات الري الموفرة للمياه. تعتبر هذه خطوة كبيرة، إلا أن التنفيذ الفعال لهذه التقنيات يتطلب أيضاً المراقبة والتقييم.

الموارد المائية غير التقليدية مثل تجميع مياه الأمطار وإعادة استخدام المياه العادمة باتت تكتسب أهمية أيضاً. ليس هناك شك في أن العامل الرئيسي في منع خسارة المياه وضمان كفاءة استخدام المياه، هم مستخدمو المياه أنفسهم. إن رفع مستوى الوعي بشأن محدودية الموارد المائية في تركيا وتشجيع كل شخص وسكان المنازل على القيام بدورهم في توفير المياه هو المفتاح لتأمين مستقبل المياه في تركيا، إذ يمكن أن يتحقق رفع مستوى الوعي من خلال تبادل المعرفة والمشاريع التثقيفية التي تقوم بها المنظمات الخاصة أو الحكومية، ووسائل الإعلام والمدارس.

اتخذت تركيا خطوات غاية في الأهمية فيما يتعلق بإدارة وسياسات المياه في السنوات الأخيرة، حيث أنشئت وزارة الغابات وشؤون المياه في عام 2011.إنّ المديرية العامة لإدارة المياه، التي تندرج في إطار الوزارة، مسؤولة عن وضع السياسات لضمان الاستخدام الأفضل للموارد المائية، فضلاً عن وضع سياسة وطنية ودولية لإدارة المياه؛ وقد أنشئت هذه المديرية العامة لجمع هيئات إدارة المياه المُجزأة تحت سقف واحد. وباعتبار تركيا مرشحة لعضوية الاتحاد الأوروبي، طُلب من تركيا دمج الإطار التوجيهي للمياه في الاتحاد الأوروبي مع سياساتها وتشريعاتها المتعلقة بالمياه منذ عام 2009. و كجزء من عملية المواءمة مع هذا التوجيه، تقوم المديرية العامة بتنفيذ مشروع تنمية القدرات لإنشاء نظام فعّال لمراقبة المياه، وإعداد خطة العمل لحماية الحوض النهري، وتحديد شروط محددة لبناء القدرات لتنفيذ التوجيهات الأوروبية ذات الصلة بالفيضانات.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، وضع مُقترح لإعداد قانون جديد للمياه على جدول الأعمال. وبما أن قانون المياه (1926) غير قادر على تلبية الاحتياجات الحالية، يعتبر سن قانون جديد أمراً أساسياً لمعالجة الصراع بين السُلطة والمسؤولية، والثغرات في التشريعات المتعلقة بالمياه، والنمو السكاني المتزايد، والتحضر، وتقييم المياه- ليس فقط فيما يتعلق بالكمية، بل أيضاً من حيث الجودة. واعتباراً من عام 2016، تمت صياغة القانون الجديد وعرضه للمناقشة والتنقيح. وقبل عرضه على البرلمان، يتمثل الهدف من ذلك في مواصلة تعزيز تنفيذ الإطار التوجيهي للمياه في الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى جانب تلبية الاحتياجات المحلية في تركيا.


[1]Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change,2008, Climate Change 2007 Synthesis Repor, Sweden, p. 46-47

[2] WWF, Türkiye’nin Su Riskleri Raporu, 2014, WWF-Türkiye, p.15

Home / Turkey / What Does the Future Hold for Water in Turkey?

What does the future hold for water in Turkey?

 Water in Turkey

It is worrying that the meteorological drought in Turkey might lead to hydrological drought and will continue to affect water resources in the coming years. Water resources are also the first to suffer from climate change. It is expected that the temperature will rise by 2.5-3.5 degrees Celsius and precipitation will decrease at a rate of 25-35% across Turkey before 2100.[1] This change will probably also have a negative impact on Turkey’s water budget and increase the country’s water stress.

It is essential to take immediate steps to prevent potential water shortages. Thus, demand-oriented rather than supply-oriented management should be the focus. Demand-oriented management ensures the efficient use of water resources by limiting demand and introducing institutional, economic and administrative incentives to save water. It is essential for water resource management to be flexible and effective enough to adapt to changing climate conditions, dry spells and new precipitation patterns.

In Turkey, some 50% of water in municipal water systems is lost when conveying water from resource to households. Old and damaged water mains should be repaired or replaced to minimize this loss. With drought putting additional pressure on rising urban water needs, the problem of meeting the water demand could become critical. When the dams that were constructed to provide drinking water prove insufficient, water is conveyed from various basins to cities such as Istanbul and Ankara. During the inter-basin transfers, calculating the water need of the donor basin must be one of the most important criteria. Equally, it is essential for the sustainability of inter-basin water transfer projects to be integrated with environmental, agricultural, social and economic policies.[2]

Groundwater is mainly used in agricultural irrigation. Water-saving techniques such as sprinkle and drip irrigation should be encouraged to increase efficiency. Water losses are far higher in conventional surface irrigation. In recent years, farmers have been given various incentives and means to adopt water-saving irrigation techniques. This is a major step, however the effective implementation of such techniques also requires monitoring and evaluation.

Non-conventional water resources such as rainwater harvesting and wastewater reuse are also gaining importance. There is no doubt that a key factor in preventing water losses and ensuring water efficiency are water users themselves. Raising awareness of Turkey’s limited water resources and encouraging each person and household to play their part in saving water is key to securing Turkey’s water future. Raising awareness can be achieved through knowledge sharing and educational projects carried out by private or governmental organizations, the media and schools.

Turkey has taken important water management and policy steps in recent years. The Ministry of Forestry and Water Affairs was established in 2011. The General Directorate of Water Management, which falls under the ministry, is responsible for creating policies to better utilize water resources as well as developing a national and international water management policy. This General Directorate was established to gather the fragmented water management structure under a single roof. As a candidate for European Union (EU) membership, Turkey has been required to integrate the EU Water Framework Directive into its water-related policies and legislation since 2009. As part of the process of harmonization with this directive, the General Directorate has been carrying out a capacity development project to establish an effective monitoring system for water quality, preparing River Basin Protection Action Plans, and determining specific provisions for capacity building to implement the EU Flood Directive.

More recently, a proposal to prepare a new water law was tabled. As the Law on Water (1926) is unable to meet existing needs, a new law is deemed necessary to address the conflict between authority and responsibility, the gaps in water-related legislation, the growing population, urbanization and the assessment of water not only in terms of quantity but also in terms of quality. As of 2016, the new law had been drafted and opened up for review and discussion. Before its presentation to parliament, the aim is to further reinforce the implementation of the EU Water Framework Directive while meeting Turkey’s domestic needs.


[1]Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change,2008, Climate Change 2007 Synthesis Repor, Sweden, p. 46-47

[2] WWF, Türkiye’nin Su Riskleri Raporu, 2014, WWF-Türkiye, p.15