الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / أزمة المياه في غزة / كيف تؤثر أزمة المياه على الحياة في غزة؟

كيف تؤثر أزمة المياه على الحياة في غزة؟

 special report on Gaza's water crisis
رجل مُسن يملأ قارورة ماء من الحوض العام التابع لمحطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي لسلطة مياه خان يونس، 2014. الصورة: Tselem.’Muhammad Sabah, B

قائمة المحتويات

الحياة اليومية
الصحة
البيئة
الزراعة

المقدمة

ؤثر أزمة المياه في غزة على جميع قاطني المنطقة البالغ عددهم 1,76 مليون نسمة. فمياه الصنابير التي تزودها البلديات للمنازل، والتي غالباً ما يتم قطعها بسبب انقطاع الكهرباء، مالحة جداً ولا تصلح للشرب، وبالتالي يضطر السكان إلى شراء مياه الشرب من الباعة الخاصين. كما أن التلوث الشديد لمصادر المياه في غزة له تأثير كبير على الصحة العامة، حيث يعاني الأطفال على وجه الخصوص من خطر الإصابة بالأمراض ذات الصلة بالمياه. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يعاني الاقتصاد المحلي، وبخاصة الإنتاج الزراعي والبيئة، من عواقب ندرة المياه والتلوث.

الحياة اليومية

مع تفاقم أزمة المياه على مدى العقود، كان على مواطِني غزة وضع مجموعة من الاستراتيجيات للتأقلم مع الوضع.

إن المياه الموزعة من خلال شبكة إمدادات المياه إلى المنازل في قطاع غزة غير صالحة للشرب بسبب ملوحتها المرتفعة. يُطلق سكان غزة على هذه االمياه اسم “المياه المالحة.” كما تحتوي هذه المياه أيضاً على مستويات عالية من النترات والملوثات الأخرى التي لا تؤثر على الطعم والخصائص الأخرى للمياه، مما يشكل خطراً على الصحة العامة. وبسبب ملوحتها، تُستخدم مياه البلدية التي تصل إلى المنازل عبر الصنابير بشكلٍ عام في الأعمال المنزلية والغسيل، إذ غالباً ما تسبب الأمراض الجلدية والإلتهابات الأخرى. وعلاوة على ذلك، يسبب تكرار انقطاع التيار الكهربائي والضغط المنخفض لشبكة المياه، انقطاع ونقص المياه المستمر.

يقوم سكان غزة بشكلٍ أساسي بشراء مياه الشرب من الباعة الخاصين، الذين يوفرون المياه من أكثر من 40 محطة تحلية خاصة ظهرت خلال السنوات الأخيرة. فقد رخصت سلطة المياه الفلسطينية  حوالي نصف هذا العدد من المحطات فقط، ولا تتم مراقبة أي منها للكشف عن جودة المياه المُنتجة. يحصل المستهلكون على هذه المياه بواسطة صهاريج المياه، أو يذهبون لتعبئة جراكن المياه من الخزانات الصغيرة الموجودة في زوايا المحلات والمراكز التجارية المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء قطاع غزة.[1]. الأسعار مرتفعة (1,30 دولار لكل 100 لتر) وقد يصل انفاق الأسر الفقيرة إلى ثلث دخلها على إمدادات المياه.

الصحة

how the water crisis affects life in gaza
يعاني نصف الأطفال في غزة من الالتهابات الطفيلية نتيجة لتلوث الموارد المائية، 2010. الصور: تحالف الشرق الأوسط للطفولة.

يؤدي شرب المياه المالحة والملوثة بشكل كبير إلى العديد من التأثيرات الخطيرة على الصحة، سيما بين الأطفال.

ووفقاً لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، المياه الملوثة في غزة مسؤولة عن 26% من جميع الأمراض المنتشرة في القطاع، حيث يعاني 50% من أطفال غزة من الالتهابات الطفيلية ذات الصلة بالمياه[2]. تُصيب الطفيليات المعوية الأطفال في جميع أنحاء غزة، ولكن الأطفال الذين يعيشون في المجتمعات الزراعية وبالقرب من برك الصرف الصحي معرضون للخطر بشكلٍ خاص. تؤثر الالتهابات الطفيلية والإسهال المزمن أيضاً على نمو الطفل وتطوره[3].

بشكلٍ عام، البالغون والأطفال معرضون لخطر الإصابة بمجموعة من الأمراض ذات الصلة بالمياه:

  • يؤدي شرب المياه المالحة إلى خلل في الكلى، وفشل القلب، وأعراض عصبية، والخمول، وارتفاع ضغط الدم.
  • ارتفاع مستويات الفلورايد سامة، الأمر الذي يسبب التهاب المعدة والقرحة، والفشل الكلوي، وتسمم العظام بالفلور (يسبب كسور العظام والشلل)، وتسمم الأسنان بالفلور (تسبب خطوط سوداء حول اللثة وتسوس الأسنان).
  • ارتفاع مستويات النترات إلى الإصابة بمتلازمة “الطفل الأزرق” وسرطان المعدة[4].
  • وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن وضع شبكة الصرف الصحي في غزة سيء، مما قد يؤدي إلى انتشار الأوبئة مثل الكوليرا[5].

متلازمة الطفل الأزرق

التركيز العالي للنترات في مياه الشرب يشكل خطورة، على وجه الخصوص، على الرُضع، إذ قد يؤدي إلى الإصابة بمتلازمة الطفل الأزرق أو ميتهيموغلوبينيَّة الدم. يؤدي إضطراب الدم هذا إلى إرتفاع مستويات الميتيموغلوبين بشكل أعلى من المستويات الطبيعية، وهو شكل من أشكال الهيموجلوبين الذي لا يتحد مع الأكسجين. قد تظهر على الرُضع الذين يعانون من متلازمة الطفل الأزرق علامات ازرقاق حول الفم واليدين والقدمين. كما قد يعانون من نوبات صعوبة التنفس، والإسهال والتقيؤ. وفي الحالات القصوى، قد تؤدي إلى الوفاة.

جلت حالات إصابة بمتلازمة الطفل الأزرق في غزة لأول مرة في التسعينيات. وفي عام 2002، وجدت دراسة أن 48,5% من الأطفال لديهم مستويات عالية من الميتيموغلوبين. ولا توجد دراسات حديثة عن انتشار متلازمة الطفل الأزرق في غزة، ولكن مع ازدياد تركيزات النيترات بشكل مطرد على مدى السنوات الـ15 الماضية، وانخفاض نسب الوعي بالمرض وأسبابه، فإن عدد كبير من الأطفال معرضون للخطر[6].

البيئة

special report on gaza's water crisis, polluted water
المياه الملوثة في غزة. Photo Flickr

إن سوء نوعية المياه في غزة له تأثير كبير على البيئة. كما أن وادي غزة، وهو نهر موسمي ينشأ في اسرائيل ويتدفق عبر قطاع غزة إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط، ملوث بشدة بمياه الصرف الصحي.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن عدم وجود مرافق كافية لمعالجة المياه يعني أيضاً أن مياه الصرف الصحي في كثير من الأحيان تنتشر في الشوارع والمناطق السكنية والمنازل والأراضي الزراعية.

وعلى طول الساحل، يتدفق حوالي 33 مليون متر مكعب/ سنوياً من مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة من 16 منفذاً بشكلٍ مباشر في البحر[7] . الأسماك فاسدة والساحل ملوث، مما يؤثر على نوعية حياة سكان غزة وسُبل عيش الصياديين. كما يؤثر تصريف مياه الصرف الصحي من غزة أيضاً على جودة المياه على طول الساحل، ومن بين أمورٍ أخرى، على مدخول المياه في محطة التحلية الاسرائيلية في عسقلان[8].

الزراعة

كما تؤثر سوء نوعية المياه في غزة أيضاً على الإنتاج الزراعي، حيث تؤثر الملوحة العالية للمياه الجوفية على نمو المحاصيل. هذا وتخلى العديد من المزارعين عن زراعة بعض المحاصيل التقليدية، مثل الفراولة والخيار والبندورة، لزراعة محاصيل تتحمل الملوحة بشكلٍ أكبر.

وتبقى الزراعة المستهلك الأكبر للمياه في قطاع غزة، حيث تستهلك حوالي 60-65% من إمدادات المياه[9] . وهناك أكثر من 4,600 بئر زراعي في غزة، حيث تم حفر أكثر من 2,000 منها بشكلٍ غير مشروع ودون إشرافٍ أو تنظيم[10]. وهذا يعني أنه لا تتم مراقبة كمية ولا جودة المياه المستخرجة من هذه الآبار. إن عدم وجود التنظيم السليم لهذه الآبار يضع مزيداً من الضغوط على إمدادات المياه في غزة.


[1] World Bank, 2009. West Bank And Gaza Assessment of Restrictions on Palestinian Water Sector Development.
[2] Eco Peace/Friends of the Earth Middle East & INSS, 2014. The Water, Sanitation and Energy Crises in Gaza, Humanitarian, Environmental and Geopolitical Implications With Recommendations for Immediate Measures.
[3] UNICEF, 2011. Protecting Children from Unsafe Water in Gaza: Strategy, Action Plan and Project Resources.Eco Peace/Friends of the Earth Middle East & INSS, 2014.
[4] Eco Peace/Friends of the Earth Middle East & INSS, 2014.
[5] Ibid.
[6] UNEP, 2009. Environmental assessment of the Gaza Strip following the escalation of hostilities in December 2008 – January 2009.
[7] UNCTAD, 2015. Report on UNCTAD assistance to the Palestinian people: Developments in the economy of the Occupied Palestinian Territory, Geneva, September 2015.
[8] World Bank, 2009. West Bank and Gaza Assessment of Restrictions on Palestinian Water Sector Development.
[9] World Bank, 2009. West Bank and Gaza Assessment of Restrictions on Palestinian Water Sector Development.
[10] Messerschmid, C., 2011. Water In Gaza: Problems and Prospects. Working Paper Series IALIIS-BZU-WPS 2011/19 (ENG) CPE Module. Ibrahim Abu-Lughod Institute of International Studies (IALIIS) – Birzeit University.

Home / Specials / Gaza’s Water Crisis / How Does the Water Crisis Impact Life in Gaza?

How Does the Water Crisis Impact Life in Gaza?

 special report on Gaza's water crisis
Elderly man fills water container at the public sink of Khan Yunis Water Authority’s wastewater treatment plant, 2014. Photo: Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem.

Table of Contents

Daily Life
Health
Environment
Agriculture

Introduction

Gaza’s water crisis affects every one of the territory’s 1.76 million inhabitants. Municipal tap water, which is often cut due to power shortages, is too salty to drink, so that people have to buy their drinking water from private vendors. The heavy pollution of water resources in the Gaza Strip has a severe impact on public health; children are particularly at risk from water-related diseases. In addition, the local economy, agricultural production in particular, and the environment suffer the consequences of the water scarcity and pollution.

Daily Life

As the water crisis has worsened over the decades, the citizens of Gaza have had to develop a range of strategies to cope.

Water distributed through the water supply network to homes in the Gaza Strip is not fit to drink due to its high salinity. Gazans refer to this water as “the salt water”. This water also contains high levels of nitrates and other pollutants that do not affect the taste or aspect of the water, but which are dangerous to public health. Due to its salinity, municipal tap water is generally only used for household chores and for washing, frequently causing skin diseases and other infections. Furthermore, frequent power outages and low network pressure cause constant water cuts and shortages.

Gazans mainly get their drinking water from private vendors, who deliver water from more than 40 private desalination plants that have sprung up over recent years. The Palestinian Water Authority has only licensed about half of these plants, and none of them is monitored for the quality of the water they produce. Users receive deliveries of this water by tanker truck, or go to fill up jerry cans at the small tanks that exist in corner shops and supermarkets across the Strip.[1] The prices are high ($1.30 for 100 L), and poor families may spend up to a third of their income on drinking water supplies.

Health

how the water crisis affects life in gaza
Half of the children in Gaza suffer from parasitic infections as a result of the contamination of water resources, 2010. Photo: Middle East Children’s Alliance.

Drinking heavily saline and contaminated water can have severe health impacts, particularly among children.

According to the World Health Organization, Gaza’s contaminated water is responsible for 26% of all disease in the territory, and 50% of Gaza’s children suffer from water-related parasitic infections.[2] Intestinal parasites infect children throughout Gaza, but children living in agricultural communities and near sewage ponds are particularly at risk. Parasitic infections and chronic diarrhoea also affect child growth and development.[3]

More generally, adults and children are at risk of a range of water-related diseases:

  • Drinking saline water can cause kidney dysfunction, heart failure, neurological symptoms, lethargy and high blood pressure.
  • Excessive levels of fluoride are toxic, causing gastritis, ulcers, kidney failure, bone fluorosis (causing bone fractures and crippling), and tooth fluorosis (causing black lines around gums and tooth decay).
  • High nitrate levels cause “blue baby” syndrome and gastric cancer.[4]

Blue Baby Syndrome

High nitrate concentration in drinking water is particularly dangerous for infants, as it can induce blue baby syndrome or methaemoglobinaemia. This blood disorder results in higher than normal levels of methaemoglobin, a form of haemoglobin that does not bind oxygen. Infants suffering from blue baby syndrome may show signs of blueness around the mouth, hands and feet. They may have episodes of breathing trouble, diarrhoea and vomiting. In extreme cases, the condition can be fatal.

Blue baby syndrome was first registered during the 1990s in Gaza. A 2002 study found that 48.5% of babies had high methaemoglobin levels. There are no recent studies on the prevalence of blue baby syndrome in Gaza, but as nitrate concentrations have steadily increased over the past 15 years and awareness of the disease and its causes remains low, a large number of children are at risk.[6]

Environment

special report on gaza's water crisis, polluted water
Polluted water in Gaza. Photo Flickr

The poor quality of water in Gaza has a dramatic impact on the environment. Wadi Gaza, a seasonal river that originates in Israel and flows through the Gaza Strip into the Mediterranean Sea, is choked with sewage.

The lack of adequate water treatment facilities also means that raw sewage frequently floods streets, residential areas, homes and agricultural land.

Along the coast, 16 sewage outlets release around 33 MCM/yr of untreated sewage directly into the sea.[7] Fish are infected and the coastline is contaminated, impacting the quality of life of Gazans and the livelihoods of fishermen. Sewage discharges from Gaza also affect water quality further along the coast, among others at the intake of the Israeli desalination plant at Ashkelon.[8]

Agriculture

Poor water quality in Gaza also affects agricultural production, as the high salinity of the groundwater affects the growth of crops. Many farmers have had to abandon traditional crops such as strawberries, cucumbers and tomatoes in favour of more salt-tolerant crops.

Agriculture remains the largest water user in the Gaza Strip, consuming around 60-65% of the water supply.[9] There are more than 4,600 agricultural wells in Gaza, more than 2,000 of which were drilled illegally without supervision or regulation.[10] This means that neither the quality nor the quantity of the water extracted from these wells is monitored. Lack of proper regulation of these wells places further pressure on Gaza’s water supply.


[1] World Bank, 2009. West Bank And Gaza Assessment of Restrictions on Palestinian Water Sector Development.
[2] Eco Peace/Friends of the Earth Middle East & INSS, 2014. The Water, Sanitation and Energy Crises in Gaza, Humanitarian, Environmental and Geopolitical Implications With Recommendations for Immediate Measures.
[3] UNICEF, 2011. Protecting Children from Unsafe Water in Gaza: Strategy, Action Plan and Project Resources.Eco Peace/Friends of the Earth Middle East & INSS, 2014.
[4] Eco Peace/Friends of the Earth Middle East & INSS, 2014.
[5] Ibid.
[6] UNEP, 2009. Environmental assessment of the Gaza Strip following the escalation of hostilities in December 2008 – January 2009.
[7] UNCTAD, 2015. Report on UNCTAD assistance to the Palestinian people: Developments in the economy of the Occupied Palestinian Territory, Geneva, September 2015.
[8] World Bank, 2009. West Bank and Gaza Assessment of Restrictions on Palestinian Water Sector Development.
[9] World Bank, 2009. West Bank and Gaza Assessment of Restrictions on Palestinian Water Sector Development.
[10] Messerschmid, C., 2011. Water In Gaza: Problems and Prospects. Working Paper Series IALIIS-BZU-WPS 2011/19 (ENG) CPE Module. Ibrahim Abu-Lughod Institute of International Studies (IALIIS) – Birzeit University.