الصفحة الرئيسية / ملفات خاصة / نهر العاصي وسد الصداقة بين تركيا وسوريا / سد الصداقة

سد الصداقة

سد الصداقة
يتوقع أن يصل ارتفاع سد الصداقة إلى 22,50 متر، وبقدرة تبلغ 110 مليون متر مكعب. ومنها 40 مليون متر مكعب تستخدم للوقاية من الفيضانات والباقي لتوليد الطاقة (حوالي 14 جيجاواط ساعية سنوياً) وللري (حوالي 9,000 هكتار من الأراضي الزراعية).

إن واحدة من مذكرات التفاهم التي تم توقيعها خلال الاجتماعات كانت لبناء سد الصداقة المشترك على نهر العاصي حيث يعبر الحدود بين تركيا وسوريا. وضع حجر أساس السد في 6 فبراير 2011. وعند الإنتهاء من المشروع، يتوقع أن يصل ارتفاع السد إلى 22,50 متر، وبقدرة تبلغ 110 مليون متر مكعب. ومنها 40 مليون متر مكعب تستخدم للوقاية من الفيضانات والباقي لتوليد الطاقة (حوالي 14 جيجاواط ساعية سنوياً) [1] وللري (حوالي 9,000 هكتار من الأراضي الزراعية).

النوعسد ترابي/ ركامي
منطقة مستجمع الصرف16,070 كيلومتر مكعب
متوسط التدفق السنوي542,15 مليون متر مكعب
الحجم الكلي (طبيعي+ فيضان)114,30 مليون متر مكعب
حجم الفيضان50 مليون متر مكعب
منطقة الري8,890 هكتار
المياه للري47,23 مليون متر مكعب
القدرة المركبة لمحطة الطاقة الكهرومائية8,9 ميجاواط
متوسط إنتاج الطاقة13,43 جيجاواط ساعي/ السنة

الجدول (1): خصائص سد الصداقة. [2]

التطورات الأخيرة والقضايا العالقة

أصبح وضع حجر الأساس لمشروع سد الصداقة رمزاً لتحسين العلاقات بين تركيا وسوريا وقد أشار إلى إمكانية زيادة التعاون في مجال إدارة المياه العابرة للحدود في المنطقة.

ومع ذلك، فإن الانتفاضة التي اندلعت في سوريا في مارس 2011، والحرب التي تلت ذلك، تسببت في التراجع عن الكثير من التقدم الذي تم إحرازه في العقد السابق. وقد أثرت الحرب أيضاً على بناء سد الصداقة، الذي تم تأجيله إلى أجلٍ غير مسمى. وإذا ما تم الانتهاء من المشروع في المستقبل، فيمكن أن تتحقق التطورات التالية:

  • يمكن تصحيح البيانات المتناقضة عن نهر العاصي، المذكورة في القسم الأول، عن طريق تبادل المعلومات والدراسات المشتركة.
  • مراجعة اتفاق تقاسم المياه عام 1994، الذي وقع بين لبنان وسوريا لتوزيع مياه نهر العاصي والذي أقصى تركيا، ليشمل تركيا.
  • استعراض المبادرات ذات الصلة بالمياه في الشرق الأوسط والتي تم تنفيذها بتوجيه من الدول غير الواقعة على ضفاف النهر والتي لم تكلل بالنجاح الكبير. ويدل مثال نهر العاصي على أن التعاون بين دول المشاطئة يمكن أن يكون ناجحاً.
  • التلوث الذي تسببه المصانع الزراعية- الصناعية في حمص وحماة يؤثر على جودة المياه للمستخدمين على طول مجرى النهر. وبعد الحرب، يمكن وينبغي حل هذه القضية.

[1] Selek, B., 2014. Presentation, Water Resources Development and Management in Turkey with Specific Reference to the Asi River Basin. Republic of Turkey, Ministry of Forestry and Water, General Directorate of State Hydraulic Works.
[2] Ibid.

Home / Specials / The Asi River and the Turkey-Syria Friendship Dam / The Friendship Dam

The Friendship Dam

Friendship Dam
Photo 1: Asi River, near Ain Alzarqa, Syria . (Source: Amro ben Kolthoum, Wikimedia)

One of the MoUs signed during the meetings was for the construction of a joint Friendship Dam on the Asi River where it crosses the Turkey-Syria border. The foundation stone of the dam was laid on 6 February 2011. On completion, the dam is expected to be 22.50 metres high, with a capacity of 110MCM. Of that, 40MCM will be used for flood prevention and the rest for energy production (approximately 14GWh annually)[1] and irrigation (around 9,000 hectares of agricultural land).

TypeEarth-fill dam
Drainage area16,070 km2
Average yearly flow542.15 MCM
Total volume (normal + flood)114.30 MCM
Flood volume 50 MCM
Irrigation area8,890 ha
Water for irrigation47.23 MCM
Installed capacity of the hydropower plant8.9 MW
Average energy production13.34 GWh/year

Table 1. Features of the Friendship Dam.[2]

Recent developments and outstanding issues

The laying of the foundation stone of the Friendship Dam became emblematic of the improved relations between Turkey and Syria and signalled the possibility of greater cooperation in the management of the region’s transboundary waters.

However, the uprising in Syria in March 2011 and the subsequent war have undone much of the progress that had been made in the previous decade. The war has also affected the construction of the Friendship Dam, which has been postponed indefinitely. If the project is finished in the future, the following developments could be realized:

  • The inconsistent data on the Asi River, mentioned in the first section, could be corrected by the exchange of information and joint studies.
  • A review of the 1994 water-sharing agreement, signed between Lebanon and Syria for the allocation of Asi River waters and from which Turkey was excluded, could include Turkey.
  • A review of the water-related initiatives in the Middle East that have been implemented under the guidance of non-riparian countries and have been largely unsuccessful. The example of the Asi River shows that cooperation between riparian countries could be successful.
  • Pollution released by agro-industrial plants in Homs and Hama in Syria affects the water quality of downstream users. After the war, this issue could and should be resolved.

[1] Selek, B., 2014. Presentation, Water Resources Development and Management in Turkey with Specific Reference to the Asi River Basin. Republic of Turkey, Ministry of Forestry and Water, General Directorate of State Hydraulic Works.
[2] Ibid.