الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / مشروع البحرين الأحمر- الميت / الآثار البيئية والاجتماعية

الآثار البيئية والاجتماعية

تتمثل الآثار المحتملة للمشروع على منطقة البحر الميت بالآتي:

Sinkhole damaging infrastructure
Sinkhole damaging infrastructure


  • التغيير الذي سيطرأ على طبقات الماء واستقراره ودورانه. من المتوقع أن لا يؤثر المشروع على أنماط الدوران الأفقية، إلا أنه في الوقت نفسه، سيؤدي إلى تشّكل بحيرة متدرجة الطبقات، بطبقة سطحية بعمق 50 متراً، والتي تحتوي على مياه أقل ملوحة. وتحت الطبقة السطحية، سيطرأ تغييرات طفيفة في الطبقة الملحية العميقة عالية الكثافة، والتي ستستمر في الاتساع نحو الجزء السفلي، بسبب تصريف المياه المالحة من قبل الصناعة الكيميائية

  • تغيير في التركيب الكيميائي. على المدى الطويل، ستكتسب الطبقة السطحية خصائص مياه المحيطات المتركزة بفعل التبخر. وعلى الأغلب سيتواصل تغير التركيب الكيميائي للمكون الرئيسي للمياه، كما حصل خلال السنوات الـ50 الماضية، طالما لم تتوقف الصناعات الكيميائية

  • الزيادة المحتملة في وتيرة ومدة انتشار الطحالب الحمراء. أظهرت دراسة نمذجة البحر الميت أنه لتصريف أقل من 400 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً من مياه البحر الأحمر أو فائض المحلول الملحي، لن تنخفض الملوحة لأقل من الحد المسموح به الذي يساهم في نمو الطحالب. ولتصريف 1000 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً، لن تنخفض نسبة الملوحة إلى أقل من القيمة الحرجة، حيث يبدأ التلوث البكتريولوجي في التأثير على البحر الميت

  • الزيادة المتوقعة بوتيرة ومدة التبييض. يترسب الجبس عند امتزاج مياه البحر الأحمر ومياه البحر الميت. في حال أخذ الترسب شكل بلورات صغيرة، سيطفو الجبس على السطح، مسبباً حالة التبييض. ومن غير الواضح بعد ما إذا كان الجبس سيبقى في حالة المزيج المعلّق، مما يمنح الطبقة العلوية لوناً معكّراً، ام ستطفو بلورات الجبس إلى السطح على شكل مسحوق أبيض، مما سيكون له تأثير خطير على جماليات البحر الميت، أو ما إذا كانت بلورات الجبس الصغيرة ستندمج لتشكّل بلورات كبيرة مصيرها الغرق في قاع البحر. مطلوب اجراء المزيد من الدراسات

  • تغييرات محتملة في ملوحة وطفو الطبقة السطحية. تبلغ كثافة الطبقة السطحية حالياً 1,24 غرام/لتر وستستمر في الازدياد إلى أنّ تبلغ 1,36 غرام/لتر. وخلال المشروع، ستنخفض الكثافة إلى1,17غرام/لتر، وهي نسبة أعلى قليلا من الكثافة (التي سُجلت) منذ 50 عاماً

ويهدف المشروع الأساسي إلى الحدّ من التدهور البيئي في البحر الميت، وهذا يشمل:


  • انخفاض منسوب مياه البحر الميت. سيتم إيقاف معدل الانخفاض الحالي والذي يبلغ 1 متر/السنة كما يمكن إلى حد ما، عكس هذا الإتجاه

  • ظهور المسطحات الطينية المكشوفة وما يتبعه من غبار تثيره الرياح. على مدى السنوات الـ50 الماضية أصبح نحو 300 كليومترمربع من قاع البحر مكشوفاً. تعتبر السهول الطينية هذه غير جذابة بالنسبة للسياح، مما من شأنه أنّ يضرّ قطاع السياحة

  • ظهور الثقوب الأرضية. ظهر عدد كبير من الثقوب تجاوز الـ3000 ثقب بشكل مفاجىء، مما أدى إلى تدمير المباني والطرقات والأراضي الزراعية والحد من الأنشطة الترفيهية والتجارية

  • انخفاض منسوب المياه الجوفية. مع انخفاض مستوى المياه في البحر الميت، طرأ انخفاض على منسوب المياه الجوفية في المنطقة المجاورة إلى جانب جفاف الآبار

  • أضرار البنية التحتية. تعرضت قنوات تصريف المياه السطحية في البحر الميت إلى عوامل الحتّ والتعرية بسبب انخفاض منسوب المياه. تسبب هذا التآكل بأضرار جمة في البنى التحتية العامة والخاصة على حد سواء

  • تراجع في القطاع السياحي. تبيّن انخفاض أعداد السياح الاجانب إلى البحر الميت، والذي يمكن أن يُعزى إلى تدهور أوضاع البحر الميت

يبيَّن التقييم الاجتماعي أن معظم الآثار السلبية ستحدث خلال فترة البناء وبشكلٍ أساسي بسبب تدفق أعداد كبيرة من العمال الأجانب إلى المناطق التي تتسم بقلة السكان والفقر بالاضافة الى كونها بيئة محافطة من الناحية الاجتماعية والدينية. من ناحية أخرى، ستتوفر فرص عمل جديدة إضافية، ومع بدء التشغيل، ستتوفر بعض فرص العمل في محطات تحلية المياه وتوليد الكهرباء. أما فيما يتعلق بالفوائد الأخرى التي ستظهر بعد الإنتهاء من امدادات مياه الشرب، غالباً ما سيكون لها أثر ملموس خارج منطقة المشروع.

Home / Specials / Red Sea-Dead Sea Project / Environmental and Social Impacts

Environmental and Social Impacts

The most worrying potential impacts of the project on the Dead Sea are:

Sinkhole damaging infrastructure
Sinkhole damaging infrastructure

  • Changes to the layering, stability and circulation of the water body. It is expected that the project will not affect the horizontal circulation patterns but that it will create a more stratified lake, with a 50m-deep surface layer consisting of less saline water. Below the surface layer, there will be little change in the highly saline and very dense deep layer, which will continue to extend at the bottom, due to the discharge of brine by the chemical industry.

  • Changes in chemical composition. In the long run, the surface layer will take on the characteristics of ocean water concentrated by evaporation. The chemical composition of the main body of water will probably continue to change, as it has during the last 50 years, as long as the chemical industry continues to operate.

  • Possible increase in the frequency and duration of red-algae blooms. The Dead Sea modelling study shows that, for a discharge of less than 400 MCM/yr of Red Sea water or ejected brine, the salinity will not fall below the threshold below which algal blooms can develop. For a discharge of 1,000 MCM/yr, the salinity will fall to the critical value below which bacteriological phenomena may begin to affect the Dead Sea.

  • Possible increase in the frequency and duration of whitening events. When Red Sea water is mixed with Dead Sea water, gypsum will precipitate. If the precipitation takes the form of small crystals, the gypsum will float to the surface, causing a whitening effect. It is not yet clear whether the gypsum will stay in suspension, giving the upper layer a milky colour or whether some of the gypsum crystals will float on the surface as a white powder, which would seriously affect the aesthetics of the Dead Sea, or whether the gypsum will form large crystals that will sink to the bottom. Further study is required.

  • Possible changes in the salinity and buoyancy of the surface layer. The density of the surface layer is currently 1,240g/L and will continue increasing, to 1,360g/L. During the project, the density will decline to 1,170g/L, which is slightly higher than the density 50 years ago.

The original project aims to mitigate environmental degradation of the Dead Sea, which includes:


  • Decline of the Dead Sea level. The present rate of decline of 1.1m/yr will be stopped and the decline may, to some extent, be reversed.

  • Creation of exposed mudflats and resultant windblown dust. Over the last 50 years some 30 km2 of seabed has been exposed. These mudflats are very unattractive to tourists, and their spread damages the tourism industry.

  • Creation of sinkholes. A large number of sinkholes (more than 3,000) has suddenly appeared, destroying buildings, roads and agricultural land and limiting recreational and commercial activities.

  • Decline of the groundwater table. With the fall in the level of the Dead Sea, the groundwater table in the vicinity has fallen and wells have dried up.

  • Damage to infrastructure. Surface water channels draining to the Dead Sea have suffered erosion due to the falling level. Erosion has also caused extensive damage to both public and private infrastructure.

  • Decline in tourism. Statistics show that there has been a decline in international tourist visits to the Dead Sea, which may be attributable to the degradation of the Dead Sea.

The social assessment shows that most of the negative impacts will occur during the construction period and arise mainly from the influx of foreign workers into a sparsely populated, poor and socially and religiously conservative area. On the other hand, there will be possibilities for additional employment. During operation, there will be some employment opportunities at the desalination and power plants. Other benefits provided by the supply of potable water will be felt mostly outside the project area.