الصفحة الرئيسية / عُمان تكثِّف جُهود البحث والابتكار لحلِّ مشاكلِ المياه

عُمان تكثِّف جُهود البحث والابتكار لحلِّ مشاكلِ المياه

water problem Oman
الصورة 1: مركز تحلية الشرق الأوسط (MEDRC)، مسقط، عُمان.

كالعديد من البُلدان في منطقة الشَّرقِ الأوسطِ وشمال أفريقيا ، تواجه قطاع المياه في عُمان تحدّيات متعدد، ومن بعض أهمها: شُحّ المياه؛ وتحلية المياه كثيفة الاستخدام للطاقة؛ وارتفاع استهلاك المياه في القطاع المنزلي؛ واستهلاك المياه الجوفية غير المستدام في القطاع الزراعي؛ والتوجيه الغير فعال للمعونات الحكومية.[1]

تحرصُ الحكومة العُمانية على دعم الأبحاث والابتكارات، والتي من شأنها أن تُقدم حلولاً لهذه التحديات. وبناءً على ذلك، أنشأتِ الحكومة العُمانية العديد من المنصّات لتمكين البحث والابتكار في مجالات مختلفة، بما في ذلك مجاليْ المياه والبيئة. على سبيل المثال ، يهدف مجلس البحث العلمي العُماني إلى بناءِ القدرات البحثية، وخلق بيئةٍ داعمةٍ للبحوث، وتوفير التمويل اللازم للباحثين ، بهدف زيادة الكفاءة والإنتاجية.

تمّ تأسيس مركز تحلية الشرق الأوسط (MEDRC)، ومقرّه في العاصمة مسقط ، في عام 1996. يعمل MEDRC بالتوافق مع إستراتيجية الحكومة للتعامل مع التحدّيات البيئيّة الإقليمية أو العابرة للحدود. علاوةً على ذلك، يلعب المركز دوراً هاماً في تعزيز البحوث والابتكارات المتعلّقة بالمياه في عُمان. وأفضلُ مثال على ذلك، جائزة الباحث العُمانيَ الشّاب السنويّة، التي ترعاها السّفارة الهولندية في عُمان ؛ ومؤسسة عمر الزواوي، وهي شركة صناعيّة متعددة الأنشطة. حيثُ تهدف الجائزة إلى تشجيع البحوث التي لها تأثيرٌ ملموسٌ على قضايا المياه في البلاد.

water problem oman
الصورة 2: عبد الله البلوشي وعزّة الصبحي، الفائزين بجائزة الباحث العُمانيَ الشّاب للمياه، خلال زيارتهم لمعهد IHE في مدينة دلفت، هولندا.

في عام 2018 ، تمّ منحُ جائزة المركز الأوّل عن فئة الدّراسات العُليا إلى عبد الله البلوشي، وهو طالب في جامعة نبراسكا في الولايات المتحدة. أما في فئة البكالوريوس ، فازت عزّة الصبحي من الكليّة البحرية الدُّولية في عُمان بالمركز الأوّل.

تلقى كلاّ من الفائزيْن الأُسبوع الأوروبيّ لتكنولوجيا المياه والذي أُقيم في مدينة ليواردن (Leeuwarden) الهولنديّة؛ وحلقة دراسيّة في معهد IHE للمياه في مدينة دلفت (Delft). أُتيحت الفرصة لـ Fanack Water للقاء الباحثيْن وإلقاء نظرة على أبحاثهم أثناء الزيارة. عبّر الفائزون عن فخرهم واعتزازهم بالحصول على الجائزة، كما أنّهم يدركون أهميتها في زيادة فرصهم في الحصول على منحة لمتابعة دراساتهم العُليا.

يتركّز بحثُ الصّبحي على استخدام المواد القائمة على الجرافين في معالجة مياه الصرف الصّحيّ. وقالت “إن إنتاج مياه الصرف الصحي ، وخاصة مياه الصرف الصناعية، هو تحدً آخر”. “ميناء صُحار هو مثال على ذلك، حيثُ أدى التّوسع في الأنشطة الصناعية في الميناء إلى إنتاج كميات كبيرة من مياه الصرف الصحي “.

وكما قالت إنها ترى إمكاناتٍ كبيرة في معالجة وإعادة استخدام مياه الصرف الصحيّ للتغلّب على نُدرة المياه، مضيفةً “كونِك باحثًا يتطلب حافزًا وعملًا شاقًا … لقد عملت فترات طويلة مع الزملاء الآخرين للوصول إلى النتائج”.

وفي الوقت نفسه، بحث البلوشي تكنولوجيا التقطير باستخدام الأغشية كتكنولوجيا أكثر فعاليّة من تكنولوجيا التّناضُح العكسيّ لمياه البحر وتحلية مياه البحر، من حيثُ التكلفة. “تعتمد عُمان على تحلية المياه كمصدرً رئيسيّ للمياه، كما أنّ تكاليف تحلية المياه باستخدام التناضح العكسيّ مرتفعة نسبياً. لهذه الأسباب، بحثتُ في جدوى استخدام تقنيّة التّقطير الغشائيّ” قال البلوشي. “كانت المعايير الرئيسيّة لاختيار موضوع البحث الخاص بي، هو أنني أُريد دائماً دراسة المشاكل والتقنيّات القابلة للتطبيق والمتعلّقة بعُمان”. بالنسبة لعبدالله، كان الجزء الأكثر صعوبةً في البحث هو جمع البيانات والاتصال بالخبراء المحليين ، لذلك اعتمد بشكلً أساسيّ على البيانات الواردة في التقارير المنشورة على صفحات الإنترنت.

ووفقاً لتقرير فَنَك للمياه عن عُمان، برزت تحلية المياه كمصدرٍ رئيسي للمياه المنزلية، ووفقاً لاستراتيجية المياه الحالية سيتم تلبية معظم الطلب للأغراض المنزلية. وبحلول نهاية عام 2011، كان هناك 94 محطة لتحلية المياه في عُمان، منها 47 لتحلية مياه البحر و47 محطة لتحلية المياه قليلة الملوحة، حيث يبلغ إجمالي إنتاجها 196 مليون متر مكعب، والتي زادت إلى 214 مليون متر مكعب في عام 2014 و 268 مليون متر مكعب في عام 2016. على الرغم من ذلك، تواجه تحليةُ المياه العديد من التّحديات. وتتضمن هذه ارتفاع التكلفة واحتياجات الطاقة، وعدم توافر مرافق ضخمة للتّخزين لتلبية متطلبات الطوارىء، وخسائر الشبكة (المياه غير المُدرّة للدخل)، والتي تُقدر بحوالي 30%، وإغلاق محطّة التّحلية الساحلية بسبب ازدياد نمو الطّحالب الدورية الضّارة.[2]

إدراكاً للحاجة الماسّة إلى خياراتٍ فعّالة وقليلة التكلفة لتحلية المياه ، أطلقت MEDRC  في مارس 2018،بالشراكة مع مجلس البحث العلمي، تحدي عُمان في تحلية المياه للأغراض الإنسانية، وهي جائزة بقيمة 700 ألف دولار ستُمنح للشّخص أو الفريق الذي يطوّر جهاز تحلية محمولٍ منخفض التّكلفة يمكن نشرها بسرعة في أزمة إنسانية. تهدف المبادرة إلى تعزيز ودفع الابتكارات في تقنيات تحلية المياه على نطاق صغير، من أجل تطوير جهود الاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ الإنسانية في أعقاب الكوارث الطبيعية.

“إن توفير محطات تحلية رخيصة، خارج الشبكة وتحميلها يدويًا ، هو عبارة عن مبدل للعبة الإنسانية، كثيرًا ما يتم مناقشته ولكن لم يتم تحقيقه أبدًا. يستغرق الأمر وقتاً ومالاً للحصول على المياه العذبة لضحايا الحرب أو الكوارث الجوية والمناخية، حيث يتم تدمير مصادر المياه العذبة أوعندما تغمر مياه البحر المجتمعات المحلية. نحن بحاجة إلى طريقة للحصول على المياه لأولئك الناس في الساعات والأيام الأولى التي تعقب الأزمة. إن الوصول إلى المياه العذبة النظيفة أثناء الكوارث الطبيعية وبعدها مثل الزلازل أو أمواج تسونامي أو الفيضانات أمر بالغ الأهمية للصحة والبقاء على قيد الحياة. “، قال كياران كوين، مدير المركز، MEDRC.

“نحن نعلم أن هذا التحدي لن يكون سهلاً. إن تقليص تكنولوجيا محطات التحلية التي تحيط بنا اليوم إلى منتج يدوي ومجدي تجارياً يفي بمعايير التصميم لهذا التحدي لن يكون عملاً سهلاً. “، أضاف قائلاً.

الصورة 3:  كياران كوين، مدير المركز، MEDRC.
الصورة 3: كياران كوين، مدير المركز، MEDRC.

تتوقع الخطّة الرئيسية للموارد المائية الوطنية في سيزداد الطلب على المياه للأغراض المنزليّة والصّناعية والتجارية والبلدية بأكثر من 50% بحلول عام 2025، مع تحسين الخدمات وتوسيع نطاقها. وسيتعيّن إيجاد مصادر جديدة للطاقة و/أو اتخاذ تدابير أخرى لمواجهة هذا النّمو. وفي حال استعادة الاستهلاك المُستدام لموارد المياه المتجّددة والحفاظ عليه، فمن الضروري السماح لخزانات المياه الجوفية في بعض مناطق البلاد باسترداد مستوياتها السابقة وذلك بالحد من الضخ في بعض المناطق الحرجة، ولا سيما بالقرب من الساحل،[3] لإعادة تهيئة ظروف بيئية- مائية طبيعية، وهذا يتطلب تقنيّات وأدوات واستراتيجيات ومواد مبتكرة لمواجهة هذا التحدي.

[1] Fanack Water, 2018, Water Challenges in Oman. Available at: https://water.fanack.com/oman/water-challenges-oman/. Accessed on 3/1/2019.
[2] Fanack Water, 2018. Water Resources in Oman. Available at: https://water.fanack.com/oman/water-resources-oman/. Accessed on 3/1/2019.
[3] Fanack Water, 2018. What Does Future Hold for Water in Oman? Available at: https://water.fanack.com/oman/future-hold-water-oman/. Accessed on 3/1/2019.

Home / Oman Steps Up Research and Innovation Efforts to Solve Water Problems

Oman Steps Up Research and Innovation Efforts to Solve Water Problems

Water problem Oman MEDRC
Photo 1: The Middle East Desalination Center (MEDRC), Muscat, Oman.

Like other countries in the Middle East and North Africa, Oman’s water sector faces numerous challenges. These include water shortages, energy-intensive desalination, high domestic water consumption, unsustainable groundwater use in agriculture and ineffective subsidies.[1]

The government is keen to support research and innovation that could offer solutions to these challenges. Accordingly, the Omani government has established many platforms to empower research and innovation in different fields, including water and environment. For instance, the Research Council aims to build research capacity, create a supporting environment for research and provide funding to researchers, with the aim of increasing efficiency and productivity.

The Middle East Desalination Center (MEDRC), headquartered in the capital Muscat, was founded in 1996. MEDRC is working in alignment with the government strategy to address significant regional or transboundary environmental challenges. Furthermore, it plays a significant role in boosting water-related research and innovation in Oman. For instance, it established the annual Omani Young Water Researchers Award, which is sponsored by the Dutch Embassy in Oman and the Omar Zawawi Establishment, an industrial conglomerate, to encourage research that can have a meaningful impact on the country’s water issues.

water problem oman
Photo 2: Abdullah al-Balushi and Azza al-Subhi, the Omani Young Water Researchers Award winners, during the European Water Tech Week in Leeuwarden. The Netherlands.

In 2018, the first place prize in the postgraduate category was awarded to Abdullah al-Balushi, who is studying at the University of Nebraska in the United States. In the undergraduate category, Azza al-Subhi from the International Maritime College in Oman won first place.

Both winners received a travel grant to the Netherlands to attend the European Water Tech Week in Leeuwarden and a seminar at IHE Water Institute in Delft. Fanack Water had the opportunity to meet the young researchers and get insights into their work. The winners expressed their pride at receiving the award, and said they were aware of its importance in increasing their chances of getting a scholarship to continue their studies.

Al-Subhi’s research examined the use of graphene-based materials for wastewater treatment. “Wastewater production, especially industrial wastewater, is another challenge,” she said. “Sohar Port is an example. The expansion of the industrial activities in the port has resulted in a large production of wastewater.”

She said she sees great potential in treating and reusing wastewater to overcome water scarcity, adding, “Being a researcher requires motivation and hard work…I worked long shifts with the other colleagues to obtain the results.”

Al-Balushi, meanwhile, investigated membrane distillation as a more cost-effective technology for reverse osmosis for seawater and brackish water desalination. “Oman relies on desalination as the main source of water, and reverse osmosis desalination costs are relatively high. This is why I investigated the feasibility and applicability of using membrane distillation technology,” he said. “The main criteria to choose my research subject was that I always wanted to study problems and technology that are applicable and related to Oman.” The most difficult part of his research was collecting data and contacting the local experts, so he relied heavily on the data in reports published online.

According to the Fanack Water report on Oman, desalination currently meets most of the domestic water demand. By the end of 2011, there were 94 desalination plants in the country, of which 47 were for seawater desalination and 47 for brackish water desalination. These desalination plants produced a total of 196 million cubic metres (MCM) of water, which increased to 214 MCM in 2014 and 268 MCM in 2016. However, desalination also faces several challenges. These include high cost and energy requirements, non-availability of large storage facilities for meeting emergency requirements, network losses (non-revenue water), which is estimated to be around 30% of the water produced, and closure of coastal desalination plants due to harmful periodic algal blooms.[2]

Realizing the need for efficient, durable and cost-effective desalination options, in March 2018 MEDRC, in partnership with The Research Council, has launched the Oman Humanitarian Desalination Challenge, a $700,000 prize that will be awarded to the person or team that develops a hand-held, low-cost desalination device that can be rapidly deployed in a humanitarian crisis. The initiative aims to drive innovations in small scale desalination technologies, in order to develop humanitarian emergency response efforts in the aftermath of natural disasters.

“Providing cheap, off-grid and hand-held desalination is a humanitarian game-changer often debated but never attained. It takes time and money to get fresh water to the victims of war or meteorological disaster where fresh water sources are destroyed or when sea-water immerses communities. We need a way to get water to these people in the first hours and days following the crisis. Access to clean fresh water during and after natural disasters such as earthquakes, tsunamis or floods is critical to health and survival.”, said Ciarán Ó Cuinn, Center Director, MEDRC.
“We know this challenge will not be easy to meet. Scaling down the desalination plant technologies that surround us today into a hand held, commercially viable product that meets the design criteria of this challenge will be no easy feat. ”, he added.

Photo 3: Ciarán Ó Cuinn, Center Director, MEDRC.
Photo 3: Ciarán Ó Cuinn, Center Director, MEDRC.

The National Water Resources Master Plan of Oman forecasts that the overall demand for water for domestic, industrial, commercial and municipal use will increase by more than 50% by 2025, as services are improved and extended. New sources of water will have to be found and/or other measures introduced to meet this growth. Further, if sustainable use of renewable water resources is to be restored and maintained, aquifers in some parts of the country will have to be allowed to recover by reducing abstraction, notably near the coast.[3] This requires innovative technologies, tools, strategies and materials to meet the challenge.

[1] Fanack Water, 2018, Water Challenges in Oman. Available at: https://water.fanack.com/oman/water-challenges-oman/. Accessed on 3/1/2019.
[2] Fanack Water, 2018. Water Resources in Oman. Available at: https://water.fanack.com/oman/water-resources-oman/. Accessed on 3/1/2019.
[3] Fanack Water, 2018. What Does Future Hold for Water in Oman? Available at: https://water.fanack.com/oman/future-hold-water-oman/. Accessed on 3/1/2019.

  • Marshes Chibayish Iraqi Activists

    Meet the Iraqi Activists Who Are Standing Up for the Environment

    The year 2018 was marked by a severe drought in Iraq, a formerly water-rich country. The water crisis is complex, however, with multiple causes and the potential for future conflicts. A group of young Iraqi activists is trying to raise awareness about the issue.
  • To Prevent Water Shortages, Jordan must Act without Delay

    The negative consequences of Middle Eastern regional conflicts for Jordan find an echo in climate change, which also aggravates the country’s water problems: it causes less rain to fall and feed the Jordan River and the Yarmouk River (the two rivers are shared with Israel and Syria). This situation forces people to rely on groundwater reserves, and they are increasingly depleting.
  • water problem oman

    Oman Steps Up Research and Innovation Efforts to Solve Water Problems

    The Middle East Desalination Center (MEDRC), headquartered in the capital Muscat, was founded in 1996. MEDRC is working in alignment with the government strategy to address significant regional or transboundary environmental challenges. Furthermore, it plays a significant role in boosting water-related research and innovation in Oman