الصفحة الرئيسية / تركيا / توافر واستهلاك موارد المياه في تركيا

توافر واستهلاك موارد المياه في تركيا

توافر واستهلاك موارد المياه في تركيا

(كمية المياه (بليون م3
حجم المياه الكلي501
المستثناه من الموازنة المائيةكمية المياه المتبخرة في الغلاف الجوي-274
كمية المياه الممزوجة مع المياه الجوفية-69
المياه المعادة الى الموازنة المائيةكمية المياه من الدول المجاورة+7
كمية المياه التي تخرج الى السطح من المياه الجوفية عبر الينابيع+28
المياه الجوفيه+41
اجمالي امكانيات المياه المتجددة 234 (192+41)
امكانيات المياه الصالحة للاستخدام 110

جدول (1). إجمالي إمكانيات المياه في تركيا. [2]

العام20122023
الري36 مليار متر مكعب72 مليار متر مكعب
الأغراض المنزلية7 مليار متر مكعب18 مليار متر مكعب
القطاع الصناعي7 مليار متر مكعب22 مليار متر مكعب
المجموع50 مليار متر مكعب112 مليار متر مكعب

الجدول (2). توزيع استهلاك المياه.

يبلغ متوسط هطول الأمطار السنوي في تركيا 643 ملم، والذي يعادل 501 مليار متر مكعب من الماء. ويتبخرمن هذا 274 مليار متر مكب و69 مليار متر مكعب يتسرب إلى طبقات المياه الجوفية، وبالتالي تتم خسارته من الموازنة المائية. من إجمالي الكمية، يختلط 158 مليار متر مكعب بالأنهر والبحيرات كمياه سطحية. في حين يأتي 7 مليار متر مكعب من الدول المجاورة، كما يتم سحب/ضخ 41 مليار متر مكعب من المياه الجوفية للمساهمة في المياه السطحية، ويتم تضمين هذه الكمية في الموازنة المائية. يبلغ إجمالي الإمكانيات المائية في تركيا 234 مليار متر مكعب، ولكن نظراً للقيود التقنية والاقتصادية للبلاد، يتم حساب الإمكانيات المائية السنوية القابلة للاستغلال بأقل من نصف هذا، أي 110 مليار متر مكعب. ووفقاً لخطة وزارة التنمية لعام 2014، تستخدم تركيا في الوقت الحالي 39% من امكانياتها المائية القابلة للاستغلال.[1]

يحظى الري بغالبية- 73%- استهلاك المياه. بالإضافة إلى 16% تستهلك كمياه للشرب و11% للصناعة. وكما هو موضح في الجدول رقم (2)، استهلك في عام 2012، 36 مليار متر مكعب للري، و7 مليار متر مكعب للأغراض المنزلية، و7 مليار متر مكعب للصناعة. إن إجمالي كمية 50 مليار متر مكعب تعادل 44,6% من إجمالي إمكانيات المياه في تركيا. [3]

وتُشير التقديرات إلى أنّ استهلاك المياه سيصل إلى 112 مليار متر مكعب عام 2023. ووفقاً لتوقعات معهد الإحصاء التركي (TÜİK)، سيصل عدد سكان تركيا إلى ما يقرب 90 مليون نسمة عام 2030، وستنخفض إمكانيات المياه من 1652 متر مكعب للفرد/السنة إلى 1244 متر مكعب للفرد/ السنة. ووفقاً لمؤشر فالكينمارك، الذي يُصنف الدول من حيث إمكانياتها المائية للفرد الواحد، تعتبر تركيا “مُجهدة مائيا،”، ذلك أن إمكانياتها المائية للفرد الواحد ما بين 1000 و1500 متر مكعب. ووفقاً لذات المعيار، إذا ما انخفضت إمكانيات تركيا المائية للفرد الواحد لأقل من 1000 متر مكعب، ستعتبر البلاد من الدول التي تعاني “نُدرة مائية” وستبرز الحاجة إلى اتخاذ التدابير لضمان استخدام أكثر كفاءة لموارد المياه. [4]

[1] Mehmetcik Bayazıt ve İlhan Avcı, “Water Resources of Turkey: Potential, Planning, Development and Management”, International Journal of Water Resources Development, Vol 13, Number4, December 1997, 443-453, p.444; DSİ, Land and Water resources.
[2] Özden Bilen, 2009, Türkiye’nin Su Gündemi: Su Yönetimi ve AB Su Politikaları, DSİ, Ankara, p.74.
[3] DSİ, Water and DSİ, 2013, Ankara, p.18.
[4] Aaron T. Wolf, Shira B. Yofee and Mark Giordana, International waters: indicators for identifying basins at risk, UNESCO, s.9.

Home / Turkey / Availability and Use of Water Resources in Turkey

Availability and Use of Water Resources in Turkey

turkey water - flag pole at water front - availability and use of water resources

Turkey’s mean annual precipitation is 643mm, which amounts to 501 billion cubic metres (BCM) of water. Of this, 274BCM evaporate and 69BCM leak into aquifers and thus are lost from the water budget. Of the total amount, 158BCM are mixed with rivers and lakes as surface water. While 7BCM come from neighbouring countries, 41BCM are retrieved from groundwater contributing to surface water, and this amount is included in the water budget. Turkey’s overall water potential is 234BCM, but given the country’s economic and technical constraints, the annual exploitable water potential has been calculated as less than half that, at 110BCM. According to the Ministry of Development’s plan for 2014, Turkey currently uses 39% of its exploitable water potential.[1]

Irrigation accounts for the majority – 73% – of water usage. A further 16% is used as drinking water and 11% in industry. As shown in Table 2, in 2012 36BCM was used for irrigation, 7BCM for domestic water and 7BCM for industry. The total amount of 50BCM is equivalent to 44.6% of Turkey’s overall water potential. [3]

Amount of water (billion m3)
Total Volume of Water501
Discharge from the Water BudgetThe Amount of Water Vaporized in the Atmosphere-274
The Amount of Water Mixed up in the Ground-69
Recharge to the Water BudgetThe Amount of Water Mixed up from the Neighbor Countries+7
The Amount of Water Rising to Surface from Ground Water through Springs+28
Groundwater+41
Overall Renewable Water Potential234 (192+41)
Utilizable Water Potential110

Table 1. Turkey’s overall water potential. [2]

It is estimated that water consumption will be 112BCM in 2023. According to projections by the Turkish Statistical Institute (TÜİK), Turkey’s population will reach nearly 90 million in 2030, and the water potential will decrease from 1,652m3 to 1,244m3 per capita per year. According to the Falkenmark Index, which classifies countries in terms of their per capita water potential, Turkey is ‘water stressed’ since it has 1,000-1,500m3 of water potential per capita. According to the same scale, if Turkey’s per capita water potential were to fall below 1,000m3, the country would be considered ‘water scarce’ and measures to ensure more efficient use of water resources would be needed. [4]

Year20122023
Irrigation36 billion m372 billion m3
Domestic7 billion m318 billion m3
Industrial7 billion m322 billion m3
Total50 billion m3112 billion m3

Table 2. Breakdown of water consumption.[3]

[1] Mehmetcik Bayazıt ve İlhan Avcı, “Water Resources of Turkey: Potential, Planning, Development and Management”, International Journal of Water Resources Development, Vol 13, Number4, December 1997, 443-453, p.444; DSİ, Land and Water resources.
[2] Özden Bilen, 2009, Türkiye’nin Su Gündemi: Su Yönetimi ve AB Su Politikaları, DSİ, Ankara, p.74.
[3] DSİ, Water and DSİ, 2013, Ankara, p.18.
[4] Aaron T. Wolf, Shira B. Yofee and Mark Giordana, International waters: indicators for identifying basins at risk, UNESCO, s.9.