الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / أهوار العراق / الأهوار في القرن الواحد والعشرين

الأهوار في القرن الواحد والعشرين

الأهوار أهوار العراق
وبحلول عام 2002، تقلصت الأهوار إلى 1600 كيلومتر مربع أو 14% من حجمها في السبعينيات. وتعتبر الأوضاع في عام 2002 الحد الأدنى لمساحة الأهوار. فقد كان هور الحمّار جافاً بالكامل تقريباً.

وبحلول عام 2002، تقلصت أهوار العراق إلى 1600 كيلومتر مربع أو 14% من حجمها في السبعينيات. وتعتبر الأوضاع في عام 2002 الحد الأدنى لمساحة الأهوار. فقد كان هور الحمّار جافاً بالكامل تقريباً. وتبيّن الخريطة (1) صوراً بالأقمار الاصطناعية التقطت قبل وبعد تنفيذ مشاريع التجفيف الرئيسية.[1]

الخريطة (1): صورة بالأقمار الاصطناعية للأهوار التقطت أعوام 1972، و1990، و1997.

إعادة غمر الأهوار بالمياه

بعد غزو العراق من قِبل قوات التحالف عام 2003، لم ينتظر السكان الذين بقوا حول أطراف الأهوار المجففة سقوط بغداد للبدء في عملية إعادة غمر المنطقة. فقد تم هدم أول سدين على مقربةٍ من البصرة، عند نهاية هور الحمّار.و تدفقت المياه من نهر شط العرب إلى الإمتدادات المنخفضة للحمّار.

وإلى الغرب قليلاً، على طول الجانب الجنوبي الغربي للأهوار الوسطى، طلب السكان المحليون من مدير قسم الري استخدام معداته لفتح ثغراتٍ في السدود. سمح هذا يإعادة إغراق هور أبو زيرج بالمياه. وبالمثل، أقنع السكان المحليون في الركن الشمالي الغربي من الأهوار الوسطى مشّغل محطة الضخ بوقف الضخ، مما تسبب في فيضان الأهوار. كما تم فتح ثلاث فجوات في السد الأيسر من نهر الفرات، مما سمح بتدفق المياه إلى الأهوار الوسطى، وتم فتح مختلف الخنادق والسدود حول هور الحويزة.

وفي الوقت نفسه، أقرت الحكومة المركزية بأهمية توفير الدعم المؤسسي لمنطقة الأراضي الرطبة، وتم تأسيس مركز إعادة إحياء الأهوار العراقية (CRIM) في يناير 2004. كان الهدف قصير الأمد الذي وضعه المركز يتمثل في دعم تنفيذ مقترحات إعادة إحياء الأهوار في أعقاب استثمارات العديد من المانحين في المنطقة. وشملت جهود إعادة إحياء الأهوار إعادة الإغراق؛ والمراقبة؛ والأبحاث؛ والتخطيط؛ والتدريب؛ وبناء القدرات؛ وإبرام اتفاقياتٍ دولية. وعلاوة على ذلك، بدأت عدة جماعاتٍ إنشاء مشاريع لزيادة رفاهية سكان الأهوار. كان الهدف النهائي لمركز إعادة إحياء الأهوار العراقية إعداد خطة للإحياء المستدام.[2]

برنامج مراقبة الأهوار

في الفترة ما بين عاميّ 2003-2005، كان نظام مراقبة الأهوار العراقية (IMOS) جزءاً من برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة (UNEP) لمشروع دعم الإدارة البيئية للأهوار العراقية. فقد كان نظام مراقبة الأهوار العراقية أداةً لدعم صنع القرار لمساعدة أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين في تعديل وتكييف خطط إعادة الإحياء في الوقت المناسب استناداً إلى معلوماتٍ علمية صحيحة. وتمثلت الأهداف الرئيسية لنظام المراقبة بالآتي:

  1. وضع وتنفيذ نظام للمراقبة للحصول بصورة منهجية على المعلومات المتعلقة بالتغيرات في النظام الإيكولوجي للأهوار وتحليلها وتبادلها؛
  2. تطوير نتائج المعلومات والخدمات استناداً إلى البيانات التي تم جمعها لدعم إدارة عملية إعادة الإحياء؛ و
  3. تقييم نجاح إعادة إحياء الأراضي الرطبة وتأثيراتهاعلى البيئة الإقليمية، بما في ذلك تلك الواقعة شمال الخليج العربي.

واستندت الأداة الرئيسية المستخدمة في تنفيذ نظام مراقبة الأهوار العراقية (IMOS) إلى تحليل الغطاء النباتي المستمد من الاستشعار عن بعد. وقد وفرت الصور الناتجة، التي تم تحديثها على أساس أسبوعي، قياس الغطاء النباتي في المياه المفتوحة وفي الأهوار، كما هو مبين في الخريطتين 2 و 3.

الخريطة (2): خريطة الغطاء الأرضي، 24 مايو 2003.[3]
Early growth of reeds mixed with desert scrub in the Hammar Marsh, September 2003
الصورة (2): النمو المبكر للقصب إلى جانب الشجيرات الصحراوية في هور الحمّار، سبتمبر 2003.[4]
Marsh dwellers returning to the Central Marsh
الصورة (3): سكان الأهوار يعودون إلى الأهوار الوسطى، 2004.[5]

وفي حين انتهى برنامج مراقبة الاستشعار عن بعد، الذي نفذه برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة عام 2006، فقد واصلت مبادرة عدن الجديدة المشروع باستخدام أساليب منهجية مماثلة. واستندت المراقبة على صور الأقمار الاصطناعية التي التقطت كل شهر من ديسمبر 2007 وحتى أكتوبر 2008.

Iraqi Marshes
الخريطة(3): خريطة الغطاء الأرضي، 3 أكتوبر 2005.[6]

[1] United States Geological Service pictures, from New Eden Group (2006). New Eden Master Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in the Marshlands Area. Final report prepared for Iraq’s Ministries of Water Resources, Municipalities and Public Works, and Environment.
[2] Powers, K. (2004). The Iraq Marshes: Restoration Activities. CRS Report for Congress. Available at http://congressionalresearch.com/RL32433/document.php?study=The+Iraq+Marshes+Restoration+Activities, accessed 10 February 2017.
[3] UNEP (2003). Iraq Marshlands Observation System (IMOS). Available at: www.grid.unep.ch/activities/sustainable/tigris/mmos.php, accessed 10 February 2017.
[4] New Eden Group (2006). New Eden Master Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in the Marshlands Area.  Final report prepared for Iraq’s Ministries of Water Resources, Municipalities and Public Works, and Environment.
[5] Ibid.
[6] UNEP (2003). Iraq Marshlands Observation System (IMOS). Available at: www.grid.unep.ch/activities/sustainable/tigris/mmos.php, accessed 10 February 2017.

Home / Specials / Iraqi Marshes / The Marshes in the 21th Century

The Marshes in the 21th Century

08

The Marshes
Photo 1: Iraqi men conduct marshland restoration by boat ( Source: USAID, Flickr).

By 2002, the marshes had shrunk to 1,600km2 or 14% of their size in 1970s. Conditions in 2002 are considered to be the lower limit of the marshlands’ extent. Hammar Marsh was almost completely dry. Map 1 shows satellite imagery of the marshes taken before and after major desiccation projects were implemented.[1]

Map 1: Satellite images of the marshlands taken in 1972, 1990 and 1997.

Re-flooding the marshes

Following the invasion of Iraq by coalition troops in 2003, the people who had remained around the fringes of the dried-out marshes did not wait for Baghdad to fall to begin re-flooding. The first two levees to be breached were close to Basra, at the tail end of the Hammar Marsh. Water flowed up from the Shatt al-Arab River to the lower reaches of the Hammar.

Further west, along the south-westerly side of the Central Marsh, the locals asked the manager of the irrigation district to use his equipment to breach the embankments. This allowed water to re-flood the Abu Zirig Marsh. Similarly, the locals in the northwest corner of the Central Marsh prevailed upon the operator of the pumping station to stop pumping, causing the marsh to flood. Three breaches were also opened in the left levee of the Euphrates, allowing water to flow into the Central Marsh, and around Hawizeh Marsh various dykes and levees were opened.

At the same time, the central government acknowledged the importance of providing institutional support to the wetland area, and the Center for Restoration of the Iraqi Marshlands (CRIM) was established in January 2004. The CRIM’s short-term goal was to support the implementation of proposals for marsh restoration, following several donor investments in the area. Marsh rehabilitation efforts included re-flooding and monitoring; research; planning; training and capacity-building; and establishing international agreements. Further, several groups initiated projects to increase the prosperity of the marsh dwellers. The CRIM’s final target was the preparation of a Sustainable Restoration Plan.[2]

Marshlands observation programme

In 2003-2005, the Iraq Marshlands Observation System (IMOS) was part of the United Nations Environment Programme’s (UNEP) Support for Environmental Management of the Iraqi Marshlands project. IMOS was a decision-making support tool to assist key stakeholders in modifying and adapting restoration plans in a timely manner, based on valid scientific information. The main goals of IMOS were to:

  1. Develop and implement a monitoring system to systematically acquire, analyse and exchange information about changes in the marshlands ecosystem;
  2. Develop information products and services based on the data gathered to support management of the restoration process; and
  3. Evaluate the success of wetland restoration and its impacts on the regional environment, including that of the northern Persian Gulf.

The main tool used for the implementation of IMOS was based on remote sensing-derived vegetation analysis. The resulting images, updated on a weekly basis, provided the measurement of open water and marshlands vegetation coverage, as shown in Maps 2 and 3.

Map 2: Land cover map, 24 May 2003.[3]
Early growth of reeds mixed with desert scrub in the Hammar Marsh, September 2003
Photo 2: Early growth of reeds mixed with desert scrub in the Hammar Marsh, September 2003 .[4]
Marsh dwellers returning to the Central Marsh
Photo 3: Marsh dwellers returning to the Central Marsh, 2004.[5]

While the remote sensing observation programme implemented by UNEP was ended in 2006, the New Eden Team continued the project, using similar methodological approaches. Monitoring was based on satellite images collected every month from December 2007 until October 2008.

Map 3: Land cover map, 24 May 2003.[6]

[1] United States Geological Service pictures, from New Eden Group (2006). New Eden Master Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in the Marshlands Area. Final report prepared for Iraq’s Ministries of Water Resources, Municipalities and Public Works, and Environment.
[2] Powers, K. (2004). The Iraq Marshes: Restoration Activities. CRS Report for Congress. Available at http://congressionalresearch.com/RL32433/document.php?study=The+Iraq+Marshes+Restoration+Activities, accessed 10 February 2017.
[3] UNEP (2003). Iraq Marshlands Observation System (IMOS). Available at: www.grid.unep.ch/activities/sustainable/tigris/mmos.php, accessed 10 February 2017.
[4] New Eden Group (2006). New Eden Master Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in the Marshlands Area.  Final report prepared for Iraq’s Ministries of Water Resources, Municipalities and Public Works, and Environment.
[5] Ibid.
[6] UNEP (2003). Iraq Marshlands Observation System (IMOS). Available at: www.grid.unep.ch/activities/sustainable/tigris/mmos.php, accessed 10 February 2017.