الصفحة الرئيسية / تركيا / تحديات المياه في تركيا

تحديات المياه في تركيا

water challenges in Turkey drought

في تركيا، كما هو الحال في أماكن أخرى، يؤثر تزايد أعداد السكان، والتوسع الحضري، وتغير المناخ، والخسائر في شبكات توزيع المياه، وسوء الإدارة، وأساليب الري غير الملائمة، سلباً على كمية ونوعية وكفاءة استخدام الموارد المائية.

استخدام المياه غير الفعّال والإدارة

في تركيا، تُستخدم 73% من موارد المياه للري، ولا تزال أساليب الري التقليدية القاعدة الأساسية في معظم الأراضي الزراعية، مما يؤدي إلى فقدان كميات كبيرة من المياه. كما يلوث استخدام المياه في الزراعة موارد المياه السطحية والجوفية. قد تأخذ الملوثات المائية شكل الرواسب، ومُغذيات النبات، والأملاح الذائبة، والمواد الكيميائية الزراعية، والعناصر السامة والجراثيم. كما يمكن أن تشكل المواد الكيميائية المُضافة إلى مياه الري، والأسمدة، والمبيدات الحشرية، تهديداً لحصول التلوث.

كما يُمثل الاستهلاك غير المقيد لموارد المياه الجوفية في المناطق ذات المياه السطحية غير الكافية (الأنهار والبحيرات) تحدياً آخر. وعلى الرغم من فرض لوائح قانونية على حفر الآبار، إلا أنه من غير المرجح أن يتوقف استخدام الآبار غير المرخصة لاستخراج المياه الجوفية ما لم تتحسن العقوبات وعمليات التفتيش، إذ تخضع موارد المياه الجوفية للاستهلاك الكثيف للأغراض الزراعية. وبسبب الاستغلال المفرط، فإن معظم موارد المياه الجوفية مهددة بالانقراض.

كما يمثل نقص هطول الأمطار والاستهلاك غير المُقيد للمياه الجوفية لأغراض الري تهديداً مماثلاً لموارد المياه السطحية. قد جفت بحيرة مكا في قونية، وبحيرة سيفي بولاية كيرشهير،على سبيل المثال، تماماً. ووفقاً للمديرية العامة للدولة للأشغال المائية، مُسحت 14 بحيرة، حتى الآن، عن الخارطة وهي: بحيرة قيصرية ياي، وبحيرة تشول، وبحيرة انجير، وبحيرة هاتاي أميك، وبحيرة اكشهر‎ قونية، وبحيرة أبير، وبحيرة أجكول، وبحيرة هوتامش ويوناك، وبحيرة سيماوف في كوتاهيا، وبحيرة جولجوك  في إزمير، وبحيرة إيجيه في كاناكالي، وبحيرة سيرا في طرابزون، وبحيرة أفلان في أنطاليا. بينما تمت حماية مستنقعات سلطان، التي تعدّ أحد مواقع رامسار (اتفاقية الأراضي الرطبة ذات الأهمية)، وبحيرة مانياس وذلك بفضل التدابير الوقائية التي اتخذتها وزارة الغابات ووشؤون المياه.

الاعتماد على المياه لإنتاج الطاقة

تحصل تركيا على نحو 22% من احتياجاتها من الكهرباء من الطاقة المائية. إنّ أهم ميزة لمحطات توليد الطاقة الكهرومائية، وأحد أسباب تفضيلها على البدائل الأخرى مثل الطاقة الحرارية أو النووية، هو أنها يمكن أن تستجيب لتغير الطلب على الطاقة. وذلك أنها تحتاج فقط من 3 إلى 5 دقائق لتنقل الوحدة من بدء التشغيل على البارد إلى الحمولة الكاملة وخفض توليد الطاقة مرة أخرى عندما يكون هناك فائض.

الجفاف

Bandirma II محطة بانريما 2 لتوليد الغاز الطبيعي باستخدام الدورة المركبة
محطة بانريما 2 لتوليد الغاز الطبيعي باستخدام الدورة المركبة (الصورة: courtesy of Enerjisa)

في عام 2014، عانت تركيا من أكثر الأعوام جفافاً منذ عام 1961.[1] شكل الجفاف تحدياتٍ بالنسبة لإمدادات المياه في البلاد، سيما في المناطق الحضرية، وأثر بشكلٍ مباشر على القطاع الزراعي. كما أدى انخفاض منسوب المياه في خزانات السدود إلى مشاكل في توليد الطاقة الكهرومائية. حتى أن الوقت الذي قد يستغرقه الأمر لعودة هذه الخزانات إلى قدرتها الاستيعابية السابقة، قد يمنع بعض محطات الطاقة الكهرومائية من توليد الطاقة.

Home / Turkey / Water Challenges of Turkey

Water Challenges of Turkey

water challenges in Turkey drought

In Turkey, as elsewhere, a growing population, urbanization, climate change, losses in water distribution networks, mismanagement and inappropriate irrigation methods are negatively impacting the quantity, quality and efficient use of water resources.

Inefficient water use and management

In Turkey, 73% of the water resources is used for irrigation, and conventional irrigation methods are still the norm on most agricultural lands, leading to a great deal of water loss. Agricultural water use also pollutes surface and groundwater resources. Water pollutants can take the form of sediment, plant nutrition, soluble salts, agricultural chemicals, toxic elements and pathogens. Chemicals delivered with the irrigation water, fertilizers and pesticides can also pose a pollution threat.

Uncontrolled use of groundwater resources in the regions with insufficient surface water (rivers and lakes) represents another challenge. Despite the legal regulations on wells, the use of illegal wells for groundwater extraction is unlikely to stop unless sanctions and inspections improve. Groundwater resources are subject to intense use for agricultural purposes. Because of overextraction, most of the groundwater resources are threatened with extinction.

Insufficient precipitation and the uncontrolled use of groundwater for irrigation is posing a similar threat to surface water resources. Meke Lake in Konya and Seyfe Lake in Kırşehir, for instance, have completely dried up. According to DSİ, 14 lakes have so far been wiped off the map: Kayseri Yay, Çöl, Lake Engir, Hatay Amik, Konya Akşehir, Eber, Akgöl, Lake Hotamış and Yunak, Lake Simav in Kütahya, Lake Gölcük in İzmir, Lake Ece in Çanakkale, Lake Sera in Trabzon and Lake Avlan in Antalya. The Sultan Marshes, which is a Ramsar Site (significant wetland), and Lake Manyas were protected thanks to precautions taken by the Ministry of Forestry and Water Affairs.

Dependence on water for energy production

Turkey gets some 22% of its electricity from hydropower. The most important advantage of hydroelectric power plants, and one of the reasons why they are preferred over alternatives such as thermal and nuclear, is that they can respond to changing energy demands. It takes just three to five minutes to bring a unit from cold start-up to full load and to decrease power generation again when there is a surplus.

Drought

In 2014, Turkey endured the driest year since 1961.[1] The drought posed challenges for the country’s water supply, particularly in metropolitan areas, and directly affected the agricultural sector. The decline in the water levels of dam reservoirs has also caused problems for hydroelectric power generation. The time it takes for these reservoirs to reach their former capacities may even prevent some hydroelectric power plants from generating power.

Bandirma II: combined cycle power plant.(Photo: courtesy of Enerjisa)