الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / أزمة المياه في غزة

أزمة المياه في غزة

water special gaza report fishing port in gaza city fanack
الصورة (1): ميناء الصيد في غزة، 2012. الصورة: Arne Hoel/ البنك الدولي.

مع توفر أقل من 4% من المياه الملائمة للاستهلاك البشري، يواجه قطاع غزة أزمة مياه متفاقمة باطراد على مدى العقد الماضي. يعتبر قطاع غزة أحد أكثر المناطق كثافة سكانية في العالم بوجود أكثر من 4,500 نسمة لكل كيلومتر مربع[1]، حيث لم تعد تُلبي إمدادات المياه العذبة الطبيعية حاجة سكان القطاع البالغ عددهم 1,76 مليون نسمة.

 Map of the Gaza Strip
الخريطة (1): خارطة قطاع غزة. المصدر Fanack عن جامعة تكساس 2015

يتمثل المصدر الطبيعي الوحيد للمياه العذبة في غزة بالمياه الجوفية. ويتم في الوقت الراهن سحب المياه من الحوض الجوفي الساحلي، وهو حوض للمياه الجوفية يقع أسفل قطاع غزة، بمعدل يتجاوز ثلاثة أضعاف المعدل المستدام. وبعبارة أخرى، ينتج الحوض الجوفي بشكلٍ مستدام 55-57 مليون متر مكعب من المياه سنوياً، إلا أنه في الوقت الحالي يتم استخراج 170-200 مليون متر مكعب سنوياً.

وبعد عقود من الضخ الجائر لمياه الحوض الساحلي، باتت تتسرب مياه البحر حالياً إلى الحوض الجوفي. وهذا يعني أن المياه التي تتدفق من صنابير المياه في منازل القطاع مالحة للغاية وغير صالحة للشرب.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن عدم وجود منشآت ملائمة لمعالجة المياه في جميع أرجاء قطاع غزة يعني أن حوالي 90 مليون لتر من مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة أو المعالجة جزئياً تتسرب داخل الحوض الجوفي وتصب في مياه البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

وعموماً، فإن أكثر من 96% من المياه في قطاع غزة غير صالحة للاستهلاك البشري. ولكن، بما أنّ الحوض الساحلي هو مصدر المياه الوحيد، لا يملك الغزيون أي خيار آخر سوى استخدامه، بالرغم من العواقب الوخيمة على الصحة العامة.

water special gaza report damaged housing after Israeli Operation Cast Lead in the Gaza Strip
الصورة (2): مباني مدمرة خلال عملية “الرصاص المصبوب،” 2012. الصورة: Marinus Arnesen

وتُقدر منظمة الصحة العالمية (WHO) أن المياه الملوثة مسؤولة عن 26% من جميع الأمراض في غزة، فضلاً عن أن 50% من الأطفال يعانون من الالتهابات الطفيلية ذات الصلة بالمياه. وعلاوة على ذلك، هناك شح في المياه، حيث لا يتوفر سوى 70-90 لتر من المياه للفرد في اليوم، أي أقل من المعيار الذي حددته منظمة الصحة العالمية بتوفير 100 لتر على الأقل للفرد الواحد في اليوم. تـفاقم هذا الوضع المتردي بالفعل بعد أن شنت إسرائيل عملية “الجرف الصامد” على قطاع غزة في صيف عام 2014. وإلى جانب تدمير وهدم المنازل، والشركات، وشبكات الطرقات، تسببت العملية أيضاً بخسائر تُقدر بـ34 مليون دولار في البُنية التحتية للمياه المتداعية بالفعل في القطاع، حيث أنّ الكثير منها لم يتم إصلاحه حتى نوفمبر 2015.

يعتبر هذا الوضع مُلحاً. وبالعودة إلى عام 2009، حذر برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة أن طبقة المياه الجوفية في غزة قد تتعرض لضرر لا رجعة فيه إذا لم يتخذ أي إجراء:

“إن الوضع البيئي في قطاع غزة قاتم من جميع الجوانب… حوض المياه الجوفي يتعرض لأضرار بالغة وينهار بسرعة. وما لم يتم تغيير هذا الاتجاه الآن، قد يستغرق الضرر قروناً لعكسه… من الناحية المثالية، ينبغي إيقاف ضخ المياه من الحوض الجوفي ووضع نظام مراقبة لتقييم استرداد المعدلات. كما ينبغي السماح بالاستخراج المُنظم فقط في حال استعادت طبقة المياه الجوفية العائد المستدام بعد حسابه وفقاً لبيانات دقيقة عن التدفقات. كما ينبغي تطوير مصادر بديلة للمياه واستخدامها للسماح بإنعاش الحوض الجوفي الساحلي.”[2]

وبحلول عام 2012، حذرت مصلحة مياه بلديات الساحل في قطاع غزة من أنّ الحوض الساحلي قد ينهار بحلول عام 2016، فضلاً عن عدم القدرة على عكس الضرر بحلول عام 2020[3]. وفي الوقت الراهن، يتم اتخاذ التدابير على مختلف المستويات لتحسين الوضع ولكن لا تزال هناك الكثير من العقبات، سواء على المستوى المحلي أو الإقليمي.


[1] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012.
[2] UNEP, 2009. Environmental assessment of the Gaza Strip following the escalation of hostilities in December 2008 – January 2009.
[3] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012.


مزيد من القراءة

Home / Specials / Gaza’s Water Crisis

Gaza’s Water Crisis

water special gaza report fishing port in gaza city fanack water crisis
Photo 1: Fishing port at Gaza, 2012. Photo: Arne Hoel / World Bank.

With less than 4% of water fit for human use, the Gaza Strip has been facing a steadily worsening water crisis for the past decade. Gaza is one of the most densely populated areas in the world with more than 4,500 inhabitants per square kilometre [1], and the natural freshwater supply no longer meets the needs of the territory’s 1.76 million inhabitants.

 Map of the Gaza Strip water crisis
Map 1 : Map of the Gaza Strip. Source: Fanack after Texas University 2015.

Gaza’s only natural source of fresh water is groundwater. The Coastal Aquifer, which is the groundwater body that lies beneath the Gaza Strip, is currently being exploited at more than three times its sustainable rate. In other words, the aquifer can sustainably produce 55-57 million cubic metres per year (MCM/yr), but at the moment 170-200 MCM is being extracted annually.

After decades of overpumping from the aquifer, seawater is now seeping into the groundwater. This means that the water that flows from taps in Gaza is very salty and is not drinkable.

In addition, the absence of proper water treatment facilities throughout the Gaza Strip means that every day around 90 million litres (L) of untreated or partially treated sewage is seeping into the groundwater and flowing into the Mediterranean Sea. Overall, more than 96% of water in the Gaza Strip is unfit for human use. But as the Coastal Aquifer is the only source of water, Gazans have no choice but to use it, with severe consequences for public health.

water special gaza report damaged housing after Israeli Operation Cast Lead in the Gaza Strip
Photo2 : Buildings damaged during Operation Cast Lead, 2012. Photo: Marinus Arnesen.

The World Health Organization (WHO) estimates that contaminated water is responsible for 26% of all disease in Gaza and 50% of children suffer from water-related parasitic infections. Moreover, water is scarce, with only 70-90 L of water available per person per day – less than the standard set by the WHO of at least 100 L per person per day. This already dire situation further deteriorated after Israel launched ‘Operation Protective Edge’ on the Gaza Strip in the summer of 2014. Besides the destruction and damage of homes, businesses and road networks, the operation also caused an estimated $34 million in damage to Gaza’s ailing water infrastructure, much of which had still not been repaired by November 2015.

The situation is urgent. As far back as 2009, the UN Environment Programme warned that Gaza’s aquifer would be irreversibly damaged if no action was taken:
“The state of the environment in the Gaza Strip is bleak from any perspective… The aquifer is severely damaged and collapsing quickly. Unless the trend is reversed now, damage could take centuries to reverse… Ideally, abstraction from the aquifer should cease and a monitoring system should be installed to evaluate recovery. Controlled abstraction should only be permitted once the aquifer recovers and the sustainable yield is recalculated using accurate data on inflows. Alternative sources of water should be developed and used to allow the Coastal Aquifer to rest.”[2]

By 2012, Gaza’s Coastal Municipalities Water Utility warned that the aquifer could collapse by 2016 and the damage could become irreversible by 2020.[3] Measures are being taking at different levels to improve the situation but many obstacles remain, both on a domestic and regional level.


[1] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012.
[2] UNEP, 2009. Environmental assessment of the Gaza Strip following the escalation of hostilities in December 2008 – January 2009.
[3] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012.


Further reading