الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / تحلية المياه بالطاقة الشمسية: حلٌ واعد لمستقبل المياه في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا؟

تحلية المياه بالطاقة الشمسية: حلٌ واعد لمستقبل المياه في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا؟

المُساهمون

  • المؤلف: أندريا أتاناسوفسكا.
  • الزميل المراجع: جول أوزيرول.

تعتبر نُدرة المياه أحد أكثر المشاكل الجوهرية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا. فالشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا موطن 6,3% من سكان العالم، ولكن لا يصله سوى ما نسبته 1,4% من موارد المياه العذبة المتجددة [1]. ويُقدر البنك الدولي أنه بحلول عام 2050، ستزداد فجوة الطلب السنوي على المياه من 42 كيلومتر مكعب إلى ما يُقارب 200 كيلومتر مكعب [2]. تشتمل الأسباب الرئيسية لندرة المياه في المنطقة على الزيادة السكانية، والتنمية الاقتصادية، بالإضافة إلى تغير المناخ والتصحر.

وللتخفيف من نُدرة المياه، زادت بلدان الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا، بشكلٍ ملحوظ، استثماراتها ومشاركتها في تحلية المياه. لا يوجد نموذج واحد لتحلية المياه، كما لا يوجد نموذج واحد يمكن تطبيقه في جميع البلدان. فقد أجبر التنوع في التنمية الاقتصادية والبيئية والاجتماعية بين البلدان، على اتباع نهجٍ مُختلفة لتحلية المياه في كل بلد.

تحلية المياه في الشرق الأوسط و شمال افريقيا
الشكل (1,1): الموارد المائية

تحلية المياه ليست تقنيةً جديدة؛ بل على العكس تعتبر أحد أقدم طرق تنقية المياه التي عرفها الإنسان. إن عملية تحلية المياه في الطبيعة هي المسؤولة عمّا يُعرف بـ”دورة المياه.” توفر الشمس الطاقة التي تُسبب تبخر المياه السطحية. وبالتالي، يُلامس بخار الماء الهواء المبرد الذي يتكثف مجدداً مشكلاً المطر. يمكن تكرار هذه العملية اصطناعياً بسرعة أكبر وكميةٍ أكبر [3]. يمكن أن تتم عملية تحلية المياه المالحة أو قليلة الملوحة بثلاث طرق [4]:

تقطير مياه البحر من خلال التسخين، مما يؤدي إلى تبخرها. يتم تكثيف البخار باستخدام الكهرباء أو خزانات الضغط المنخفض لخفض كمية الطاقة المطلوبة.
يتم تطبيق عملية التناضح العكسي، الذي تضخ من خلاله مضخات الضغط العالي المياه عبر غشاء لا يسمح بنفاذ الملح.
يُستخدم التيار الكهربائي لفصل الماء عن الملح.

وضع مشاريع تحلية المياه في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا

يمكن لمشاريع تحلية المياه أن يكون لها أثر سلبي كبير على البيئة، مثل اضطراب الحياة البحرية وتدميرها، وانبعاث غازات الاحتباس الحراري وانخفاض نوعية المياه الساحلية. ويعود هذا بشكلٍ أساسي إلى الاستهلاك الهائل للطاقة خلال عملية تحلية المياه، فضلاً عن التركيز المرتفع لتصريف المواد الكيميائية التي تحتوي على المعادن الثقيلة الناتجة عن التأكسد وانخفاض مستويات المعادن الثقيلة. وفي محطات التناضح العكسي، سيكون هناك آثار للحديد والنيكل والكروم [5].

إنّ العلاقة بين تحلية المياه وتغير المناخ علاقة معقدة نوعاً ما. فمع ازدياد مساحات الأراضي الصحراوية والتوسع السكاني المتواصل، فمن المتوقع أن يبقى خيار تحلية المياه الخيار السائد لزيادة إمدادات المياه العذبة، وبالتالي سيزداد حرق الوقود الأحفوري لعملية تحلية المياه وستزداد انبعاثات الغاز الناتجة عن ذلك.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن عملية تحلية المياه هي عملية مكلفة للغاية بالنسبة للبلدان المعنية. ومع ذلك، هناك بالفعل أكثر من 2,800 محطة عاملة للتحلية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا، والتي تنتج حوالي 27 مليون متر مكعب من المياه العذبة من مياه البحر يومياً [6].
وكما ذكرنا سابقاً، لا يوجد نموذج واحد لتحلية المياه يمكن تطبيقه على جميع بلدان منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا. تشتمل القضايا الرئيسية التي تواجهها البلدان فيما يتعلق بتحلية المياه، ما يلي:

إنّ نوعية مياه البحر أمر غاية في الأهمية لعملية تحلية المياه. فعلى سبيل المثال، تصعب معالجة المياه من الخليج الفارسي بشكلٍ أكبر من معالجة مياه البحر الأحمر، وذلك بسبب القدرة المحدودة على امتصاص درجات الحرارة المرتفعة لمفرزات المحلول الملحي والفرق الذي سيتركه ارتفاع مستويات الملوحة على الأنواع الحساسة من النباتات والحيوانات [7].

يلعب حجم محطات التحلية دوراً غاية في الأهمية فيما يتعلق بالطاقة وخفض التكاليف. يمكن للمحطات الأكبر حجماً إنتاج المزيد من المياه عن طريق استخدام موارد أقل من المحطات الصغيرة (اقتصاديات الحجم). افتتحت أكبر محطة لتحلية المياه في الجزائر عام 2014، بقُدرة إنتاج 500,000 متر مكعب من المياه العذبة يومياً [8] .

اعتماداً على نوعية المياه المطلوبة، يتم إجراء عمليات مختلفة من تحلية المياه. تختلف معايير الجودة بين استخدامات المياه لأغراض الري والصناعة والطبخ والشرب[9].

محطات تحلية المياه بالطاقة الشمسية

بسبب الآثار البيئية التي ذكرت سابقاً، قد يكون النهج الجديد والأكثر استدامة خياراً مرغوباً فيه في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا. وفي الوقت الراهن، فإن الأسلوب الأكثر رواجاً والذي من شأنه أن يحل محل عمليات تحلية المياه التقليدية المستهلكة للطاقة هي محطات الطاقة الشمسية المركزة (CSP). وتتضمن الطرق الأخرى لتحلية المياه باستخدام الطاقة المتجددة، الطاقة الشمسية الحرارية والطاقة المستمدة من الرياح [10]. تعمل محطات الطاقة الشمسية المركزة عن طريق استخدام المرايا الكبيرة التي يتم وضعها في حقل لإلتقاط أشعة الشمس وعكسها على عناصر مستقبلة التي تعمل على تضخيم الحرارة بنسبة تصل إلى 100 مرة. يمكن استخدام هذا في دورة الطاقة الحرارية من خلال توربينات البخار أو توربينات الغاز. كما يمكن أن تعمل محطات الطاقة الشمسية المركزة بواسطة الوقود الأحفوري، مما يسمح لها بتلبية الطلب.

تحلية المياه في الشرق الأوسط و شمال افريقيا
الشكل (2,1): تحلية المياه بالطاقة الشمسية (EcoMena; 2015)

تعتبر كل من الجزائر وليبيا وقطر والمملكة العربية السعودية والكويت والإمارات العربية المتحدة من أكبر المستهلكين لمحطات الطاقة الشمسية المركزة. وقعّت الإمارات العربية المتحدة والصين اتفاقاً للتعاون لزيادة استخدام الطاقة المتجددة في عملية تحلية مياه البحر. يتمثل الهدف في الحدّ من استهلاك الطاقة بما نسبته 40%. الطاقة الشمسية المركزة خيار مناسب وقابل للتطبيق لمحطات تحلية المياه على نطاق صناعي التي تتطلب المزيد من الكهرباء والسوائل ذات الحرارة المرتفعة. إنّ منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا أكثر من مناسبة للتقنيات التي تستخدم الطاقة الشمسية نظراً لوفرة الإمكانات. ووفقاً لجمعية الشرق الأوسط لصناعات الطاقة الشمسية، تم إنجاز رقم قياسي في عام 2014 في عدد مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط بطاقة إجمالية قدرها 294 ميجاواط. هذا النوع من تحلية المياه صديق للبيئة، ويمكن اعتباره مصدراً ثابتاً للطاقة.

وقد بدأت العديد من البلدان الأخرى في المنطقة مثل مصر والمغرب وتونس تنفيذ مشاريع كبيرة لمحطات الطاقة الشمسية المركزة. أحد المشاريع هو سلسلة من مزارع الطاقة الشمسية التي تمتد عبر المنطقة. يمتلك المغرب الإمكانية ليصبح رائداً في المنطقة مع بناء محطة الطاقة الشمسية الضخمة في ورزازات، التي ستسخدم جزئياً لأغراض تحلية المياه. يتم تنفيذ هذا المشروع تحت مظلة ديزيرتيك، إلى جانب بناء محطة تونور للطاقة الشمسية في تونس، التي تمت الموافقة عليها في عام 2012. سيتم تنفيذ أحدث هذه المشاريع في قطر، حيث أعلنت مجموعة مونسون عن إنشاء محطة آلية جديدة لتحلية المياه بالطاقة المتجددة باستهلاك منخفض للطاقة.

الخلاصة

بالنظر إلى التوسع السريع في عدد السكان، والتحضر، وتغير المناخ، ستعتمد دول منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا بشكلٍ أكبر على تحلية المياه باعتبارها وسيلة لتلبية الطلب المتزايد على المياه العذبة. وبسبب الآثار الخطيرة لتحلية المياه على البيئة، فضلاً عن التكلفة العالية لبناء واستخدام محطات التحلية، فمن المحتمل أنّ الحلول الأكثر استدامة، مثل الطاقة الشمسية المركزة، ستكون حلاً واعداً للعديد من البلدان في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.


[1] EcoMena. Zafar,S .2014. Water scarcity in Mena.

[2] [6] [7] World Bank. MENA Progress Report. 2012. Renewable Energy Desalination. 

[3] USGS. 2015. Saline Water: Desalination.

[4] Parise, T. 2012. Water desalination. Stanford Univeristy.

[5] Lattermann,S. 2005. Potential Impacts of Seawater Desalination.

[8] Water World. Freyberg, T. 2014. Algeria’s supersized 500,000 M3/day  desalination plant open for business.

[9] World Water Council. The use of water today.

[10] IRENA. 2012. Concentrating solar power.

Home / Specials / Solar Desalination: A Promising Solution for the Future of Water in MENA

Solar Desalination: A Promising Solution for the Future of Water in MENA

Contributors

  • Authors: Andrea Atanasovska.
  • Peer Reviewer: Gül Ozerol.

Water scarcity is one of the most crucial problems in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. The MENA is home to 6.3% of the world population but has only access to 1.4 % of the fresh renewable water resources [1]. The World Bank estimates that by 2050 the annual water demand gap will increase from 42 km3 to approximately 200 km3 [2]. Main reasons for the water scarcity in the region include the increase in population and economic development as well as climate change and desertification.

To mitigate water scarcity, the countries of the MENA region have substantially increased their investment and participation in desalination. There is no single model for desalination, nor can one model be applied in all the countries. The diversity in economic, environmental and social development between the countries has forced a different approach to desalination from each country.

water scarcity desalination MENA
Figure 1.1 Water resources

Desalination is not a new technology; on the contrary it is one of the oldest methods of water purification known to man. The desalination process in nature is responsible for what we know as the “water cycle”. The sun provides energy that causes surface water to evaporate. Subsequently the water vapor comes in touch with a cooler air; it then re-condenses to form rain. This process can be duplicated artificially with much faster speed and higher quantity [3]. The process of desalinating salt or brackish water can be done in three ways [4]:

Seawater is distilled through heating, causing it to evaporate. The vapor is then condensed by using electricity or low-pressure vessels to lower the amount of energy required.
The process of reverse osmosis is applied, in which high pressure pumps force the water through a membrane that is impermeable to salt.
Electric current is utilized to separate the water and salt.

Status of Desalination works in the MENA Region

Desalination projects can have a substantially negative impact on the environment, such as marine life disturbance and destruction, greenhouse gas emissions and the decline of the coastal water quality. That is mainly due to the massive consumption of energy during the desalination process, as well as the high concentration of chemical discharges that contain heavy metals from corrosion and low levels of heavy metals. In the reverse osmosis plants, there would be even traces of iron, nickel and chromium [5].

The relationship between desalination and climate change is a rather complex one. As the desert areas become larger and the population keeps expanding, it can be expected that desalination will remain the predominant choice for increasing freshwater supplies, thus the fossil fuels burned for desalination process and the resulting gas emissions will increase.

Furthermore, the desalination process is a very expensive undertaking for the countries concerned. Nevertheless, there are already more than 2,800 desalination plants operating in the MENA region and they produce around 27 million m³ of freshwater from seawater per day [6].

As mentioned before, there is no single desalination model that can be applied to all the countries in the MENA region. Major issues that countries face regarding desalination include the following:

The quality of the seawater is crucial for the desalination process. For example water from the Persian Gulf , even though is more common, would be more difficult to process than water coming from the Red Sea, due to the limited ability to absorb high-temperatures of brine discharge and the difference that the high levels of salinity will have on the sensitive species of plants and animals [7].

The size of the desalination plants can be crucial for energy and cost reduction. Larger plants can produce more water by using less resource than the smaller plants (economies of scale). The biggest desalination plant was opened in Algeria in 2014 and has the capacity to produce 500,000 m³ freshwater per day [8] .

Depending on the water quality required, different processes of desalination need to take place. The quality standards differ among the uses of water for irrigation, industry, cooking and drinking [9].

Solar-Powered Desalination Plants

Due to the environmental impacts that are mentioned before, a new and more sustainable approach might be an interesting option for the MENA region. For now the most popular method that will replace the old-fashioned energy consumptive desalination processes is the Concentrated Solar Power Plant (CSP). Other methods of desalination using renewable energy include solar-thermal energy and wind-based energy [10]. CSP works by utilising large mirrors, which are placed in a field, capturing rays of sunlight and reflecting them to the receiver elements and that then amplifies the heat by up to 100 times. This can be used in a thermal power cycle through steam turbines or gas turbines. CSP plants can also function through fossil fuels, allowing them to satisfy the demand.

water scarcity desalination MENA
Figure 2.1 Solar-powered desalination (EcoMena; 2015)

The biggest consumers of the CSP plants in the MENA region are Algeria, Libya, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and UAE. The United Arab Emirates and China have signed an agreement to cooperate to increase the use of renewable energy in the desalination process. The goal is to reduce the energy consumption to 40%. CSP is a viable and suitable option for the industrial-scale desalination plants which require more electricity and the high temperature fluids. The MENA region is more than adequate for techniques using solar energy since there is abundance of potential. According to the Middle East Solar Industry Association, in 2014 a record number of solar projects with combined capacity of 294 MW have been awarded in the Middle East. This type of desalination is Eco-friendly and can be perceived as a stable energy provider.

Several other countries in the region such as Egypt, Morocco and Tunisia have started large projects concerning the CSP plants. One of the projects is a series of solar farms expanding through the region. Morocco has the potential to be a leader in the region with the construction of the massive solar energy plant in Ouarzazate which will partially be used for desalination purposes. This project is under the umbrella of Desertec, together with the construction of the Tunisia’s TuNur solar plant, which was approved in 2012. The most recent project took place in Qatar where Monson Group announced new low-energy consumption, automated, renewable energy-powered desalination plant.

Conclusion

Given the rapid expansion of the population, urbanization and of climate change, the countries in the MENA region will rely further on desalination as a way to meet the increasing freshwater demands. Due to the hazardous effect that desalination has on the environment, as well as the high costs of building and utilizing the desalination plants, more sustainable solutions such as CSP are likely to be a promising solution for many countries in the MENA region.


[1] EcoMena. Zafar,S .2014. Water scarcity in Mena.

[2] [6] [7] World Bank. MENA Progress Report. 2012. Renewable Energy Desalination. 

[3] USGS. 2015. Saline Water: Desalination.

[4] Parise, T. 2012. Water desalination. Stanford Univeristy.

[5] Lattermann,S. 2005. Potential Impacts of Seawater Desalination.

[8] Water World. Freyberg, T. 2014. Algeria’s supersized 500,000 M3/day  desalination plant open for business.

[9] World Water Council. The use of water today.

[10] IRENA. 2012. Concentrating solar power.