الصفحة الرئيسية / فلسطين / البنية التحتية للمياه / القيود المفروضة على تطوير البنية التحتية في قطاع غزة

القيود المفروضة على تطوير البنية التحتية في قطاع غزة

محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في غزة التابعه لسلطة المياه By Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem
محطة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي في غزة التابعه لسلطة المياه By Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem

تعتبر خدمات الصرف الصحي والبنية التحتية للمياه في قطاع غزة في حالة حرجة. حيث ذكر تقرير للبنك الدولي عام 2009 ، أن غزة لديها خطة رئيسية مصممة جيدا لخدمات المياه والصرف الصحي. وتحدد الخطة الحاجة إلى بناء ثلاث محطات معالجة جديدة، بالإضافة إلى توسيع قدرة معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.  ومع ذلك، أشار نفس التقرير إلى أنه في ظل ظروف الإنغلاق الحالية ومع الوضع السياسي والأمني ​​المتدهور، يجري تنفيذ أقل من  2٪ من البرنامج الإستثماري. وقد توقفت مشاريع الإغاثة الأصغر من كل تلك المشاريع السابقة  لصعوبة دخول المواد والمقاولين الدوليين  إلى قطاع غزة وذلك لتنفيذ  المشاريع فيها.  إضافة الى ان  الحصار الإسرائيلي المتواصل يمنع استيراد المواد اللازمة لإصلاح وتطوير والحفاظ على محطات المعالجة الحالية والوقود اللازم لتشغيلها.  ونتيجة لذلك، تتسرب مياه المجاري غير المعالجة إلى المياه الجوفية.  وقد أدى ذلك في المقابل إلى ارتفاع حاد في مستويات النترات، مع نسب وصلت إلى 150-200 ملغ / لتر في أجزاء كثيرة من قطاع غزة – والتى تعتبر أعلى بكثير من معايير منظمة الصحة العالمية 50 ملغم / لتر[i].

وفي كل الأحوال فإن عملية الجرف الصامد العسكرية الإسرائيلية (يوليو-أغسطس2014) دمرت  البنية التحتية للمياه في غزة . ووصل تقدير الأمم المتحدة للتعويضات اللازمة إلى 34 مليون دولار، لتغطية الأضرار وتأثيرات تدمير الآبار وشبكات المياه والصرف الصحي. إضافة إلى ذلك، فإن الجمع بين تدمير محطات الصرف الصحي ونقص المياه النظيفة وكثرة الملاجئ المكتظة بالنازحين أثارت المزيد من المخاوف من حدوث أزمة صحية عامة[ii].

الدمار في غزة خلال عدوان ٢٠١٤ By Boris Niehaus
الدمار في غزة خلال عدوان ٢٠١٤ By Boris Niehaus


[i] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August 2012. http://www.unrwa.org/userfiles/file/publications/gaza/Gaza%20in%202020.pdf, accessed 16 April 2015.
[ii] UN-OCHA (United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs), 2015. Humanitarian Bulletin Monthly Report, January 2015. Available at https://www.ochaopt.org/documents/ocha_opt_the_humanitarian_monitor_2014_10_27_english.pdf, accessed 10 March 2015.

Home / Palestine / Water Infrastructure / Limitations on Developing Infrastructure in Gaza

Limitations on Developing Infrastructure in Gaza

Water Authority wastewater treatment facility- Gaza. By Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem.
Water Authority wastewater treatment facility- Gaza. By Muhammad Sabah, B’Tselem.

Sanitation services and water infrastructure in Gaza are in a critical state. A 2009 World Bank report stated that Gaza has a well-designed master plan for water and sanitation services. The plan identifies the need to build three new treatment plants as well as significantly expand wastewater treatment capacity. However, the same report indicated that under current closure conditions and with a deteriorating political and security situation, less than 2% of the investment programme was being implemented. Moreover, smaller relief projects had been stopped because materials and international contractors had been unable to enter the Gaza Strip to implement projects there. Israel’s ongoing blockade also prevents the import of materials necessary to repair, upgrade and maintain existing treatment plants and the fuel necessary to operate them. As a result, untreated sewage is infiltrating into the groundwater. This has in turn led to a sharp rise in nitrate levels, with values reaching 150-200 mg/L in many parts of the Gaza Strip – far above the WHO guideline of 50 mg/L.[i]

Israel’s Operation Protective Edge (July-August 2014) further damaged Gaza’s already ailing water infrastructure. The UN estimated the cost of reparations at $34 million, with extensive damage to and destruction of wells, water and wastewater networks. Furthermore, the combination of the destruction of sewage plants, lack of clean water and severely overcrowded shelters housing displaced people has further raised fears of a public health crisis.[ii]

Destruction in Gaza during the 2014 military operation. By Boris Niehaus.
Destruction in Gaza during the 2014 military operation. By Boris Niehaus.


[i] UN, 2012. Gaza in 2020. A liveable place? A report by the United Nations Country Team in the occupied Palestinian territory, August, 2012. http://www.unrwa.org/userfiles/file/publications/gaza/Gaza%20in%202020.pdf, accessed 16 April 2015.
[ii] UN-OCHA (United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs), 2015. Humanitarian Bulletin Monthly Report, January 2015. Available at https://www.ochaopt.org/documents/ocha_opt_the_humanitarian_monitor_2014_10_27_english.pdf, accessed 10 March 2015.