الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / أهوار العراق / دور الأهوار في الإطار الحالي لإدارة المياه

دور الأهوار في الإطار الحالي لإدارة المياه

دور الأهوار الفيضانات
يشمل دورالأهوار مجموعة متنوعة من خدمات النظام البيئي، بما في ذلك: التخفيف من مخاطر الفيضانات؛ وإنتاج وبيع السلع من الأهوار و إعادة تغذية المياه الجوفية؛

ديناميات الفيضانات في الأهوار- الظروف الطبيعية

تخضع مساحة المناطق التي تُغمر بالمياه لقابلية التغيير خلال السنة، وفقاً للنظام الهيدرولوجي. وتؤدي سنوات الجفاف إلى انحسار الأراضي المغمورة بالمياه، فيما تساهم السنوات الغنية بالأمطار في زيادة مساحة الأهوار.

يعتمد النظام الطبيعي للتدفقات الداخلة والخارجة للأهوار، اعتماداً كبيراً، على وجود قمم الفيضانات، وبشكلٍ عام، على النظام الهيدرولوجي للأنهار التي تجلب المياه إلى الأهوار. وقبل تدخل البشر بالنظام الهيدروليكي، كانت منطقة المنبع في الأهوار تغمر دورياً خلال الفيضانات. وعلى العكس من ذلك، خلال فترات الجفاف، انخفضت مساحة المناطق المغمورة، مما تسبب في حدوث تعاقب في سلوك الأراضي الرطبة، مما ساعد بشكلٍ عام في تطور التنوع البيولوجي وتحسين الظروف البيئية إلى أقصى حد: يخلق تباين امتداد الفيضانات وعمق المياه، ظروفاً مواتية للنباتات والحيوانات. وعلاوة على ذلك، لا توجد السدود والحواجز التي من صنع الإنسان في ظل الظروف الطبيعية. وبالتالي، كان هناك تقييد حقيقي أقل لامتداد الغمر، باستثناء السدود الطبيعية والتغيرات التدريجية في ارتفاع التضاريس الأرضية. فقد كان يتم تخفيف حدّة قمم التدفقات الكبيرة التي تدخل هذه الأراضي الرطبة والفيضانات بشكلٍ طبيعي مع امتداد المياه عبر السهول الفيضية. وقد ساعدت الكميات الكبيرة من المياه التي تتحرك عبر الأراضي الرطبة في الحفاظ على مستوى مرتفع من الترابط بين الأهوار والأنهار المختلفة.

ديناميات الفيضانات في الأهوار- الظروف الحالية

في الوقت الراهن، تتم إدارة الأهوار بشكلٍ مختلف تماماً: يسمح وجود السدود، والحواجز من صنع الإنسان والحواجز الترابية، بالتحكم الكامل في كيفية دخول المياه للأهوار ومكان تدفقها. فقد بُنيت السدود والحواجز لتمكين القيام بالأنشطة البشرية وحمايتها. وكان من النتائج المباشرة لبناء السدود اختفاء التدفقات القصوى من الأنهار والحدّ من إجمالي المياه المتاحة لجنوب العراق. وفي الوقت نفسه، فرض تشييد نظام حواجز شامل قيوداً مادية على كمية الأراضي التي يمكن أن تتاح لتنمية الأهوار، فضلاً عن الربط بين الأهوار والأنهار.

وفي هذه الظروف، لم تعد الأهوار مرتبطة ببعضها البعض، وفي حال وجود أي ترابط، يكون هذا فحسب لأن السكان المحليين قاموا بإحداث فجواتٍ في الحواجز القائمة، أو لأن القنوات التي صنعها الإنسان تنقل الماء من مكانٍ إلى آخر.

إن الافتقار إلى ذروات التدفق والدورات المائية، وانخفاض توافر المياه، وعدم وجود ترابط مائي، هي جميعها عوامل تسهم في وجود نظام الأهوار غير السليم وغير المستقر.

يمكن الإشارة إلى إدارة التدفق هذه في الأهوار، والتي طبقت على نطاقٍ واسع في جنوب العراق في العقود الماضية، على أنها “شبه طبيعية،” حيث يتم التحكم بالجريان إلى الأهوار بشكلٍ كامل، في حين لا يتم تنظيم التدفقات، وإن لم تكن طبيعية. ولسوء الحظ، فقد وجد أنها استراتيجية خاسرة، ذلك أن التدفقات الكبيرة لم تعد مضمونة، ولا يمكن محاكاة تغير التدفق داخل الأهوار دون نظام اصطناعي ملائم.

واعترافاً بأنّ كلاً من الإدارة “الطبيعية” و”شبه الطبيعية” لم تعودا ممكنتين أو كافيتين، تتبع حالياً وزارة الموارد المائية الإدارة “التي يتم التحكم بها،” وهي نظامٌ يتم من خلاله التحكم الكامل بالتدفقات الداخلة والخارجة على حد سواء. تحاول الإدارة التي يتم التحكم بها تحقيق التغييرات اللازمة للجريان الداخلي ومستوى المياه التي يتطلبها ازدهار النظام الإيكولوجي.

من وجهة نظرٍ مائية، تعمل الإدارة التي يتم التحكم بها عن طريق منع أو الحد من تدفق المياه من المناطق المغمورة. وهي ليست خياراً مجدياً فحسب، بل أيضاً الخيار الأكثر كفاءة في استهلاك المياه.

ومنذ عام 2008 وحتى عام 2010، أشرفت وزارة الموارد المائية على تصميم الهياكل الهيدروليكية اللازمة للفيضانات التي يتم التحكم بها في الأهوار. وقد تم تشييد بعض هذه الهياكل الهيدروليكية في السنوات الخمس الماضية، سيما منافذ الحويزة والأهوار الوسطى.

فوائد إعادة إحياء الأهوار

قد أقرّت الحكومة بأهمية الأهوار في الحفاظ على البيئة وإدارة الموارد المائية على حد سواء. تم التعبير عن ذلك، على سبيل المثال، في مبادرة عدن الجديدة بين عامي 2006-2008، وفي استراتيجية الموارد المائية والأراضي العراقية (SWLRI) عام 2015. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، اتخذت إجراءات ملموسة، مثل موافقة مجلس الوزراء العراقي في 23 يوليو 2013 باعتبار الأهوار الوسطى أول متنزه قومي في البلاد.

تقدم الأهوار مجموعة متنوعة من خدمات النظام البيئي، بما في ذلك:

  • بيئة مضيافة تخدم المجتمعات، وتقلل من الهجرة من الأهوار إلى المراكز الحضرية؛
  • عزل ثاني أكسيد الكربون، أي امتصاص ثاني أكسيد الكربون (CO2) من الغلاف الجوي بسبب الغطاء النباتي المتزايد في الأهوار؛
  • التخفيف من مخاطر الفيضانات؛
  • إنتاج وبيع السلع من الأهوار، بما في ذلك منتجات الألبان من جاموس الماء، والحليب من الأبقار، والأسماك، والقصب، وما إلى ذلك؛
  • إعادة تغذية المياه الجوفية؛
  • تنقية المياه، ذلك أن الأراضي الرطبة تساعد بطبيعة الحال على الحد من الملوثات لأن أنواع النباتات في الأراضي الرطبة تمتص بعض المكونات في مياه الأهوار؛
  • منع التعرية أو العواصف الرملية أو العواصف الترابية والتصحر؛
  • تحسين المناخ المحلي، بما في ذلك خفض درجات الحرارة المحلية وزيادة الرطوبة المحلية؛
  • تحسين بنية التربة من خلال إعادة الإماهة وإدخال المواد العضوية؛
  • زيادة قيمة الأراضي؛
  • السياحة البيئية.
Wildlife in Marshes

الصورة (2): الحياة الطبيعية في الأهوار العراقية ( المصدر: زياد سمير, Flickr).

قد حسبت مبادرة عدن الجديدة تقييماًللأهوار استناداً إلى مختلف متغييرات وظائف النظم البيئية، بما في ذلك قيمة الاستخدام المباشر التي تعزى للاستخدام المباشر لخدمات النظام البيئي، وقيمة الاستخدام غير المباشر التي تعزى للاستخدام غير المباشر لخدمات النظام البيئي عبر العوامل الخارجية الايجابية التي توفرها النظم البيئية. وقد قدّر الحساب[1] قيمة الأهوار بما يعادل 3,4 مليار دولار في السنة، إذا ما تم إعادة إحياء الأهوار إلى حدودها التاريخية الكاملة. ويبلغ هذا التقييم نحو 3,370 دولار للهكتار الواحد في الأهوار في السنة.

ويشير تحليل ما يقرب من 170 من الأراضي الرطبة الداخلية الدولية إلى أن خدمات النظم البيئية التي توفرها هذه الأراضي الرطبة لها قيمة سنوية تتراوح ما بين 5,500 دولار للهكتار الواحد وحوالي 110,000 دولار للهكتار الواحد. ويبلغ متوسط قيمة الوحدة في الأراضي الرطبة الداخلية التي شملتها الدراسة في هذا التحليل 28 ألف دولار للهكتار في السنة.[2] وبالتالي، فإن التقدير في مبادرة عدن الجديدة معتدل مقارنةً بالتقييم الدولي لنظم بيئية مماثلة. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنه بالرغم من هذا التقييم المعتدل، فإن إعادة إحياء الأهوار تنتج عائداً اقتصادياً مشابهاً للزراعة في محافظات جنوب العراق (إن لم يكن أعلى منها).

[1] New Eden Group (2006). New Eden Master Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in the Marshlands Area. Final report prepared for Iraq’s Ministries of Water Resources, Municipalities and Public Works, and Environment.
[2] De Groot, R. et. al. (2012). ‘Global estimates of the value of ecosystems and their services in monetary units’. Ecosystem Services, 1: 50-61.

Home / Specials / Iraqi Marshes / The Role of Marshlands in the Current Water Management Framework

The Role of Marshlands in the Current Water Management Framework

Benefits of Marshland
Photo 1: Agricultural support for Iraqi farmers to utilize marshlands to grow date palms. (Source: R. Rossi, USAID, Flickr)

Marshland flooding dynamics – natural conditions

The extent of the flooded areas is subject to variability during the year, according to the hydrological regime. Dry years lead to a reduction of the flooded areas, while wet years contribute to an increase in the extent of the marshlands.

The marshlands’ natural inflow-outflow system strongly depends on the presence of flood peaks and, generally, on the hydrological regime of the rivers, that bring water to the marshlands. Before humans intervened in the hydraulic system, the area upstream of the marshlands was periodically inundated during floods. Conversely, during droughts, the extent of the inundated areas decreased, causing an alternation in the wetlands’ behaviour, and generally helping the development of biodiversity and optimizing environmental conditions: the variation of the flood extension and water depth create favourable conditions for flora and fauna. Moreover, man-made levees and embankments did not exist under natural conditions. Thus, there was less physical limitation to the extent of inundation, except for the natural levees and gradual changes in terrain elevation. Large flow peaks entered these wetlands and floods were naturally attenuated as water extended over the floodplain. Large volumes of water moving through the wetlands helped maintain a high level of connectivity between the various marshes and rivers.

Marshland flooding dynamics – current conditions

Nowadays, the marshes are managed completely differently: the presence of dams, man-made levees and embankments allows for full control of how water enters the marshes and where it flows. Dams and levees were built to enable and protect human activities. An immediate consequence of the construction of dams was the disappearance of peak flows from the rivers and the reduction of total available water for southern Iraq. At the same time, the construction of an extensive levee system imposed physical constraints on the amount of land potentially available for marshland development as well as the connectivity between marshlands and rivers.

In these conditions, marshes are no longer connected one to another, and if some connectivity still exists, it is only because the local population has breached the existing levees, or because a man-made canal brings water from one place to another.

The lack of peak flows and hydro-periods, the reduction in water availability and the lack of hydrological connectivity are all contributing to the existence of an unhealthy and unstable marshland system.This marshland flow management, which has been extensively applied in southern Iraq in the past decades, can be referred to as ‘semi-natural’: inflows to the marshes are fully controlled, whereas outflows are unmanaged, although not natural. Unfortunately, it is a losing strategy, as large flows are no longer guaranteed and flow variation inside the marshes cannot be mimicked without an adequate artificial system.

Recognizing that both ‘natural’ and ‘semi-natural’ management is no longer feasible or adequate, the Ministry of Water Resources is currently pursuing ‘controlled’ management, a system where both inflows and outflows are fully controlled. Controlled management attempts to attain the necessary flow-through and water-level variations required by the ecological system to thrive. From a hydraulic standpoint, controlled management operates by preventing or limiting the water flowing out from the inundated areas. It is not only a feasible option but also the most water-efficient.

From 2008 to 2010, the Ministry of Water Resources supervised the design of the hydraulic structures necessary for the controlled flooding of the marshlands. Some of these hydraulic structures have been constructed in the last five years, in particular the outlets of the Hawizeh and Central Marsh.

Benefits of marshland restoration

The government has acknowledged the importance of the marshlands for both environmental conservation and water resource management. This was expressed in e.g. the New Eden Master Plan in 2006-2008 and the SWLRI strategic plan in 2015. In addition, concrete actions have been taken, such as the approval on 23 July 2013 by the Iraqi Council of Ministers for the Central Marsh to be designated as the country’s first national park.

The marshes perform a variety of ecosystem services, including:

  • Hospitable environment that serves communities, and reduces the occurrence of migration from the marshes to urban centres;
  • Carbon sequestration, i.e. absorption of carbon dioxide (CO2) from the atmosphere by the vegetation growing in the marshes;
  • Flood hazard mitigation;
  • Production and sale of goods from the marshes, including dairy products from water buffalo, milk from cows, fish, reeds, etc.;
  • Groundwater recharge;
  • Water purification, i.e. wetlands naturally help to reduce pollutants because wetland plant species absorb some constituents in the marsh water;
  • Prevention of erosion, sand or dust storms and desertification;
  • Improved microclimate, including lowering local temperatures and increasing local humidity;
  • Improved soil structure through the rehydration and introduction of organic matter;
  • Increased land value;
  • Ecological tourism.
Wildlife in Marshes
Photo 2: Wildlife in An Nasiriyah, Iraq . (Source: Ziad sameer, Flickr).

The New Eden Plan computed a valuation of the marshlands based on various ecosystem function parameters, including direct use value attributed to direct utilization of ecosystem services, and indirect use value attributed to indirect utilization of ecosystem services through the positive externalities that ecosystems provide. The computation[1] estimated the value of the marshes to be equivalent to $3.4 billion per year, if the marshes were restored to their full historical boundaries. This valuation amounts to approximately $3,370 per hectare of marshes per year.

An analysis of nearly 170 international inland wetlands indicates that the ecosystem services provided by these wetlands have an annual value ranging from $5,500 per hectare to approximately $110,000 per hectare. The average unit value of the surveyed inland wetlands in this analysis is $28,000 per hectare per year.[2] Thus, the estimation in the New Eden Plan is conservative compared with the international valuation of similar ecosystems. It should also be noted that even at this conservative valuation, the restoration of the marshes produces an economic return which is comparable to (if not higher than) agriculture for the governorates of southern Iraq.

[1] New Eden Group (2006). New Eden Master Plan for Integrated Water Resources Management in the Marshlands Area. Final report prepared for Iraq’s Ministries of Water Resources, Municipalities and Public Works, and Environment.
[2] De Groot, R. et. al. (2012). ‘Global estimates of the value of ecosystems and their services in monetary units’. Ecosystem Services, 1: 50-61.