الصفحة الرئيسية / مقابلة مع منال البلوشي، الفائزة بجائزة الباحث العُمانيّ الشّاب في مجال المياه

مقابلة مع منال البلوشي، الفائزة بجائزة الباحث العُمانيّ الشّاب في مجال المياه

الكاتب: Rossella Missena
المراجع: فريق التحرير في Fanack Water

فُقدان المياه نتيجة التسرب عُرف دائماً على أنّه أحد أهم التّحديات التي تواجه نظام توزيع المياه في عُمان، حيث تضيع المياه قبل أن تصل إلى المستخدم النهائي.” في عام 2010، كانت كمية المياه الضائعة في العاصمة مسقط حوالي 40%”، كما قالت منال البلوشي، وهي طالبة عُمانية فازت بجائزة الباحث العُماني الشّاب في مجال المياه لعام 2017، عن بحثها بعنوان” التّحقيق في فُقدان المياه في مسقط: نظام توزيع المياه في السّيب- دراسة حالة”.

تمّ تنظيم الجائزة من قبل مركز أبحاث تحلية المياه في الشّرق الأوسط (MEDRC)، و برعاية السفارة الهولندية في عُمان، ومؤسسة عمر الزواوي. وشملت الجائزة رحلة لحضورأسبوع المياه في أمستردام لعام2017.

أجرى فريق Fanack Water مقابلة مع الباحثة الطّموحة البلوشي خلال الحدث، وتم سؤالها عن المشروع وتطلعاتها ورؤيتها المستقبلية.

س: ماذا كان موضوع البحث ولماذا تعتقدين أن مشروعك فاز بالجائزة؟
ج: تحقّقتُ من خسائر المياه في مسقط، وخاصة في حي السّيب. وقد جمعنا بيانات من السُّلطات العامة عن الكهرباء والمياه، على سبيل المثال، بيانات عن استهلاك المياه وطول أنابيب الأنابيب وضغط التشغيل. ثم قمنا بمعالجة البيانات باستخدام نموذج موجود من جمعية أعمال المياه الأمريكية.

Manal al-Bulushi

الصورة 1: منال البلوشي، الفائزة بجائزة الباحث العماني الشاب في مجال المياه

وقد ساعدنا البرنامج على حساب كمية الفاقد من المياه وتوازن المياه. قُمنا في بحثنا بالتركيز على الفترة ما بين 2010-2014. ووجدنا أنّ نسبة الفاقد المياه في عام 2010 كانت حوالي 40٪، وأنّه في العام 2014 انخفضت النسبة إلى 30٪. وكانت السلطات العامة في مسقط تعمل على وضع الاستراتيجيات والخطط والأدوات والمعدّات، وقد يكون هذا السبب وراء انخفاض الخسائر في المياه. ومع ذلك، فإن لا تزال الكميات المفقودة مرتفعة جداً ولا يزال هناك الكثيرمما ينبغي القيام به. أعتقد أن البحث قد فاز لأنّ خفض كميات الخسائر في المياه أمرٌ حاسمٌ ومهم في مسقط لتلبية الطّلب على المياه.

Manal al-Bulushi منال البلوشي

الصورة 2: أثناء المقابلة مع منال خلال أسبوع المياه في أمستردام، هولندا.

س: ما هو أصعب جزء من البحث وماهي نتائج المشروع المحلية؟
ج: جمع البيانات كان الجزء الأصعب من المشروع، حيث كنّا بحاجة للقاء المهندسين والمهنيّين من السّلطات العامة، الذين يصعب أحياناً الوصول إليهم لانشغالهم، واستغرق ذلك الكثير من الوقت.

في نهاية المشروع، وضعنا بعض التّوصيات للسلطات العامة. واقترحنا بناء نموذجٍ يُمكّن من التّنبؤ بموقع التّسرب وعدد الأنابيب التالفة، ومن شأن ذلك أن يساعد السلطات أن تكون أكثر كفاءة في منع التّلف وتجنّب النفقات غير الضرورية. ونفكّر أيضاً في توسيع نطاق المشروع ليشمل مناطق أخرى في مسقط أو مدن أخرى في عمان.

س: إلى جانب قضية تسرّب المياه، ما هي برأيك قضايا المياه الّرئيسيّة في مسقط؟
ج: أعتقد أنّ القضايا الرئيسيّة تتعلق بتوفير المياه، ولذلك يتم إيلاء الكثير من الاهتمام بتحلية المياه ومنع فُقدان المياه في شبكات التوزيع. التّسرب في نظام الصرف الصحي هي مشكلة أخرى لأنّها يمكن أن تزيد بشكل كبيرمن خطر التّلوث.

س: إذاً ماذا عن مشاركة المرأة في أبحاث المياه في عمان؟
ج: هناك نساء يعملن في البلديات والوزارات ولكن أظن أنه لا يوجد الكثير من الباحثات.

س: هل تطمحين نحو مهنة في العلوم أو البحوث؟
ج: أنا أتابع حاليا الدراسة في السنة الأخيرة من درجة البكالوريوس في الهندسة المدنية في كلية الشرق الأوسط. بعد التخرج، أود الحصول أولاً على بعض الخبرة في العمل، هذا سوف يساعدني في اكتشاف ما أُريد. في الوقت الراهن، أنا أحب الهندسة الإنشائية، وهي أحد فروع الهندسة المدنية، لأن فيها الكثير من التحديات وهي أيضا مجزية بالنسبة لي. العمل على مواضيع مختلفة من شأنه أن يساعدني على إيجاد الحافز و معرفة أين يمكنني استخدام أفضل مهاراتي.

Home / Interview with Manal al-Bulushi, Winner of the Omani Young Water Researcher Award

Interview with Manal al-Bulushi, Winner of the Omani Young Water Researcher Award

Author: Rossella Missena
Reviewer: Fanack’s editorial team.

Water loss via leakage has long been recognized as one of the primary challenges facing water distribution systems in Oman, since the valuable resource is lost before it reaches the end user. “In 2010, water losses in Muscat [the capital] were 40%,” said Manal al-Bulushi, an Omani student who won the Omani Young Water Researcher Award this year for her research entitled ‘Water Loss Investigation in Muscat: al-Seeb Water Supply System – A Case Study’.

The prize is organized by the Middle East Desalination Research Centre (MEDRC) and sponsored by the Embassy of the Netherlands in Oman and the Omar Zawawi Establishment LLC. The prize included a trip to attend the 2017 Amsterdam Water Week.

Fanack Water interviewed the ambitious al-Bulushi during the event, asking her about her project, her aspirations and vision.

Manal al-Bulushi

Photo 1: Manal Al- Bulushi, the Winner of Omani young water researcher award

Q: What was your research about and why do you think your project won?

A: I investigated water losses in Muscat, particularly in the al-Seeb district. We collected data from the public authorities for electricity and water, for instance data on water consumption, length of the mains pipes and operating pressure. Then, we processed the data using an existing model from the American Water Works Association. The software helped us to calculate the water losses and water balance. We focused on the period 2010-2014. We found that in 2010 water losses were 40%, and that in 2014 they were 30%. The public authorities in Muscat had been working on strategies, plans, tools and equipment, so this is probably why the losses were reduced. However, the values are still very high and there is still much to be done.

Manal al-Bulushi منال البلوشي

Photo 2: During the meeting with Manal during Amsterdam water week, Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Q: What was the most difficult part of the research and how did the project conclude?

A: Gathering data was the hardest part as we needed to meet with engineers and specialists from the public authorities, who are sometimes hard to reach, and this took a lot of time.

At the end of the project, we developed some recommendations for the public authorities. We suggested building a model that can predict the location of the failure and the number of defective pipes, so that the authorities can be more efficient in preventing failures and avoid unnecessary expenditures. We are also thinking of extending the project to other areas in Muscat or other cities in Oman.

Q: Besides leakage, what do you think are the main water issues in Muscat?

A: I think the main issues are related to the provision of water, therefore a lot of attention is paid to desalination and preventing water losses in the supply network. Leakages in the sewerage system are another problem because they that can considerably increase the risk of contamination.

Q: Are there many women contributing to water research in Oman?

A: There are women working in municipalities and ministries but probably not so many researchers.

Q: Do you think you will pursue a career in science?

A: I am in my final year of a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering at the Middle East College. After graduation, I would like to gain some work experience first because I do not know yet in which field I would like to specialize. For now, I like the structural part of civil engineering because it is challenging but also rewarding for me. Working on different topics would help me to understand what I am passionate about and where I can best use my skills.