الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / مشروع البحرين الأحمر- الميت / نتائج دراسة الجدوى

نتائج دراسة الجدوى

في عام 2012، أجريت دراسة الجدوى تحت رعاية البنك الدولي وبتنفيذ من قِبل شركة (Coyne et Bellier) الفرنسية.
وفقاً للشروط المرجعية تم اعداد ثلاثة سيناريوهات:


  • سيناريو عدم إقامة المشروع

  • السيناريو الأساسي، من أجل تحقيق الاستقرار في منسوب مياه البحر الميت

  • السيناريو الأساسي الايجابي، من اجل تحقيق الاستقرار في منسوب مياه البحر الميت، وتحلية المياه، وتوليد الطاقة


تم تطبيق توازن الكتلة لمياه البحر الميت كما هو موضح في الرسم البياني لعام 2010، حيث بلغ صافي خسارة المياه من البحر الميت حوالي 708 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً، أي ما يعادل انخفاضاً سنوياً في مستوى المياه يصل 1,1 متر. وتتوقع الدراسة حدوث انخفاض طولي، تقريبا، في مستوى البحر الميت، ولكن في حال توقفت الشركات الكيميائية عن العمل، سيتم التوصل إلى توازن جديد يصل تقريباً إلى -550 متراً بحلول عام 2150. يتبنى سيناريو عدم إقامة المشروع، الآثار الضارة على المستوى البيئي والصناعات الكيماوية والسياحة والبنية التحتية.

وعلى افتراض أنه سيتم الإنتهاء من المشروع في عام 2020، يستهدف السيناريو الأساسي مستوى مياه يصل إلى -410 متر، الذي يتطلب معدل تدفق أولي يبلغ 2000 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً، وحتى عام 2050، وبالوصول إلى المستوى المستهدف، سيتم تخفيض معدل التدفق إلى 1520 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً. القيمة الأخيرة أكبر بكثير من العجز الذي يصل إلى 708 مليون متر مكعب كما هو مبين أعلاه، بسبب ارتفاع معدلات التبخر في الطبقات السطحية الأقل ملوحة بالإضافة إلى الآثار الناجمة عن التغير المناخي.

Configuration with upper or high-level desalination plant (source: World Bank)
Configuration with upper or high-level desalination plant (source: World Bank)

وفيما يتعلق بالسيناريو الأساسي الايجابي، تم الاتفاق على متطلبات المياه الصالحة للشرب، كما هو مبين في الرسم البياني. لانتاج 850 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً من مياه الشرب، يتطلب هذا 2000 مليون متر مكعب تقريباً من مياه البحر. ويعتمد هذا على التناضح العكسي، حيث تُنقل مياه البحر الأحمر بالضغط عبر غشاء شبه نافذ للحصول على مياه عذبة، مخلفاً محلول ملحي شديد الملوحة. وبالتالي، يتم نقل المحاليل الملحية غير الصالحة للشرب إلى البحر الميت. تتباين الكمية التي سيتم ضخها الى البحر الميت، والتي تصل ما بين 1650 مليون متر مكعب (ملوحة أقل بـ30%) في العام 2020 إلى 1150 مليون متر مكعب من المحلول الملحي الصافي في عام 2060. يُظهر نموذج توازن الكتلة لمياه البحر الميت، الذي يأخذ بعين الاعتبار التغير المناخي، أنه من اجل استخراج مياه بمعدل 2000 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً، سيصل مستوى البحر الميت الى ذروته، أي -416 متر تقريباً في عام 2054، أي عندما تصل محطة التحلية إلى أقصى قدراتها التصميمية. ومن المتوقع، بعد عام 2054، أن يطرأ انخفاض بمعدل 15 سم/السنة ليصل إلى مستوى مستقر(-431 متر) عام 2150. هذا الانخفاض ناتج عن زيادة التبخر بسبب الانخفاض المستمر في نسبة الملوحة.

Configuration with low-level desalination plant (source: World Bank)
Configuration with low-level desalination plant (source: World Bank)

تم اختيار ثلاثة تشكيلات مما مجموعه 15 تشكيل محتمل، لنقل مياه البحر الأحمر إلى البحر الميت بعد إجراء تقييم دقيق:


  • نفق لنقل المياه بالتدفق بالجاذبية دون أي ارتفاع (ارتفاع صفر)

  • النقل بالضخ، عبر مجموعة من الأنفاق والقنوات على إرتفاع يزيد عن 200 متر

  • تشكيل خط أنابيب يعمل بالضخ يصل إلى ارتفاع يزيد عن 200 متر

الموقع الأمثل لإنشاء محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية في الطرف الشمالي للناقل بالقرب من البحر الميت. حيث تم بحث بديلين:


  • محطة تحلية في مكان مرتفع تعمل بالتوالي مع محطة الطاقة الكهرومائية. يخفض هذا التشكيل، إلى الحدّ الأدنى، التدفق بالضغط اللازم لإيصال المياه الصالحة للشرب، إلا أنه يقلل من التدفق الهيدروستاتيكي المتاح لتحفيز التناضح العكسي. وبالتالي، تقل المياه المتوفرة لمحطة الطاقة، ومع مرور الوقت، في عام 2060، ستتكون المياه بالدرجة الاولى من المحلول الملحي الذي يتم التخلص منه عبر محطة التحلية

  • في المقابل، محطة تحلية للمياه في مكان منخفض تعمل بالتوازي مع محطة توليد الكهرباء. في هذا التشكيل، يتم استخدام الحد الأقصى للتدفق الهيدروليكي لتحفيزالتناضح العكسي، إلا أنه يتطلب الكثير من الطاقة لضخ المياه الصالحة للشرب للمستهلكين. بالاضافة الى ذلك، في عام 2060، ستدخل جميع المياه تقريباً إلى محطة التحلية، وبالتالي لن يتوفر سوى كميات قليلة جداً من التدفق لمحطة توليد الطاقة

يتناقص مع مرور الوقت تدفق المياه المتوفر لتوليد الطاقة. ويوضح التقييم الاقتصادي أنه ينبغي تنفيذ المشروع بطاقة إنتاجية كاملة منذ البداية، والذي من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى طاقة انتاجية فائضة في السنوات القادمة.
وتبيَّن بعد محاكاة ستة تشكيلات لأنظمة مختلفة للفترة الواقعة بين 2020-2060 أن الخيار الأفضل هو محطة توليد للطاقة في مكان مرتفع مقارنة بموقع محطة التحلية ومحطة أخرى للطاقة في مكان منخفض.

بحثت دراسة الجدوى أيضاً ثلاث مواقع مختلفة لسحب المياه في البحر الأحمر ومحاذاة قناة التصريف من محطة توليد الطاقة إلى البحر الميت.

وأظهرت المقارنة متعددة المعايير لجميع الخيارات الممكنة أن نظام النقل عبر خط الأنابيب إلى جانب محطة تحلية المياه المرتفعة هو الخيار الأفضل، بالإضافة إلى النفقات الإنتاجية التي تبلغ 10,6 مليار دولار، و التي تعد الأقل من حيث التكلفة.

يمكن تلخيص نتائج دراسة الجدوى لمشروع ناقل البحرين (الأحمر-الميت) على النحو التالي:


  • ممكن تحقيقه من وجهة نظر هندسية

  • عائد اقتصادي ايجابي (بسبب الفوائد غير الملموسة إلى حدٍ كبير)

  • إجمالي استهلاك كبير للطاقة (803 ميجاواط بحلول عام 2060) يُفضل سحب المياه من المنطقة الشرقية لخليج العقبة

  • يُفضل استخدام خطوط الأنابيب المدفونة عوضاً عن الأنفاق والقنوات

  • يُفضل إنشاء محطة التحلية بمكان مرتفع بالقرب من البحر الميت

  • يمكن تنفيذ مشروع تجريبي مُصّغر ومستقل بسهولة وسرعة

الرسوم التوضيحية

توازن الكتلة لمياه البحر الميت

اضغط للتكبير


متطلبات مياه الشرب

اضغط للتكبير

Home / Specials / Red Sea-Dead Sea Project / Outcome of the Feasibility Study

Outcome of the Feasibility Study

The feasibility study was carried out under the auspices of the World Bank by the engineering consultancy Coyne and Bellier. According to the terms of reference, three scenarios were examined:


  • The No Project scenario;

  • The Base Case scenario, to stabilize the level of the Dead Sea only;

  • The Base Case Plus scenario, to stabilize the level, desalinate water, and generate power.

The mass balance of Dead Sea water was established for the year 2010, as illustrated in the diagram below. It shows that the net water loss from the Dead Sea is about 708MCM/yr, which corresponds to an annual decline in the water level of 1.1m. The study predicts a nearly linear fall in the level, but, if the chemical companies cease to operate, a new equilibrium will be reached around the year 2150 at a level of about 550m bsl. This No Project scenario would have detrimental effects on the environment, the chemical and tourist industries and infrastructure such as roads and buildings.

Configuration with upper or high-level desalination plant (source: World Bank)
Configuration with upper or high-level desalination plant (source: World Bank)

Assuming that the project will be commissioned in 2020, the Base Case scenario for a target water level of 410m bsl requires an initial flow rate of 2,000MCM/yr and from 2050, when the target level is reached, a reduced flow rate of 1,520MCM/yr. The latter value is much larger than the deficit of 708MCM/yr shown above, because of higher evaporation rates from the less saline surface layer and the effects of climate change.

The potable-water requirements agreed upon for the Base Case Plus scenario are shown in the bar chart below. For a potable-water production of 850MCM/yr, about 2,000MCM/yr of seawater are required. This is based on reverse osmosis, in which Red Sea water is forced through a semi-permeable membrane to yield fresh water, leaving behind highly saline brine. The non-potable brine is conveyed to the Dead Sea. The volume pumped to the Dead Sea changes from 1,650MCM/yr (with less than 30% brine) in 2020 to 1,150MCM/yr of pure brine in 2060. The Dead Sea water mass balance model, which takes into account climate change, shows that, for a seawater extraction rate of 2,000MCM/yr, the Dead Sea level will peak at around 416m bsl in 2054, when the desalination plant reaches its ultimate design capacity. Beyond 2054, the level is projected to fall at a rate of 15cm/yr to reach a stable level of 431m bsl in 2150. This decline results from increased evaporation due to a continuous decline in salinity.

Configuration with low-level desalination plant (source: World Bank)
Configuration with low-level desalination plant (source: World Bank)

From 15 possible conveyance configurations to transport water from the Red Sea to the Dead Sea, three were selected for more detailed evaluation:


  • A gravity-flow conveyance tunnel constructed at zero elevation;

  • A pumped conveyance, a combination of tunnels and canals, rising to 220m asl;

  • A pumped pipeline configuration rising to an elevation of 220m asl.


The optimum location of the hydroelectric power plant is at the northern end of the conveyance, close to the Dead Sea. Two alternatives have been examined:


  • A high-level desalination plant operating in series with the hydropower plant. This configuration minimizes the pumping head required for delivering the potable water but reduces the hydrostatic head available to drive the reverse osmosis. The water available for the power plant diminishes with time and, in 2060, will consist exclusively of reject brine from the desalination plant.

  • A low-level desalination plant operating in parallel with the power plant. With this configuration, the maximum hydraulic head is used to drive the reverse osmosis, but a lot of energy is required to pump the potable water to the consumers. Moreover, in 2060 almost all of the water will go to the desalination plant, leaving very little flow available to the power facility.

The flow of water available for power generation diminishes with time. An economic evaluation demonstrates that full capacity should be installed from the start, resulting in surplus capacity in later years. Simulation of six different system configurations for the period 2020 to 2060 shows that the best option is one power plant at the high-level desalination plant and another at low level.

The feasibility study also examined three different intake locations on the Red Sea and the alignment of the discharge channel from the power plant to the Dead Sea.

A multi-criteria comparison of all viable options has shown that the pipeline conveyance system with a high-level desalination plant is the preferable option. With a capital expenditure of $10.6 billion, it is also the least expensive.

The outcome of the feasibility study of the RSDS project may be summarized as follows:


  • Feasible from an engineering perspective;

  • Positive economic return (due largely to intangible benefits);

  • Large net consumption of energy (803MW by 2060);

  • Eastern intake in the Gulf of Aqaba preferred;

  • Buried pipeline preferred over tunnels and canals;

  • Desalination plant best located at a high level close to the Dead Sea;

  • A small-scale, stand-alone pilot project could be implemented simply and quickly.

Illustrations

Mass balance of Dead Sea water

Click image to enlarge


Potable water requirements

Click image to enlarge