الصفحة الرئيسية / فلسطين / استخدام المياه / الاستخدام المنزلي للمياه في قطاع غزة

الاستخدام المنزلي للمياه في قطاع غزة

مسن يقوم باخذ القليل من الماء الى المنزل- غزة By Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem
مسن يقوم باخذ القليل من الماء الى المنزل- غزة By Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem

في قطاع غزة ،هناك حيث يوجد إمدادات أكثر من المياه من الناحية النظرية فأن غالبية الآبار والتي تُقدّر بـ (80%) فقط  تعمل جزئيا والباقي لا يعمل على الإطلاق. ففي عام 2006، قام ما يقرب من نصف سكان المنازل  في قطاع غزة بشراء المياه  سواء كانت معبأة في زجاجات أو من الصهاريج  وذلك  لأن مياه الصنبور عالية الملوحة ولا تصلح للشرب. وبلغ الاستهلاك اليومي في العام (2013/2014) حوالي 90 لتر للشخص الواحد. إضافة إلى ذلك، فإن نوعية المياه التي توفرها البلدية تتجاوز المعايير القصوى للملوثات و تعتبر غير صالحة للاستهلاك البشري إلى حد كبير (كما هو موضح في جودة المياه في غزة). وفى عام 2014، قدرت خسائر انظمة المياه  بـ  46٪، وكانت الإمدادات متقطعة ومن الصعب الإعتماد عليها، كما أن انقطاع الكهرباء أونقصها يمنعان عمليات تجهيز وضخ وإمداد المنازل بالمياه[i].

بما أن مياه الصنبور مالحة وملوثه فإن معظم سكان غزة يعتمدون على  مزودي القطاع الخاص لتأمين احتياجاتهم من مياه الشرب. ويأتي هذا الماء من أكثر من 40 محطة لتحلية المياه مملوكة وتدار من قبل القطاع الخاص والتي تم انشاءها  على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية لتلبية الطلب المتزايد. حاليا، لا يوجد أي متابعة او مراقبة لنوعية المياه التى تنتجها هذه المحطات. وقامت سلطة المياه الفلسطينية بترخيص نحو نصف هذه الشركات فقط . أما بالنسبة  لنقص المحتوى المعدني الأساسي فى هذه المياه المحلاة فهذه قضية هامة أخرى، حيث أن العملية المستخدمة  في عملية تنقية المياه تعرف (بالتناضح العكسي) او كما تعرف بالخاصية الاسموزية  تزيل الكثير من المعادن الموجودة في معظم مصادر المياه السطحية والجوفية غير الملوثة.  في الواقع، فإن توفير “مياه نقية” وخالية من هذه المعادن، أصبحت ميزة تنافسية تستخدمها هذه المصانع لبيع منتجاتها.  وبالنسبة لنقل هذه المياه المحلاة إلى المنازل فيتم إما عن طريق شاحنة صهريج أو عن طريق قيام الأفراد بملىء العبوات (القوارير) الخاصة بهم من خزانات صغيرة في محلات السوبر ماركت ومحلات البقالة.[ii]  وتكلف هذه الإمدادات المائية ما يصل إلى $1.30 لكل 100 لتر، وهذه التكلفة يمكن أن تصل إلى أكثر من ثلث الدخل الشهري لأسرة فقيرة.

قبل  الإعتداء الإسرائيلي فى ديسمبر عام  2008، أكثر من نصف سكان  قطاع غزة  لم يتمكنوا من الوصول إلى الماء إلا لبضع ساعات فقط و لمرة واحدة في الأسبوع.  حيث أن الحصار الاسرائيلي المستمر أدى إلى منع دخول قطع الغيار اللازمة والمواد والمعدات اللازمة لمرافق المياه والصرف الصحي مما تسبب في بناء آبار جديدة ذات نوعية مياه سيئة بالإضافة إلى التدهور المتزايد لحالة المياه الجوفية  نتيجة تسرب مياه الصرف الصحي غير المعالجة و تسرب مياه البحر. وهذه القضايا  اصبحت من أكثر القضايا  حدة منذ عملية الجرف الصامد العسكرية (يوليو-أغسطس2014)، مما أدى إلى تدميرالبنية التحتية القائمة (أنظر الشكل 10).

لمحة عامة عن نسبة التدمير التي لحقت في البنية التحتية لإمدادات المياه في قطاع غزة بعد عدوان ٢٠١٤
شكل 10. لمحة عامة عن نسبة التدمير التي لحقت في البنية التحتية لإمدادات المياه في قطاع غزة بعد عدوان ٢٠١٤


[i] PWA, 2014d. Gaza Sustainable Water Supply Program, April 2014. Available at
http://www.pwa.ps/userfiles/file/%D8%AA%D9%82%D8%A7%D8%B1%D9%8A%D8%B1/PIC%20TOR%20%D8%BA%D8%B2%D8%A9.pdf, accessed 28 April 2015.
[ii] World Bank, 2009. West Bank And Gaza Assessment Of Restrictions On Palestinian Water Sector Development, April 2009. Available at: http://siteresources.worldbank.org/INTWESTBANKGAZA/Resources/WaterRestrictionsReport18Apr2009.pdf, accessed 21 April 2015.

Home / Palestine / Water Use / Domestic Water Use in the Gaza Strip

Domestic Water Use in the Gaza Strip

Taking the water container home- Gaza. By Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem
Taking the water container home- Gaza. By Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem.

In the Gaza Strip, where there is a greater water supply in theory, the majority of wells (80%) only work partially and the rest not at all. In 2006, almost half of Gazan households bought their water, either bottled or from tanker trucks, because tap water was too salty to drink. Daily consumption is approximately 90 litres per person (2013/2014). Moreover, the quality of water delivered by the municipality exceeds maximum standards for contaminants and is largely unfit for human consumption (as described in Water Quality – Gaza). In 2014, system losses were estimated at 46%, and supplies are unreliable as power cuts and electricity shortages also prevent the processing and pumping of domestic water supplies.[i]

As tap water is salty and polluted, most Gazans depend on private vendors for their drinking water. This water comes from over 40 privately owned and operated desalination plants that have started up over the past few years to meet increasing demand. Currently, there is no monitoring of the quality of water produced in these plants; and the PWA has only licensed around half of them. Lack of basic mineral content of this desalinated water is another significant issue, as the process used (reverse osmosis) removes most of the minerals found in the majority of uncontaminated surface and groundwater sources. In fact, providing “pure water”, free of these minerals, has become the competitive edge these private plants use to sell their product. The desalinated water is delivered to homes via tanker truck or individuals fill up their containers from small tanks at supermarkets and corner stores.[ii] These water supplies cost up to $1.30 for 100 litres, which can add up to more than a third of a poor family’s monthly income.

Before the December 2008 Israeli offensive, over half of the population of Gaza City had access to water for only a few hours once a week. The ongoing blockade has prevented entry of necessary spare parts, materials and equipment for the water and wastewater facilities and has resulted in the construction of new wells with poor water quality and quick aquifer deterioration from the intrusion of untreated sewage and seawater. These issues have become even more acute since Israel’s Operation Protective Edge (July-August 2014), which further damaged existing infrastructure (Fig. 10).

Overview of damages to Gaza’s water supply infrastructure after the 2014 conflict in % of the baseline. Source: Fanack after UNICEF, 2014
Figure 10. Overview of damages to Gaza’s water supply infrastructure after the 2014 conflict in % of the baseline. Source: Fanack after UNICEF, 2014.


[i] PWA, 2014d. Gaza Sustainable Water Supply Program, April 2014. Available at: http://goo.gl/JlwQtn, accessed 28 April 2015.
[ii] World Bank, 2009. West Bank And Gaza Assessment Of Restrictions On Palestinian Water Sector Development, April 2009. Available at: http://siteresources.worldbank.org/INTWESTBANKGAZA/Resources/WaterRestrictionsReport18Apr2009.pdf, accessed 21 April 2015.