الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / مشروع البحرين الأحمر- الميت / الموقع الجغرافي والظروف الطبيعية

الموقع الجغرافي والظروف الطبيعية

يعدّ البحرالميت جزءاً من غور وادي الأردن الممتد من بحيرة طبريا في الشمال حتى خليج العقبة في الجنوب. يصل الجزء السفلي من البحر الميت الى ارتفاع 790 متر تحت سطح البحر، إذ يعتبر أخفض نقطة في غور الأردن، في حين يصل ارتفاع شاطىء البحر إلى حوالي 420 متر تحت مستوى سطح البحر، والذي يعتبر أخفض بقعة على كوكب الأرض. ترتفع الشواطىء المطلة على الجانبين الشرقي والغربي للبحر الميت بشكل كبير، إذ تصل إلى حوالي 1000 متر، وتغطي مسافة تتراوح بين 15 إلى 20 كيلومتراً. ترجع نشأة هذه التضاريس الحادة الى وقوع غور الأردن ضمن الحدود التكتونية النشطة للصفيحة العربية. يتسم صدع البحر الميت التحويلي بالإنفصال والحركة الجانبية للصفائح الممتدة على طول الوادي المتصدع، والذي يزيد من احتمالية وقوع الزلازل. وعلى الرغم من غياب النشاط الزلزالي على مدى السنوات الـ500 الماضية أو نحو ذلك، يشكل هذا الخطر تأثيراً كبيرا على التصاميم الهيكلية والتكاليف الناجمة عن مشروع ناقل البحرين (الأحمر-الميت).

خلال فترة العصر الجليدي، كان غور وادي الأردن مغطى ببحيرة كبيرة، تمتد من بحيرة طبرية بطول يقارب 35 كم إلى الجنوب من البحر الميت. وصل أعلى مستوى للمياه (-180 م) في غضون عام 25,000 قبل الميلاد. تتكون الرواسب المتراكمة في قاع البحيرة من الحجر الجيري الذي يتألف من التربة الطينية، والطمي الطيني الكلسي المختلط مع الملح والجبس. تُعرف هذه التشكيلات برواسب اللسان. منطقة اللسان التي تفصل حالياً الجزء الشمالي العميق من البحر الميت عن الجزء الجنوبي الضحل حيث تتم عملية استخراج البوتاس، تُعرف باسم شبه جزيرة اللسان. ويوجد أسفل طبقة الرواسب الطميية العميقة هذه طبقة من الصخور المتصدعة بفعل الأنشطة التكتونية على طول صدع وادي الأردن.

تعتبر منطقة البحر الميت ذات أهمية تاريخية وثقافية ودينية رئيسية وتتضمن مواقع أثرية هامة. يجذب البحر الميت العديد من السياح على المستويين المحلي والدولي وغيرهم من المهتمين في القطاع الصحي من خلال المنتجعات العلاجية التي تعتمد على مياه البحر الميت والمواد الكيميائية. وتشمل منطقة مشروع ناقل البحرين (الأحمر-الميت) أيضا مناطق حساسة للغاية (على سبيل المثال بالنسبة للطيور المهاجرة) والمحميات الطبيعية كمحمية ضانا.

تتسم المنطقة التي تقع بين البحر الميت والبحر الاحمر بقلة السكان، حيث تصل الكثافة السكانية إلى ما يقارب 10 إلى 50 نسمة لكل كيلو متر مربع. تتركز الكثافة السكانية في منطقة مشروع ناقل البحرين (الأحمر-الميت) في مدينتيّ العقبة وإيلات والشاطئ السياحي للبحر الميت.

يعتبر مناخ البحرالميت مناخ شبه استوائي حيث يبلغ متوسط درجات الحرارة بين 40 درجة مئوية في يوليو و23 درجة مئوية في شهر ديسمبر، ويتراوح الحد الأدنى لدرجات الحرارة بين 30- 13 درجة مئوية. في حين يصل متوسط الهطول المطري السنوي إلى أقل من 50 ملم، فيما يبلغ معدل عدد الأيام الماطرة حوالي 15 يوماً. تصل نسبة الضغط الجوي 5% على ارتفاع 400 متر تحت مستوى سطح البحر، ومحتوى الأكسجين أعلى بنسبة 4% مما هو عليه عند مستوى سطح البحر، بينما يعدّ تركيز الأشعة فوق البنفسجية في البحر الميت أقل. وتشير دراسات النمذجة والدراسات المكتبية المتعلقة بتغير المناخ إلى أنه بحلول نهاية القرن الحادي والعشرين، سيشهد متوسط درجات الحرارة ارتفاعاً من 3 إلى 6 درجات، بينما ستنخفض نسبة هطول الامطار إلى 30%. ومع تساقط الامطار بكثافة أكبر، قد يطرأ أيضاً انخفاض يتراوح بين 30% إلى 50% في المياه الجارية وتغذية المياه الجوفية بحلول نهاية القرن. وبالرغم من ذلك، وكحال الأودية الأخرى التي تصب في البحر الميت، مثل الأودية الجانبية التي تتدفق في وادي عربة الذي يمتد من جنوب البحر الميت إلى العقبة، تُعدّ عُرضة لتشكل السيول الفيضانية في بعض الأحيان، حيث سيكون لهذه الفيضانات تأثير كبيرعلى تصميم البنية التحتية لمشروع ناقل البحرين (الأحمر- الميت).

وحتى عام 1978، كان البحر الميت يتألف من طبقتين متدرجتين من المياه، تتباينان من حيث درجة الحرارة والملوحة (حالة عدم تمازج طبقات المياه)، ولكن طرأ تحول جذري في شتاء عام 1978-1979عندما أصبحت كثافة الطبقة العلوية أكبر بكثير من كثافة الطبقة السفلية. وفي الوقت الحالي، تسبب الترسب الطبقي الموسمي في تحوّل سنوي أدى إلى نشوء حالة خلط موسمي لطبقات المياه في البحر الميت. يحتوي الماء المتجانس على 343 غرام لكل لتر من الأملاح الذائبة، وتبلغ كثافته 1,24 جم/لتر. وبالمقارنة مع مياه المحيطات، تعتبر مياه البحر الميت أغنى بالمعادن مثل الكلوريدات والصوديوم والبوتاسيوم والمغنيسيوم والكالسيوم والبروميد، في حين أن نسبة الكبريتات أقل. تستخرج الصناعات الكيميائية  650 مليون مترمكعب من مياه البحر الميت سنوياً، في حين تتم إعادة 250 مليون متر مكعب من المياه شديدة الملوحة. ويبدو أنّ هذا النشاط أحدث تغيراً ملحوظاً في التركيب الكيميائي للبحر الميت من خلال زيادة تركيزالمغنيسيوم والكالسيوم والكلور والبروميد، في حين أن تركيز الصوديوم، والبوتاسيوم، آخذ في التناقص. وتشير الدلائل الأخيرة أن الطبقة الكثيفة والعميقة مرتفعة الملوحة التي شكلتها المحاليل الملحية المرتجعة بسبب الصناعات الكيميائية ستستمر بالإزدياد.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تأثر التوازن الهيدروديناميكي بين المياه الجوفية العذبة المحيطة والمياه المالحة للبحر الميت بسبب انخفاض منسوب المياه. بدأت إعادة ضبط السطح البيني للمنطقتين لخلق حالة توازن جديدة من خلال حركة المياه الجوفية الأكثر عذوبة في اتجاه البحر الميت. ووفقاً لذلك، انخفضت مستويات المياه الجوفية في المناطق المحيطة، كما تدفقت كميات كبيرة من المياه الجوفية العذبة والمالحة نحو البحر الميت، كتعويض جزئي لإنخفاض منسوبه.

Home / Specials / Red Sea-Dead Sea Project / Geographic Setting and Natural Conditions

Geographic Setting and Natural Conditions

The Dead Sea is part of the Jordan Rift Valley (JRV), which extends from Lake Tiberias in the north to the Gulf of Aqaba in the south. The bottom of the Dead Sea is, at 790 metres below sea level (m bsl), the lowest point in this valley and the shoreline, at about 420m bsl, is the lowest land surface on earth. The shores on the eastern and western sides of the Dead Sea rise sharply, to about 1,000m over a distance of 15-20km. This striking topography developed because the JRV is an active tectonic boundary of the Arabian Plate. The Dead Sea Transform Fault is characterized by both spreading and lateral movements along the JRV. This results in a considerable risk of earthquakes. In spite of the absence of seismic activity for the past 500 years or so, this risk has a large influence on the structural design and cost of the RSDS Project.

During the Pleistocene period, the JRV was covered by one large lake that extended from Lake Tiberias to some 35km south of the Dead Sea. The highest water level (180m bsl) was reached around 25000 BCE. The sediments deposited at the bottom of the lake are marls, consisting of loam and calcareous silt loams which are mixed with salts and gypsum. These formations are known as Lisan deposits. The land tongue that now separates the deep northern part of the Dead Sea from the shallow southern part where the potash industry is situated is known as the Lisan Peninsula (from the Arabic word lisan, ‘tongue’). Below these deep alluvial deposits, the underlying rocks are faulted by the tectonic activities along the JRV.

The Dead Sea region is of major historical, cultural and religious significance and includes important archaeological sites. With its therapeutic spas and healing waters, the Dead Sea attracts many local and international tourists. The RSDS Project area also includes sensitive regions (e.g. for migratory birds) and nature reserves (e.g. the Dana Nature Reserve).

The area between the Dead Sea and the Red Sea is sparsely populated, with densities of 10 to 50 inhabitants per km2 or less. The main population centres are located in the Aqaba/Eilat area and on the shores of the Dead Sea.

The climate is subtropical, with maximum temperatures varying from 40oC in July to 23oC in December and minimum temperatures from 30oC to 13oC. The average annual rainfall is less than 50mm, and the average number of rainy days is about 15. At 400m bsl the atmospheric pressure is 5% and the oxygen content 4% higher than at sea level, while there is less solar ultraviolet radiation. Modelling and desk studies of climate change suggest that, by 2100, the average temperature may rise by 3-6oC and the precipitation may decline by 30%. The greater intensity of rainfall events may also result in a 30-50% decrease in runoff and aquifer recharge by 2100. However, like other wadis draining directly into the Dead Sea, the side wadis that flow into Wadi Araba/the Arava Valley south of the Dead Sea are prone to occasional large flash floods. These floods strongly influence the design of RSDS Project infrastructure.

Until 1978, the Dead Sea was composed of two stratified water layers with different temperatures and salinities (meromictic state). However, in the winter of 1978-79, a complete turnover occurred, when the density of the upper layer became greater than that of the lower layer. Presently, seasonal stratification results in an annual turnover, creating a monomictic state of the Dead Sea. The homogeneous water contains 343 grams per litre (g/L) of dissolved salts and has a density of 1240g/L. Compared to sea water, Dead Sea water is richer in chlorides (Cl), sodium (Na), potassium (K), magnesium (Mg), calcium (Ca) and bromide (Br) and is deficient in sulphates (SO4). The chemical industry annually extracts 650MCM from the Dead Sea and returns 250MCM of brine. It appears that this activity changes appreciably the chemical composition of the Dead Sea by increasing the concentrations of Mg, Ca, Cl and Br, while the concentrations of Na, K and SO4 are decreasing. Recent indications suggest that the very saline and dense deep layer formed by chemical industry return brines will continue to develop.

In addition, the hydrodynamic equilibrium between the surrounding fresh groundwater and the salt water of the Dead Sea has been affected by the decline in water levels. The interface between the two has begun to readjust to a new equilibrium state through a seaward movement of the fresher groundwater. Accordingly, groundwater levels in the surrounding areas have dropped, as large amounts of fresh and brackish groundwater have flowed into the Dead Sea in partial compensation for its declining level.