الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / معالجةمياه الصرف الصحي وإعادة استخدامها في بلدان الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا / الاستثمارات في معالجة المياه العادمة: دور القطاع الخاص والمنظمات الدولية في دول منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

الاستثمارات في معالجة المياه العادمة: دور القطاع الخاص والمنظمات الدولية في دول منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

المياه العادمة investment wastewater reuse

الصورة (1): محاضرة حول إمكانية الاستثمار في معالجة المياه العادمة وإعادة استخدامها في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، خلال أسبوع المياه العالمي.

الكاتب: Rossella Messina

تعد إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي من بين البدائل الرئيسيّة للتغلب على تحديات ندرة المياه ولتلبية الاحتياجات الحالية من المياه، وكان موضوع إعادة استخدام المياه المعالجة هو موضوع أسبوع المياه العالمي لهذا العام، والذي نظمه معهد ستوكهولم الدولي للمياه. وتم التركيز بشكلٍ أساسيٍ على منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، من خلال نقاشات داراها الأكاديميّون والسياسيون للتحدث عن أعمالهم في هذا المجال في الجلسات العامة والاجتماعات الخاصة.

حاليا، يتم جمع نصف المياه العادمة المنتجة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا فقط، و 57٪ من إجمالي المياه التي يتم جمعُها تعود إلى البيئة بدون معالجة، هذا يعد هدر للموارد.[1] في منطقة يستخدم فيها 80 % من المياه لأغراض الزراعة،[2]  فإن إعادة استخدام المياه العادمة المعالجة للأغراض الزراعية يمكن أن تسمح بإعادة توزيع المياه على القطاع الأُسري (المنزلي)، حيث أن حصة الفرد في كثير من البلدان هو دون خط الفقر المائي (أقل من 1000 متر مكعب للفرد في السنة). [3] بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن أن يساعد استخدام مياه الصرف المعالجة على تخفيف الضغط على موارد المياه غير المستدامة، وخاصة بالنسبة لبلدانٍ مثل ليبيا أو المملكة العربية السعودية حيث تمثل المياه الجوفية “الأُحفورية” من الطبقات الجوفية غير المتجددة أكثر من 70٪ من إجمالي سحب المياه.[4]

يتطلب إنشاء وصيانة البُنية التحتية لمعالجة المياه العادمة استثماراتٍ واسعة النطاق. وفي العديد من البلدان، تؤدي الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص دوراً حاسماً في تحقيق هذه الاستثمارات. منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا غنيّة بأمثلة إيجابية، على سبيل المثال في الأردن تم إنشاء العديد من المشاريع بعقود البناء والتشغيل والتحويل لتحسين إمدادات المياه للعاصمة عمان، والتي سوف تعود بالفائدة أيضاُ على مشروع البحر الأحمر والبحر الميت. [5] وفي مصر أيضاً، كانت محطة معالجة المياه العادمة بالقاهرة الجديدة أول شراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص في البلاد. [6]

وكثيراً ما يتردد القطاع الخاص في المشاركة في مشاريع المياه الجديدة، بسبب عدم الاستقرار السياسي في المنطقة، وعدم وجود سياسات ملائمة، وصعوبة التنسيق بين المساهمين. هذا هو المكان الذي يمكن للمنظمات الدولية أن تلعب فيه دوراً. في عام 2013، شرعت الشراكة العالمية للمياه في تنفيذ مشروع بشأن الحوكمة والتمويل لقطاع المياه في منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط، الذي ركز حتى الآن على الأردن وتونس وفلسطين. والهدف من المشروع هو الجمع بين المساهمين واستضافة ورش عمل تقنية لتشخيص مآزق الإدارة الرئيسية وإيجاد أرضية مشتركة للاستراتيجيات المقبلة. في الأردن، تم التركيز على تحديد مسؤوليات سلطات المياه المختلفة،[7] وإمكانية إنشاء هيئة تنظيمية مخصصة تهدف إلى تحسين ورصد كفاءة قطاع المياه.[8] وبالنسبة لتونس، كانت إحدى النتائج الرئيسية تحفيز استثمارات القطاع الخاص الصغيرة في قطاع المياه، بدءا باستعراض الأمثلة الناجحة السابقة. وعلى المدى الطويل، يمكن للبلد أن يشرع في ترتيبات البناء والتشغيل والنقل من أجل تطوير البنية التحتية الجديدة لمعالجة المياه العادمة مثل محطات تحلية المياه.[9]

لسوء الحظ، فإن الاتفاقيات ليست ضماناً أكيد للاستثمارات. وينبغي أن يكون كل من  تحليل القيمة مقابل المال والإدارة المتينة للميزانية في صميم أي شراكة بين القطاع العام و الخاص. وستحتاج العديد من البلدان أيضاً إلى استعراض السياسات والتعرفة المائية لجذب المستثمرين. حتى لو تم إنشاء بنية تحتية جديدة، قد يكون من الصعب الحفاظ عليها وصيانتها على المدى الطويل، حيث أن رسوم تعرفة المياه في معظم دول منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا هي من أدنى المعدلات في العالم ولا تعكس ندرة المياه في المنطقة. [10] ويعد تعزيز قاعدة المعلومات وزيادة توافر البيانات وإمكانية الوصول إليها وسيلة أخرى لجذب المستثمرين. وقد بدأت بعض البلدان مؤخرا العمل في هذا الاتجاه. فعلى سبيل المثال، أنشأت فلسطين مجلس تنظيم قطاع المياه في عام 2014، على الرغم من أنه استغرق عامين لبدء عملها. والمؤسسة مكلفة بضمان تعريفات المياه المنصفة، وفي الوقت نفسه إتاحة البيانات عن قطاع المياه للجمهور.[11]

إن نقص البيانات ومحدودية مشاركة أصحاب المصلحة وتمويلهم ليس سوى بعض من العقبات التي تواجهها برامج معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا.[12] وفي  قلب الاجتماعات مثل أسبوع المياه العالمي فإن إرادة المنظمات الدولية مثل SIWI أو الاحترار العالمي لتمكين قاعدة ثابتة لاتخاذ إجراءات ملموسة . وكما أكد أويون سانجاسورين، رئيس برنامج الاحترار العالمي، “إذا ركزنا على الاستثمارات السابقة من أجل المعرفة وبناء القدرات، فإن التمويل يمكن أن يكون مفتوحا”.[13]

Home / Specials / Wastewater Treatment and Reuse in MENA Countries / Investments in wastewater treatment: the role of private sector and international organisations in MENA countries

Investments in wastewater treatment: the role of private sector and international organisations in MENA countries

المياه العادمة investment wastewater reuse

Photo 1: A lecture on investment potential on waste water treatment and reuse in MENA, during the world water week.

By: Rossella Messina

Wastewater reuse is among the main alternatives to overcome water scarcity challenges and to meet the current water needs, and it was the theme of this year’s World Water Week organized by the Stockholm International Water Institute (SIWI). The Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region was one of the core focus areas, with academics and politicians discussing their work in public sessions and private meetings.

Currently, only half of the wastewater produced in the MENA region is collected, and from the collected fraction, 57% goes back to the environment untreated, this is a wasted potential.[1] In a region where 80% of the water use is for agriculture,[2]reusing treated wastewater for agricultural purposes could allow the reallocation of water to the domestic sector, since in many countries the per capita availability is below the water poverty line (less than 1000 m3/capita/year).[3] Additionally, the use of treated wastewater could relieve the stress on unsustainable water resources, especially for countries such as Libya or Saudi Arabia where ‘fossil’ groundwater from non-renewable aquifers represents more than 70% of the total water withdrawals.[4]

Building and maintaining wastewater treatment infrastructure requires large-scale investments. In many countries, public-private partnerships (PPP) play a crucial role in realizing such investments. The MENA region is rich with positive examples, for instance in Jordan where several build-operate-transfer (BOT) projects have been established to improve the water supply for the capital Amman, which will also benefit the Red Sea-Dead Sea project.[5] Or in Egypt, where the New Cairo Wastewater Treatment Plant was the first PPP in the country.[6]

The private sector is often reluctant to participate in new water projects, due to the political instability of the region, the lack of adequate policies and the difficult coordination between stakeholders. This is where international organizations can play a role. In 2013, the Global Water Partnership (GWP) initiated a project on governance and finance for the Mediterranean water sector, which so far has focused on Jordan, Tunisia and Palestine. The aim of the project is to bring together stakeholders and host technical workshops to diagnose key governance bottlenecks and find common ground for future strategies. In Jordan, the focus was on clarifying the responsibilities of the different water authorities[7]and on the possibility of establishing a dedicated regulatory body aimed at improving and monitoring the efficiency of the water sector.[8] For Tunisia, one of the main outcomes was stimulating small-scale private sector investments in the water sector, starting with reviewing the past successful examples. In the long term, the country could initiate BOT arrangements for the development of new wastewater treatment infrastructure such as desalination plants.[9]

Unfortunately, agreements are not a guarantee that investments will be made. Value-for-money analysis and solid budget management should be at the source of any PPP. Many countries will also need to review their water policies and tariffs if investors are to be attracted. Even if new infrastructure is built, it could be difficult to maintain in the long term, since in most of the MENA countries water fees are among the lowest in the world – not reflecting the scarcity of water in the region.[10] Strengthening the information base and increasing the availability and accessibility of data is another way to attract investors. Some countries have recently started working in this direction. For instance, Palestine established the Water Sector Regulatory Council (WSRC) in 2014, although it took two years to begin its work. The institution is tasked with ensuring equitable water tariffs and at the same time making data on the water sector publicly accessible.[11]

A lack of data, limited stakeholder participation and finance are only some of the obstacles that wastewater treatment programmes face in the MENA region.[12] At the core of meetings such as the World Water Week is the will of international organizations such as SIWI or GWP to enable a consistent base for concrete actions. As Oyun Sanjaasuren, the chair of GWP, underlined, “If we focus on pre-investments for knowledge and capacity building, then the finance can be unlocked.”[13]