الصفحة الرئيسية / سؤال وجواب مع د. أحمد اليعقوبي

سؤال وجواب مع د. أحمد اليعقوبي

مستشار مصادر المياه- سلطة المياه الفلسطينية – غزة

سيستغرق الأمر عقوداً لإصلاح الأضرار التي لحقت بحوض المياه الجوفية ولكن يتوجب أن نبذل قصارى جهدنا لتحسين الوضع الإنساني في غزة

إيصال مؤسسة أوكسفام للمياه في غزة، 31 يوليو 2014. الصورة: إياد البابا/ أوكسفام، كرياتيف كومونز بي واي/ إن سي
إيصال مؤسسة أوكسفام للمياه في غزة، 31 يوليو 2014. الصورة: إياد البابا/ أوكسفام،

سؤال وجواب مع د. أحمد اليعقوبي
مستشار مصادر المياه- سلطة المياه الفلسطينية – غزة

تعتبر غزة واحدة من أكثر المناطق في العالم التي تعاني ندرة في المياه، إلا أنّ هذه الظاهرة حديثة نسبياً. ما هي الأسباب الرئيسية لهذا الشح في المياه وكيف تغيرت الأمور منذ عام 1948؟

“قبل عام 1948، لم يعاني قطاع غزة من ندرة في المياه، حيث بلغ عدد سكان القطاع آنذاك أقل من 100,000 نسمة، وكانت كمية المياه الجوفية المتوفرة من الحوض الساحلي، الذي يعتبر مصدر المياه الوحيد في القطاع، تفوق الطلب المحلي.

ولان بناء مساحات البناء كانت قليلة آنذاك، فان معظم مياه الأمطار كانت تتسرب مباشرة إلى طبقة المياه الجوفيه أدناه. وعلاوة على ذلك، ممارسة الزراعة كانت على نطاق ضيق، اي لم تكن هناك مشاكل تلوث بسبب استخدام المبيدات الحشرية أو عودة التدفقات من الري. كانت معظم المياه الجوفية عذبة وصالحة للشرب وكانت الشواطىء نظيفة.

وبعد عام 1948، ارتفع الطلب على المياه بشكل حاد بسبب تدفق اللاجئين إلى قطاع غزة. اليوم، يبلغ التعداد السكاني للقطاع حوالي 1,8 مليون نسمة، 70% منهم من اللاجئين. ارتفع الطلب على المياه بشكل كبير جداً وبشكل يفوق كثيراً كمية المياه المتوفرة فيحوض المياه الجوفية.

ويعاني حوض المياه الساحلي حالياً عجزاً يصل إلى حوالي 120 مليون متر مكعب في السنة، كما انخفض منسوب المياه الجوفية إلى 15-20 متر تحت سطح البحر، مما تسبب بتسرّب مياه البحر إلى طبقة المياه الجوفية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أدى عدم وجود محطات مناسبة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي إلى تلوث المياه الجوفية حيث تتسرب مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة أو المعالجة جزئياً إلى المياه الجوفية. ونتيجة لذلك، أصبح ما نسبته 95% من المياه الجوفية في غزة غير صالحة للشرب.”

ما الذي يمكن فعله لإصلاح الأضرار التي لحقت بحوض المياه الجوفية؟
هذه بعض الخطوات التي يجب اتخاذها للحدّ من حدوث المزيد من الضرر:


  • التقليل والحدّ من استخراج المياه من حوض المياه الجوفية لأقل من قدرة الحوض على التجدد، أي 55 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة.

  • توفير مصادر إضافية للمياه لسكان غزة. يوجد هنا عدة خيارات: تحلية مياه البحر، أو استيراد المياه من تركيا، أونقل المياه من الضفة الغربية، أوشراء المياه من اسرائيل.

  • تحسين مرافق معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي، بحيث تلبيّ المياه المنتجة (المعالجة) معايير الجودة العالمية لإعادة استخدامها في القطاع الزراعي.

  • ضمان تغذية الخزان الجوفي إما بشكل اصطناعي بمياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة أو طبيعياً بواسطة مياه الأمطار.

  • وعلى مستوى الإدارة، يتوجب تحسين كفاءة مقدمي خدمات المياه، فضلاً عن الحدّ من هدر المياه في الشبكات بسبب التسريب ووصلات الأنابيب غير القانونية، بالإضافة إلى استرداد تكلفة توزيع المياه.


كيف أدت الحرب الإسرائيلية الأخيرة على غزة إلى تفاقم الوضع؟

“كان الوضع المائي في غزة، قبل العملية الاسرائيلية الأخيرة، حرجاً بالأساس. ولكن بعد عملية الجرف الصامد الاسرائيلية تعرضت العديد من الآبار، والخزانات، ومحطات الضخ، والمولدات، ومحطات المعالجة، للضرر أو التدمير. كما أثر نقص الوقود بشدة على محطات الضخ وغيرها من المرافق. وعلاوة على ذلك، تتسبب القيود الاسرائيلية المفروضة على استيراد قطع الغيار، بتأخير إصلاح العديد من المرافق المتضررة. وأخيراً، تساورنا شكوك أيضاً حول تلوث الحوض الساحلي بالإشعاعات بسبب استخدام اسرائيل اليورانيوم المنضب، حيث تجري في الوقت الحالي المزيد من الدراسات بهذا الشأن.”

من الواضح تأثُر كمية ونوعية المياه بشدة. ما هي الحلول على المدى القصير؟

“تخطط سلطة المياه الفلسطينية لبناء مجموعة من محطات التحلية، أو ما يُسمى محطات (STLV) لتحلية المياه، بسعة إجمالية مقدارها 13 مليون متر مكعب/ السنة بحلول عام 2016. ومن المفترض أن يتم مزج المياه التي تنتجها هذه المحطات مع المياه الجوفية المحلية وتوزيعها عبر شبكة أنابيب المياه إلى المناطق التي تعاني، بالتحديد، من سوء نوعية المياه. وقد تم بالفعل تأمين التمويل من الحكومة النمساوية والاتحاد الأوروبي والبنك الإسلامي للتنمية، حيث بدأ بالفعل تشغيل أولى هذه المحطات.

وعلى المدى الطويل، تتضمن الخطة إنشاء محطة تحلية للمياه على نطاق واسع، ومحطتين لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي. ما وضع هذه المشاريع؟

” البدء ببناء محطة تحلية المياه المركزية قد تاخر اكثر من مرة، على الرغم من تحديد موقع البناء وتخصيص الأرض. وقد التزم البنك الإسلامي للتنمية بتمويل نصف هذا المشروع البالغ قيمته 450 مليون دولار قبل أكثر من عام، شريطة أن يتم تأمين المبلغ المتبقي من الميزانية . وسبق وتلقينا تعهدات من جهات مانحة أخرى بمبالغ صغيرة ، ولكن بصفة عامة، التردد سيد الموقف بسبب الأوضاع الأمنية غير المستقرة وتحديات إدخال مواد البناء إلى قطاع غزة.

من جهة أخرى، لا تعمل محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الموجودة حالياً في غزة بشكلٍ جيد، حيث يتم تصريف 100,000 متر مكعب من مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة جزئياً يومياً إلى مياه البحر بشكل مباشر. في الوقت الحالي، نعمل على إنشاء محطتين جديدتين: محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الشمالية، بسعة 36,000 متر مكعب يومياً، وهي قيد الإنشاء حالياً ومن المتوقع أن تكون جاهزة للتشغيل بحلول نهاية عام 2015. ومن المقرر أن تبدأ أعمال البناء على محطة غزة لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي (بسعة 120,000 متر مكعب/ يومياً) عام 2015. ومن المخطط أن تبدأ المحطة بالعمل بحلول عام 2017.”

كيف يؤثر عدم وجود إمدادات كهرباء منتظمة على إمدادات المياه؟

“هناك عجز واضح في توفير الطاقة في غزة، الأمر الذي له انعكاسات خطيرة على تشغيل البنية التحتية للمياه، وبخاصة أنه من المتوقع أن يزداد هذا العجز مع مرور الوقت. حالياً، يغطي إمداد الكهرباء 50% فقط من حاجات الطاقة لتشغيل محطات المياه، مما له تأثير مباشر على محطات الضخ ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي وتحلية المياه. ومن أجل توليد إمدادات طاقة إضافية، تخطط سلطة المياه الفلسطينية لتطوير مرافق تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية بالتوازي مع محطة تحلية المياه على نطاق واسع.”

بالإضافة إلى تحلية المياه وإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة، ما هي الخيارات الأخرى التي تمتلكها غزة؟ هل زيادة كمية المياه التي يتم شراؤها من إسرائيل خيار واقعي؟

“يعتبر شراء المياه من إسرائيل أحد الخيارات التي وضعتها سلطة المياه الفلسطينية. نقوم حالياً بشراء 5 مليون متر مكعب/السنة بسعر 0,75 دولار للمتر المكعب الواحد. ووفقاً لاتفاقية تم إبرامها مع إسرائيل، سيتم نقل 5 مليون متر مكعب إضافية سنوياً إلى غزة ابتداء من عام 2015. وقد تم الانتهاء من البنية التحتية الضرورية لنقل هذه المياه بين غزة وإسرائيل، حيث أمسى البدء بعملية النقل الآن مسألة سياسية.  الخطة الحاليه تهدف إلى شراء ما مجموعه 21 مليون متر مكعب/السنة  من المياه من اسرائيل بحلول عام 2025.”

 أوضح تقرير ل الأمم المتحدة والذي صدر عام 2012 بعنوا “غزة بحلول عام 2020” أن غزة لن تصلح للعيش آنذاك؟ كيف تنظرون إلى مستقبل غزة؟ وما هي التدابير الواجب اتخذاها اليوم لضمان المستقبل بحلول عام 2020؟

“في حال لم تتم معالجة قضية المياه على وجه السرعة، فإن ما هو آتٍ كارثي. يحتاج سكان غزة الذين تشهد أعدادهم تزايداً مستمراً، إلى المياه، ولم يعد بمقدور الحوض الساحلي تلبية هذا الطلب المتزايد. سيستغرق الأمر عقوداً لإصلاح الأضرار التي لحقت بحوض المياه الجوفية ولكن يتوجب أن نبذل قصارى جهدنا لتحسين الوضع الإنساني في غزة.”

Home / Q&A with Dr Ahmad Yaqubi

Q&A with Dr Ahmad Yaqubi

Q&A with Dr Ahmad Yaqubi, Water Resources Technical Adviser, Palestinian Water Authority, Gaza

It will take decades to reverse the damage to the aquifer but we must do everything we can to improve the humanitarian situation in Gaza.

Oxfam water delivery in Gaza, 31 July 2014. Photo:  Iyad Al Baba/Oxfam, Creative Commons BY-NC.
Oxfam water delivery in Gaza, 31 July 2014 (photo: Iyad Al-Baba/Oxfam, Creative Commons BY-NC)

Gaza is one of the most water-scarce areas in the world, but this scarcity is a relatively recent phenomenon. What are the main reasons for the scarcity and how have things changed since 1948?

Before 1948, the Gaza Strip did not suffer from water scarcity. The area had a population of less than 100,000 inhabitants and the groundwater from the Coastal Aquifer, which is Gaza’s only source of water, far exceeded local demand.

As only small areas were built up, most of the rain infiltrated directly into the aquifer below. Moreover, as agriculture was only practised on a small scale, there were no problems of pollution from pesticides or return irrigation flows. Most of the groundwater was fresh and drinkable and beaches were clean.

After 1948, however, the demand for water rose sharply as refugees flooded into the Gaza Strip. Today, Gaza has a population of 1.8 million, 70% of whom are refugees. Water demand has risen exponentially and far exceeds the amount of water available from the aquifer.

The aquifer currently has a water deficit of about 120 million cubic metres per year (MCM/yr) and the water table has dropped 15-20 metres below sea level. This has caused seawater to intrude into the aquifer. In addition, the lack of adequate treatment facilities causes pollution of the aquifer as untreated and partially treated wastewater seeps into the groundwater. As a result, 95% of Gaza’s aquifer is unsuitable for drinking.

What can be done to reverse the damage to the aquifer?

These are some of the steps that need to be taken to limit further damage:


  • Reduce and minimize abstraction from the aquifer to below the renewable aquifer capacity of 55MCM/yr.

  • Provide additional sources of water for Gaza’s population. There are a number of options here: desalinated seawater, water import from Turkey, water transfer from the West Bank and water purchase from Israel.

  • Improve the wastewater treatment facilities so that the water produced meets the quality standards for reuse in agriculture.

  • Ensure recharge of the aquifer either artificially with treated wastewater or naturally with rainwater.

  • On a management level, the efficiency of water service providers needs to be improved, losses in the network through leakage and illegal connections need to be reduced and the cost of water distribution needs to be recovered.

How did Israel’s recent Operation Protective Edge worsen the situation?

The water situation was already critical before Israel’s recent operation. However, after Operation Protective Edge many water wells, networks, reservoirs, pumping stations, generators and treatment facilities were damaged or destroyed. Fuel shortages severely impacted pumping stations and other facilities. Furthermore, Israeli restrictions on the import of spare parts delayed the repair of many damaged facilities. Finally, we also suspect that the aquifer has suffered radiation contamination through the use of depleted uranium in previous conflicts. This is currently being studied.

Both water quality and quantity are severely affected. What are the short-term solutions?

The Palestinian Water Authority (PWA) plans to build a number of short-term low-volume (STLV) seawater desalination plants with a total capacity of 13MCM/yr by 2016. The water produced by these plants will be blended with local groundwater and distributed through the water network to areas suffering from particularly poor water quality. Funding has been secured from the Austrian government, the European Union and the Islamic Development Bank, and the first of these plants is already operational.

In the long term, the plan is to build a large-scale desalination plant and two wastewater treatment plants. What is the status of these projects?

The construction of the central seawater desalination plant continues to be delayed even though the location has been determined and the land has been allocated. The Islamic Development Bank committed to funding half of this $450-million project more than a year ago, on the condition that the remaining budget would be secured. We have received pledges for small amounts from other donors, but in general they are hesitant because of the unstable security situation and the challenges of bringing building materials into the Gaza Strip.

Gaza’s existing wastewater treatment plant is not functioning well and 100,000m3 of partially treated effluent from the plant flows directly into the sea every day. Meanwhile, we are working on two new plants: the northern wastewater treatment plant, with a capacity of 36,000 cubic metres per day (m3/d), is under construction and expected to be operational by the end of 2015. Construction work on the Gaza wastewater treatment plant (capacity: 120,000m3/d) is scheduled to start in 2015. The plant should be operational by 2017.

How does the absence of a reliable electricity supply impact water supplies?

There is a clear deficit in the energy provision to Gaza, which has serious implications for the operation of the water infrastructure, especially as the deficit is expected to increase with time. Already, the electricity supply covers only 50% of the demand from water facilities, which has a direct impact on pumping stations, wastewater treatment and desalination. In order to generate additional power supplies, the PWA plans to develop solar energy facilities in parallel with the large-scale desalination plant.

Besides desalination and the reuse of treated wastewater, what other options does Gaza have? Is increased transfer of water from Israel a realistic option?

The purchase of water from Israel is one of the options the PWA has identified. We currently purchase 5MCM/yr at a rate of $0.75/m3. According to an agreement with Israel, an additional 5MCM/yr will be transferred to Gaza starting in 2015. The necessary infrastructure between Gaza and Israel has been completed and the transfer is now a matter of politics. The plan is to purchase a total of 21MCM/yr of water from Israel by 2025.

The United Nations issued a report in 2012 entitled Gaza in 2020, A Liveable Place? How do you see the future of Gaza? What needs to be done today to ensure a future in 2020?

If the water issue is not urgently addressed, the outlook for the future is catastrophic. Gaza’s growing population needs water and the aquifer can no longer meet demand. It will take decades to reverse the damage to the aquifer, but we must to everything we can to improve the humanitarian situation in Gaza.

  • المملكة الأردنية the Hashemites

    High and Dry with the Hashemites

    With much of its land an arid, inhospitable desert, the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, one of the world’s driest countries, threatens to die of thirst. Analysts have long warned that Jordan, saddled with shrinking renewable resources and a quickly growing population, faced a reckoning. In recent years, however, the challenges confronting this parched kingdom have accelerated.
  • قطاع غزة Gaza strip

    Gaza Strip Residents Face Daily Struggle for Water

    The Gaza Strip is one of the most densely populated areas in the world, with an estimated 4,500 inhabitants per square kilometre. The population has increased more than 20 times since 1948