الصفحة الرئيسية / فلسطين / الاقتصاد

الاقتصاد في فلسطين

بنك فلسطين في رام الله By Rgaudin
بنك فلسطين في رام الله By Rgaudin

إن ضعف الاقتصاد ، والفقر، وارتفاع معدلات البطالة والاعتماد الكبير على المعونات  الدولية يؤثر على غالبية الفلسطينيين الذين يعيشون في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة.  وكل ما سبق من مؤثرات كانت نتيجة لاحكام  السيطرة الإسرائيلية الصارمة على حركة الأفراد  وتبادل السلع و نقل الماء داخل الأراضي الفلسطينية.  وعلى الرغم من  الظروف المحيطة ،  تمكن الاقتصاد الفلسطيني من التوسع  بمعدل  5.8٪ سنويا بين عامي 2005 و 2011 (بإستثناء عام  2006)، استنادا الى  معدلات الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للفرد حيث ارتفع من ($1,300  إلى $1,600) (أنظر الشكل 4 ). ومن المتوقع أن يستمر هذا النمو على مدار العشرين عاما المقبلة. وتستند هذه النظرة  المستقبلية  التفاؤلية  على نقاط القوة في فلسطين، والتي تتضمن:  شعب متعلم ومثقف، دعم مالي وتجاري من  المغتربين النشيطين، وتطوير مستمر للفرص الاقتصادية المحتملة من الدول المجاورة [i].

 معدل نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في فلسطين
شكل 4. معدل نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في فلسطين

وعلى الرغم مما ذكر أعلاه،  فما زالت جميع هذه الإمكانيات تعتمد إلى حد كبير على المساعدات الدولية. وفي حال لم يتم إحراز تقدم سياسي كبير داخليا ومع الدول المجاورة،  فإن سحب أو تخفيف المساعدات الخارجية  سيؤثر بشكل كبير على الإقتصاد الفلسطينى فى المستقبل.  وبناء على ذلك فإن هذا التقدم  السياسي لابد أن يشمل  الحد من قرارات الاحتلال الإسرائيلى المقيدة لحريات الأفراد والتى  تسيطر على حركة الافراد  وتبادل السلع والمياه. وبالاستناد للوضع الراهن، فإنه من الصعب تصور حجم الإستثمارات الخاصة في البنية التحتية في فلسطين، بما في ذلك شبكات المياه والصرف الصحي.


[i] PWA, 2012c. National Water Strategy for Palestine, Toward Building a Palestinian State from a Water Perspective, Draft Copy, 2012. Available at: https://www.humanitarianresponse.info/system/files/documents/files/PWA%20-%20National%20Water%20Strategy.pdf, accessed 20 April 2015.

Home / Palestine / Economy

Economy in Palestine

Bank of Palestine in Ramallah. Source: Rgaudin.
Bank of Palestine in Ramallah. Source: Rgaudin.

A crippled economy, poverty, high unemployment and significant dependence on international aid affect most Palestinians living in the West Bank and Gaza. These are all outcomes of Israel’s strict control over the movement of people, goods and water between and even within the Palestinian territories. Despite these conditions, the Palestinian economy has expanded at an average rate of 5.8% per year between 2005 and 2011 (with the exception of 2006), as measured by GDP per capita ($1,300 to $1,600) (Fig. 4). This growth may be expected to continue over the next 20 years. This optimistic view is based on Palestine’s strengths, which include an educated and literate population, financial and commercial support from an active diaspora, and the ongoing development of potential economic opportunities with its neighbours.[i]

Palestine GDP annual growth rate. Source: Fanack after PWA, 2014
Figure 4. Palestine GDP annual growth rate. Source: Fanack after PWA, 2014.

As mentioned above, however, all of this potential remains highly dependent on international aid. Unless significant political progress is made internally and with its neighbours, the reduction of foreign aid would greatly impact Palestine’s economic future. This progress includes a resolution of Israel’s occupation and control over the movement of people, goods and water. The current situation makes it difficult to imagine substantial private investment in Palestine’s infrastructure, including water and sanitation systems.


[i] PWA, 2012c. National Water Strategy for Palestine, Toward Building a Palestinian State from a Water Perspective, Draft Copy, 2012. Available at: https://www.humanitarianresponse.info/system/files/documents/files/PWA%20-%20National%20Water%20Strategy.pdf, accessed 20 April 2015.