الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / أزمة المياه في غزة / ما سبب أزمة المياه في قطاع غزة؟

ما سبب أزمة المياه في قطاع غزة؟

water gaza special report children collecting water from public taps
اطفال من رفح يقومون بتعبئة المياه من احد صنابير المياه العامة.Photo Flickr

قائمة المحتويات

الاكتظاظ السكاني
الاستهلاك الجائر للمياه الجوفية
تلوث مصادر المياه
الصراع المستمر مع اسرائيل

المقدمة

إذاً، ما السبب في هذه الأزمة البيئية الكارثية؟ ولمَ لا يتم اتخاذ سوى القليل من الاجراءات لتصحيح الوضع؟ فقد حذر الخبراء، والسلطات المحلية، والمنظمات الدولية منذ عشرات السنين أن الضخ الجائر، والتلوث، وتسرب مياه البحر إلى حوض المياه الجوفية يشكّل تهديداً خطيراً على الصحة العامة والاستدامة البيئية في قطاع غزة.

ففي عام 1997، وصف البنك الدولي الوضع المائي في غزة باعتباره “حالة طوارئ.[1] ” ومع ذلك، بعد ما يقارب العشرون عاماً، ازدادت مستويات الضخ، بالإضافة إلى تفاقم التلوث، وتعرض أجزاء كبيرة من البُنية التحتية للمياه إما للضرر أو التدمير. ولكن، لمَ لم يعد بالإمكان إصلاح الوضع المتدهور لـ”حالة الطوارئ” في غزة؟

تكمن الإجابة في مزيج من العوامل التي تتراكم على ما يبدو في حلقة مُفرغة محتومة من الدمار. توضح الأقسام التالية كيف أنّ عدداً من العناصر المجتمعة- النمو السكاني السريع، والضخ الجائر، وتلوث خزانات المياه الجوفية المحلية، والصراع الدائر مع اسرائيل- دفعت بالإنهيار البطيء لحوض المياه الجوفية الساحلي في غزة.

الاكتظاظ السكاني

water special gaza report a beach in Gaza
شاطىء غزة، 2006. الصورة: Gus

يبلغ عدد سكان قطاع غزة الذي يغطي مساحة 365 كيلو متر مربع فقط على شواطىء شرق البحر الأبيض المتوسط (الشكل 1)، 1,76 مليون نسمة[2] . ويعتبر القطاع أحد أكثر الأماكن اكتظاظاً بالسكان على وجه الأرض، حيث يبلغ المتوسط أكثر من 4,500 نسمة لكل كيلومتر مربع[3]، ويرتفع إلى 20,000 نسمة لكل كيلومتر مربع في المناطق الحضرية[4].

ازداد عدد السكان أكثر من 20 مرة على مدى السنوات الـ65 الماضية، من 80,000 نسمة عام 1948. ويمكن أن يُعزى هذا النمو المتسارع إلى عاملين أساسيين:

معدل المواليد المرتفع: قُدر معدل النمو السكاني في قطاع غزة بحوالي 3,45% عام 2014، مقارنة بـ2,6%في الضفة الغربية. يمتاز سكان القطاع بالشباب، حيث أن حوالي 43% منهم تحت سن الـ14 عاماً.
تدفق أكثر من 197,000 لاجىء منذ قيام دولة اسرائيل عام 1948. واليوم، أكثر من 70% من سكان غزة من اللاجئين.

وبالمضي قُدماً، تُشير توقعات الأمم المتحدة إلى أن عدد سكان قطاع غزة سيصل إلى 2,1 مليون نسمة عام 2020، مما يدفع متوسط مستويات الكثافة إلى 5,835 نسمة لكل كيلومتر مربع عام 2020 وأكثر من 20,000 نسمة لكل كيلو متر مربع في المناطق الحضرية[5].

الاستهلاك الجائر للمياه الجوفية

تسبب النمو السكاني السريع في قطاع غزة بضغوطات كبيرة على الموارد الطبيعية، وبخاصة مصادر المياه. وتعتمد غزة بشكل كامل تقريباً على المياه الجوفية، إذ تأتي 98% من إمدادات مياه القطاع من الحوض الساحلي (الشكل 2). أما الـ2% المتبقية فيتم شراؤها من شركة المياه الإسرائيلية ميكروت.

The Mountain Aquifer and the Coastal Aquifer in Gaza
شكل (2): الحوض الجوفي الجبلي والحوض الجوفي الساحلي. المصدر: Fanack عن برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة/ قاعدة بيانات الموارد العالمية- جنيف، 2002.

كما يتم استخدام هذه الأحواض الجوفية بالاشتراك مع اسرائيل ومصر، ولكن في حين تمتلك هذه الدول مصادر بديلة للمياه، يعتمد قطاع غزة بشكلٍ كلي على الحوض الساحلي. ومع ازدياد الطلب على المياه مع ازدياد الكثافة السكانية، تجاوزت معدلات الاستخراج من طبقة المياه الجوفية في غزة تدريجياً معدل التجديد الطبيعي. واليوم، يبلغ متوسط الاستخراج ما بين 170-200 مليون متر مكعب/ سنوياً،[6] أي أعلى بثلاث مرات من العائد المستدام للحوض الجوفي (الكمية التي يمكن استخراجها بشكلٍ آمن) والبالغة 55-57 مليون متر مكعب/ سنوياً (الشكل 3)[7].

Overextraction from the Coastal Aquifer in the Gaza Strip
الشكل (3): الضخ الجائر للحوض الجوفي الساحلي في قطاع غزة. المصدر: Fanack عن Messerschmid، 2011، الأمم المتحدة/ الاسكوا والمعهد الفدرالي لعلوم الأرض والموارد الطبيعية في ألمانيا (BGR)، 2013؛ سلطة المياه الفلسطينية 2014.

أدى الضخ الجائر من الحوض الساحلي إلى انخفاض مستويات المياه الجوفية بنسبة 10-20 متر على مدى الأربعين عاماً الماضية (الشكل 4)[8] ، مما سمح بتسرب المياه المالحة إلى المياه الجوفية من البحر الأبيض المتوسط من الغرب ومن المياه الجوفية العميقة في الجزءالجنوب الشرقي لإسرائيل (الشكل 5 و8)[9].

 Decline of groundwater levels in the Gaza Strip
شكل (4): انخفاض مستويات المياه الجوفية في قطاع غزة خلال الفترة ما بين 1967 و2013. المصدر: Fanack عن سلطة المياه الفلسطينية 2014

تتم مراقبة ملوحة المياه الجوفية عن طريق تقييم تركيز الكلوريد في الآبار في قطاع غزة. ووفقاً لتوجيهات منظمة الصحة العالمية، ينبغي أن تكون مستويات الكلوريد أقل من 250 ملغ/ لتر كي تكون صالحة للاستهلاك البشري. ومع ذلك، فإن حوالي ربع الآبار البلدية فقط في قطاع غزة توافق هذا المعيار. وتختلف تركيزات الكلورايد من 250-600 ملغ/لتر في شمال قطاع غزة وغرب خان يونس، إلى 600-2,000 ملغ/لتر في أماكن أخرى. وعلى طول الساحل، تتجاوز المستويات 2,000 ملغ/لتر ويمكن أن تصل إلى أكثر من 10,000 ملغ/لتر بسبب تسرب مياه البحر (الشكل 5).[10]

Chloride concentration in the Gaza Strip
الشكل (5): تركيزات الكلورايد في قطاع غزة. المصدر: Fanack عن سلطة المياه الفلسطينية، 2014.

تلوث مصادر المياه

water specials report gaza alexa thuderstorm
مياه الفيضانات تختلط مع مياه الصرف الصحي الخام في حي الشيخ رضوان في غزة بعد أن ضربت العاصفة الشتوية “إليكسا” قطاع غزة في ديسمبر 2013. الصورة: Karl Schembri/ أوكسفام.

وبالإضافة إلى تسرب المياه المالحة إلى المياه الجوفية، فإن الحوض الساحلي ملوث على نحوٍ متزايد أيضاً بمياه الصرف الصحي الخام وغيرها من المياه العادمة غير المعالجة.

وكل يوم، يتسرب حوالي 90 مليون لتر من مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة أو المعالجة جزئياً إلى المياه الجوفية وتتدفق إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط، نظراً لعدم وجود مرافق لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي تعمل بشكلٍ ملائم[11]. وقد أدى ذلك إلى مستويات عالية من النترات وغيرها من الملوثات في المياه الجوفية، وهو أمر خطير بشكلٍ خاص بالنسبة للرضع والأطفال[12] .

ووفقاً لسلطة المياه الفلسطينية، التي تراقب تراكيز النترات في 211 من الآبار البلدية، 87% من الآبار تحتوي مستويات من النترات تتجاوز حدود منظمة الصحة العالمية البالغة 50 ملغ/لتر، مع تراكيز تصل إلى أكثر من 200 ملغ/لتر في بعض الأماكن (الشكل 6)[13]. من ناحية أخرى، فمن الصعب اكتشاف التلوث بالنترات، ذلك أنه عديم اللون والطعم والرائحة. وهذا يجعل الأمر أكثر خطورة، إذ غالباً ما يواصل الناس استهلاك المياه التي تحتوي مستويات عالية من النترات إلى أن يتم إخبارهم بمخاطرها الصحية (الشكل 6)[14].

Gaza_Water_Fig_06_CS5
كل (6): تراكيز النترات في المياه في قطاع غزة عام 2009. المصدر: Fanack عن سلطة المياه الفلسطينية، 2011. ملاحظة: المعيار العالمي المقبول للنترات في مياه الشرب هو 50 ملغ/ لتر.

وبالنظر إلى هذه الأمور مجتمعة، يجعل التلوث بالنترات والكلورايد جميع مياه قطاع غزة تقريباً غير صالحة للاستهلاك البشري. ووفقاً لسلطة المياه الفلسطينية، ما نسبته أقل من 4% من إمدادات المياه المنزلية في عام 2014 صالحة للاستهلاك البشري (الشكل 7)[15].

Gaza_water_Fig_07_CS5
شكل (7): تراكيز النترات والكلورايد في المياه الجوفية في قطاع غزة وكمية المياه الملائمة للاستهلاك البشري. المصدر: Fanack عن سلطة المياه الفلسطينية، 2014.

حذرت السُلطات المحلية، والمنظمات الدولية، وخبراء المياه منذ سنوات، أنه في حال عدم اتخاذ أي تدابير، “سينهار” خزان المياه الجوفية. وهذا يعني أن جميع المياه الجوفية ستصبح مالحة وملوثة بالكامل، وبالتالي تبرز الحاجة إلى توريد المياه من مصادر مختلفة. وهذا من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى فقدان حوالي 55 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة من المياه الصالحة للاستخدام. ووفقاً لتقرير عام 2011، فإن تكلفة إعادة مثل هذا الحجم ستصل إلى ما يقرب الـ300 مليون دولار، بتكاليف جارية لا تقل عن 0,55 دولار لكل متر مكعب من المياه العذبة من خلال تحلية المياه لاستبدال الموارد الملوثة.

Gaza_Water_Fig_08_CS5
شكل (8): مصادر ملوثات المياه الجوفية في قطاع غزة. المصدر: Fanack عن سلطة المياه الفلسطينية، 2011.

الصراع المستمر مع اسرائيل

water specials report gaza beit hanun in ruins after israeli attacck august 2014
أنقاض في بيت حانون، قطاع غزة، أغسطس 2014. الصورة: Tselem’B

تفاقم الوضع في غزة جراء الأضرار الناجمة عن الاعتداءات العسكرية الاسرائيلية المتكررة (الرصاص المصبوب 2008-2009، عامود السحاب 2012، عملية الجرف الصامد 2014)، والتي أسفرت عن أضرار واسعة النطاق على البُنية التحتية لإنتاج المياه ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. وعلاوة على ذلك، يمنع الحصار الاسرائيلي المستمر منذ عام 2007 استيراد مواد البناء اللازمة لإعادة الإعمار، وغيرها من المواد اللازمة لصيانة وتشغيل أنظمة المياه والمياه العادمة ومعالجة المياه بمستويات مقبولة. حتى أن المواد البسيطة، مثل أغشية فلاتر المياه وتنقية المياه من الكلور غالباً ما تكون غير متوفرة.

وقبل عامين من التوغل العسكري الاسرائيلي عام 2014 في قطاع غزة، أصدرت الأمم المتحدة تقريراً لتقييم الأوضاع المعيشية في غزة عام 2020. وذكرت الدراسة أن عدد سكان غزة سيرتفع من 1,6 مليون نسمة عام 2011 إلى 2,1 مليون نسمة عام 2020، وخلصت الدراسة إلى ضرورة بذل “جهود جبارة” في قطاعات الصحة والتعليم والطاقة والمياه والصرف الصحي، إذا ما أرادت غزة أن تكون مكاناً صالحاً للعيش عام 2020.[16] وبدلاً من ذلك، تفاقم الوضع بشكلٍ أكبر.

وبعد عملية الجرف الصامد، التي استمرت من شهر يوليو حتى أغسطس 2014، أفادت الأمم المتحدة أن الأضرار التي لحقت بالبُنية التحتية المتعثرة بالفعل تُقدر بـ34 مليون دولار، بما في ذلك تعطل وتدمير 20-30% من شبكات المياه والصرف الصحي، و30-50% من أحواض التخزين وخزانات المياه، و220 بئر زراعي والأضرار التي لحقت بمحطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في دير البلح.

وبعد أكثر من عام على وقف إطلاق النار، لم تبدأ عميات إعادة الإعمار في العديد من المناطق بسبب نقص التمويل والمواد، وبالتالي يظل نقص المياه مصدر قلقٍ يومي لغالبية الغزيين.

ووفقاً لتقرير صدر عن الأمم المتحدة لعام 2015، أدى الصراع المستمر إلى تأخر التنمية وانتشار الفقر في غزة.

“ثلاث عمليات عسكرية اسرائيلية في السنوات الست الماضية، بالإضافة إلى ثماني سنوات من الحصار الاقتصادي، أدى إلى تدمير البُنية الأساسية الواهنة بالفعل في غزة، وحطم قاعدتها الانتاجية، ولم يترك أي وقت لإعادة إعمار هادفة أو انتعاش اقتصادي، وأدى إلى افقار السكان الفلسطينيين في غزة، مما جعل الرفاه الاقتصادي أسوء مما كان عليه في العقدين السابقين.”[17]

ويُشير التقرير نفسه إلى أن الإصلاح على المدى الطويل للأضرار المتراكمة واضمحلال البُنية التحتية للمياه ومياه الصرف الصحي سيتطلب تمويلاً بحدود 620 مليون دولار.


[1] Messerschmid, C., 2011. Water In Gaza: Problems and Prospects. Working Paper Series IALIIS-BZU-WPS 2011/19 (ENG) CPE Module. Ibrahim Abu-Lughod Institute of International Studies (IALIIS) – Birzeit University.
[2] www.pcbs.gov.ps. Figure for 2014.
[3] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012.
[4] UN OCHA oPt, 2014. Strategic Response Plan, Fact Sheet, 5 December 2014.
[5] Ibid.
[6] Palestinian Water Authority, 2014. Water Resources Directorate, Gaza Water Resources Status Report, 2013/2014, December 2014; Palestinian Water Authority, 2011. The Gaza Emergency Technical Assistance Programme (GETAP) on Water Supply to the Gaza Strip Component 1 – The Comparative Study of Options for an Additional Supply of Water for the Gaza Strip (CSO-G); Palestinian Water Authority, 2014a. National Water Strategy for Palestine, Toward Building a Palestinian State from Water Perspective, Draft Copy.
[7] PWA, 2011; PWA 2014; World Bank, 2009. West Bank and Gaza Assessment of Restrictions on Palestinian Water Sector Development.
[8] PWA, 2014a.
[9] PWA, 2011.
[10] PWA 2014.
[11] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012.
[12] UNEP, 2009. Environmental assessment of the Gaza Strip following the escalation of hostilities in December 2008 – January 2009.
[13] Palestinian Water Authority, 2014. Water Resources Directorate, Gaza Water Resources Status Report, 2013/2014, December 2014.
[14] UNEP, 2009. Environmental assessment of the Gaza Strip following the escalation of hostilities in December 2008 – January 2009.
[15] Palestinian Water Authority, 2014. Water Resources Directorate, Gaza Water Resources Status Report, 2013/2014, December 2014.
[16] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012.
[17] UNCTAD, 2015. Report on UNCTAD assistance to the Palestinian people: Developments in the economy of the Occupied Palestinian Territory, Geneva, September 2015.

Home / Specials / Gaza’s Water Crisis / Why is There a Water Crisis in Gaza?

Why is There a Water Crisis in Gaza?

water gaza special report children collecting water from public taps
Children in Rafah collect water from one of the working public taps. Photo Flickr

Table of Contents

Overpopulation
Overuse of Groundwater
Pollution of Water Resources
The Ongoing Conflict with Israel

Introduction

So what caused this catastrophic environmental crisis? And why is so little being done to remedy the situation? Experts, local authorities and international organizations have been warning for decades that overpumping, pollution and seawater intrusion into local groundwater pose a severe risk to public health and environmental sustainability in the Gaza Strip.

In 1997, the World Bank described the water situation in Gaza as an “emergency state of affairs”.[1] Yet nearly 20 years on, the levels of pumping have only increased, pollution has worsened and large parts of the water infrastructure in the area have been damaged or destroyed. Why was Gaza’s “emergency state of affairs” left to deteriorate beyond the point of repair?

The answer lies in a combination of factors that come together in a seemingly inescapable vicious cycle of destruction. The following sections show how a number of mutually reinforcing elements – rapid population growth; the overpumping and pollution of local groundwater reserves; and the ongoing conflict with Israel – have driven the slow collapse of Gaza’s Coastal Aquifer.

Overpopulation

water special gaza report a beach in Gaza
The beach at Gaza, 2006. Photo: Gus.

Covering just 365 km2 of land on the shores of the Eastern Mediterranean (Fig. 1), the Gaza Strip has a population of 1.76 million inhabitants.[2] It is one of the most densely populated places on earth, with an average of more than 4,500 inhabitants per square kilometre (inh/km2),[3] rising to 20,000 inh/km2 in urban areas.[4]

The population has increased more than 20 times over the past 65 years, from 80,000 inhabitants in 1948. This exponential growth can be attributed to two main factors:

A high birth rate: Gaza’s population growth rate was estimated at nearly 3.45% in 2014, compared to 2.6% in the West Bank. Gaza’s population is young, with around 43% under the age of 14.

The influx of more than 197,000 refugees after the creation of Israel in 1948. Today more than 70% of Gaza’s population are refugees.

Going forward, the UN estimates that the population of the Gaza Strip will reach 2.1 million in 2020, pushing average density levels up to 5,835 inh/km2 in 2020 and more than 20,000 inh/km2 in urban areas.[5]

Overuse of Groundwater

Rapid population growth in the Gaza Strip has placed considerable pressure on natural resources, particularly water resources. Gaza relies almost entirely on groundwater, with 98% of its water supply coming from the Coastal Aquifer (Fig. 2). The remaining 2% is bought from the Israeli water company Mekorot.

The Mountain Aquifer and the Coastal Aquifer in Gaza
Figure 2. The Mountain Aquifer and the Coastal Aquifer. Source: Fanack after UNEP/GRID-Geneva, 2002.

This shared aquifer is also used by Israel and Egypt, but while these countries have alternative sources of water, the Gaza Strip relies entirely on the Coastal Aquifer. As demand for water from the expanding population has increased, the rates of abstraction from the aquifer in Gaza has gradually exceeded the rate of natural replenishment. Today, annual average abstraction lies at 170-200 MCM/yr,[6] three times as high as the aquifer’s sustainable yield (the amount that can be safely abstracted) of 55-57 MCM/yr (Fig. 3).[7]

Overextraction from the Coastal Aquifer in the Gaza Strip
Figure 3. Overextraction from the Coastal Aquifer in the Gaza Strip. Source: Fanack based on Messerschmid, 2011; UN-ESCWA & BGR, 2013; PWA, 2014.

Overabstraction from the Coastal Aquifer has caused groundwater levels to drop by 10-20 m over the last 40 years (Fig. 4),[8] allowing saline water to seep into the aquifer from the Mediterranean Sea to the west and from deep groundwater in Israel to the southeast (Fig. 5 and 8).[9]

 Decline of groundwater levels in the Gaza Strip
Figure 4. Decline of groundwater levels in the Gaza Strip during the period 1967 and 2013. Source: Fanack after PWA, 2014.

The salinization of the aquifer is monitored by assessing the concentration of chloride in wells across the Gaza Strip. According to World Health Organization guidelines, chloride levels should be below 250 mg/L in order to be suitable for human consumption. However, in Gaza only around a quarter of the municipal wells meet this standard. Chloride concentrations vary from 250-600 mg/L in the north of the Gaza Strip and west of Khan Younis to 600-2,000 mg/L elsewhere. Along the coast, levels exceed 2,000 mg/L and can reach more than 10,000 mg/L due to seawater intrusion (Fig. 5).[10]

Chloride concentration in the Gaza Strip
Figure 5. Chloride concentration in the Gaza Strip. Source: Fanack after PWA, 2014.

Pollution of Water Resources

water specials report gaza alexa thuderstorm
Caption: Floodwaters mix with raw sewage in the Sheikh Radwan neighbourhood of Gaza after winterstorm Alexa hit the Gaza Strip in December 2013. Photo: Karl Schembri/Oxfam.

In addition to saline water infiltrating into the groundwater, the Coastal Aquifer is also increasingly polluted by raw sewage and other untreated wastewater.

Every day, around 90 million L of untreated or partially treated sewage seeps into the groundwater and flows into the Mediterranean Sea due to the lack of properly functioning water treatment facilities.[11] This has resulted in high levels of nitrates and other pollutants in the groundwater, which is particularly dangerous for infants and children.[12]

According to the Palestinian Water Authority, which monitors nitrate concentration in 211 municipal wells, 87% of the wells have nitrate levels that exceed the WHO limit of 50 mg/L, with concentrations of over 200 mg/L in some places (Fig. 6).[13] Nitrate pollution is difficult to spot, since it is colourless, tasteless and odourless. This makes it all the more dangerous, as people often keep using water with high nitrate levels until they are told about the health risks (Fig. 6).[14]

Gaza_Water_Fig_06_CS5
Figure 6. Nitrate concentrations in the Gaza Strip in 2009. Source: Fanack after PWA, 2011. Note: The internationally accepted guideline for nitrate in drinking water is 50 mg/L.

Together, the pollution by nitrates and chloride render almost all of Gaza’s water unfit for human consumption. According to the Palestinian Water Authority, in 2014 less than 4% of the domestic water supply was fit for human consumption (Fig. 7).[15]

Gaza_water_Fig_07_CS5
Figure 7. Nitrate and chloride concentration in groundwater in the Gaza Strip and amount of water suitable for human consumption. Source: Fanack after PWA, 2014.

Local authorities, international organizations and water experts have been warning for years that if no measures are taken, the aquifer will “collapse”. This means that all the groundwater will become totally salinized and contaminated, and water will need to be supplied from a different source. This would entail the loss of around 55 MCM/yr of otherwise usable water. According to a 2011 report, the cost of resupplying such a volume would amount to approximately $300 million, with ongoing costs of at least $0.55/m3 for fresh water produced through desalination to replace the contaminated supply.

Gaza_Water_Fig_08_CS5
Figure 8. Sources of groundwater pollution in the Gaza Strip. Source: Fanack after PWA, 2011.

The Ongoing Conflict with Israel

water specials report gaza beit hanun in ruins after israeli attacck august 2014
Ruins in Beit Hanoun, Gaza Strip, August 2014. Photo: B’Tselem.

The situation in Gaza is worsened by the damage caused by Israel’s periodic military assaults (Cast Lead, 2008-09; Pillar of Defense, 2012; Operation Protective Edge, 2014), which have resulted in extensive damage to water production and wastewater treatment infrastructure. Moreover, the ongoing Israeli blockade that has been in place since 2007 prevents the import of building materials for reconstruction and other items required to maintain and operate water and sewage systems and treat water to adequate levels. Even simple items like membranes for water filters and chlorine to disinfect water are often unavailable.

Two years before the 2014 military incursion in the Gaza Strip, the United Nations issued a report assessing living conditions in Gaza in 2020. The study stated that Gaza’s population would increase from 1.6 million in 2011 to 2.1 million in 2020, and concluded that “herculean efforts” were required in the health, education, energy, water and sanitation sectors if Gaza was to be a liveable place in 2020.[16] Instead, the situation has further deteriorated.

Following Operation Protective Edge, which lasted from July to August 2014, the UN reported an estimated $34 million in damage to Gaza’s already ailing water infrastructure, including damage and destruction of 20-30% of water and sewage net­works, 30-50% of water storage tanks and reservoirs, 220 agricultural wells and damage to the wastewater treatment plant at Deir al-Balah.

More than a year after the ceasefire, reconstruction has not started in many areas because of a lack of funding and materials, and water shortages remain a daily worry for most Gazans.

According to a 2015 UN report, the ongoing conflict has led to the de-development and impoverishment of Gaza.

“Three Israeli military operations in the past six years, in addition to eight years of economic blockade, have ravaged the already debilitated infrastructure of Gaza, shattered its productive base, left no time for meaningful reconstruction or economic recovery and impoverished the Palestinian population in Gaza, rendering their economic well-being worse than the level of two decades previous.”[17]

The same report states that long-term repair of the accumulated damage and decay of the water and sanitation infrastructure will require funding in the order of $620 million.


[1] Messerschmid, C., 2011. Water In Gaza: Problems and Prospects. Working Paper Series IALIIS-BZU-WPS 2011/19 (ENG) CPE Module. Ibrahim Abu-Lughod Institute of International Studies (IALIIS) – Birzeit University.
[2] www.pcbs.gov.ps. Figure for 2014.
[3] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012.
[4] UN OCHA oPt, 2014. Strategic Response Plan, Fact Sheet, 5 December 2014.
[5] Ibid.
[6] Palestinian Water Authority, 2014. Water Resources Directorate, Gaza Water Resources Status Report, 2013/2014, December 2014; Palestinian Water Authority, 2011. The Gaza Emergency Technical Assistance Programme (GETAP) on Water Supply to the Gaza Strip Component 1 – The Comparative Study of Options for an Additional Supply of Water for the Gaza Strip (CSO-G); Palestinian Water Authority, 2014a. National Water Strategy for Palestine, Toward Building a Palestinian State from Water Perspective, Draft Copy.
[7] PWA, 2011; PWA 2014; World Bank, 2009. West Bank and Gaza Assessment of Restrictions on Palestinian Water Sector Development.
[8] PWA, 2014a.
[9] PWA, 2011.
[10] PWA 2014.
[11] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012.
[12] UNEP, 2009. Environmental assessment of the Gaza Strip following the escalation of hostilities in December 2008 – January 2009.
[13] Palestinian Water Authority, 2014. Water Resources Directorate, Gaza Water Resources Status Report, 2013/2014, December 2014.
[14] UNEP, 2009. Environmental assessment of the Gaza Strip following the escalation of hostilities in December 2008 – January 2009.
[15] Palestinian Water Authority, 2014. Water Resources Directorate, Gaza Water Resources Status Report, 2013/2014, December 2014.
[16] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012.
[17] UNCTAD, 2015. Report on UNCTAD assistance to the Palestinian people: Developments in the economy of the Occupied Palestinian Territory, Geneva, September 2015.