الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / منتدى المياه الأول في منطقة وادي الرافدين يعالج التحديات الرئيسية لإدارة المياه الإقليمية

منتدى المياه الأول في منطقة وادي الرافدين يعالج التحديات الرئيسية لإدارة المياه الإقليمية

النشطاء العراقيين
الصورة 1: صورة جماعية للمشاركين في المنتدى بعد الإعلان عن بيان المنتدى. ( المصدر: Save Tigris / Facebook)

بقلم: جوليان شيلينجر

عُقِد مُنتدى المياه في منطقة وادي الرافدين لأول مرة في السُّليمانية في كردستان العراق في الفترة من 6-8 نيسان (أبريل) 2019. جمع المنتدى ممثلين عن المجتمع المدني من جميع أنحاء المنطقة لمناقشة التحديات الرئيسية على طول نهريّ دجلة والفرات، وسعى إلى تعزيز المياه كأداةٍ من أجل السلام الدائم.

كان يوم الثاني من أبريل من عام 2019 يوماً تاريخياً لسد دوكان في كردستان العراق، إذ أنه للمرة الثانية فحسب خلال 64 عاماً من تشغيله، تم استخدام قنوات الطوارىء لتصريف فائض المياه في الخزان لإسالة المياه الفائضة إلى نهر الزاب الصغير وتخفيف الضغط على السد. كان هذا ضرورياً بعد فصل شتاءٍ غزير الأمطار بشكلٍ استثنائي وفتراتٍ طويلة من الهطول المطري في سلاسل الجبال على طول الحدود بين كردستان العراق وإيران خلال الأشهر الماضية. وفي نهاية المطاف، ستنتهي المياه في نهر دجلة، حيث يعتبر الزاب الصغير أحد الروافد الرئيسية له. ومع ذلك، لم تحل الأمطار الإضافية أكثر تحديات المياه إلحاحاً في حوض دجلة- الفرات المشترك. وعلى الرغم من أن كمياتٍ كبيرة من المياه الفائضة غمرت المروج والمنازل والشوارع على طول منطقة الزاب الأصغر أسفل سد دوكان، إلا أن منتدى المياه في منطقة وادي الرافدين عُقد في السليمانية على بعد 65 كيلومتراً جنوباً.

استهل المنتدى، الذي عُقد في الفترة من 6-8 أبريل 2019 في جامعة السليمانية، بمعالجة بعض هذه التحديات التي تتم مواجهتها في القرن الحادي والعشرين وتعزيز المياه كأداةٍ لتحقيق سلامٍ دائم على طول نهر دجلة والفرات. تم تنظيمه من قبل منظمات المجتمع المدني بقيادة حملة Save the Tigris (أنقذوا دجلة) لتوفير نافذةٍ مفتوحة للنقاش بين المشاركين من دول المُتشاطئة الأربعة، تركيا وسوريا والعراق وإيران وكذلك من خارج المنطقة. كان هناك ثلاثة مجالات اهتمام في محور المناقشات، نوجزها لكم أدناه.

وادي الرافدين
نهر الزاب، السُّليمانية، العراق. المصدر: جوليان شيلينجر

المشاركة العامة في إدارة المياه

تم تسليط الضوء على قلة المشاركة العامة في عمليات صنع القرار كأحد الأسباب الرئيسية لسوء إدارة الموارد المائية في حوض دجلة- الفرات. تشمل التحديات التي تواجه المشاركة العامة الافتقار العام إلى الشفافية وضعف المساءلة واستبعاد أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين.

في حين شهدت العقود الماضية زيادةً قوية في نشاط المجتمع المدني، إلا أن القيود المتشدّدة على مشاركة منظمات المجتمع المدني في صنع القرار عبر الحوض لا تزال تشكل عقبةً رئيسية أمام الإدارة المستدامة والشاملة للمياه. هذا هو الحال بشكلٍ خاص في سياق مشاريع السدود الضخمة في جميع بلدان المُتشاطئة.

تأثير السدود والإدارة العابرة للحدود

منذ خمسينيات القرن الماضي، أعاد التطوير المكثّف للبُنية التحتية على طول نهريّ دجلة والفرات وروافدهما، إلى حدٍ كبير، تشكيل الحوض في جميع بلدان المُتشاطئة. تم بناء السدود المتوسطة والكبيرة للسيطرة على الفيضانات، ولتغذية مخططات تحويل مجرى المياه والري وإنتاج الطاقة الكهرومائية. سمح ذلك بسيطرةٍ غير مسبوقة على تدفقات نهريّ دجلة والفرات ومكنّ من توسيع الزراعة المروية في الحوض بأكمله.

ومع ذلك، فإن تطوير البنية التحتية المستمر قد تسبب في خسائر، حيث تمّ تهجير السكان المحليين وغمرت المياه المواقع الأثرية حيث تمتلىء الخزانات خلف السدود الجديدة. تدهورت النظم البيئية التي تعتمد على الطوفان المنتظم من فيضانات الربيع بسبب أنظمة السيطرة على التدفقات، مما أثر بشكلٍ خاص على الأهوار في جنوب الحوض. وفي ظل عدم وجود اتفاقاتٍ شاملة على مستوى الحوض بين الدول المُتشاطئة، أصبحت السدود أدواتٍ محتملة لممارسة السلطة السياسية على السكان في مناطق مصبات الأنهار.

المشاركون في المنتدى في رحلة إلى سد دوكان. (المصدر: Save Tigris / Facebook)
المشاركون في المنتدى في رحلة إلى سد دوكان. (المصدر: Save Tigris / Facebook)

صحة النظام البيئي وخدمات النظام البيئي

يوفر نظام دجلة -الفرات العديد من خدمات النظام البيئي التي تعتبر حيويةً لصحة الإنسان وازدهاره. من بينها، ضبط المناخ الإقليمي، وتوفير إمدادات المياه لكلٍ من البشر والبيئة ، وتوفير المساحات الجيدة للاستجمام والسياحة. تعتبر خدمات النظام البيئي المتعلقة بالزراعة وصيد السمك ذات أهمية خاصة في المناطق الريفية حيث يعتمد بعض السكان على زراعة الكفاف.

هذه الخدمات، إلى جانب التنوع البيولوجي الغني للحوض، أصبحت مُهددةٌ بسبب تدهور صحة النظام البيئي. يعدّ التلوث الناجم عن مياه الصرف الصحي غير المُعالجة ،والتي ترتفع فيها معدلات البكتيريا والمُغذّيات، و الأسمدة والمبيدات الموجودة في المياه السطحية المستخدمة للزراعة ،من المشاكل الرئيسية التي تواجه صحة النظام البيئي. كما تزيد النفايات الصلبة، وخاصة البلاستيك، من تلوث مصادر المياه والبيئة. علاوةً على ذلك، تساهم ممارسات إدارة المياه غير المستدامة وتغير المناخ في زيادة تدهور جودة المياه.

آفاق المستقبل

بعد ثلاثة أيامٍ من المناقشات العامة وورش العمل، أصدر منتدى المياه في منطقة وادي الرافدين بياناً بعنوان “المياه في مهب الخطر في منطقة وادي الرافدين.” يعتمد البيان على القيمة الثقافية والبيئية لنهريّ دجلة والفرات والصراعات المستمرة لمنظمات المجتمع المدني، التي حضر الكثير منها هذا الحدث، لحماية المسطحات المائية الإقليمية والدفاع عن الحق في الماء لجميع أشكال الحياة في منطقة وادي الرافدين- وهي المهمة التي يشير إليها البيان بـ”الواجب المدني بالغ الأهمية.” وهكذا، يُدين الموقعون القرارات الأحادية الجانب لإدارة المياه وتطوير البنية التحتية على طول الأنهار والسياسات الرامية إلى خصخصة المياه، فضلاً عن قطع المياه عن بلدان أو مجتمعات المصب، وتدمير المواقع التاريخية ومراكز نشاط التنوع البيولوجيّ بسبب بناء السّدود.

يتضمن البيان أيضاً مجموعة واسعة من التوصيات لكلٍ من الحكومات الوطنية والمحلية، والمنظمات الدولية والمجتمع المدني فيما يتعلق بالتحديات الثلاثة المذكورة أعلاه. ويدعو إلى فرض تشريعاتٍ تعزز المشاركة العامة وحماية البيئة من قبل جميع البلدان في الحوض، فضلاً عن إنفاذ القوانين الحالية على نحوٍ أفضل. وإلى جانب المشاركة العامة، تم التأكيد على الحاجة إلى الشفافية فيما يتعلق بعمليات صنع القرار، لا سيما حول تخطيط وتبرير مشاريع السدود الجديدة وبدائلها المحتملة. كما أن عدداً من التدابير المتعلقة بالتثقيف والتوعية العامة تُشكل التوصيات الأساسية التي تقترحها منظمات المجتمع المدني فيما يتعلق بأنشطتها.

كما وأكدّ منظموا منتدى المياه في منطقة وادي الرافدين، فيما يتعلق بآفاق المستقبل، على الحاجة إلى تعاونٍ دولي مستمر بين منظمات المجتمع المدني، لا سيما في ظل انعدام النجاحات الملحوظة فيما يتعلق بالمحادثات الوزارية على مستوى الحوض. ومن المتوقع أن يثمر تبادل الخبرات فيما بين بلدان الجنوب مع المنظمات العاملة في مناطق أخرى، مثل أمريكا الجنوبية وإفريقيا، عن رؤى جديدة وأفضل الممارسات من مناطق في وضعٍ مشابه. ومن هذا المنطلق، من المخطط عقد نسخة ثانية من المنتدى خلال السنوات القليلة المقبلة في ديار بكر- تركيا.

Home / Specials / First Mesopotamian Water Forum addresses key challenges to regional water management

First Mesopotamian Water Forum addresses key challenges to regional water management

Mesopotamian Water Forum-fanack Iraq
Photo 2: A group picture of the forum participants after the forum’s declaration. (Source: Save Tigris / Facebook)

By: Juliane Schillinger

The Mesopotamian Water Forum was held for the first time in Sulaymaniyah in Iraqi Kurdistan from 6-8 April 2019. It brought together civil society actors from across the region to discuss key challenges along the Euphrates and Tigris rivers and sought to promote water as a tool for sustainable peace.

2 April 2019 was a historical day for the Dukan Dam in Iraqi Kurdistan. For only the second time in its 64 years of operation, the reservoir’s emergency spillways were used to release additional water to the Little Zab river and lower the pressure on the dam. This was necessary following an exceptionally wet winter and prolonged periods of rain in the mountain ranges along the border between Iraqi Kurdistan and Iran over the past months. The water will eventually end up in the Tigris river, of which the Little Zab is one of the main tributaries. Yet the most pressing water challenges in the joint Euphrates-Tigris basin have not been solved by the additional rain. Although large amounts of excess water flooded meadows, houses and streets along the Lesser Little Zab below the Dukan Dam, the Mesopotamian Water Forum took place in Sulaymaniyah, 65 kilometres further south.

Held from 6-8 April 2019 at the University of Sulaimani, the forum set out to address some of these challenges in the 21st century and to promote water as a tool for sustainable peace along the Euphrates and Tigris. It was organized by civil society organizations (CSOs) led by the Save the Tigris campaign to provide an open space for discussion among participants from the four riparian countries Turkey, Syria, Iraq and Iran as well as from beyond the region. At the heart of the conversation were three areas of concern that are briefly outlined below.

Mesopotamian Water
Photo 1: Zab river, Sulaymaniyah, Iraq. (Source: Juliane Schillinger)

Public participation in water management

The lack of public participation in decision-making processes was highlighted as one of the central causes of poor management of water resources in the Euphrates-Tigris basin. Challenges to public participation include a general lack of transparency, weak accountability and the exclusion of key stakeholders.

While the past decades have seen a strong increase in civil society activism, severe limitations on the involvement of CSOs in decision-making across the basin continue to present a major obstacle to sustainable and inclusive water management. This is particularly the case in the context of large-scale dam projects in all of the riparian countries.

Impacts of dams and transboundary management

Starting in the 1950s, intensive infrastructure development along Euphrates, Tigris and their tributaries significantly reshaped the basin in all riparian countries. Medium- and large-scale dams were built for flood control, to feed diversion and irrigation schemes and produce hydropower. They have allowed unprecedented control over the flow of the Euphrates and Tigris and enabled the expansion of irrigated agriculture in the whole basin.

However, the ongoing infrastructure development has taken a toll. Local populations have been displaced and archeological sites flooded as the reservoirs behind new dams are filled. Ecosystems reliant on regular inundation from spring floods have deteriorated with the controlled flow regime, a consequence that has particularly affected the marshlands in the south of the basin. In the absence of comprehensive basin-wide agreements between the riparian countries, dams have become potential tools to exert political power over downstream populations.

The forum participants joined an excursion to Dukan Dam after the forum. (Source: Save Tigris / Facebook)
The forum participants joined an excursion to Dukan Dam after the forum. (Source: Save Tigris / Facebook)

Ecosystem health and ecosystem services

The Euphrates-Tigris system provides numerous ecosystem services that are vital to human health and prosperity. Among them are regional climate regulation, water supply to both humans and the environment and quality spaces for recreation and tourism. Ecosystem services related to agriculture and fisheries are particularly important in rural areas where some populations are dependent on subsistence farming.

These services, along with the basin’s rich biodiversity, are threatened by deteriorating ecosystem health. Pollution from untreated wastewater, which is high in bacteria and nutrients, and from fertilizers and pesticides in agricultural runoff are the main problems facing ecosystem health. Solid waste, particularly plastics, adds to the pollution of water sources and the environment. Unsustainable water management practices and climate change further contribute to the degradation of water quality.

Ways forward

Following three days of plenary discussions and workshops, the Mesopotamian Water Forum issued a declaration titled ‘Water is under assault in Mesopotamia’. The declaration builds on the cultural and ecological value of the Euphrates and Tigris and the ongoing struggles of CSOs, many of which were present at the event, to protect regional water bodies and defend the right to water for all forms of life in Mesopotamia – a task the declaration refers to as a ‘critical civic duty’. The signatories thus condemn unilateral decisions in water management and infrastructure development along the rivers and policies aimed at privatizing water as well as cutting water to downstream countries or communities and the destruction of historical sites and biodiversity hotspots due to the construction of dams.

The declaration also includes an extensive set of recommendations for both national and local governments, international organizations and civil society related to the three challenges outlined above. It calls for stronger legislation regarding public participation and environmental protection by all countries in the basin as well as better enforcement of existing laws. Alongside public participation, the need for transparent decision-making processes was emphasized, particularly around the planning and justification of new dam projects and their possible alternatives. A number of measures related to education and public awareness form the core recommendations proposed by the CSOs regarding their own activities.

Moving forward, the Mesopotamian Water Forum’s organizers emphasized the need for continuous international cooperation between CSOs, particularly in the absence of noteworthy successes regarding basin-wide ministerial talks. South-South exchange of experiences with organizations active in other regions, such as South America and Africa, is expected to yield new insights and best practices from areas in a comparable situation. In this spirit, a second edition of the forum is planned to take place within the next few years in Diyarbakir, Turkey.