الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / نهر النيل في مصر / أزمة المياه في مصر: الوضع الحالي والاتجاهات المستقبلية

أزمة المياه في مصر: الوضع الحالي والاتجاهات المستقبلية

دلتا النيل
الصورة 1: امرأة مصرية تغسل الملابس على قناة ملوثة في بلدة البرلس بدلتا النيل ، على بعد 300 كم شمال القاهرة في عام 2008. (المصدر: Nasser Nouri, Flicker)

قد انخفض متوسط توافر المياه العذبة للفرد في مصر بشكل مطرد من حوالي 1,893 متر مكعب في العام في عام 1959 إلى حوالي 900 متر مكعب في عام 2000 و700 متر مكعب في عام 2012. ويضع هذا البلاد تحت عتبة ندرة المياه بحسب البنك الدولي البالغة 1000 متر مكعب من المياه المتجددة المتاحة للفرد في السنة. [1] ومن المتوقع أن يستمر انخفاض نصيب الفرد من المياه إلى 534 متر مكعب بحلول عام 2030، أي أقل من الحد الدولي للفقر المائي. [2] ووفقاً للحكومة، فمن المتوقع أن يصل عدد سكان مصر إلى 98,7 مليون نسمة بحلول عام 2025، مما يزيد من التنافس على المياه. كما يمكن أن تؤثر التطورات في السودان وإثيوبيا وغيرها من بلدان المشاطئة على توافر المياه في مصر.[3]

ويهدد النمو الاقتصادي أيضاً كمية ونوعية الموارد المائية في مصر، مما يؤدي إلى تفاقم المشكلة الحالية المتمثلة في تلوث المياه الجوفية الضحلة من المواد الكيميائية الصناعية والإفراط في استخدام الأسمدة والمبيدات الحشرية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ما زال المزارعون يمارسون، بشكلٍ كبير، أساليب الري بالغمر غير الفعالة، مما يؤدي إلى خسارة المياه بفعل التبخر والإفراط في الري، مسببة أضراراً بالتربة وارتفاعات في منسوبات المياه الجوفية. [4] ووفقاً لوزارة الموارد المائية والري، تستخدم مصر بالفعل 127% من مواردها المائية وستحتاج إلى 20% إضافية من المياه بحلول عام 2020. وهذا يعني أن 27% من المياه المستخدمة يتم استيرادها عن طريق الأغذية وغيرها من المنتجات، ويمكن يرتفع هذا إلى 47% بحلول عام 2020.

دلتا النيل
الصورة 2: قمامة متراكمة في نهاية قناة فرعية ، دلتا النيل ، بالقرب من الإسكندرية. (المصدر: François Molle, Flicker)

تتوقع الأمم المتحدة أن تعاني مصر من شح المياه بحلول عام 2025. وبافتراض استمرار نمو السكان ومراعاة مشاريع استصلاح الأراضي في الصحراء وحقيقة أن أكثر من 50% من الحبوب المستهلكة مستوردة بالفعل، فلا يمكن لمصر تلبية الطلب على الغذاء من خلال الاعتماد على مياه النيل للري. [5] وإضافةً إلى هذا الوضع غير المستقر، يُعتقد أن تبخر المياه السطحية في بحيرة ناصر يتجاوز الكمية المقدرة السابقة. يبلغ متوسط معدل التبخر الحالي 7 ملم، ومن المتوقع أن يصل إلى 7,3 ملم بحلول عام 2050. [6] وبعبارةٍ أخرى، تستخدم مصر بالفعل معظم تدفقات نهر النيل، وتخطط لاستخدام المزيد. ووفقاً لوزارة الموارد المائية والري، فإن هناك عجز في الميزانية الوطنية للمياه يبلغ حوالي 19,5 مليار متر مكعب [7]

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تأثرت مصر بتغير المناخ، والذي يؤثر على كامل حوض النيل. ومن المرجح أن تزيد التطورات الاقتصادية في دول المنبع والتدابير التي قد تتخذها للتكيف مع تغير المناخ الضغوطات على موارد المياه في مصر. فقد أظهرت العديد من الدراسات أن النيل شديد الحساسية لتغيرات درجات الحرارة وهطول الأمطار، ويرجع ذلك أساساً إلى انخفاض معدل الجريان/ هطول الأمطار (4%). [8], [9]

وللتغلب على نقص المياه، تعتمد الحكومة على تقنيات إعادة استخدام المياه، وخاصة بالنسبة للري. وحالياً، يتم استرجاع 10% من مياه الري باعتبارها مياهاً للصرف الزراعي. فقد بلغت كمية مياه الصرف الصحي المعاد استخدامها 2 مليار متر مكعب في عام 2017. [10] وتخطط الحكومة لتحديث محطات معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الثانوية الحالية لتوفير ما مجموعه 11,67 مليار متر مكعب من المياه من خلال معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وإعادة استخدامها. ومع ذلك، فإن التقنيات المستخدمة في هذه المحطات تعتمد بكثافة على الطاقة ولا تناسب دوماً البلدان النامية نظراً لأمور اجتماعية واقتصادية. [12] [11]. فمن المحتمل ألا يكون إعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي للاستخدامات المنزلية مقبولاً من قبل المستهلكين في المنازل في مصر، ناهيك عن استخدامها كمياه للشرب. وعلاوةً على ذلك، فإن تقنيات معالجة المياه هذه ليست اقتصادية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فيمكن أن تؤدي المعالجة غير السليمة وإعادة استخدام المياه المعالجة ذات النوعية الرديئة إلى تلوث التربة وكذلك تلوث المياه السطحية والمياه الجوفية. [13] وقد التزمت الحكومة مؤخراً بتوسيع استخدام الطرق الطبيعية مثل تقنيات معالجة الأراضي الرطبة وتربة طبقات المياه الجوفية، والمعروف أنها ذات كفاءة عالية وفعالة من حيث التكلفة. [14]

[1] Drainage Research Institute, 2010. Monitoring and Analysis of Drainage Water Quality Project, Drainage Water Status in the Nile Delta Yearbook 97/98. Technical, No.52.
[2] FAOSTAT, 2013. Country Profile Egypt.
[3] FAO, 2014. AQUASTAT.
[4] Abdel-Dayem S, 2011. Water quality management in Egypt. International Journal of Water Resources Development 27(1):181-202.
[5] Radwan L, 1998. Water management in the Egyptian delta: Problems of wastage and inefficiency. Geographical Journal 164(2):129-138.
[6] Badawy, H. A. (2009) Effect of expected climate changes on evaporation losses from Aswan High Dam Reservoir (AHDR), Thirteenth International Water Technology Conference, IWTC 13 2009, Hurghada, Egypt.
[7] Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation, 2014. Water Scarcity in Egypt.
[8] Badawy, H. A. (2009) Effect of expected climate changes on evaporation losses from Aswan High Dam Reservoir (AHDR), Thirteenth International Water Technology Conference, IWTC 13 2009, Hurghada, Egypt.
[9] Radwan L, 1997. Farmer responses to inefficiencies in the supply and distribution of irrigation requirements in delta Egypt. Geographical Journal 163(1):78-92.
[10] Alnaggar D, 2003. Water resources management and policies for Egypt’. Workshop on Policies and Strategies Options for Water Management in Islamic Countries (Tehran), December 2003.
[11] Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation, 2014. Water Scarcity in Egypt.
[12] Hussona S and Abdullah A, 2014. Water quality assessment of Mahmoudia Canal in northern west of Egypt. Journal of Pollution Effects and Control 2(2):121.
[13] Wagdy A, 2008. Progress in water resources management: Egypt. Proceedings of the 1st Technical Meeting of Muslim Water Researchers Cooperation.
[14] Elbana T, Bakr N and Elbana M, 2017. Reuse of treated wastewater in Egypt: Challenges and opportunities. In Negm A (ed.) Unconventional Water Resources and Agriculture in Egypt. The Handbook of Environmental Chemistry, vol 75. Springer, Cham.

Home / Specials / The Nile River in Egypt / Egypt’s Water Crisis: Current Situation and Future Trends

Egypt’s Water Crisis: Current Situation and Future Trends

Nile delta pollution
Photo 1: Egyptian woman washes clothes on pollution Canal at the Nile Delta town of Al-Borollos, 300 km north of Cairo in 2008. (Source: Nasser Nouri, Flicker)

The average per capita freshwater availability in Egypt has been steadily declining from about 1,893m3 per year in 1959 to about 900m3 in 2000 and 700m3 in 2012. This puts the country below the World Bank’s water scarcity threshold of 1,000m³ of renewable water available per capita per year.[1] Per capita water availability is expected to continue dropping to 534m3 by 2030, below the international water poverty limit.[2] According to the government, Egypt’s population is predicted to reach 98.7 million by 2025, further increasing the competition for water. Developments in Sudan, Ethiopia and other riparian countries could impact water availability to Egypt.[3]

Economic growth is also threatening the quantity and quality of Egypt’s water resources, exacerbating the existing issue of shallow groundwater contamination from industrial chemicals and excessive fertilizer and pesticide use. In addition, farmers still overwhelmingly practise inefficient flood irrigation, which results in evaporative loss and over-irrigation, causing soil damage and rises in groundwater tables.[4] According to the Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation, Egypt already uses 127 per cent of its water resources and will need 20% more water by 2020. This means that 27% of the water used is imported via food and other products, and this could rise to 47% by 2020.

Nile pollution
Photo 2: Garbage accumulating at the end of a branch canal, Nile Delta, near Alexandrie (Source: François Molle, Flicker)

The United Nations predicts that Egypt could be water scarce by 2025. Assuming continued population growth and taking into account the land reclamation projects in the desert and the fact that more than 50% of the cereals consumed are already imported, Egypt cannot meet its food demand by relying on Nile water for irrigation.[5] Adding to this precarious situation, surface water evaporation in Lake Nasser is thought to exceed the earlier estimated amount. The current average evaporation rate is 7 mm and it is expected to be 7.3 mm by 2050. [6] In other words, Egypt is already utilizing most of the Nile’s flow, and it plans to use even more. According to the Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation, there is a deficit in the national water budget of about 19.5 BCM [7].

In addition, Egypt is affected by climate change, which is impacting the entire Nile basin. Economic developments in upstream countries and measures they might take to adapt to climate change are likely to put more pressure on water resources in Egypt. Several studies have shown that the Nile is highly sensitive to temperature and precipitation changes, mainly because of its low runoff/rainfall ratio (4%).[8], [9]

To overcome the shortage, the government relies on water reuse techniques, particularly for irrigation. Currently, 10% of irrigation water is reclaimed agricultural drainage water. Reused wastewater amounted to 2 BCM in 2017.[10] The government plans to upgrade the existing secondary wastewater treatment plants to save a total of 11.67 BCM water through tertiary wastewater treatment and reuse. However, the technologies used in these plants are energy-intensive and not always appropriate in developing countries due to social and economic issues.[11], [12] Re-using of wastewater for domestic uses is likely not acceptable by local users in Egypt, let alone for using it for drinking purposes. Moreover, these treatment techniques are not economic. Furthermore, improper treatment and reuse of poor-quality treated water can lead to soil pollution as well as surface water and groundwater contamination.[13] The government recently committed to extend the use of natural methods such as wetland and soil aquifer treatment techniques, which are known to be highly efficient and cost-effective.[14]

[1] Drainage Research Institute, 2010. Monitoring and Analysis of Drainage Water Quality Project, Drainage Water Status in the Nile Delta Yearbook 97/98. Technical, No.52.
[2] FAOSTAT, 2013. Country Profile Egypt.
[3] FAO, 2014. AQUASTAT.
[4] Abdel-Dayem S, 2011. Water quality management in Egypt. International Journal of Water Resources Development 27(1):181-202.
[5] Radwan L, 1998. Water management in the Egyptian delta: Problems of wastage and inefficiency. Geographical Journal 164(2):129-138.
[6] Badawy, H. A. (2009) Effect of expected climate changes on evaporation losses from Aswan High Dam Reservoir (AHDR), Thirteenth International Water Technology Conference, IWTC 13 2009, Hurghada, Egypt.
[7] Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation, 2014. Water Scarcity in Egypt.
[8] Badawy, H. A. (2009) Effect of expected climate changes on evaporation losses from Aswan High Dam Reservoir (AHDR), Thirteenth International Water Technology Conference, IWTC 13 2009, Hurghada, Egypt.

[9] Radwan L, 1997. Farmer responses to inefficiencies in the supply and distribution of irrigation requirements in delta Egypt. Geographical Journal 163(1):78-92.
[10] Alnaggar D, 2003. Water resources management and policies for Egypt’. Workshop on Policies and Strategies Options for Water Management in Islamic Countries (Tehran), December 2003.
[11] Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation, 2014. Water Scarcity in Egypt.
[12] Hussona S and Abdullah A, 2014. Water quality assessment of Mahmoudia Canal in northern west of Egypt. Journal of Pollution Effects and Control 2(2):121.
[13] Wagdy A, 2008. Progress in water resources management: Egypt. Proceedings of the 1st Technical Meeting of Muslim Water Researchers Cooperation.
[14] Elbana T, Bakr N and Elbana M, 2017. Reuse of treated wastewater in Egypt: Challenges and opportunities. In Negm A (ed.) Unconventional Water Resources and Agriculture in Egypt. The Handbook of Environmental Chemistry, vol 75. Springer, Cham.