الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / دوبلوماسية المياه في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا: برنامج تدريبي جديد للمهنيين الشباب

دوبلوماسية المياه في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا: برنامج تدريبي جديد للمهنيين الشباب

Water Diplomacy in the MENA Region

الصورة 1: مجموعة صور للمشاركين والمتحدثين، الإسكندرية، مصر.

الكاتب: Gül Özerol

تتعاون حاليا كل من Fanack Water مع إدارة الحوكمة والتكنولوجيا من أجل الاستدامة في جامعة Twente، هولندا، على برنامج تدريبي حول دبلوماسية المياه في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. عقدت الطبعة الأولى من برنامج التدريب في المعهد السويدي الإسكندرية (SwedAlex) في مصر بتاريخ 29 أكتوبر إلى 2 نوفمبر 2017.
.

خلفية التدريب

تتدفق المياه عبر الحدود للدول وتتفاعل مع القطاعات الأخرى، ولا سيما إنتاج الطاقة والغذاء. ولذلك، فإن معالجة مشاكل المياه، مثل التلوث والندرة والجفاف والفيضانات، تتطلب مجموعة من المهارات “الدبلوماسية” لدمج المصالح المتنوعة لمختلف القطاعات والجهات والتي غالبا ما تكون متنافسة ومتضاربة. وهذه المهارات ضرورية لفهم أسباب وتأثير مشاكل المياه في سياقات سياسية واقتصادية واجتماعية متنوعة. كما أنها ضرورية لوضع وتنفيذ الحلول في الوقت والمكان المناسبين. وكما هو الحال مع التحديات العالمية الأخرى، بما في ذلك تغير المناخ والأمن الغذائي وأمن الطاقة، فإن الدبلوماسيين المشاركين في معالجة مشاكل المياه غالبا ما يأتون من خلفيات متنوعة. ويعود ذلك إلى تعقيد هذه التحديات، التي تتجاوز مجال العلاقات الدولية، والانضباط التقليدي المرتبط بالدبلوماسية.

في العقود الأخيرة، تم وضع العديد من البرامج التدريبية المختلفة والتي تركز على مفاهيم وأدوات مختلفة متعلقة بدبلوماسية المياه. أما هذا البرنامج التدريبي فإنه يتضمن سمتين متميزتين. أولاً، يستهدف هذا التدريب المهنيين الشباب المياه من أوروبا ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. ويهدف هذا الانتشار الجغرافي إلى تعزيز التعاون الإقليمي سواء داخل بلدان الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا أو بين منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وأوروبا. وثانياً، يقوم البرنامج على ثلاثة عناصر تجمع بين المنظور العلمي لدبلوماسية المياه وبين الممارسة والإعلام والفن:

• التواصل من خلال الحوار المائي العابر للحدود: في حين أن العولمة والإنترنت قد سهلت التواصل عبر الحدود، فإن هناك حاجة كبيرة للمتواصلين الذين يفهمون آراء الآخرين والتصورات والافتراضات حول المياه و لديهم القدرة على نقلها.

• الإنشاء المشترك من خلال التفكير المائي متعدد التخصصات: يقوم البرنامج التدريبي على مفهوم أن الدبلوماسية المائية تتطلب معرفة ومهارات متعددة التخصصات. ومع ذلك، فإنه يأخذ هذه الفكرة خطوة أخرى إلى الأمام لخلق بيئة التعلم عبر التخصصات التي تعزز المشاركة في خلق المعرفة من أجل معالجة مشاكل المياه المعقدة.

• التعاون من خلال إدارة المياه على نطاق متعدد: تتطلب مشاكل المياه المعقدة إشراك أصحاب المصلحة من جميع المستويات الحاكمة، من المحلية إلى العالمية. ويتطلب التصدي لتحديات الإدارة المتعلقة بالمياه دراسة كفاءة وفاعلية التعاون بين القطاعات، ونهج شامل إزاء قضايا المساواة.

First Water Training Program

الصورة 2: خلال تدريب دبلوماسية المياه، الإسكندرية، مصر

الفئة المستهدفة والمشاركون

يستهدف البرنامج التدريبي المهنيين الشباب الذين يشكلون الجيل القادم من المؤثرين في مجال المياه وصناع القرار (المسؤولين الحكوميين والممارسين والعلماء والناشطين والصحفيين والفنانين). وتتراوح أعمار المشاركين بين 25 و 40 عاما ويحملون درجة الماجستير أو ما يعادلها أو ما لا يقل عن سنتين من الخبرة في العمل بدوام كامل في مجال ذي صلة، فضلا عن اهتمام واضح بالجوانب الاجتماعية والسياسية والقانونية والبيئية للمياه.

ضمت الطبعة الأولى من برنامج التدريب في الإسكندرية 21 مشاركا من 14 بلدا وهي الجزائر وبلجيكا ومصر وإثيوبيا وألمانيا وأيرلندا وإيطاليا والأردن والمغرب وهولندا وفلسطين وإسبانيا والسودان وتونس.

طول ونطاق التدريب

يستغرق التدريب حوالي ثلاثة أشهر. خلال فترة الإعداد الافتراضية والتي استغرقت أربعة أسابيع، اطلع المشاركون على محتوى البرنامج وأتمو مهمة تقديم أنفسهم. وتلا ذلك دورة سكنية لمدة خمسة أيام. حيث يبدأ كل يوم مع المحاضرات والخطب الرئيسية من قبل خبراء دوليين. وتم إثراؤها بمجموعة من التدريبات الجماعية. بعد المرحلة السكنية، يتم تسجيل المشاركين لفترة أخرى مدتها ثمانية أسابيع من أجل المشاركة في خلق النواتج ضمن فرق (انظر القسم التالي).

عند الانتهاء من التدريب، سيتم دعوة ثلاثة أو أربعة متدربين من ذوي الكفاءة العالية والمتحمسين للانضمام إلى الطبعة اللاحقة من البرنامج كمنظمين مشاركين أو متحدثين. ومن المتوقع أن تعزز فترات “العودة” هذه أثر البرنامج واستدامته من خلال خلق تفاعلات بين المتدربين من مختلف طبعات البرنامج.

الأهداف والمخرجات المتوقعة

عند الانتهاء بنجاح من البرنامج، سيكون لدى المتدربين المهارات اللازمة ل:
• تحديد ومقارنة المفاهيم الأساسية المتعلقة بالدبلوماسية المائية، مثل الأمن المائي، وإدارة المياه، والإدارة المتكاملة للمياه، وإدارة المياه العابرة للحدود؛
• تحديد أوجه الترابط والتعارض بين قطاعات السياسات (المياه والطاقة والتخطيط العمراني والمناخ واستخدام الأراضي والزراعة وما إلى ذلك) ومستويات الحكم (من المحلية إلى العالمية)؛
• تحديد وتقييم المقايضات وأوجه التآزر بين القطاعات ذات الصلة بالمياه ومستويات الحكم؛
• تحليل ومقارنة التجارب في التعامل مع النزاعات المائية والمشاكل في مختلف السياقات السياسية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئية لدول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا؛
• تصميم وتصمیم حلول مائیة تتماشی مع السیاقات السیاسیة والاجتماعیة والاقتصادیة والإیکولوجیة لدول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفریقیا.

ولإثبات هذه المهارات، سيشارك المتدربون والمدربون في إنشاء عدة مخرجات. وستوجه هذه النواتج نحو المصالح المهنية للمتدربين وكما يمكن أن تشمل الآتي:
• موجز السياسات الذي ينشر نتائج التدريب على صانعي السياسات على الصعيدين الوطني والدولي؛
• المادة العلمية التي تنشر منهجية التدريب والنتائج للجمهور الأكاديمي.
• مقال إخباري ينشرعلى الإنترنت يتحدث عن نطاق ونتائج التدريب ويستهدف جمهور أوسع؛
• إنفوغرافيك التي تصور إطار برنامج المياه المياه دبلوماسية.

أما الهدف النهائي من البرنامج فهو خلق جيل من المهنيين الشباب الذين يكرسون لحل مشاكل المياه الحالية من خلال تطبيق الاتصالات والتعاون والنهج المشاركة التي تمتد عبر المجالات السياسية والعملية والعلمية.

First Water Diplomacy Training Programme for Young Professionals

الصورة 3: حفل تسليم الشهادات
في الإسكندرية، مصر

الخطط المستقبلية

نحن نخطط لتقديم التدريب في مواقع مختلفة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا للسنوات الأربع المقبلة. وقد اختير هذا الإطار الزمني المتوسط الأجل لتمكيننا من إنشاء شبكة من المهنيين الشباب في مجال المياه وتوسيع نطاق تأثير البرنامج والوصول إليه في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. وسيسهل هذا النهج على المدى المتوسط أيضا إقامة أوجه التآزر والشراكات بين بلدان منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وبين بلدان الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا والبلدان الأوروبية.

ونظرا لموقعها الفريد من نوعه في العلاقة بين وسائل الإعلام في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، فإن Fanack water تهدف إلى الاستمرار كشريك الاتصال والإعلام في هذا البرنامج التدريبي.

Home / Specials / Water Diplomacy in the MENA Region: A New Training Programme for Young Professionals

Water Diplomacy in the MENA Region: A New Training Programme for Young Professionals

Water Diplomacy in the MENA Region

Photo 1: Photo group of the participants and the speakers, Alexandria, Egypt

Author: Gül Özerol

Fanack Water is collaborating with the Department of Governance and Technology for Sustainability at the University of Twente, the Netherlands, on a training programme on water diplomacy in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. The first edition of the training programme took place at the Swedish Institute Alexandria (SwedAlex), Egypt from 29 October to 2 November 2017.

Background of the Training

Water flows across national borders and interacts with other sectors, notably energy and food production. Tackling water problems, such as pollution, scarcity, droughts and floods, therefore requires a set of ‘diplomatic’ skills to incorporate the diverse and often competing and conflicting interests of various actors. Such skills are essential for understanding the causes and impacts of water problems in diverse political, economic and social contexts. They are also necessary for devising and implementing solutions at the right time and place. As with other global challenges, including climate change, food security and energy security, the diplomats who are involved in tackling water problems often come from a variety of backgrounds. This is due to the complexity of these challenges, which go beyond the realm of international relations, the traditional discipline associated with diplomacy.

In recent decades, various training programmes have been developed that focus on different concepts and tools relevant for water diplomacy. This training programme has two distinguishing features. First, it targets young water professionals from Europe and the MENA region. This geographic spread aims to enhance regional collaboration both within MENA countries and between the MENA region and Europe. Second, the programme builds on three elements that combine a scientific perspective on water diplomacy with practice, media and art:

• Communication through transboundary water dialogue: While globalization and the internet have facilitated communication across borders, there is a great need for communicators who understand and can convey other’s opinions, perceptions and presumptions about water.

• Co-creation through transdisciplinary water thinking: The training programme is founded on the notion that water diplomacy requires interdisciplinary knowledge and skills. However, it takes this notion one step further to create a transdisciplinary learning environment that nurtures the co-creation of knowledge in order to tackle complex water problems.

• Collaboration through multi-scale water governance: Complex water problems require the involvement of stakeholders from all governance levels, from local to global. Addressing the governance challenges around water requires an examination of the efficiency and effectiveness of cross-sectoral collaboration, and an inclusive approach to equity issues.

First Water Training Program

Photo 2: During the water diplomacy training, Alexandria, Egypt

Target Group and Participants

The training programme targets young professionals who constitute the future generation of water influencers and decision makers (government officials, practitioners, scientists, activists, journalists, artists). Participants are between 25 and 40 years old and have a master’s degree or equivalent or at least two years of full-time work experience in a relevant field, as well as a demonstrable interest in the social, political, legal and environmental aspects of water.

The first edition of the training programme in Alexandria brought together 21 participants from 14 countries (Algeria, Belgium, Egypt, Ethiopia, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Morocco, the Netherlands, Palestine, Spain, Sudan and Tunisia).

Length and Scope of the Training

The training lasts a total of three months. During a virtual preparation period of four weeks, the participants familiarize themselves with the programme content and complete an assignment to introduce themselves. This is followed by a five-day residential course. Each day starts with lectures and keynote speeches by international experts. These are supplemented by group exercises. After the residential phase, the participants are enrolled for another period of eight weeks in order to co-create outputs within teams (see following section).

Upon completion of the training, three or four high-achieving and motivated trainees will be invited to join the subsequent edition of the programme as co-organizers or speakers. These ‘comeback’ periods are expected to enhance the impact and sustainability of the programme through creating interactions between the trainees from different editions of the programme.

Objectives and Expected Outputs

Upon successful completion of the programme, trainees will have the skills to:

Define and compare the key concepts related to water diplomacy, such as water security, water governance, integrated water management and transboundary water management;

Determine the interlinkages and conflicts between policy sectors (water, energy, urban planning, climate, land use, agriculture etc.) and governance levels (from local to global);

Identify and assess the trade-offs and synergies between water-related sectors and governance levels;

Analyse and compare the experiences in dealing with water conflicts and problems within the different political, social, economic and ecological contexts of the MENA countries;

Devise and design water solutions that are aligned with the political, social, economic and ecological contexts of the MENA countries.

To demonstrate these skills, the trainees and trainers will co-create several outputs. These outputs will be oriented towards the trainees’ professional interests but could include:

Policy brief that disseminates the training results to national and international policymakers;

Scientific article that disseminates the training methodology and results to academic audiences;

Online news article that disseminates the scope and results of the training to a broader audience;

Infographic that visualizes the training programme’s water diplomacy framework.

First Water Diplomacy Training Programme for Young Professionals

Photo 3: Certification ceremony of Alexandria, Egypt

Future Plans

We plan to offer the training in different locations in the MENA region for the next four years. This medium-term time frame was chosen to enable us to establish a network of young water professionals and expand the impact and reach of the programme throughout the region. This medium-term approach will also facilitate the establishment of synergies and partnerships, both among MENA countries and between the MENA and European countries.

Given its unique position at the water-media nexus in the MENA region, Fanack Water aims to continue as the communication and media partner of this training programme.